Volunteer Park Travel Campsite

Featured
 
4.0 (55)
76103 1 31 1 50

User reviews

28 reviews with 4 stars
55 reviews
 
33%
 
49%
 
15%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0(55)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(55)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(55)
Value
 
4.6(55)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(55)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
28 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
July 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed for 10 nights. The folks at outdoor recreation were friendly and helpful both when we called for a site and after arrival. If you like to hike or mountain bike this is the place for you. Sites are as previously described and we enjoyed the cover.
Volunteer Park Travel Campsite
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 26, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed two nights and it was a great stopover; amenities closed due to Covid-19; White Sands NP was amazing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan 29 - 30, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Still looks like the photos on this website. "Club house" closed due to COVID, so we really only used the site itself. Sites are plenty long but VERY narrow due to their positioning of utility stand as well as the in-ground light on a post. We had to leave the kitchen slide in during our stay because of the light pole. Combine that with the slope of the site...took us quite some time to get level and in position. Our first night was extremely windy gusting greater than 60 mph. Put the big slide in to reduce buffeting and got very little sleep. But hey, the price is VERY right! And we enjoyed the White Sands Nat Park the next day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
7-10 DEC 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very small family camp but, perfectly located to take in White Sands National Park. The staff, Todd, couldn't have been more accomodating and friendly. Great playground and wide-open spaces for the kids as well. You cannot beat the value for the money and the views are staggering.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a beautiful spot. Sites were level and staggered so every site has a view. The shelter over the picnic table was appreciated so we did not have to put out our awning and worry if the wind would kick up. FHU for $10 can’t be beat. Even overflow has electric and water. We called ahead and were lucky enough to get a FHU site when we arrived. PX and commissary close early! Not a lot of dining options on base. Great paved walking paths near the campground, but stay on the paved paths the sticker burrs are nasty. If traveling to El Paso use route 213 south it’s so much easier. When arriving just take Headquarters St to Martin Luther King to the park no need to zigzag thru base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Mar. 6-11, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Not much more to add from the previous reviews. Nice, quiet location for a great price. We made reservations, but the RV Park was only 50% occupied for this week. However, they will be full next week for the Battan March annual event. This time of the year, the winds came up VERY strong, but we had some very nice days as well. I prefer this campground over the Holloman AFB FamCamp. The missile museum is a MUST see. We greatly enjoyed our relaxing short time here.
Volunteer Park Travel Campsite
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
23-24 May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The base of WSMR is in a very expansive and desolate desert, surrounded by numerous weapons test ranges. The small campground is very nice with great views of the mountain range. Excellent hookups well positioned. Concrete picnic pads have a large shelter covering providing some relief from the intense sun. Check-in was easy; Anthony at the Outdoor Rec office was very accommodating. The post has all basic amenities. The Frontier Club is convenient and serves a great breakfast and lunch. Grassy park across the street offers nice dog walk area. As others mention the bathhouse is old, dark and musty ( the shower is in a closet in the bathhouse with little ventilation) this is the only draw back of this facility, and certainly worth the $10/night fee. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 24, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
8 sites of full hookup. 1st come,1st serve, we got in too late. We stayed on the street in overflow, electric 50 amp. It was fine for 2 nights.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17-20 February 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We went up to White Sands Missile Range because Fort Bliss was filled. We took the highway 213 from El Paso to the base. The road was nice 2 lane with wide shoulder the entire way. No problem going through the back gate. Check in at the MWR facility in the old golf pro shop was easy. $10 a night is unbelievable for a FHU facility. All 8 pads are pull through with 20/30/50a, water, sewer, grill, and shelter. The scenery is awesome with the Organ Mountains right outside your door. We talk a bike ride down through the old golf course and it was really nice. The restrooms/showers are in the building next to the campground. They were acceptable, but that is about it, not really dirty but dark and old. We did laundry on post at the laundry mat. It was $1.50 wash and .25 for 8 minutes to dry ($1 per load for us). There was not much to do on-post. We went in to Las Cruces everyday. We really did enjoy Las Cruces, it is a nice town. If we were coming back into this area, I woul not hesitate to stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 12, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived on the 12th for a much needed time to relax; been on the road since 14 Sep. Checked in with MWR and found the famcamp almost empty. (Well, there are only 8 sites) The base area itself is not hard to maneuver and find your way around. If you want to know about places to eat; ask your neighbor or give ACS a ring, they can give you directions/times to any place you need on the base; like the laundry facility. Restroom/Showers: Seriously old but clean. This is a small famcamp but it's clean, fresh and a hidden gem for the price! Love waking up and seeing these beautiful mountains outside our front window! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 12-15 2017
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived at WSMR in the early afternoon with a reservation. Clearing the main gate is no problem. The will ask if you have a firearm so if you carry one make sure it is unloaded and the ammo is separated from the weapon. We were told by the attendant at Outdoor Recreation that it is not necessary to check in there before going to the campground if you have a reservation. Go park in an open site then head over to the Recreation office and pay for your site. Yes, you have to do some maneuvering to get parked/leveled but it’s doable. Great DTV satellite signal from all sites. Just a fair Verizon 4g service. Good water pressure and solid 50 amp electrical service.You can’t beat the views of the mountains.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were going to stay at Holloman but decided on this park dt ability to make reservations AND the description in our military book said there was a tour of the Trinity site twice a year. I based my trip to ABQ so that we would be here for the April 1st tour. On our trip west, I finally looked up info about the Trinity site and found that it was 3 hours away. So disappointing! But now I know and since our kids live in ABQ, I will have more chances to take the tour. This is a lovely site with amazing views of the Organ mts. There is a pool and workout facility but the pool does not open until 11am on the weekends so could not take advantage of it. Walking the golf course is very nice. So sad that it is closed as we would have loved to play it. Maybe the expected increase in the military budget will allow it to reopen. Too bad that a few residents do not come together and form a membership fee that would cover the cost of operation. It is really a pretty course there at the foothills of the mountains. There is a bath house that is not in great shape but the single shower has both hot and cold handles (not those awful buttons that turn the water on for a minute or so, usually just long enough to begin to feel the warm water coming) and a strong stream. The best shower since we left home 12 days ago. An extended family was camping here for one of their members military retirement....so heartwarming! The wind was strong when we arrived but gentle the following day. We drove into Las Cruces on that Saturday and visited the Farmers Market. We took our dog and the place was very welcoming of dogs. People were super friendly and we talked with 4 different people from Maine in the area where we have a camp. Go figure. Plus while waiting for our burritos for lunch we started talking with the friendliest local couple and they gave us some good informationa about the area. We bought two vases from a retired navy yeoman...very nice, both the vases and retiree! Highly recommend a visit to the market if you are in the area on Saturdays.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
KBUG (Know Before You Go). Max Stickers/Thorns - Consider their paws. Bold Coyotes. UL gas and supplies available. Drop & Hops (folks that store RVs in full hookup sites). There are only 8 sights and there is a great open parking lot adjacent to the park where rigs could be left unattended. Throughout our visit half the sights had RVs present with personnel unaccounted for. We wished to stay but we were forced out due to lack of availability. This is unacceptable. HC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Jan 2-6, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A.B. left this review using the Directory software: - We were on site #1. Nice pull thru next to the activity center. Enjoyed our short stay. Excellent museum plus visited the Biosphere. Very windy in this area but the price was right. Just wish they had diesel fuel on board so plan your trip accordingly! Bx&Comm.well stocked
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 10-16, 2012
(Updated: October 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We frequent this location, so obviously we enjoy it! The golf course is in excellent condition. The laundry, on the other hand, while the machines seem to be pretty new, the building is dirty & the A/C (swamp cooler) either wasn't working or has been shut down for the Fall/Winter. It was not too bad as it was only in the upper 70's, but it is an unsatisfactory condition. It was in big need need of being cleaned, too. It would also be nice if they had a rack to hang cloths when one takes them out of the drier. Never used head or shower, so what ever has been previously reported is probably the case. There are only 8 sites & most of them are usually occupied, so make a reservation if you want to come here. I drove by the Ft. Bliss RV park Sunday (10/14) & it looked full, too. Snowbirds must be on the move!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Feb 25 - Mar 3, 2012
(Updated: February 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A first!!!!!!!!!!!! MWR REDUCED the fee for staying here to $10 a night! It had been $10 however it went up to $15 for about a yr or so, but they've lowered it back to $10! WSMR as well as Ft. Bliss have dropped the DOD decal requirement, too. Since I don't get to many USN or MC bases I don't know if they still require the DOD sticker.........I'd be interested on feed back as to the status of USN &/or MC bases & their DOD decal status. There does NOT seem to be any homesteaders here even though there is a LOT of new construction on the base. If you approach the base from from El Paso on the "back" road through Ft. Bliss it has almost been completely reconstructed & the speed limit has increased to 65 mph. A real short cut! Played the little 9 hole golf course & it has really greened up for February. Wind this time of year sucks, but we don't have Spring in NM, it's WIND season!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
16-22 Oct 2011
(Updated: October 21, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived here for originally a three night stay but extended for three more days. Getting on the Garrison is easy and finding the RV park is a piece of cake. We arrived on a weekend so Outdoor Recreation was closed. We just went to the park, picked a site and parked. Went to Rec Service the next morning and paid. If you have a large RV with big slide-outs, make sure you know how far they extend. Electrical boxes are right on the edge of the gravel pads with a couple of wooden posts on both sides. Bathrooms/showers are still closed. While here we toured the Missile Museum, White Sands National Monument, The Space History Museum, Old Town Mesilla and Cloudcroft. Small PX and Commissary have necessities. Nice golf course with very reasonable green fees. Beautiful views from the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
29-31 March 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Easy to find if you follow directions - although we did have to ask at the Shopette as some of the roads and streets are not marked, but once park is found, it is easy to pull in and get connected. Due to a record-setting hard freeze in early February the bathrooms and showers in the nearby clubhouse were closed, awaiting repairs. We used to showers in the aquatic center, which were old, in fair shape, but showers were hot and roomy, so can't complain! 50 Amp service, water and sewer connections were easy and adequate, and adjacent covered patio was very nice. Mountains just behind campground were awesome!! Driving around the vast post is allowed, and if you're into tech stuff, there is plenty to see. "Town" is Las Cruces, a nice city about 25 miles west. Lady who runs campground from Outdoor Rec was VERY helpful in answering questions about almost everything. You can buy guns at Outdoor Rec and get them registered. If you're into outdoor activities, hiking is awesome! Nice fitness trail right next to campground is also nice. VERY quiet, remote setting. Small Commissary and even smaller BX, but adequate. We'd definitely stay here again. If you are Air Force, you'll save a LOT of time and hassle if you register your vehicle and display your decal at an Army, Navy, or Marine installation, or one of the few USAF bases that still issues vehicle ID's, because WSMR indeed DOES require either a DoD vehicle decal, or you have to produce license, registration, proof of insurance, and get a temporary pass - a time consuming process. We registered out truck at MacDill AFB in 2010 and have had zero problems at any Army or Navy base since.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec. 11,12,13, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No open spaces when I arrived. I did not call ahead for reservations and a group had reserved all the spaces from the 9th to the 15th. All the time I was there, there were two open spaces, so don't know what was happening with them. I was told at check in that the group had paid for all the spaces in advance. Stayed in overflow, which is just parking along a curb near the recreation building. It has two 20A duplex receptacles to plug into and that is it. Not that bad for the price. I don't know where nbrown was, but there are showers in the recreation building next to site number 1 and there is a laundry on base that I have used here before. It is a good place to stop and a good base to explore the region. It is small, but nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
August 16, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The view is awesome and we will definitely return when we have time to enjoy the activities in the area. The sites are not level but do have 50 amps. No restrooms/laundry on site but we did not need these with just an over night stay. The book says 14 miles from Las Cruces but it was more like 20 - 25 miles.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
28 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2