Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (176)
145580 2 35 1 71

User reviews

176 reviews
 
30%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(176)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(176)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(176)
Value
 
4.1(176)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(176)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
176 results - showing 141 - 160
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
Oct 21-22, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: They have one of the nicest Dog runs I have seen. 110 feet by 40 feet - completely fenced - all GRASS not gravel - completely landscaped with bushes and trees and 10 (yes TEN) benches to sit on. Even had some doggie pick-up bags. Very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26-28 September 2008
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Will never come here again! We arrived on Friday afternoon after confirming with the office that the CG was full and we would be using the overflow area with no hookups. Although we have used overflow areas at other Famcamps, this one was nothing more than a dirt field with old power poles on the ground to mark the "spots." More importantly, we were never advised where the water or dump station was located, or that the overflow area was covered with "Goathead Stickers" to the extent that after driving onto the field, the tread on our tires (both our motor home and towed vehicle) were literally "white" with stickers. Unaware of this problem, we exited our MH to find our shoes were covered from heel to toe. Fortunately no damage appears to have been done to the MH tires, but we had to purchase a complete set of tires for the "towed" as the Goatheads punctured the sidewalls ($588). Additionally, the field contained numerous rodent holes capable of swallowing a small dog or small child or causing injury if someone stepped into one. There was "rebar" sticking out of the power poles that could be a serious safety issue for children. The overflow area should be closed, inspected by the base safety office, and not reopened until these issues are corrected. We agree with other visitor's comments regarding the host/hostess. They do not offer helpful information, you must drag it out of them. Please note that the Gibson and Eubank gates are closed at night, and there are no signs directing you to a gate that is open!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
27 Sep - 06 Oct 08
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Stopped in to see the balloon fest. Left hand needs to communicate with the right! A few days before the festival started partial and dry camping was closed for renovation, leaving lots of campers "stuck" for a place to park, and no work had started as of our departure date!! I do agree it needs some work done. The bathhouse is the worst I've seen, laundry was ok. Except for a place to park your rig the CG offered nothing else. Might be back for the balloon fest but won't stay here..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sep. 27 - Oct. 3, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
When we arrived after the closing of the office on Sat. the host Jack was not very friendly as when he came to his door of his motor home he asked if I had read anything on the porch of the office and indicated that I should have and not bothered him. Then a couple of days later he was very loud and obnoxious when asked a question about staying and paying for the site and taking the RV off of the site to go someplace for a few days. The office manager was very helpful and courteous. As of today there are no dry sites available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
17-25 Sep 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were in electric only on pretty much a day to day basis while waiting on dealer & mfg coordination on repairs. The woman in the office was helpful, though never gave us any famcamp, local or bathroom combination information. We had no trouble getting a refund for days paid when the dealer called us to bring our motorhome in ahead of what they had previously scheduled. As we have experienced before, the goathead thorns are pretty bad throughout the campground. The woman in the office told us that construction is scheduled to being on 1 Oct on 40 new sites immediately East of the existing Famcamp. This will eliminate ALL drycamp and electric only hookups -- during their busiest time of the year while Balloon Fiesta is going on, but it should be great when the new addition is completed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
14 Sep 2008
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Arrived after dark and drove around the park once before I found the Camp Host who sat watching me from his window. Jack Neal, the host, was busy watching TV, and simply yelled out the window rather than getting up and coming outside. I inquired if he was the host and whether any were slots open, - he called to his wife who said yes, 22 and 23 were open. I asked where to obtain the user package and payment folder and was directed to the office which was closed. No payment folders were available so I simply wrote my name and pertinent info on the back of a local map, folded it with the money inside and deposited it in the receptical provided. I asked if there was a combination for the showers and laundry, = he called out the combination. I located the open slots, which were 21 and 22, (Thank goodness the shower combination was correct). I purchased a 'USAF frequent camper' subscription and have stayed in 12 USAF Fam-camps this summer. All were great, with this one exception. When a 'host' is too pre-occupied with his TV program to provide the service he is being paid for, - maybe they should find other employment? Dumpsters were full, - 'wi-fi' not operating, was told by another camper that the washers and dryers might not be working. Plans to expand this facility might be of questionable profitability? I'll admit my 2006 Lance slide-in camper sitting on a 2006 1 ton diesel isn't awfully impressive, but I feel entitled to the same cordiality I'd expect to give others. Mary the day host, was quite personable, but displayed little surprise or concern in regards to the perceived shortcomings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Sept 17 - 21, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in this famcamp. The camp was clean and well maintained. They work hard to maintain and add new grass & trees in this desert location. We arrived after the office closed, the host met us and assigned our tent to the front yard since the other tent site was occupied. WiFi and computers are available in the base library, kitty corner from the gas station. For people that use ATMs, I found three that were fee free with my credit union, one at class 6, the commissary and one located in a parking lot. We will be coming back in October for the Balloon Fiesta.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 15-29, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Visited 15 - 29 Sep, 08. We called the day we expected to arrive and found they had a few full hookup sites available. The directions through Eubanks gate were accurate and helpful. We checked in at the office where they gave us a list of available sites (4) and answered our questions. They accepted our Frequent Camper coupon and stamped our book. We selected a nice end site with a large grass yard, concrete patio, and concrete table and benches. We originally planed to stay one week but decided to stay two weeks since the area, site, and weather were so nice. The hookups were very convenient at our site, but I did notice some of the other sites required long runs of cables and hoses. The place is clean and well maintained. There are nice walking paths in the adjacent housing area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 13-14, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We called ahead and the person told us that, although they had a pad available at the time it was first-come first served, so we might have to park in the overflow area. That turned out to be the case but we did have water and electricity on a gravel/rock parking area. Kirtland AFB is a nice base, and is a nice location to stay while visiting Santa Fe and other nearby points of interest.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 20-21, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Staff was very friendly and helpful. It says they do not accept reservations, but we called early in the day and they told us to come on in and they would have a spot for us. Evidently they did fill up as there was an overflow area with limited or no hookups which had campers in it. There are about 50 campsites and one men's shower. One evening there were 3 of us wanting to use the shower at the same time. Shower wasn't all that clean either. Power pole was a mess. The 20 amp jacks didn't work at all, and the 50 amp socket was missing, leaving a gapeing hole in the panel. I used the 30 amp circuit, but wasn't getting enough amperage to run my air conditioners until I went out and tightened the internal wires myself. Wait... there is more... the concrete pad had a 3 inch curb around it. I came out of my RV at night and stepped down on the edge of that curb and sprained my ankle. Man did that hurt. Still does! No idea why that curb is there. I know... I should watch where I'm stepping. We did enjoy the wild bunny rabbits and the birds.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
13-16 June 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were disappointed that they were full up. If this happens to you get your name on the waiting list immediately because they have a roll call the next morning for vacant spots according to that list. We did get into overflow with 50 amp power which was great for just one night, although I thought it was bit expensive for $11 where a full hookup site is $15. We got in the next morning to a nice 30 amp site with lots of shade (we needed 50 but made due). The only thing I noticed about the park was odd set ups with the electric and sewer (bring extension cords and hoses). I was glad I had a 20ft sewer hose. Jack the co-camp host was really nice and friendly. The folks in the camp were nice too. It seems, in my experience, that the camp host sets the tone for the whole camp. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
17 - 21 May 2008
(Updated: May 23, 2008)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived on a Saturday after the office closed at noon. The camp host met us and assigned our spot. This was our fourth military campground camping experience. Only Nellis rates higher in our opinion, because of the office setup there. This is a desert location, so the grass, trees, and beautiful roses are highly appreciated. The expansion project is underway, it will be completed before Balloon Fest. Something not mentioned before is that the manager, Janet, arranges park-and-ride like services for the guests to the fest. The cottontail rabbits provide a lot of entertainment. The base Library has both WiFi and two computers available for those who do not have a laptop, it is located across the street from the gas station on Gibson Blvd. If you have children with you or visiting you, the McDonalds has a huge outdoor shaded playground. The laundry has plenty of reading material available. If you ever have a fire while at this famcamp you will greatly appreciate the three fire extingishers available 24 hours a day, two at the bathrooms and one at the office porch. The laundry/bathroom codes are on the bottom of the yellow reciept AND are on the instruction sheet posted for after hours check-in. We talked to guests who have visited this famcamp for twelve years and they pointed out the improvemments they have witnessed over that time frame.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11-16 April 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Famcamp is wedged between a newer housing area, the TLF houses, and the Dep't of Energy's solar energy research antenna farm. Camp itself is pleasant, but its age shows. Appears to be on land that once was the base trailer park, or an older housing area with houses gone. Restrooms are minimal - shower in men's room is really old, probably 30 years or so, and not well maintained, but shower itself was fine. Sale of propane is a very nice amenity! Lady in charge of the campground is extremely helpful, and is quick to point out that a nearly 100% refurbishment is due this summer! (2008). Wi-Fi is non-existant, although campground-wide wi-fi is scheduled as part of park upgrade this summer. Commissary operates 24/7, 0900-1900, also a very nice perk! The Commissary, BX, and Shopette/Auto Care center/Class VI and new automated car wash are all in a row, easy to access, just down the road, going west, from the Famcamp. BX and Commissary are very good. Class VI wine/beer selection is excellent - lots of microbrews, impports, great selection of New Mexico wines and others as well. All the usual hard liquor selections. Base itself is very clean. Great TV reception - analog & digital - from Sandia Peak antenna farm right behind famcamp. Base is right IN Albuquerque, and easy to get to via the Wyoming Street gate, heading north. BTW you'll intersect Central Avenue, the old Route 66 - WELL worth the drive into downtown, as well as eastward. Lots of old historic motels, diners, great neon sineage. Plenty of space near Famcamp if you like to run/jog. Well equipped fitness center, though pretty old. Would definitely stay there again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
12-13 Apr 08
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Friendly staff member, but did not offer any info on rules etc. When asked, he provided all needed info. Never did ofer a receipt. Bath-laundry needs updating, but adequate. Actually had trees on both sides of the trailer, with room left for slide and awning. Dog loved the dog walk, real grass in spots rather then the typical AZ-NM gravel. Summed up, a good experience, and we will be back.
CA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
27 Feb - 19 Mar 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We arrived around lunch time, the manager was eating as I was checking in. I got the opinion that she wished that i wasn't there. Also, we where not given the code to the bathrooms and laundry rooms when we checked in. We had to ask someone for the code. This is normal, according to the Rvers we talked to. Sometimes the manager is very helpful, other times she is more interested in watching TV. Just matters what day. Hours are posted for the office, but i don't count on the office being open in the afternoon. They do have a camp host, and they are very friendly couple. The camp has a great dog walk, and the laundry room is okay. They have a broken washer and dryer. Also they run the sprinklers every morning, again we where not informed of this. Everyday we woke up to a layer of ice on the patio and Railroad ties. You have to be careful. I guess my main problem, they just don't give out information that is important. They take your money, give you a site, and thats it. An information sheet (rules, code, ie) would be nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
13-16 Mar 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There aren't any instructions (above) for arriving from the south. It's easy. If coming up I-25, look for Gibson street exit. It's right after the International airport exits. Turn right off I-25 & stay on it till you bump into the gate. Had to stay 1 night in overflow, but it had 30amp. Just no water. Moved into a full hookup next morning. Camp host is very nice/helpful. Bathhouse has only 1 toliet & 1 shower (men's), women's has 1 shower, 2 toliets. laundry is a real bargain @ $.75 per load. Sites are mostly pull thru, mostly paved and level. BX/Commissary, etc nearby. Nice place to sit out the Spring wind storms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
16 Dec 07 - 15 Mar 08
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We came in on 16 Dec 2007 and will be here through mid Mar 2008. This is our fourth visit here in the last six years. Like most MCG's we enjoy the base/post security & this base is no exception. If you come in the Eubank gate you can see the CG from the gate. The only drawback is that gate is closed 1800 to 0600 during the week, and all weekend. If coming from the east use the Wyoming gate and turn left at F ave. From the South use the Gibson gate, turn right on Wyoming and left on F ave. From the north or west the choice is yours. Everything is on schedule for 30 to 40 new larger sites all with 30/50 amp hookups with solar lamps for night time hookup, cable TV, and by the time they are finished WI-FI should be in, not only for the campgrounds but the bowling alley, golf course and a few other areas. There will also be a playground area for kids. This will all be built to the east of the current campground. The area is now a storage area for RV's. Janet the famcamp mgr told me that she is calling all owners to move their RV's so the work can begin. The area west of the current CG will be the new storage area. After the new sites are built and open they will rebuild the old sites. We are not homesteaders and there is a 14 day limit on all stays. However as long as there are open sites you can stay. If no sites you must go into overflow until there are sites open for your next 14 days. In the winter there are (most) always sites open.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
26-30 Nov 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stopped here heading west and spent a few days. Nice fam camp. They do give a 10 percent discount if you are a club member. Price for propane was real good compared to other campgrounds and civilian market. Laundry and bathroom could use and upgrade but they are functional, and clean; laundry only had three washers with two working and four dryers. Base has good facilities with easy access, the car wash has an outside bay that you can wash your rig. TV reception is good in both analog and digital mode using the batwing antenna.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
2-4 Nov 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped here on our way east. Great park! Used all of the facilities while there. Bathrooms were well maintained. Only a couple of the washers/dryers were working while we were there. Propane is available in the park. Talked to the host and she said there are plans in the works to upgrade the park by adding 45 more full-hookup sites, a playround and other ammenties. Overall, a very nice experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 3 - 17, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent campground. No reservations are allowed and because of the Albequerque Balloon Fiesta we had to dry camp for 3 nights before getting into a hook-up site. This was not a problem beacause there are plenty of sites in the overflow area and the restrooms (one shower each) were clean and well maintained. The dog run was nice and there was only one day that the "doggie bag" containers were empty. Staffers Janet and Mike made you feel welcomed and were very helpful and informative. The availabilty of LP gas is a plus. Enjoyed the stay and will certainly return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
176 results - showing 141 - 160
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9