Round Pond Recreation Area

 
4.0 (49)
88329 0 19 0 28

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars
49 reviews
 
39%
 
35%
 
22%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.5(49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(49)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(49)
Value
 
3.7(49)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
July 22 - July 26, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This place is adequate. The drive to the office from the main road is a bit scary and they need to trim trees so rigs our size don't scrape. The ladies at the front desk in the Office were exceptional. Very helpful with information and friendly. We camped in the same area we did last time near the laundry and shower. We were able to get satellite TV access for which we were thankful. The site was underwater and not level. After it dried out it was OK. Looks as if there have been some attempts at fixing things, they just need to finish and do it right. The laundry room and bath houses need to be scrubbed har, steam cleaned and repainted. The new washer and dryer coin box was broken and had to be jerry-rigged to work. There is talk to cement slabs there which would be nice, if they are level. Having said all that, it is still convenient and a place we would visit again. We camped in a motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This place earns a 5 star for location; however, the sites were designed for 20' travel trailers. That being said, the sites are not well organized or standardized and definitely not very level. You never know which side the power pedestal and water hookup will be located. When it rains, puddles are everywhere because of the lack of even gravel. The laundry room and showers were dirty and didn't appear to be truly cleaned for months. And since there is no sewer hookup at the sites, you are forced to use the facilities. No WiFi and cell service is spotty which is common for the area. If I were the Commander of USAG West Pont and the USMA, I would almost be embarrassed that this place is associated with the school that produces some of the finest engineers in the world.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
7-10 Aug 2014
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Electrical hookup was 20/50 amp, no 30, if you had 30 amp you would need a pigtail adapter, which the campground office sold. Sties had picnic table, freestanding charcoal grill, fire ring, and water hookup. There was a camp store and a dump station as well as a laundrymat. The laundry was closed for the entire time we were there. Our site was #9, close to the bathroom but right across from the dump station, about a hundred feet. The site was right by a dirt path/road which was heavily traveled causing lots of dust and noise throughout the day and evening. The bathrooms were OK but quite outdated and not well maintained and water pressure was not real good. No WIFI or cable but with the ant. we had about 28 channels come in pretty good. There was a beach on the lake but the goose feces covered most of it. Enforcement of rules were slack, checkout times not followed, quiet hours not observed. If in need of diesel, it was much cheaper in New Jersey than New York. Overall not a bad campground but they do need to enforce rules for the benefit of all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 18, 2014
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
My site was U2 - (a pop-up site with electricity). I was unable to set up my dining fly due to the site being mainly on solid rock - not gravel - solid rock. I was also surprised at the distance from the bathhouse, and that there really is not any mountain-top type of views to enjoy. After traveling up such a steep grade to get to the recreation area, I was totally expecting some type of scenic view around the lake. This early in the season, the paddle boats, beach, etc were not yet set-up. It was a convenient stopping point to get some overnight rest. My cell service is AT&T which I could not find a signal for in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
June 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The campground is near West Point which is the main reason we picked it. The staff was good - they had our reservation and we had no trouble at check in or any time during our stay. The campsite was in a large U-shaped common gravel area where we had to back in our rigs at a diagonal so they would fit. It was a bit awkward but no problem. The grounds were pretty well maintained. The road up to the campground from the road was a bit steep and curvy but we went slowly and had no trouble. The road has been recently re paved and was good. We would camp there again in our motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 1, 2011
(Updated: June 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We were in the bath house area which has 10 campsites that are of the lowest quality. It is a tough climb even for our 25 foot TREK. The price is out of site for water and electric. Would not use again because of price and driving conditions in and out. The bath house was Army clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
20-23 Sep, 2010
(Updated: September 24, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Since this is one of the most expensive military campgrounds, I expected more. I think $25 a day is way too much for a site with no sewer. This was not a problem for me because we stayed for only 3 days. Water lines ran along the surface of the ground. This campground is rustic. If that is what you like, you will love this place. It is also within 60 miles of Manhattan and near West Point Military Academy if those are places you want to visit. Firing ranges are nearby and we heard gunfire every day we were here - like hundreds of firecrackers going off at one time. But is was quiet at night. A lot of seasonal campers here. In fact, we were assigned one of the seasonal sites while the regular tenant was away. They seem to have the prime sites. The staff was friendly and helpful. Canoes and paddle boats are available for rent. Fishing is allowed at Round Pond and another lake. Verizon cell phone service was not good - kept losing the connection. Verizon air card service was better only because I had an external antenna. Commissary and exchange about 4 miles away. Shuttle bus service available on base which is good since convenient parking is hard to find during a regular work day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
Sep 23, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.J. left this review using the Directory software: I neglected to visit Round Pond previously because of the scary write-ups reference the road into the campground. We visited in a 40' DP. We unhooked the toad on highway 293 before going up the hill. The climb and turns were not bad at all. I stayed in site #6 which was an OK site except no satellite TV reception. The road into the site was somewhat tight but doable. Check-in was friendly but they did not offer much info except give me a map to the site. Some information that they could have offered is if you need propane get it on entry as the tank is right next to the office and getting it later would require driving all around the pond later. It is somewhat overpriced for a MWR facility with no sewer. I would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug - Sep 2007
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
D.A. left this review using the Directory software: Stayed two weeks in site C-5, a 50A site; almost got stuck trying to exit that area in our 40 ft rig. They have on site storage for $2.50/day which we took advantage of, then when we returned we moved to site C-17. Much more big rig friendly even though only 30amp. Over all nice campground. The staff gets five stars. I only rate the campground three stars mainly because there is a constant water shortage, so be sure to keep your fresh water tank full. There is twice a week (Mon and Fri) holding tank service for $3.00. West Point is definately worth a visit, but the campground is over priced especially since most of the time fresh water is limited.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Round Pond Camp Ground is located in a hilly area overlooking the lake. Each camp site is equipt with a fire ring and barbeque grill, water and 30/50 Amp electric service. Sites are gravel and somewhat level. No sewer service is available, Cell phone will only work on the high side of the campground and NBC, ABC, FOX, UPN, WB, Public broadcasting plus a few other stations. Over all a very old rustic but well maintained Recreation Area. Problems: Low water presser, some sites have the water/electric hookup to far from the vehicle. The price of staying here is by far the highest I have paid for a military campground. $22 a night, you will need NY and West Point fishing license, propane is $3.50 a gallon as apposed to $1.74.9 at Flying J. Over all we are glad we went and West Point is well worth the trip but I would not go again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10