Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (178)
145580 2 35 1 78

User reviews

178 reviews
 
29%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(178)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(178)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(178)
Value
 
4.2(178)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(178)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
178 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
23-30 Sept 2015
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We thought this a nice campground with long, wide, and level sites - and no shade - at least in the so-called "new" area. Staff was pleasant and helpful. We didn't use the showers, but bathroom was clean and well kept. WiFi is so-so depending on time of day, and whether or not those not so considerate are streaming data. Eubanks gate is tight but doable as previously reported. This is a good location for visiting the area, but I wouldn't recommend for Balloon Fiesta as it is 10 miles from the fiesta site with associated traffic gridlock. If you plan to visit Balloon Fiesta, stay at the huge RV park across the street from fiesta and take the free shuttle. We camped on Kirtland in a 5th wheel and would visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
15-29 Sep 15
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Second time we've stayed here; both times in the newer area. Office staff was very helpful and friendly. However, the bathrooms need some help; both in terms of cleanliness and the reliability of hot water. Twice, hot water stopped while I was taking a shower. We'll stay again, but I'll call first to see if the facilities are working.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 Sept 2015-4 Oct 2015
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Been here in past, this stay a bit bad. Wifi ok, but in the new section need better maintenance of the shower/bath area. Clean up leaves much to be desired and if you enjoy cold showers its your ideal. Maybe due to up coming balloon show? But will return good for a short stay as mentioned in previous posts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2 Aug - 3 Aug 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were only there overnight. The sign on the door said that the office closes at 1200 on Sundays but we were able to check in due to someone being on site. The sites were HUGE & well kept. Easy in & out. The gate off of Eubanks is as reported, extremely tight. Go slow. We stayed in a class 'A' motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 2011 and April 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Have stayed here in the past. Well kept camp and convenient location for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We only stayed here overnight. DO NOT follow the directions in the FAMCAMP Guide available at the Exchange. We arrived late Saturday afternoon and had to call security to find out how to get on base. Finally got to the gate and WOW extremely tight for our 40 footer. Found a spot and dropped payment in the drop box. The area we stayed in was a large stone lot with hookups. Perfect for a one night stay. Can't comment on anything else cause all we did was eat, sleep and walk the dog.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 May 2015
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was a convenient place to park and visit family in the area for a reunion. The park is pretty basic (the new section). You're out in the open on gravel parking spaces. Everything is there you need. It doesn't have much in the way of character; trees, plants, etc. All told it satisfied the parking needs and the price was ok.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2015
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I concur with previous reviewer - enter at the Eubank Gate. Much easier than the Wyoming gate which we have done a few times. Campground keeps getting better each time we visit. Glad to get the last site in the new area. Work crew is steady maintaining it, chopping weeds, watering trees etc. It will never be a destination campground but very adequate for the many permanent Active Duty residents and those like us that stay a couple of weeks. Satellite TV works good, Verizon Mifi fine although not fast. We will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2015
(Updated: May 12, 2015)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Come in the Eubanks Gate. If you can keep your rig between the lines on the highway, you can make it between the posts at the gate. Eubanks Gate is about a 1/4 mile from the Famcamp. If the office is closed, pick a vacant site then go back to the office and fill out the paperwork (lots of extra info is requested on the form) and drop the form (in a provided envelope) into the drop box. If there is an orange cone at a site, that site is claimed, but not yet occupied. Janet, the host, seems kind of grumpy to me. First time I've met a Famcamp host who was grumpy. The "new" part of the park is a gravel parking lot. At least you don't have to worry about leaves or twigs on top of the slides. Sites were long and wide with rigs alternating their direction. Lots of space between the passenger/curb side of each coach that way. Over the air tv was fine. Wifi signal strength was good, but the bandwidth (speed) was lacking. Water pressure was very good. Some noise from the Albu Sunport (airport). Hearing Reveille and Retreat again was nice. I may have been sleeping by Taps because I didn't hear it played. The dog park is in a corner of the "old" side of the park. It is nicely sized, but the area is more dirt than grass. It could be because of all the trees surrounding it or simply a lack of watering the grass. My guess is it is due to lack of watering. There are grassy areas with "No Dogs Allowed" signs, but some campers ignored those signs. There is either a trick to get the showers in the new area to work or they are simply lousy showers. Very little water volume out of either one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
8 April-21 April 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our 2nd stay here and find it to be very convenient for things we wanted to do. The Eubank gate is definitely the best gate to enter. Campground is very close to Sam's Club, Costco,Walmart,Home Depot..all on Eubank. We were in Site #84 in the new section and our preferred area. Spaces are wide and long pull thru. Commissary, Exchange,Gas,PO just off Gibson. While here we toured Fort Union,Acoma Pueblo,Gilman Tunnels off scenic hwy 4, Bandelier and other areas. Facilities clean, but would be nice to have change machine in laundry. Also wi-fi not very good. We ended up using our mi-fi thru ATT. It is a quiet base. The Owl Cafe was recommended, so we went there for dinner 1 night..very 50's and food was good..also, Freddy's for frozen custard. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April, 2015
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This review is a mixed bag of both pros and cons regarding what should be a great FamCamp. On the plus side is its convenience to the freeway system (I-25/I-40), diesel and propane sold on base, large and easily accessed sites (new area only), a large dog run (more on this below), free Wi-Fi (see below), and last but not least the convenience to the Albuquerque region and its many wonders. The negatives mar what should be a really pleasant experience. The older section still has many issues (we have been using this FamCamp off and on since 2004); several utility locations that ought to have been taken care of years ago – one site requires an extension to access electricity, several have 50 amp outlets, but only provide 30 amp service. The dog run has deteriorated over the years – we no longer allow our dog in it. There is little to no grass remaining, even minimal maintenance of the area is lacking – downed tree branches, dog feces (!), pick-up bags on the ground and not picked up. A water sprinkler system is installed, but we did not observe it in use, nor did we see any evidence of its use – dampness, etc. Some base housing children seem to enjoy using the area for play and tree climbing. The Wi-Fi is in serious need of upgrade; unfortunately this is an issue at many FamCamps around the U.S. And finally, many residents seem to not understand the rule/courtesy of NOT walking through other’s sites! On three successive days I had to remind someone to not walk through my site (two were older, “experienced” people that ought to have known better). A discussion with the office lady wasn’t much help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar 31 - Apr 2, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Awesome campground and camp host. As with all military campgrounds WiFi could use work. The laundry facilities could use some attention as well. This is an awesome campground!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept 27 - Oct 2, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Wonderful FamCamp. Loved the new pull-thru sites. Outstanding manager and hosts. Friendly guests. Definitely return. Base is superb. Great walking, jogging, bike, and pet fun. Camp Pet Area one of the best - actually had "grass."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 8 thru 12, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
M.M. left this review using the Directory software: - We are here for the balloon festival so the park was full and the over flow had a number of units in it. Our prior extended stay was with Thousand Trails in Las Vegas. The lots here are so much wider and yes they are gravel but so were the lots at Thousand Trails and Navada State Park. A real plus for us is diesel is sold at the BX Service Station. 36' 5th wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23 Sept 14
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.R. left this review using the Directory software: - We are at Kirtland just before the Balloon Fiesta. The park is FULL and overflow is also brimming. This being said, my primary information to pass on is that the Eubanks gate is no longer the gate of choice, in my opinion. The word "tight" is an understatement and there is little room for error. Serious scrape marks on the steel entrance gate beams underscore my comments. I concur in an earlier comment about the Gibson Gate as access. Its in 2 parts and the first part is wide and not a problem. The second element, splits into 2 parts, one being a "car" or normal "check your ID section and a second, to the right, parking area with a wide entrance to the main base. The trick is to get them to remove the pylons to let you through as mostly there is only one person manning the entire gate.|This base seems to be mainly just a security area for classified security companies. Military personnel are few and we have yet to see a patrole vehicle. Lots of airport noise, and some strange whooshing sound that echoes 24-7 from one of the gated civilian facilities. I find it quite unusual that civilian companies have their own fenced (seriously with, concertina wire on top, and one over 15 feet tall) within a military base. Also their own guards. We bumped into several of these when looking for the arts and crafts center.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 27 to Oct 2, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Awesome base and facilities. FamCamp manager, Doreen, was most helpful, courteous, and supportive. First-come-first-serve is good policy. We were fortunate to get pull through site. Great WiFi throughout the park. Definitely will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 April 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here while making our PCS move to Georgia, as well as getting to spend some time with our son in college. Absolutely worth the price and conveniently located near everything one would need. Can not say enough great things about the super friendly and professional staff that work here. We will definitely stay here in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 2, 2014 - November 17, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed in the newer graveled area. Large & long sites, but had to spend time shoving gravel around to level our 5th wheel. Could have been due to balloon festival overuse, and wasn't difficult to fix. Someone pulled next to us the next day that tried using boards to level their TT, so it wasn't just our spot. Host was great when we came in on a Sunday, but one of the regular staff on Monday didn't seem to be all that interested in doing much but take our money for the stay. Location is fantastic for seeing ABQ and things in the area. Base facilities are good, but not extensive. They sell diesel at the Exchange Shoppette and at a good price, and there's an RV wash booth at the car wash.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10-11 September 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our second time here, we really like the long and wide gravel sites in the "new" part of the park. Super easy access for our 38' coach pulling a 20' car trailer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 12-15, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We are 45 feet plus tow car and we really like the new sites. Yes they are gravel and yes there are no trees, BUT they are wide and long and easy to get into and out of. No trees is a plus for us, no way will the side of the rig get scratched, no worries about the slides hitting the trees and no problem with satellite reception. The rate of $18.00 per day beats the heck out of the nearby KOA which is $50 per day for a 50 amp full hook up pull-thru. Commissary is well stocked and gas station sells diesel. We did not use the laundry or showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
178 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9