Kirtland AFB FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.0 (179)
145580 2 37 1 78

User reviews

179 reviews
 
30%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(179)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(179)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(179)
Value
 
4.2(179)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(179)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
179 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
18-19 March 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice park for an overnight stop. A little expensive compared to other Fam Camps I have visited. Cable would be nice as we could only receive one english channel with our HD antennae. The newer side has lots of space. I was able to park my truck next to my trailer. The staff here was very nice. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 1-7, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in the gravel portion in the back and really liked it there. The sites are very large, both long and WIDE. I work out of the RV so I wanted something to look at besides the side of someone else's rig, so we looked for an end spot. We found one, but the way the sites are set up you have the sun flooding in your windows at dawn or sunset. So instead, we parked diagonally in the site, had a breathtaking view of the mountains, no sun blindness, only a few quizzical stares from passersby. Facilities on base were great, enjoyed seeing the petroglyphs and wandering around the open spaces at the foot of the hills. We would not hesitate to stay here again, should we ever find ourselves in Albuquerque again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 14 -17,2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Hugh improvement over our last visit to Kirtland AFB. The east area with their very large gravel spaces, sewer, and electric connections are a vast improvement over the older west area. We hope they continue to improve this park, as this park could serve as a hub for the many attractions of the Albuquerque area. A host drove up as we were sitting up in the rain/snow mix of early March and volunteered to go to the registration office and mark our spot on the sign in board, the lady who registered us the next morning was very nice and informative. Some areas of improvement are: the bathroom facilities need updating and expanded. They are woefully inadequate for the size of this famcamp with only one shower. The registration office is very small and does not have the room to have the informative brochures and other amenities of other famcamps. It would be a little better if they would compact the gravel sites but we did not have a real problem with sitting up because our jack pads compacted the gravel and we were able to level without too much effort. There is no shade or landscaping in the east area and that will help this summer for those sites. With a few more improvements this would be a very nice famcamp. With all that said we will continue to stop here and hope they continue to improve the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
February 3-4, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived at night in a snowstorm. The camp hosts could not have been nicer and helped get us situated. We just needed electricity so we stayed in the new gravel area. Nice campground and AFB. Good campground for the money, we will definitely stay there again. Filled up the tank with diesel at the BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 26 - Oct 10, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in overflow 1 night then we stayed the rest of the time in the "new" gravel lot. We may have enjoyed the old site w/trees more, but I doubt it. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 25, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There is an old and new section in the C/G. The older section has trees for shade, but those sites nearest the office are over grown. It would be difficult for a larger rig to fit on them without scraping the branches. The new section of the C/G has all gravel, wide, level, and long sites which will accommodate any size rig. They actually would fit two larger rigs on each site. There is a picnic table but no fire ring. The utility pedestal is shared by two sites, but due to the width of the sites, does not hinder space between rigs. There are several sewer connections on each site which makes it easy to park anywhere you wish. The road is dirt, but is supposed to be paved in the near future. Easy access in and out. Voltage was good. 30/50 amp service in the new section. Water pressure was high, but can be controlled easily by the valve handle. The bathhouse was old but well maintained. There is only one shower and toilet for 100+ spaces which is inadequate. Good laundry facility. I saw only one dumpster and it was at the end of the new section. Also inadequate for the number of sites. Customer service was good. I didn’t see a camp host, but there’s a self check-in for after hours. The on base gas station sells diesel. Disregard published instructions to enter or leave via the main gate unless you wish to solemn thru tight barriers or have a short rig. Use the Gibson Gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 13, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The new huge gravel sites are very nice, almost zero stickers. WIFI is still at the library, but you can pick up about five open signals and I was able to get on a few to check mail. They are repainting the bathrooms now for the balloon festival next month. Camp host and staff are very nice. The base is a step up as well.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our 2nd visit. The new gravel lot is big rig friendly but with the desert heat trees would be nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 16 to July 19, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Comfortable park with excellent location and access to base and local facilities. Price is high for 30 amp, no internet, no cable tv. Our famcamps should be able to match or beat local passport america discounts in the area. I have traveled a lot over the last three years and it seems that so many are raising their prices to approach the $20 threshold with little added amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice clean park. Restroom facilities could use some remodeling, but were acceptable. Park was a big gravel lot for the most part, but served its purpose.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
5-10 May 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second time at Kirtland and we have enjoyed our stay both times. When the new section was opened it virtually doubled the size of the park. The area is just a large parking lot with parking sites designated by light poles on the ground, but they are very large and all have 50 amp service. We elected to stay in the old section which has grass and trees which was almost full but more to our liking. Site #30 is a long site that is not designated a pull-thru but could be if necessary. I pulled our 5’er into the site and when leaving I backed out. This site has 50 amp service but my cord was too short to reach the box so we used a 30 amp extension cord. Three washers and four dryers in the laundry room and they all worked. Bathrooms were clean. Propane is available in the park. We came in the Gibson gate and had no problems getting through the maze but take it slow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 1, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived late in the day and there were no spots available so we stayed in the overflow comfortably since we're self-contained. Filled the fresh water tank and emptied the black/gray tanks on our way out. The stay cost us nothing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 5, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived today at Kirtland AFB and the new camp sites are a huge improvement. The 40 new sites are huge and angled for easy entry. The hook-ups are in between two sites and easy to reach for most any RV. In fact, there are three sewer connections on each center utility run. The sites are gravel and the roads are dirt. Hopefully, they will pave the roads at some point. We had difficulty leveling our motor home on the first row, sites E-31 to E-40. We tried two sites on this row and each one had a slope downward towards the south. And the gravel was so loose that our jacks sunk into the gravel a couple of inches. We moved to the third row and site E-18 and had no difficulty leveling. Plus the gravel was more hard packed. Overall, we are very pleased with the campground expansion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Apr 23- Apr 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We tent camp, so we view this campground differently from most of the reviewers. We were directed by the camp host to setup our tent on the grass at the entrance of the FamCamp, where we have setup in previous trips. The manager is recovering from surgery and the host and his wife effectively handle everything when she is off site. The new section will look similar to the original park as time goes by, it takes time to establish grass in the desert. A washing machine was out of service over the weekend and was promptly returned to service on Monday. This camp is well located for anyone wanting to visit northern New Mexico as they travel I-40. To the RV's, when the spring weather forecast predicts breezy, I would recommend retracting the awnings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Apr 5 - Apr 15, 09
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived 3 days after the new section was opened. Selected a site, dumped my air, lowed the jacks to level, extended the slide, hooked up to water and sewer, then plugged into the 50 amp electric. Should have plugged into the electric first, as there was no electricity. After all that we had to move to a site with good electric. (Problem with the transformer; it was fixed the next day). There's advantages to parking on thick gravel than dirt/grass when it rains. I had no problem with that. Sites are nice and wide, and would accommodate a picnic table nicely. The old section was full and the new section quickly filled up with people in overflow, probably because of the RV rally that came to town (that's why we were there; we moved to the rally grounds when it opened). I left for the better part of a day to take my motor home to a facility for work. I left my sewer hose attached, and placed a cone on my site. When I returned the sewer hose and all attachments were gone. One of their workers disposed of it. The park bought me a new outfit. I would go back for a short stay. For a longer stay I'd look for an off base campground at a cheaper price.

ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
31 Mar - 27 April 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed here once a year for several years, from two weeks to a month at a time. It would be great if they would change the 14 day limit to 30 days to be consistent with most other Famcamps, but the 14 day stay limit does allow you to "roll over" and stay in your site if there is no one on the waiting list at 9am on your day of departure. If on the rare occasion you do get bumped, you probably will spend just one night in dry camp before you are back in full-hookups. When we arrived, there was an over-voltage problem in our site in the old area. The host called out some electricians to verify the problem. As it was after 4pm, we dry-camped in our full hookup site that night (the new area was not open, and there were no empty sites) until they brought a crew out at 8:15 the next morning to adjust the transformer. It is great that they have added new sites, though the end result is a bit disappointing as it is simply a gravel & dirt lot divided by telephone poles lying on the ground ...no wifi, no catv, no grill, no landscaping, dirt/dusty streets, and only a few picnic tables so far. And the bathhouse facilities has only one commode and one shower for each sex for all 72 sites!! Due to the increase in price to $18 and the fact they do not offer any weekly or monthly discount, we probably will stay in a civilian park on future visits to Albuquerque as we know several locations where far better amenities are provided (wifi, catv, grills, tables, and others) for $100-$200 less for a month-long stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21 - 26 APR 09
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: Still a great place to camp. Close to everything on and off base. New sites are on thick gravel with dirt roads located where overflown used to be. For big rigs it is much easier and safer to use the Eubank Gate. Wyoming gate is VERY tight and a few RV's have scraped their sides. Truman gate is easy entry when coming in on week ends.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 24, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Our second stop here this month. First stop, our site was sold out from under us when we left to tour the balloon museum. They have no computer system to track sites. You are supposed to use a scarce red cone to let them know its occupied. Too bad no one told us. Second stay, someone pulled into our assigned space before we could get there. They let him stay & moved us. At least there was another site open. There is supposedly a 15 day rule. Good luck trying to get into one of the older, nicer sites. People there last week are still in the same sites. Some look as though they have not been moved for years. People in dry camp who signed up for a full hookup site were being made to wait until afternoon because people were supposed to arrive by then who were told they had a site. This in spite of there being a strict NO RESERVATIONS RULE. If this campground had the kind if management that they have in Kings Bay, GA, it too would be rated in the top ten. There is on base cheap diesel and a very nice PX & Commissary. Location is good. New section has dirt / sand streets & when winds gust to 50 MPH, dust devils & sand pelt you & your rig hard. This has been an all too frequent happening. Of course the old section has trees & paved roads, so not bad there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
K. D. left this review using the Directory software: The "new" campground is open. You will have no cable, no picnic table, no trees or shade and you will pay 5 dollars more than at the "old" sites. The reasoning for this is the sites are bigger. They only offer the daily rate. But the sites are bigger, even though they are all gravel which is difficult to walk in because of being newly put down. Easy to find though.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar. 5-19, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: Great campground. Construction is on schedule for the new campsites to be finished by end of March. (The contractor is delivering the gravel for the sites). We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
179 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9