Kirtland AFB FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.0 (179)
145580 2 37 1 78

User reviews

179 reviews
 
30%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(179)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(179)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(179)
Value
 
4.2(179)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(179)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
179 results - showing 161 - 179
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
26-30 Nov 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stopped here heading west and spent a few days. Nice fam camp. They do give a 10 percent discount if you are a club member. Price for propane was real good compared to other campgrounds and civilian market. Laundry and bathroom could use and upgrade but they are functional, and clean; laundry only had three washers with two working and four dryers. Base has good facilities with easy access, the car wash has an outside bay that you can wash your rig. TV reception is good in both analog and digital mode using the batwing antenna.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
2-4 Nov 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped here on our way east. Great park! Used all of the facilities while there. Bathrooms were well maintained. Only a couple of the washers/dryers were working while we were there. Propane is available in the park. Talked to the host and she said there are plans in the works to upgrade the park by adding 45 more full-hookup sites, a playround and other ammenties. Overall, a very nice experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 3 - 17, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent campground. No reservations are allowed and because of the Albequerque Balloon Fiesta we had to dry camp for 3 nights before getting into a hook-up site. This was not a problem beacause there are plenty of sites in the overflow area and the restrooms (one shower each) were clean and well maintained. The dog run was nice and there was only one day that the "doggie bag" containers were empty. Staffers Janet and Mike made you feel welcomed and were very helpful and informative. The availabilty of LP gas is a plus. Enjoyed the stay and will certainly return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 4, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
K.S. left this review using the Directory Software: Been in the Kirtland FAMCAMP several times since 2004. Overall a great place to stay but not quite 5-star. Looks like they are currently trying to get rid of all the painful goat head vegetation by scraping most of grass on the sites away. Definitely will become a mud pit when it rains. Dog run is really nice but all the poop bag dispensers were empty. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
June 10 - 23, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Have spent two weeks here and have totally enjoyed our stay. Funds have been approved for making all of the gravel sites into paved 50 amp full hookup sites. Nice, friendly people run the campground. The road construction is finished. We were on a gravel site and had to run our electric under the coach but that will be remedied soon. If you enjoy birds, bring a hummingbird feeder. All the sites have trees from which to hang a feeder. Be sure and visit the Sandia Peak Tram and get your tickets on base at ITT. We are looking forward to returning to Kirtland again. Verizon cell phone and Broadband were 5 bars. We camped in a 40' motorhome
JL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 24 - 26, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Kirtland's fam camp is a neat, clean little setup with some gravel and some paved sites. The grounds were immaculate and the landscapting very nice with the roses blooming. We had to park in overflow the first night because they absolutely will NOT take a reservation, but we were first on the list to move the next morning. Only a one stall bath and one shower each for male & female, but they were clean and we never had to wait to get in. Lots of washers & dryers & we did need to use those. Staffer, Janet, was most helpful and gave us all the directions we needed and we had a great visit in the area. Sure would like to have WIFI, but we found a restaurant with free access not too far away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
22-24 May 07
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Major road construction on Post made getting to the Camp difficult. Location was not marked & directions given at the Eubank gate were incorrect. Traffic cones are not placed to be "Big rig friendly". Once we finally got situated all was well. Great dog run & friendly staff. During this construction, you must turn onto 12th @ the Temporary Housing units to get to the FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb-April 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground has really great potential. Janet (campground mgr) is doing a great job. The recently added dog park is a model all campgounds should follow. The weekend/evening hosts, Mike and Nancy were very helpful and just super nice folks. The only hiccup was the Laundry room, dryers just didn't heat like they should. The grounds people were nice & friendly and keep the park looking very nice. With a few tons of gravel and all 50A Sites with sewer and they will have the best in the Air Force. We are looking forward to returning to Kirtland in the near future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 23, 2007
(Updated: July 06, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Although our travel timing didn't allow us to spend the night, we stopped at Kirtland to resupply at the commissary on our return from the Texas, New Mexico, Arizona & Utah deserts. While there, we stopped in at the FAMCAMP to see it for future reference. I agree with beachkat, below, about the campground facilities. The base itself is an Air Force showcase, and beautifully maintained, so it seems odd that the FAMCAMP is less than top tier. Still, it's a fine pied a terre for activities in the Albuquerque/northern NM area, of which there are many. Go and enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campgrounds are being maintained but the showers are not acceptable. The bathrooms need a lot of help! Showers are old and narrow. Over all we have enjoyed our stay here as it is very close to almost everything we wanted to see and do. We would definitely come back again.
VR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the FamCamp for 10 days and had a wonderful time. The site we stayed in was clean, easy hookup and very accessible to everything. The camp does need some fix-um ups but for the cost it was great. There was the "thorn" problem but overall it was easy to take care of. The dog run was very nicely kept up. The only gripe is about the washateria. We had to run the dryers several times. Maybe some larger dryers could be installed. The camp host was very helpful and delight to meet. Helped us find our way to many attractions. The weekend host was especially helpful. We had a camp cookout with many of the people staying there and had a wonderful time. Overall our experience was great and if space is available we will definitely stay there again.
DW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This FamCamp has the potential of being a great place with a few upgrades. They do seem to be actively working on the park. There were about 5 sites open when we arrived but only one suited our hook-up needs. A lot of the sites need extensions for water, power, or sewer. There are thorns everywhere, so watch your pets paws. I will say, they went all out with the Dog Run area. Our dog enjoyed it very much. And it was thorn free! All in all we had a pleasant stay and will return. Oh, there are 2 nice Indian casinos about 20 minutes, one North and one South, on Hwy 25 with great food!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Since summer is hot, it's the slow season. No problems getting a full hook-up site. We also had a full 50 amps. Sites vary on type, size, and location of hook-ups.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This FAM Camp has been approved for updates on Electric and added pad sites. Bids are being accepted. After traveling for several years, one must be reminded that different commands and their respective bases receives monies based on mission. This base is at lower tiers of allocation. Compared to lets say Nellis, DM, or other major bases with a high level mission. If only the ammenities were spread equally, retires and others couldn't then complain. We felt Kirtland does a great job with what there given. Propane is now available at this FAM CAMP.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Spent a week here, only because we had to wait to have our rig repaired. Not a prleasurable experience. Dog run was directly behind us, and our site was where they "went" if they couldn't quite make it. We were "reminded" by the staff of our day of departure, (does anyone EVER forget when they are leaving someplace?) and reminded of the policy of only a 14 day stay. The manager needs remedial math though, as after our 7 days, he said we could only stay for another 5. Made for some chuckles, but won't stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I must say we did not stay at this FamCamp. The check in, site selection, lack of anybody to assist, general lack of grounds upkeep turned us away. After having experienced Beale AFB and Nellis AFB FamCamps, this one was a real dissapointment. Not a problem though we do not need to come this way again., Just our thoughts on the site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Just OK.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Electric hookups are shared between sites. By careful positioning we managed to park where our 50 amp power cord would barely reach the plug. We did have to use our sewer extension hose to reach the sewer connection. Be prepared to need power, water and/or sewer extensions. Contrary to a previous user's comment, we did have 50 amp power through the 50 amp hookup.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
179 results - showing 161 - 179
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9