Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (176)
145580 2 35 1 72

User reviews

92 reviews with 4 stars
176 reviews
 
30%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(176)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(176)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(176)
Value
 
4.1(176)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(176)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
92 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
9 - 14 Oct 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The last time we stayed here we entered through the Eubanks gate, but this time we tried the Truman gate and it was far easier, getting on base and not having to take the freeway to Eubanks and down to the VERY narrow gate. That area has been completely redone with traffic lights and new roads. We were a bit nervous about them having a space as they don't do reservations, but the place had plenty of spaces. A always, the base is a great place to home base for seeing northern New Mexico. Follow the signs and getting in is a piece of cake.
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2020
(Updated: October 25, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here about 3 weeks. Planned for 2, then had a mechanical issue the day we left and this ended up being the closest park that had space when we headed back toward Albu. When you arrive, you can just take a site as long as it's empty and doesn't have an orange cone on it. You can pay at the office then next time it is open if you don't want to write down your credit card info on the paperwork. Daily dose of Reveille, Retreat, and Taps didn't bother us. Stayed in the gravel (new) section. Next time I'll look for a 50 amp site in the old section, just for some more shade and for slower speeds past the sites. Some people have no clue the speed limit is 10 mph. Restrooms appeared to be good the 2 times I used them. Dog park is nice and dog owners mostly picked up after their dogs. There are 4 washers and dryers, but only 3 of each were working. They have a dog wash station and a dog grooming table adjacent to the building with the washing machines. Little kids appeared to enjoy the kiddie playground. Eubanks gate seems to be open from 0600-1800 weekdays, NOT 24/7. It is under construction. Saw a fifthwheel lose it's ladder (mounted on the driver's side toward the rear) when the driver failed to pay attention as he drove thru the gate. He later admitted he forgot to look at this site for current info. He's also lucky the SF moved the weave poles for him at the gate. If you make it thru the Eubanks Gate, turn right at the first traffic signal. It is 20th St, not F Ave SE. Then turn left at the next intersection. Saw a Class A get refused entry at the Wyoming gate. SF members weren't moving those weave poles. Gibson gate also has some construction, but some rigs could probably make it thru. There are a few harsh speed bumps there though. Truman is the easiest. Coming off I-25 onto Gibson Rd EAST, the asphalt quickly turns to concrete and the road sucks in a long bed crew cab. The concrete slab joints are at the perfect interval to bounce the heck out of you and it is almost 3 miles to Truman. Turns back to asphalt when you're almost at Truman. If you're coming on I-40 and want the Truman Gate, the Louisiana (south) or San Mateo (south) exits offer asphalt roads all the way. Both roads end at Gibson Blvd. When you get to Gibson Blvd on Louisiana, you can either go straight, then turn left and go in the Gibson Gate, or turn right at Gibson and go about a half mile to the Truman Gate. On San Mateo, turn right and immediately get into the left lane, because you'll turn left onto Truman in a few hundred feet. IMO, Louisiana is the smoother of the 2 roads. If you need welding or suspension work done while in Albu, I recommend McBride's Welding and Spring on 2nd St downtown. They helped me out when I needed it. The base auto hobby shop is well equipped. They have a lift that can handle a 1-ton dually if you want to rotate tires, change oil, whatever. They also have a drive on lift that can handle a 1-ton, but you can't rotate tires on that. Great Fam Camp, great base, great city. ---- ** Caveat to the on-base driving directions above...you can stay on Hardin instead of turning left onto Wyoming. It will bring you out adjacent to the Eubanks gate. Just keep going straight on Hardin. The construction mentioned in other reviews is done.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I recommend using the west-side gate off of Louisiana Blvd SE (Gibson gate). The gate on the east side of the base (Eubank gate) was under construction during my visit. The campground typically has plenty of open sites in the hot summer months. Most site are FHU but there are some dry camping sites too. The bathhouses need some work (cleanliness and keeping supplies stocked up). The bathhouse on the east side campground had one of the two individual bathrooms closed during my visit. I assume the bathroom was down for maintenance. That left one bathroom available for the entire campground on the east side. I did report the problem to the Outdoor Rec office who responded to my email quickly. It's a good place for a stopover visit. Not too far from I-40. Nice BX and commissary on-base.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
June 14-18, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Need to adjust the driving instructions for Large Rigs coming in the Truman Gate.. DO NOT FOLLOW it to the end on Hardin st... turn left on Wyoming street to Ave F ..turn right follow it to the famcamp.. there is MUCH construction on the end of Hardin and it is CLOSED prior to the turn suggested on G st. (Editors note: directions were updated).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12-15 Sep 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed at Kirtland several times and we've seen numerous changes over the years. Although they do not take reservations we have never been turned away but had to stay in dry camping for one night a couple of years age at the beginning of the Oct Balloon Festival. Good power and water pressure in huge parking sites in the "new' section.It is a tad of hassle getting to the park through the Truman gate and having to drive all the way across the base when the Eubanks gate would be much more convenient. Yeah, it is about time for the manager to retire. Did not use any of the facilities but stuck my head in to check them out and all looked OK.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We’ve been coming here every few years for 18 years or so and the same manager has been here all this time. We have 4 words for her — “It’s time to retire.” I’ll refrain from specifics. That said, this place has almost tripled in size since our first years. They now seem to use a 30 day max stay and it is pretty full. There is a younger maintenance fellow taking care of some things. The older section is the most pleasant looking and the newer section has the most spacious sites. Wind seems more an issue in the new section. Watch your awning. Half the rigs have doors facing west, too. Ugh. No WiFi anymore. Laundry room has been upgraded. All gates have changed from a few years ago. We used to use Eubanks gate nearby, but all gates have been narrowed and it is tight. Truman is the best bet now— it is a bit wider and has fewer obstacles. This is a busy base which is good to see. Commissary and BX area are good. There are Rec activities everyone can participate in. The golf course needs more TLC but is okay. Its restaurant is a busy place for breakfast and lunch, too. A great attraction is the Nuclear Energy Museum out the gate north several blocks on Eubanks. Very interesting. 
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful? 15 1
31 Apr - 3 May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have a 34' 5th wheel and followed the instructions using Truman gate and had no problems. Staying 3 nights at the newer area on the east side of famcamp. Sites are big and wide with lots of room, (just gravel). Bath/shower is worn like most famcamps, nothing special there. We went to the Petroglyphs National Monument and to the Sandia Tram. Base is nice, Big BX and commissary, diesel at the express station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb. 26, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It had been 5 years since we were last here. Not much has changed. This time of the year, the park was less than 50% occupied. Since it's not busy, they changed their stay limits to 30 days instead of 14 days. While the FamCamp is old and nothing great, I disagree with a previous reviewer about closing the campground. It's still a good location and price to stay in the Albuquerque area. You won't find FHU sites for this price anywhere nearby. Just don't expect the FamCamp to be a fancy RV resort. The base itself has all of the amenities you would want. Commissary and BX are large. Fuel (including diesel) was slightly less priced than off-base. I also agree, and verified, the Truman gate is the best gate to sue with a large RV. It's not the closest gate to the FamCamp, but it's the easiest to get through and drive to the FamCamp. The road to the Gibson gate entrance is undergoing major changes and now includes many tight turns. The staff at the park were friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Aug 6, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Wyoming gate is NOT RV Friendly. Avoid it even if you are a class C. I got caught in the barriers and with two blocks of traffic backed up had to go on forward. $30+thousand in damage to my motor home. Eubank gate is ok but very narrow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 15 - July 29 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Typical of Air Force FamCamps, overall in need of maintenance on just about everything, overall good FamCamp but not great. The Truman Gate (24/7) located on the north side of the the base is Big Rig friendly and does not have any barriers or obstacles. The newer section has large wide sites using common FHUs between the sites. There's absolutely no shade in the newer section. Signage here is horrible. I had to park in the area just south of the newer sites and walk around to find the office. The office is closed on weekends. There are instructions at the office for after hours check in. When arriving after hours you can park in any open site that does not have a cone in it. Then fill out the reservation provided at the office, place it in the dropbox, then mark an 'X' on your site on the campground map. You can pay by check or credit card. If paying by credit card go to the office and provide your credit card info. If you drive your RV into the last road on the west of the FamCamp you will need to disconnect to turn around if no sites are available. In the older area most of the site are not really big rig friendly. Dense trees offer good shade but can be a problem with large RVs and slides. During our stay here there was some tree trimming going on. Site 25 through 33 in the older section are big rig friendly. Those sites offer some shade and green grass. If you want grass and shade those are the best for big rigs. Sites 25 through 33 share a common power pedestal. Which means on some sites you will need to run you power cord under your RV to the power pedestal to the right of your RV. Be prepared and bring an good extension cord. In sites 25 through 33 every other site has a concrete pad. There is WiFi but almost useless with .71Mbps download, 3.07Mbps upload. Verizon Data 34Mbps download, 16.8Mbps upload. AT&T data 6.90Mbps download, 15.1Mbps upload. Verizon cell service was good. The restroom photos here are outdated. Both the newer and older section restrooms are in need of repair and updating. The newer section is the worse, very grungy and smell like poo! I personally would not use the shower in the newer restrooms. The laundry photos are also in need off updating. The laundry room now has stackable washer and dryers. The dog run photo is also in need of updating. The dog run now has large shade tree, but the grass is now gone. I've posted update photos of all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 28 - June 5, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are a 45' motorhome towing a truck. In the past we were just skinny enough to use the Eubanks gate, but decided to try the Truman gate. The gate is several inches wider than Eubanks, so passage was easy. Not so easy though for long rigs like ours are two of the left turns from a two lane to a two lane road.. If there had been traffic on the street we were turning into, people would have had to back up. Still, I recommend this gate over the others. Gibson for example does not allow vehicles with three or more axles. Eubanks during the early AM traffic has all lanes open, but later funnels everyone into one lane and after you enter, they have raised barriers so it becomes an "S" and is too short for any RV. We always stay on the new side because the sites are so long and wide you have plenty of room for any size RV and vehicle. They do not take reservations, but we have never found the park full during Spring, Summer, or Fall (never been here during the winter). 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The campground has a lot of sites. I was lucky to get a shady area as the temps are getting up there during midday. Really enjoyable 4 days as there are a lot of things to do in Albuquerque and on base. I ran, biked, golfed, visited the BX. No library on base - they have a sign to visit the off base libraries. Wifi at the camp is usually good based on demand. Slow at times. There is a very nice Nuclear History Museum immediately off base (Eubanks Gate).....Fam Camp is visible from the Eubanks Gate so I recommend you use that to get on base (Off I-40 exit Eubanks). $18 for full hook up is a bargain. There's a nice gentleman working on the flowers, grass other upkeep and he's making the place look nice. HOWEVER...if you use the restrooms....they're pretty nasty. That's the only bad comment about this camp in my opinion (cleanliness).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2018
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pretty nice for location on the base, dusty and dry gravel pit. Dog owners need to pick up after themselves. Only spent three days, but others where homesteaders. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
29 April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in the new section with spacious sites. Janet, the site manager runs a good park fairly considering no reservations required for campground. The Truman gate is a ways from the famcamp but works best for big rigs. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 17, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our 2nd stay and we've like both of them. This isn't a fancy FamCamp but it is very useful. I gave Cleanliness/Hospitality a 3 star for cleanliness only. The host was very friendly and helpful. Our site was a little "goofy" - had to run power under coach and use an extension cord to finish hooking up. Oh well. Fellow RVers were very friendly BUT one of the long term folks had a pit bull that probably needs to not be there. Didn't bother us but it was really almost off the chain ugly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
January 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Not a bad FamCamp and it's quite secure (considering the location of Kirtland AFB in the Albuquerque area). Access to the base can be problematic - we came in from East I-40 and had to go to the west side of the base to the Truman Gate to get in. If you're not familiar with Kirtland/ABQ it would have been a nightmare for you. Info on Kirtland entry recommends not to use the Eubank Gate; however, an RVer had just come through it with a fairly large 5th wheel and he didn't have an issue. Looking at the entry there I don't think I would have had any issues with my 35 ft fiver (Wyoming Gate was closed inbound due to construction). As for the FamCamp it's plenty spacious and was about 30% full - sites are gravel and not much shade in the new section (not a factor in the winter). Office doesn't have much to offer but check-in was quick - staff could have been a little more proactive. Also, laundry room doesn't have a change machine and the office doesn't provide change; so bring your quarters if you plan on doing laundry. Overall our stay was nice and I would recommend this FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
December 2017-January 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here 3 weeks. Not fancy, but given the high crime in Albuquerque, we felt very safe on base leaving our fifth wheel for long periods. Staff friendly. As others have said WiFi is horrible. Unable to stream anything without long buffering periods. That’s about the only negative. Given the safety and cheap cost we will stay here again. Be sure to follow the instructions for big rig entry otherwise you’ll be in a major pickle. Very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
November 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Haven't been here in some years. Still a fine place to stay. Very well kept up, helpful, friendly staff. With the park not full wifi was adequate for most purposes - forget streaming anything tho. I can't figure out the gate issues. We saw no serpentines at Eubanks and only a shallow serpentine at Gibson. Saw city buses go through both. Yes Eubanks is tight but we've been through it before and Truman looked to be the same width on exiting. Still, Truman is probably the safe bet. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
30 Sep-12 Oct 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We knew that arriving here and getting a parking spot at the famcamp this close to the start of the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta would be a challenge. We called a couple of times and talked to the park host and got detailed information on what to expect upon arrival. She took our number and said she would call back when she had more info and she actually did call us later in the day. We arrived at 0800 and at 0900 she came to the office and started the roll call for the folks on the waiting list. There were 4 people ahead of us who were parked in overflow and she took care of them first. Then she called the name of a guest who was scheduled to leave to make sure they didn’t want to extend their stay. (Folks already in sites have first chance to extend their stay). They didn’t answer the call so we got their site. The lady came just as my wife was leaving and said she wanted to stay but was told she was too late. I believe the way they run the movement of folks into and out of the park during this busy time is very fair and organized. The campground host here is the best we have seen in any military park we have visited. The park’s Wifi is usable (from site 72) sometimes depending on the time of day; early mornings and late at night being the best time. Verizon 4g service is great in the mornings, late evenings and weekends but during the day it is very slow. No problem getting a satellite signal in the "new" section. New gate hours: Truman & Eubanks gates, 24/7; Wyoming gate, 0530 to 1900, weekdays; Gibson gate: 0530 to 2200. The Security Forces have again made the Eubanks Gate even more difficult to get through with the addition of more barriers. I’m not sure I would drive any RV through there but for sure nothing over 30 feet. I watched a very large and expensive RV go out the Eubanks gate (escorted by security forces) and put a very long scrape on the side of his rig.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 29, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First, the gate hours are changing effective 15 May. You need to update that in the directions. I have uploaded a photo with the new hours. As for the park itself, not bad. The directions on this site are great. We came in on a weekend and used the Gibson gate and made it through just fine with our 35' MH and towed. The older part has some trees, but they need trimmed as our rig would not fit under the branches. So we picked a site in the new section. Typical "desert" RV park. Gravel sites, shared utilities, limited shade. However, this is a great place to stay. We were delaying for snow storms and cold weather and wanted a hook up to keep from freezing and this place was perfect. Watch out for all the "sand" burs, some call them "goat heads". There are millions of them in the grass and in the open areas. We did not walk our dog in those areas. Check-in was easy and straight forward. Probably the best Wi-Fi we have had at any military campground. Kudos for that!! The new side has limited showers and bath and no laundry, but that is fins as most folks that stay on this side do not use. The laundry was clean and working. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
92 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5