Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (177)
145580 2 35 1 73

User reviews

177 reviews
 
29%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(177)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(177)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(177)
Value
 
4.1(177)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(177)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
177 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
May 21 - June 4, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stay here every year as this base is convenient for visiting family. The new section is deep gravel & isn't dusty. Dust blows over from other areas of the base when the winds are going. The sites are wide and long. We like the setup as we travel with friends - the pullthrus are up & down (hard to explain) so that we are able to set up our rigs with our doors facing each other & then we share our picnic tables & common area. The older section does have the trees but not all of the older section has 50amp. I have not been here yet when all of the machines in the laundry room were working. Costco is right up from the Eubank gate. The commissary & bx are over by the Gibson gate. We use the Eubank gate. We have no problem making it thru. It is easy access from the interstate. Just line up your rig & drive in. There really is room on either side.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2-5, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place has the best explained "who can stay here and for how long" policy of any I've seen. And it seems to be enforced. The new addition makes their no reservation policy a bit easier to deal with. The older sections have shade and some have only 30 amp. They have good wifi and nice concrete sites. Laundry is very good, but bring your own quarters. No change available by machine or office. Recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
12 May 2014
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This is a good overnight stop but the new area which is where they insist you park is just a gravel parking lot with hookups. No trees, no shade and no WiFi at all. When we asked the ederly lady that runs the office when it might be repaired she told us she didn't know anything about it. When checking in she was more interested in watching her game show on tv than helping us. I would not recommend this for a longer than one night stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I stay here every time I am in the Albuquerque area and experience is always a great one. For those with the bigger rigs I would recommend using the Gibson Gate there are no barriers so no pucker factor it is across the base from the park but it is not a bad getting there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 31, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great place to stay. The WiFi is non existent here. They say it's only hard to get a good connection in the evening, but I tried different times of the day for the whole week I was staying there & never had any kind of connection. I was backed up to TLF & was able to connect to theirs. Good location & the park has everything else you need. The only bad thing I experienced was a little silver car that would speed around the park, peel out in the gravel & had their loud bass music playing in at all hours. It was frustrating because the speed limit of 10mph is posted everywhere & there is supposed to be quiet hours enforced, but nobody seemed to want to disturb the only people who were disturbing everyone else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 28 - Mar 1 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are currently in spot 51 in the "new" area and have no complaints. We drove up from El Paso to check out the National Fiery Foods and BBQ festival at the Sandia Casino. As the other reviews mentioned, the older side of the FAMCAMP looks like it is for long termers, and after taking our dogs for a walk through that area it is clear that it used to be military housing that was converted to RV sites. The sites clearly used to be driveways into military housing. I would highly recommend picking a site in the new area. As I am typing this I am connected to their free wifi which has an excellent connection, and I have to say the gravel sites are so big I didn't have to worry about where I needed to park to make sure my slides would fit. The only issue I have with this FAMCAMP is the gate. As many have mentioned, you should definitely use the Eustis Gate. Take I-40 and don't pay any attention to the signs that say Kirtland AFB....Get off I-40 at Eustis BLVD, make a right and stay in the middle or left lane... I stayed in the right lane and without notice it ended. The thing most people didn't mention is that Eustis BLVD basically ends at the entrance to the AFB, so don't worry about where you need to go.....take Eustis until it ends and you will be there. Now to my only issue.....that gate is small....I have a Ram dually pulling a 40ft 5er that is a full 101 inches wide. Im talking pucker factor making it through the gate. We made it with no issues but seriously why don't they open up the gate a little more. When you make it through the gate, you can see the spots to your right. Overall, well worth it and for $18 a night....we will stop here again.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec. 8th - 11th, 2013
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our ratings are perhaps a little high but our experience was also not at the best time of year. The site we were on didn't have water - it was frozen - which I was able to resolve by running a hose from the next site over to fill our potable water tank. Even if we could have hooked up to the water at our site we would have had to unhook it at night due to sub freezing temps. Fortunately there price for propane was a great value and we used a fair amount due to the cold. The sites in the newer section were extremely large with plenty of room but it is going to take a while for the stone to settle before it will be in better condition. The shower facility and bathroom was clean and nicely heated for those cold morning trips to the shower. The base was very nice and we enjoyed our time while in the area. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to fully enjoy all of the area since we were really wanting to reach our destination in Arizona. We plan to return however and stay once again in warmer weather as we explore the area around Albuquerque. There is a lot to see but best during warmer weather!!! I would recommend this site to others.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 Dec 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We came into this famcamp at about 9PM, had no issues with getting campsite info and had to go through Eubank entrance with no issues. We set up on the new side and loved the large gravel sites. We found our site to be a little unlevel. The new side had very clean but limited to two showers/toilets. The other side had very disgusting showers/toilets. Price was good and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this site to others.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 6-10, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here for AF Academy vs. New Mexico football game. First visit. Excellent facility. Stayed in newer area. Sites are large, open and more than enough room for largest rigs. Office folks very nice to work with. Found Eubanks gate with no trouble. A little tight but manageable. During my visit, Eubanks gate was the 24 hr gate. Gibson and Wyoming gates close after hours. Base is in a great location to visit Albuquerque. We suggest SanDiago's at the base of the Sandia Peak Tramway. Food is great and the views at sunset are spectacular. Sandia Casino at I25 and Tramway Blvd is good entertainment. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 4-8, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spaces are level, some have grassy areas. The laundry is clean. If no full hook-up spaces are available, be sure to sign up on the waiting list at the registration office. The base is the SE city limits to Albuquerque, so it's easy to get to sights and entertainment in the area. Be sure to visit the National Museum of Nuclear Science and History. It has been moved outside the base, so it's easy to access.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 6-7, 2013
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped by for a couple nights to update the website information, get some more photos, and create a "tour video". The FamCamp was about 50% occupied during our visit. This time of the year, campers can stay for a month. While I've heard that a few campers have been here long-term, their sites didn't really reflect homesteading. Active duty on TDY and PCS are allowed to stay here until settled. We stayed in the newer "open" area, which was fine with us. Since you share utility pedestals, you can be pretty close to your neighbor. With the current rate of $18 a night and the close location to town, this campground is still a pretty good value (compared to many others).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
1 November 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed in the Open area sites which are extremely large. Unfortunately there is no staff available after 4:00 PM Friday until Monday AM. Because there were no camp managers around, one individual pulled into a single site with his large 5th wheel and utilized both his dump and the neighbor's dump to hook up his rig rather than using "Y" connectors. I did find an alternative site. The famcamp has an excellent dog run area (important for dog owners) and it appears that guests were very courteous about cleaning up after their "furry" friends. The open area is excellent for satellite reception. The gate opening on Eubanks Blvd is a little tight, but not so tight as to be worrisome if you take it slow and straight. I stayed here in my coach, and will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
17 Aug 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.O. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed three days. Some sites are under trees and other sites are in the open. The open sites are are very large with level gravel surface and work well for those with satellite requirements. The Eubanks Blvd is the most direct route to the campground. The gate opening is tight but you can get a large motorhome with tow vehicle through it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 Aug-3 Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed at the New Area one day and moved to the somewhat shaded area-older park where some homesteaders are staying. Seems they are not policing properly IAW USAF Reg's. The shower room/bath is not being clean on a daily basis. Otherwise nice stay but some problems. Dining facility opened to retirees on weekends and holidays for “Breakfast and Lunch ONLY.”
DF
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15-18 July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed in the new area from 15-18 July 2013. Sites were large, easy pull through, hook ups were well located, and all in all was a good experience. Certainly prefer the newer sites to the older ones. Office staff was helpful and the location of the base and the RV park were central to everything in Albuquerque. Price was reasonable, considering that many military parks are matching the fees from the local economy. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
27 Jun - 9 Jul 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were in the new part of this campground and love it. It was close to the Eubanks gate which made for easy on/off base. While there we had to have new brakes on the motorhome so there was some motel time, however we did leave our trailer and motorcycle at the campground. I would not have done this at a commercial campground. This is a campground we will stay in again when in this area. There are a number of national landmarks to visit as well as a couple of private attractions. We also took the train ride to Santa Fe to visit the farmers market, I am a train fan and this was a thrill for me since the price was only $10 round trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21 June - 2 July 2013
(Updated: June 29, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in the new area. Large, level gravel pull-thrus that can accomodate any size RV. Laundry Facilities are very limited - 3 washers and 2 dryers and no change machine and the office does not make change either. Go to the bank before doing laundry. The new bathrooms are adequate with stainless steel one-piece commodes, but the water temperature in the showers is impossible to regulate. The showers have "hot water on demand" type heaters. Either hot or cold and nothing in between. New base exchange opened 28 June. Diesel on base at 9 cents a gallon cheaper than in town. Not the best place, but convenient for taking in the local sights!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 13-19 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed in the new section, which is pretty much a parking lot, but the sites are very large while the older section, though pretty, is more cramped. It got very windy while we were there, our 5th wheel shook and rattled all night. We actually felt better NOT being under a lot of trees. The Exchange was just in the process of moving into a new and larger building right next to the commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Hours for staff have been cut back. While we were there for a weekend the office wasn't open and we did the self check in. The prior comments still hold true - it's a good value for the area and lots to do around the city. I did notice one change - a new bath facility in the middle of the "parking lot." People were still working on it so I didn't go inside.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
27-29 May 13
(Updated: May 29, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived on Memorial Day. This proved to be a problem because there was no staff of any kind available to help us out in understanding the check in process. We never did see the camp host. There are instructions and procedures posted but they refer to a map that must be updated for the process to work and it was not updated. We stayed in the "new" part which is basically a parking lot with hook ups. Several sites require maintenance to fix their power. When the staff did arrive after the holiday they were barely responsive to our intrusion into their television watching so we could square-away the paperwork. Overlooking the staff responsiveness issues, which may be isolated because of the holiday, this is a good stopping place to enjoy the Albuquerque area and Kirtland AFB. The routing into the base through the Eubanks gate is a good way in, but be advised the gate is narrow so drive carefully.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
177 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9