Round Pond Recreation Area

 
4.1 (54)
88329 0 19 0 35

User reviews

22 reviews with 4 stars
54 reviews
 
37%
 
39%
 
20%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.5(54)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(54)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(54)
Value
 
3.8(54)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(54)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
June 6-20, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall a very nice campground. The sites are roomy with power and water. The bathrooms were clean and the laundry was decent with one machine out of order. Very convenient to West Point, NYC and the hudson valley area. It's a quiet and peaceful place at a very reasonable cost. Cell reception at the back of the campground is bad but the sites closer to the office have a decent signal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Have stayed at Round Pond many times. Great location and setting. The main two drawbacks are lack of sewer hook up and poor cell reception. If you are down near the bathhouse you will have very poor cell reception. It is a great place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Aug 2-10, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Beautiful place to camp. Easy to make reservations. Check in was smooth. We booked a couple nights staying in site #9 by the bath house. It was very nice and we had a great view of the lake. We enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our stay. We moved to site #C16. It was much more secluded and surrounded by trees - very beautiful. I will say the higher up we were, the more we were able to hear the firing range. We didn't hear it at all while staying by the bathhouse. The mosquitos were much worse too up in the foliage. I wish I had a screened in tent to be able to enjoy the outdoors more. The temps were wonderful, the views and area is just gorgeous. My only negative is it's not located on the base and anyone can access the area. So we had to lock everything up each night and when we left the site. When we are on a base, we don't need to worry about locking everything up. We did like that we were very close to West Point and enjoyed exploring the amazing campus. So much history and beauty. We were surprised how much we liked it there and have already made another reservation to return next month.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24 June - 1 July 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here for 7 nights and had an good experience overall. The reservation was easy to get and was able to work with staff to adjust by several days at about 3 weeks out. The entrance is up a steep hill but a properly sized tow vehicle should not have any problems. The road is a bit narrow at places so meeting another RV would be an issue. There are several places where the trees are low or hanging into the road where you will scrape if not careful. Initially, we were assigned site C5 that is in the loop behind the dump/bath house. We were directed to drive around this back loop which turned out to be nearly impassable with a 37’ fifth wheel. There are very low overhanging trees and large rocks along the loop. I badly scratched our rig and nearly lost our sewer outlet on a rock. Turns out our rig would not even fit in the assigned site. The staff put us into overflow for the night, which is right next to the office and has electric and water, and found us a better site. The rest of the stay was very enjoyable. There was not much ATT service while on the back side of the pond near the bath house. However, we could get a couple of bars when we walked to the top of the ridge on the other side of the pond. I would stay here again when visiting the area, but I’ll make sure to avoid that back loop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2005
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
It is important for new comers to understand that entrance to this campground is very steep. If your vehicle is having difficulty with brakes, transmission, or other mechanical issue....don't do it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
September, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice park. Beware of the road off 293 that goes up to the actual park. I'm from the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina and a windy road to me is different than a windy road to most other people. This road is windy in anybody's book. It climbs at a pretty steep grade and has some tight turns. Now, this isn't meant to scare anyone off because it is absolutely doable. You just need to be aware of it and stay in a low gear. We are a 40' fiver with a beast of a dually truck so about 60' total and we didn't have a problem. Now, about the park. It is laid out around a pond. It is pretty and laid out in such a way that there is plenty of elbow room for each RV. No crowding. It is quiet and some shady sites and some open spots. I have almost no problem with park at all except 2 things: lack of sewer hook up. (I'm spoiled and like my full hookup). There is a honey wagon that comes around each day and for $8 he will pump you out. Water & electric were fine. And we had almost no cell signal for hotspot, but we could make phone calls - go figure. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 2016
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We did not stay here, but I wanted to give a shout out to the staff, who I called and was desperate for a site as my daughter was graduating college. They had a spot and would get us in, Information on prices , directions and ammenities were all clear and concise, low and behold, our daughters driveway fit us and we didn't need to stay there, they were still polite as we cancelled our reservation...can't wait to go back and use facilities..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17-18 June 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Not all sites are “big rig (or satellite) friendly”, but we found this to be a really nice campground.  There are many amenities, including fishing, swimming, paddle boat and canoe rental.  Note that sites are water and electric - no sewer - although there is a dump station, as well as honey-wagon service twice weekly. This campground does not offer WiFi -- we went to Starbucks to satisfy our Internet cravings.  This was our first visit to the USMA and we thoroughly enjoyed this peaceful campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 Jun - 02 Jul 2015
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Have to agree with belique and Sizzor, great place to chill out and get close to nature while at same time having easy access to NYC. Was stationed at West Point in late 90's and didn't realize this place even existed. True, no wifi, so what?? Showers could use some updating, no water pressure and shower heads clogged up. Stayed on C7 with 36' tag along, no problem, nice large site. Only issue was the dump station, had to make the entire loop on the way out, then back into the dump station. Will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21-24 Oct 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First stop on two week trip to New York and Maryland. Great location, 1 mile to West Point golf course and 2 to US Military Academy. We arrived two weeks prior to closing of park for the winter, therefore it was very quite. Stayed in site C2. We tow a 25 foot airstream. Trailer sites are not big but adequate. Class A site is small parking lot near rest rooms. Tents and popup sites are in the woods and some of the nicest. Rest room, laundry centrally located. This is a very small park, you can walk around the loop in 15 minutes. Academy is a must see, museum, Thayer hotel, as well. Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow 20 minute drive, NYC 1 hour. We would stay here again. Next stop Naval Academy-Annapolis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
15-17 Oct 2014
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Directions - If you are visiting Round Pond with a 5th wheel, use the directions above. We came in from the east and decided to take US 9W south to CR 293. Our 5th wheel is 12’ 11” and a bridge over 9W (at Angola Road) is 12’ 10” so we took a quick exit onto Quaker Ave and I turned right into a 12’ 9” bridge (on my side). I took the other lane and made it under the bridge. I called the office for some directions and got no help (someone in the office had told me 9W should be a good drive). I used my GPS and took CR 9 north to NY 218 south that took us to 9W below the bridge. NY 218 is a two lane narrow road with many curves and hills packed into about five miles. NY 218 offers some beautiful views of the Hudson River but not made for large RV traffic. It was closed the next day from one inch of rain. Campground - The campground is mostly wooded and we had problems using our modem for computers and cell phone. I was able to get DirecTV from site C-11. Most sites would not be able to use satellite TV due to trees. There is noise from the artillery but we did not find it a problem. The Round Pond Road is only 1/2 mile but uphill with many tight curves. The park is very picturesque and well-kept. Seeing West Point was worth the trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Round Pond is arguably one of the nicest parks in the military system. I am certain that it’s spotless upkeep is in no small part, attributable to the fact that it is part of the U.S. Military Academy, or more commonly West Point. These people have their act together and run a tight ship. Very friendly as well. There is ample evidence of seasonal homesteading though, which surprises me. Here is a brief review of the positives and negatives for the park. POSITIVE: Location, location, location Beautiful surroundings, Close to all base facilities. Helpful and positive staff. New York City Access - Go yourself via commuter train or check with MWR. They run trips to theaters and tourist sites. Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome - An hour and half north but well worth the visit. See their website. Thayer Hotel - Inside the gate at West Point. Excellent Sunday brunch. Revolutionary War history everywhere you look. Visit nearby Forts Montgomery and Clinton. Close to the Appalachian Trail - If you are a hiker this is a must. Access at nearby. Roosevelt State Park or Ft Montgomery. Morgan Kennel run by MWR. If you need to leave your dog for any reason. About a 5 mile drive from the RV park. Clean and run by people who care. Ask at the park office. Woods everywhere you look and many trails. Fishing in the pond. NEGATIVE: No sewer - but sign up for the “honey truck” Monday or Friday. $5. It will relieve you of drives to the sewage dump. Laundry inadequate - two washers, one inop, two dryers. Go into Highland Falls. There is a 24 hour laundromat on the main street. Many washers and dryers that work well. Bugs - can be very aggressive. Take your Deep Woods Off. Gunfire - You are no more than a mile from heavy weapons ranges - Very noisy when in use. If your animals are gun shy be forewarned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 29 to May 1, 2013
(Updated: May 01, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Rate has gone up to $27 for 50 amp & Water. Good stop for FL to New England. Stop and visit West Point itself - museums, visitor center, chapel, etc. Also take a nice nature hike around Round Pond and then Wilkins Pond using the road right after the Laundry Building. We're Navy - lots of Beat and Sink Navy signs at the football stadiums.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
1 May -15 May 2012
(Updated: May 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first stay and would definitely return. Great location for touring West Point, Hudson River Valley and historic sites. Commissary and Exchange very convenient to campground. In spite of not having wifi, satellite and full hookup, still enjoyed stay. Our site was C12 next to Bathhouse and laundry and dump. Probably the best area. C13 also good. We have outside antenna and mi-fi, so could access cell and internet. We got Fox news through sirius xm radio. Only suggestion is that they have recycle bins; however, you can take to the exchange. By the way not a problem driving in with tow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9-14 Sept 2011
(Updated: September 19, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is in a nice area with lakes, ponds, trails, West Point close by, and views, but for the price (daily only with no discounts) you get no sewer,cable,wifi, but there is a bath house and laundry with a dump site when you need it. The place is very clean and a nice shoppette of sorts with bait. Enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12 Apr 09
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C.H. left this review using the Directory software: Yes, the road in is steep and winding, but it's certainly not a deal-breaker. When choosing a site, ask about your electrical requirements, for some sites have only a 50A hookup. The heated bathhouse with its free hot showers and laundry facilities is located quite a ways from most sites. This was our third stay here and as usual, we enjoyed it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2 - 7 August 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground and a friendly staff with knowledge of the area. Though the hill is steep I found it not a problem in a 35ft RV with a explorer toad and using second gear up (1st gear once for 75 yards). I had no issues going up or down towing. A beautiful area with much to see. 1 hour or so to NY. The base has all amenities and it is a well kept base. No sewers but a honey wagon for nominal fee. Restrooms adequate. Lovely lake with lots for kids. Some sites are tight but manageable. I would love to go back and spend more time. No Internet connections and difficult for satellite except for those that are there for extended periods. Those sites go quick to students and active. Just to see the academy is worth the trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 15-21, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
LOTS for kids to do - fishing, swimming, boating/canoeing, a playground, and plenty to explore. Yes, the hill into the place gave me a "scare" but, having no one to follow in the toad (I'm the only driver over 16) I HAD to do it, and I DID! I think I'm gonna hate going down more than the up, though. We had a wonderful stay, and I cannot say much more than the others, except that it's VERY crowded on Fri-Sun, and getting in and out of many spots is tough in a big rig - cars parked everywhere! We actually got blocked in on a Friday. The hosts will help, though, so don't fret. They'll help find the drivers to move so you can get in. We had a wonderful stay, and the on-base Youth Center (6th grade and up) is free from 12-5 M-Sa. My kids had a great time while I did stuff like this review :) and shopped at the comm/BX. Recycling, laundry (only 2 W/D) and a small shop at the CG. I would love to stay in one of the wooded sites on an extended visit next time - we were in the "C lot" right across from the bath house. It worked for us, though; easy in/out and close to laundry and the beach for kids! We will come again...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 29 - 30, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our planned stop at the US Military Academy was during graduation week, so we made a one night reservation a couple of days in advance. When we arrived in the early afternoon, they had our paperwork all ready -- no forms to fill out, and no credit slip to sign. The staff here really has their act together. Unlike many Army recreation sites, the Golden Age pass is NOT ACCEPTED here. And with no sewer hookups for any of the sites, that makes the value for the dollar on the poor side. The natural beauty and convenient location help, however. We were in a shady pop-up site (U-1) on a wooded knoll with a view of the pond. We had water & electric. The bath house was clean, modern, and well-appointed. There's a camp store adjacent to the office space where you can get a few basics if needed. Compared to the US Naval Academy RV park, this place is heaven (although, I hear USNA is finally going to make some desperately needed improvements...I'm an Air Force guy, so I have no axe to grind for either side. I just like nice campgrounds). There is a hiking trail that circumnavigates Round Pond that was well marked, and an overlook spot off the beginning of the trail. The trail was free of trash, as was the pond shore...more evidence of a staff that has pride of place, even if a few cretins try to mess it up with their littering. (Note: there´s another pond behind the CG, as well). From our campsite, we had adequate SPRINT PCS cell phone reception. We also use the SPRINT PCS air card for internet, and got minimum internet connection and low speed only. NO EVDO. But at least we could get connected. As soon as we left the CG and went over the ridge, and down into the Academy grounds, we had solid EVDO connection. When you're in the PX parking lot, the cell tower is on the hilltop behind the exchange. There is a very nice, commissary, PX, and gas station/class VI/shoppette complex on the Academy grounds. The graduation parade was a stirring sight.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct. 28, Nov. 2, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location being it is located close to N.Y. City is great. Also because it is located next to the most beautiful and well kept Army Post in the world is great. I think they charge more than what it should be because of the amenities. They only have 30 amp. in most spots and a few 50 amp. No sewers, and limited water hookups. Only a few of the sites have access to getting satelite. I will note that the staff, especially the maintence personell are really helpful. The area going into and out of the park are a little challenging but we made it ok with our 40' and tow. The two hour tour of West Point via bus was really great because it took us to the grave yard where a lot of history lays. (punn) Overall a great place and I would return if in the area. I would say the campground is not big rig friendly but you can get around if you are careful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2