Kirtland AFB FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.0 (179)
145580 2 37 1 79

User reviews

179 reviews
 
30%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(179)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(179)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(179)
Value
 
4.2(179)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(179)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
179 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
May 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Hours for staff have been cut back. While we were there for a weekend the office wasn't open and we did the self check in. The prior comments still hold true - it's a good value for the area and lots to do around the city. I did notice one change - a new bath facility in the middle of the "parking lot." People were still working on it so I didn't go inside.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
27-29 May 13
(Updated: May 29, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived on Memorial Day. This proved to be a problem because there was no staff of any kind available to help us out in understanding the check in process. We never did see the camp host. There are instructions and procedures posted but they refer to a map that must be updated for the process to work and it was not updated. We stayed in the "new" part which is basically a parking lot with hook ups. Several sites require maintenance to fix their power. When the staff did arrive after the holiday they were barely responsive to our intrusion into their television watching so we could square-away the paperwork. Overlooking the staff responsiveness issues, which may be isolated because of the holiday, this is a good stopping place to enjoy the Albuquerque area and Kirtland AFB. The routing into the base through the Eubanks gate is a good way in, but be advised the gate is narrow so drive carefully.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
01 MAY 2013
(Updated: May 08, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I rolled into Kirtland about 2300 local after a long drive from Arkansas. The directions provided to access the correct gate were exact and perfect! We found a spot and pulled in (as quietly as possible), getting hooked up to shore power, water and sewer. As we were getting things settled for the night the camp host drove up and welcomed us, asking if we wanted to wait and get checked in in the morning (I just paid her cash because we wanted to sleep in). She came back over about 20 minutes later, bringing a receipt and giving us a quick rundown of the parks facilities, including the laundry which was needed after a few weeks on the road. We only spent the night, but Kirtland filled our needs to a tee. We'd recommend their FamCamp to anyone!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 Mar-26 Mar 2013
(Updated: April 02, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time and location very good for shopping. We were in site 50 on East side and preferred this. Nice dog park and clean laundry room. Sites are long and wide.
Would definitely recommend coming in the Eubanks gate in spite of what GPS tells you. Very convenient to camp. Also, there is a newer Walmart on Wyoming a mile north of the exit. Costco is just north of Eubank gate next to older Walmart. Staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely return. John and Amy Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 13-17, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Camp dir. and host helpful. New drive through sites nice and wide. Should have new shower house open soon {this will improve the camp overall}.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25 Sep - 9 Oct 12
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
S.B. left this review using the Directory software: - we came here for the Balloon Fiesta; if you get here around the end of September, the facility may be full. We arrived Tuesday, 25 Sep and there was many spaces available. But by Saturday, 29 Sep it will probably be full. We have stayed here before and little has been done to improve the cg. Many trees are either blocking or restricting entry on a site. There appears to be no cleanup or landscaping crew at all. This comment refers to the original cg not the new sites which have no trees. The office manager Janet is helpful and good at her job, but all that entails is answering the phone and registering campers. There are a few active duty people, not many that i see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 - 13 October 2012
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stopped here mid week of the Balloon Festival and didn't expect to find any spots, but there was at least eight available. The office manager said they haven't been full for several nights but expected to be on the weekend. Since we only needed 30 amp electrical, we were given a site in the old, west section. This use to be a housing area. The sites are on driveways, and the slabs of the buildings that use to be there, pull throughs with curbs. Depending on what site you were on, you may need at least 25 feet of electrical and water hose to reach the connections. On the west side, many sites are shaded by big trees--our's wasn't--but it wasn't too hot, and the sunshine felt good in the mornings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Spet 11, 2012
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Eubank Gate closes at midnight and Wyoming gate closes at 1900. Gibson is the 24 hour gate. This Park could been one of the best if there was better management. The grassed areas are being overrun with "Grassburrs" which resemble grass and "Goatheads" that mostly grow around the edges. The yard maintenance folks run the lawnmowers over them scattering them even more. The dog run was out of poop bags in all three containers and when reported to the office. I got a "I don't have time to go get any." Although I don't think she would be missed for a 20 minute to get them. When I was there, the place was nearly full. You would think with the routers already on the poles and nightly income over $5000.00, WIFI would be furnished. Then onsite Camp Host is great and very helpful. The day employ could use some additional training in dealing with the public. Instead on sitting on her butte watching TV, she could police up around the office and update the site board out on the porch. I would recommend this park to anyone as the day trips in the area are outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 7-8, 2012
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location was great. We came in through the Eubanks gate which was tight but doable if you go slow. No one in office when we arrived but we read the instructions for self check in and found a spot just fine. Host Doreen was over to see us shortly after and was very friendly. Sites are pretty big but it's all dirt, gravel and rocks. The old section does have a fair number of trees and shade. Be VERY careful about letting your dog walk on what looks like grass because it's full of stickers (think they call them goatheads locally). Our dogs had so many that we had to carry them back to the RV and it took me 1/2 hour to get them out of the bottom of our sneakers. Brutal. Price is okay at $18 but then you find out how expensive the laundry is - $1.50 wash/ $1.00 dry. Guess I'm spoiled by the Navy bases where laundry is either free or very low price. Bathrooms are tiny but okay. I'd stay here again when passing through the area but maybe get some booties for the pups!
PB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
5 Sept 2012
(Updated: September 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We spent one night here on our way to the east coast. We stayed in the West section, the older section of the fam camp. I rated the facilities a three because the bathrooms and laundry have not been upgraded after the number of sites have been significantly expanded. Doreen, the night host, site 25, advised us that the Gibson gate has been changed to being open 24 hours and the Wyoming gate closing at 1900. I am not sure what hours the Eubanks gate is open. This is different from our last visit here. The state fair and the balloon fest are coming shortly. This campground is easy to reach from both Interstate 25 and 40. We departed through the Eubanks gate that Doreen recommended and passed a Costco, Sam's and Walmart before reaching the interstate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23-27 June 2012
(Updated: June 28, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Spent a few night here on the back end of the PCS while waiting for our house. Stayed in the new section and these sites are HUGE! I think you could fit two rigs in these spots if you were really friendly, more than enough for us and an extra vehicle. Nice layer of gravel to keep down the dust and services were well placed. The only other on this side is the lack of trees, so you're stuck making your own shade which can be challenging with the winds. Laundry was full up and the bathrooms, though small, were clean and fully functional. With only one shower per gender, we did experience a couple of lines but nothing unbearable. The dog area is fantastic, plenty of shade and great grass without any of the stickers. Easy walk down to Harding Field or around the back fence too. Overall, a great value and location if visiting ABQ.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18 June 2012
(Updated: June 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
After reading the remarks I was leery about pulling off onto KAFB with a tent... but wow was I surprised. I got a really awesome spot with shade all day and a killer breeze dropping the afternoons well into the comfy range. I had no issues doing my laundry and the machines were fully functional. The shower stall is a bit small and could use a soap basket or something, and a seat big enough to sit on would be nice also.
Overall a very enjoyable stop for me, and Janet just totally rocks!!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 27, 2012
(Updated: June 01, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed in the new section again and really enjoyed the new layers of gravel the staff has installed. The overall rating would have been higher except for the laundry facility and the office staff. When I stayed there last spring the same washers/dryers were broken and according to some of the active duty staying there there has been no attempt to have them fixed. The lady operating the office needs to start keeping records in the computer system so there is an accurate record of who is staying on what site. When we arrived we went to the office to look at the park listing to see what was open. There were only three sites that did not have an “X” thru them so we were limited. After a long lunch I went to the office to register only to find out the office lady didn’t use the park site map and we could have had a choice of 19 sites. She explained she didn’t like computers and relied on her memory. We will stay there again because of the location and access to diesel fuel at the base gas station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 27-30, 2012
(Updated: April 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed in new section, very large gravel sites. No trees. Quiet. Close to I-40 so very convenient for sight seeing around Albuquerque. Eubanks Gate is EXTREMELY narrow, suggest using a different gate, the base is very easy to get around from the other gates. Will stay here next time we are passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 5 - 8 and April 11, 2012
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is a nice place to stay. WiFi would be nice and could be installed easily. Otherwise, no complaints. Janet is very nice and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
29 Nov 2011 - 28 Dec 2011
(Updated: April 03, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The expansion to the east has greatly increased the capacity of this FamCamp, not only in number of spaces but in the size each camper has - some of the best sites you'll find if you have a big rig or more than one vehicle, or guests. All have full hookup, with 50 Amps. One error in construction was not burying the water pipes deep enough to prevent frequent freeze-ups and more than a few broken pipes. We experienced this in this visit as well as in past visits during New Mexico's occasional very cold snaps, which can happen anytime from November thru March. We had a pipe burst adjacent to our trailer, and were showered in spray for over an hour from 9PM into the night, while contract civil engineers were called to shut off the water! Lots of ice formed on the trailer, and the site resembled an ice rink by the following morning! No damage done, everything melted when it hit 32 degrees about 10AM. But campers should know to ALWAYS disconnect their water when there's a prediction to go below freezing. Helpful staff - Janet, the host, is great to work with. Always accommodating with pay-as-you-go, because they'd rather not refund, unless really necessary. Credit cards welcome, and late arrivals and early departures are never a problem.
Still no wifi because of concerns about interference to the mission at the Sandia National Labs, yet there are mo restrictions on using routers if you connect via a Verizon or Sprint card. Go figure - but a minor inconvenience, because the cards work just fine. The laundry facility is fair, and the shower and toilet facility is pretty poor. No issue with cleanliness, but these are old-old-old! Really in need of replacement, and better heating in the winter. Otherwise, a super 'user-friendly' place to stay. Would not hesitate to stay here anytime. Great Commissary and Good BX. Nice gas station/Class VI, and they sell cheap diesel! Fairly good, but older fitness center, convenient to RV park. Good Post Office. Excellent TV reception with line-of-site to the transmitters on Sandia Crest. Lots and lots of things to do in Albuquerque, right out the main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 1,2,3, 2012
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I think we stayed in the newer area. Nice with rocks etc. The only complaint I have is the showers/restrooms. They were clean, but it was FREEZING cold in there. I couldn't get the hot water to work, so I went to the office to see what was going on. She said you have to turn it this way and then back that way and it will work!!! That was CRAZY! Plus only one shower? We were really surprised for the size of the camp. Since they have added the new sites hopefully there is a plan on updating those shower facilities as well. At least fix the heat! I mean it was like a "girl scout" shower.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22-27 Mar 2012
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Another nice stay at Kirtland. Came and went through the Eubanks Gate with no problems. When calling ahead to make sure there was sites available, Janet, the manager is always helpful. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 2011
(Updated: November 20, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here a couple of months ago (on the newer side) and had a very nice time. The camp host was very cordial, the area clean, and RV spaces are nice. We got here this visit after the office was closed for the day so I filled out the envelope at the office per posted instructions. The space I selected in the new section was not marked off on the space chart, so I marked it on the chart and we pulled our RV into that space. There were two traffic cones sitting next to the electrical box (they were not placed in the middle of the space to look like someone might be using that space). I got out of out truck and a woman from the adjoining space came around the corner of her RV and said in a loud non-cordial voice "don't you know what the cones are for?" Not sure why she would think I knew what the cones were for -- the office chart showed the space as vacant and the cones were off to the side of the space. I told her no I didn't know what the cones were for and she continued in her loud non-cordial voice to tell me that the space was reserved. I told her the chart at the office showed the space as vacant and she again said it was reserved. It worked out well that we didn't stay next to her because her dogs barked continually from the minute we pulled into the space. I then realized when I saw her vehicle that this same woman was in that same space when we were here a couple of months ago. During that stay, I had taken our dogs over to the dog park. She was there and actually called out to me to not bring my dogs into the park until she took her dogs out!! The space outside her RV looks like she is set to stay there permanently, just as it did when we were here before. Not the best person to run into for a good first impression of the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 2011
(Updated: October 25, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good place to stay. Good weather while we were there but whatever it is (wind, sun etc) the east side is open to it. East side has enormous sites, wide enough for two vehicles with room to spare but they are 100% gravel. With plenty of dry camping space no need for reservations but you'll probably start on the east side. Rest rooms clean, laundry inop while we where there. Overall, I thought the place was being well maintained. Nice folks working there, especially the host. Would stay here again for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
179 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9