Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (186)
145580 2 40 1 95

User reviews

186 reviews
 
29%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(186)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(186)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(186)
Value
 
4.1(186)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(186)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
186 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Ordering
June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We’ve been coming here every few years for 18 years or so and the same manager has been here all this time. We have 4 words for her — “It’s time to retire.” I’ll refrain from specifics. That said, this place has almost tripled in size since our first years. They now seem to use a 30 day max stay and it is pretty full. There is a younger maintenance fellow taking care of some things. The older section is the most pleasant looking and the newer section has the most spacious sites. Wind seems more an issue in the new section. Watch your awning. Half the rigs have doors facing west, too. Ugh. No WiFi anymore. Laundry room has been upgraded. All gates have changed from a few years ago. We used to use Eubanks gate nearby, but all gates have been narrowed and it is tight. Truman is the best bet now— it is a bit wider and has fewer obstacles. This is a busy base which is good to see. Commissary and BX area are good. There are Rec activities everyone can participate in. The golf course needs more TLC but is okay. Its restaurant is a busy place for breakfast and lunch, too. A great attraction is the Nuclear Energy Museum out the gate north several blocks on Eubanks. Very interesting. 
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful? 17 1
Feb. 26, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It had been 5 years since we were last here. Not much has changed. This time of the year, the park was less than 50% occupied. Since it's not busy, they changed their stay limits to 30 days instead of 14 days. While the FamCamp is old and nothing great, I disagree with a previous reviewer about closing the campground. It's still a good location and price to stay in the Albuquerque area. You won't find FHU sites for this price anywhere nearby. Just don't expect the FamCamp to be a fancy RV resort. The base itself has all of the amenities you would want. Commissary and BX are large. Fuel (including diesel) was slightly less priced than off-base. I also agree, and verified, the Truman gate is the best gate to sue with a large RV. It's not the closest gate to the FamCamp, but it's the easiest to get through and drive to the FamCamp. The road to the Gibson gate entrance is undergoing major changes and now includes many tight turns. The staff at the park were friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
May 10, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It would be nice if this campground took reservations. We had no difficulty finding a site. We have stayed here in the past. As of April 2021, the Wyoming Gate is closed indefinitely. Could not find any additional information. We came in the Truman Gate. The Eubank gate is much closer to the campground but it is not suitable for a big rig to enter or exit through. Be prepared for high winds to come up at any time regardless of the weather forecast. Also, several of the roads near the campground have been blocked and turned into dead ends. Rigs now enter the campground from the end of the campground closest to the Eubank Gate which means the signs for the campground are not easily seen. Large Rigs should use the Truman Gate. Take I-25 Exit 222A East Gibson Blvd SE (From I-40 take I-25 South) In 2.8 miles turn right on Truman, Continue through Truman Gate, Continue Straight to T in road which is Randolph, Turn left on Randolph, Turn Left on Hardin, Hardin will become 20th St SE, Stay in left lane to go straight across Ave G at Stop Light (right two lanes will exit base through the Eubank Gate). Take First left into Campground. You will see the Storage Area first, then the newer area of the campground followed by the Campground Office in the older section of the Campground. There is a sign by the office but it is difficult to see when entering from the east end of the campground. Recommend Big Rigs park in the large gravel area in front of sites 80, 82 & 84 (see park map) and walk to office to register. Some of the older directions suggest turning onto Wyoming and then Right on Frost. We found the Right on Frost to be very difficult for a big rig without blocking other traffic lanes.
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Jan 2017
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Location is marked low because of the placement of the FAMCAMP on the base and orientation of the parking spaces. The "new" area is exposed to a LOT of wind--prevalent winds hit the camper broadside--no sleep. Nite host was exceptional and has far better customer skills than the full-time staff. On-base facilities are good, but the campground could use some serious upgrading. Trees were in bad need of trimming and the goat-heads (huge stickers) are awful--especially for pets. Speaking of pets, people let them go in the weeds on the far end of the new area, which is the same direction the wind usually blows from. Think about it folks! Campground signage is poor and it is not well set up for arrivals/departures. Orientation of hook-ups is poor--sewer in new area requires a lot of hose, electric in some older slots requires an extension and is on wrong side. We're full timers and this campground is a bad choice if staying for over 2-weeks--they don't take reservations and you can't stay longer without moving out and back in, even if they are nearly empty. We moved to a nearby campground that takes reservations, is clean, exceptionally well maintained, has security, and is well managed. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
July 15 - July 29 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Typical of Air Force FamCamps, overall in need of maintenance on just about everything, overall good FamCamp but not great. The Truman Gate (24/7) located on the north side of the the base is Big Rig friendly and does not have any barriers or obstacles. The newer section has large wide sites using common FHUs between the sites. There's absolutely no shade in the newer section. Signage here is horrible. I had to park in the area just south of the newer sites and walk around to find the office. The office is closed on weekends. There are instructions at the office for after hours check in. When arriving after hours you can park in any open site that does not have a cone in it. Then fill out the reservation provided at the office, place it in the dropbox, then mark an 'X' on your site on the campground map. You can pay by check or credit card. If paying by credit card go to the office and provide your credit card info. If you drive your RV into the last road on the west of the FamCamp you will need to disconnect to turn around if no sites are available. In the older area most of the site are not really big rig friendly. Dense trees offer good shade but can be a problem with large RVs and slides. During our stay here there was some tree trimming going on. Site 25 through 33 in the older section are big rig friendly. Those sites offer some shade and green grass. If you want grass and shade those are the best for big rigs. Sites 25 through 33 share a common power pedestal. Which means on some sites you will need to run you power cord under your RV to the power pedestal to the right of your RV. Be prepared and bring an good extension cord. In sites 25 through 33 every other site has a concrete pad. There is WiFi but almost useless with .71Mbps download, 3.07Mbps upload. Verizon Data 34Mbps download, 16.8Mbps upload. AT&T data 6.90Mbps download, 15.1Mbps upload. Verizon cell service was good. The restroom photos here are outdated. Both the newer and older section restrooms are in need of repair and updating. The newer section is the worse, very grungy and smell like poo! I personally would not use the shower in the newer restrooms. The laundry photos are also in need off updating. The laundry room now has stackable washer and dryers. The dog run photo is also in need of updating. The dog run now has large shade tree, but the grass is now gone. I've posted update photos of all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
12-15 Sep 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed at Kirtland several times and we've seen numerous changes over the years. Although they do not take reservations we have never been turned away but had to stay in dry camping for one night a couple of years age at the beginning of the Oct Balloon Festival. Good power and water pressure in huge parking sites in the "new' section.It is a tad of hassle getting to the park through the Truman gate and having to drive all the way across the base when the Eubanks gate would be much more convenient. Yeah, it is about time for the manager to retire. Did not use any of the facilities but stuck my head in to check them out and all looked OK.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 21, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived at Kirtland AFB FamCamp for a 14-day stay. We are in a 43-foot motorhome towing a F-150 and followed the directions to the Gibson gate. The Security Forces ran down the street to stop us before we got to the barriers. Long story short, we had to disconnect our F-150 and I had to back the motorhome up about 1/4 mile to turn around and go back down Gibson Blvd. to Truman Blvd. to go into the Truman gate. Do NOT attempt to enter Kirtland EUBANKS GATE OR GIBSON GATE if you are longer than 30 feet total. The gates are very narrow and there are new barricades that you cannot drive around without hitting them. No barricades at Truman gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sept 2, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I can't say enough about the staff, especially the host Dorene, she is awesome. We arrived there Sept. 2, Sept. 7 my husband was admitted to the VA hospital, the 9th while under observation he had a heart attack. I don't know what I would have done with out Dorene. You ROCK. A big thanks to John and Janet too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
9 - 14 Oct 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The last time we stayed here we entered through the Eubanks gate, but this time we tried the Truman gate and it was far easier, getting on base and not having to take the freeway to Eubanks and down to the VERY narrow gate. That area has been completely redone with traffic lights and new roads. We were a bit nervous about them having a space as they don't do reservations, but the place had plenty of spaces. A always, the base is a great place to home base for seeing northern New Mexico. Follow the signs and getting in is a piece of cake.
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Dec 10-18, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped at KAFB on our way to Santa Fe from White Sands. We stayed in the newer area with wide open pull-thrus, spot 78. Ms. Janet and Mr. Javier were very accommodating and friendly. Facilities were all clean and in good repair. No trees out there in the newer area, so a bit windy. Further utilized their RV storage area for the next 4 months. Make sure you follow the driving directions to get on base with your rig and come in the Truman gate, other gates are not forgiving in their turns.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 2017
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
BIG RIGS: DO NOT COME IN EUBANKS GATE! There are rigs in the park right now with damage from coming through Eubanks. By 'big rig', we mean anything over 25'! We have a 40' 5th wheel and came in Truman, which is the current commercial gate. We followed google maps on phone and the route avoided all traffic on base. From I-25, Exit 222/Gibson Blvd SE, follow signs for airport. Turn right at Truman St SE and gate is right there. Left at second light, Randolph Rd SE. Follow Randolph (name changes to Kirtland Rd SE) then left on Hardin Blvd. Follow Hardin (name changes to 20th St SE). Left at G Ave SE traffic light and you'll see RV park. Turn at first right, which is F Ave SE (on google) and the street sign says Frost Ave. There's a large open area just ahead where we pulled off then walked to check in. The old section is nice in that it has a lot of trees, but the 'big' sites there go first. The new section has huge sites and very easy to maneuver through. In the old section, I saw big rigs going over curbs trying to get through. (Another reason to park at the big, open area and walk/ride the park first!) We didn't need any sewer extension in new section as mentioned in previous post. No hookup problems at all. Staff is still very much part time. If you need quarters for laundry, go to the gas station. Using General Delivery, be aware that your mail will be at the base post office across the street from the USPS building.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sept 24-Oct 8, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at Kirtland Fam Camp September 24th-October 8th in a 32 foot fifth wheel. We came for the 2016 Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta. The Fam camp is divided into the old section and a new section. The old section has green grass and trees and a dog park. The new section just has gravel. It has wide and long pull throughs that are flat. Had to use the new section because I needed 50 amp service. Be informed, the utilities are shared on one pedestal between sites so we had to park close to our neighbor for access. The WiFi is so-so at best. The new section is well lite at night, with exceptionally clean bathrooms and showers. The only bad comment I could come up with is there are few goatheads or what we call stickers up north (Puncturevine or Tribulus terrestris ) in the parking area and my dog got stickers or goatheads in his paw pads a couple of times plus I dragged a couple of these nasty things into my trailer and my wife let me know about it. I highly recommend using Kirkland Fam Camp for the balloon fiesta; it just can't be beat. We used the KAFB outdoor recreation tour bus and admission tickets to get from the Kirkland airbase to the balloon fiesta and back which is a bargain for 18 bucks per session. Commissary and exchange are large and well stocked. The gas station has diesel. The Fam Camp is small showing its age and it is also a bargain for $18 per night. I need to add that Doreen the night host lady is a gem. I called the Fam Camp several times during the week and all I got was a recorded message on their answering machine. Doreen called me on a Sunday morning and said come over because “no one is turned away”. Thank you Doreen. Thank you Kirtland.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
October 3, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Third time at this CG as we have family in the area. This time we arrived the Wednesday before the Balloon Fiesta and since reservations are not allowed, took our chances. We selected a nice dry camping site that backs up to the road near the back of the office and added our name to a waiting list for full hook up. Spent two days dry camping and then moved over to the full hook up in the older section...our favorite! There are trees! Yeah! Never had to camp in the newer section where there is no shade and more in the open for wind to be an issue. We are very comfortable at this CG. Roomy sites, nice walking behind the CG to a parade ground where the dog can get great exercise chasing a ball, Janice and Doreen are super to work with, laundry has 4 washer/dryer combo machines for $1 a load, easy drive to exchange and commissary, gas station has diesel, easy access for us with a 24 foot Navion to the Eubank gate and from there I-40. Also the fitness center is very accessible as is the golf course. Just outside the Eubank gate is the Nuclear Museum which has special events periodically. Very interesting museum. Lots to do...children’s museum...Explora...zoo, botanical gardens, aquarium, dinosaur museum, terrific hiking in the Sandias off Tramway. Easy driving distance to parks such as Bandelier National Monument and the Tent Rocks National Monument. Feels safe to leave the rv for the day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 1-7, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in the gravel portion in the back and really liked it there. The sites are very large, both long and WIDE. I work out of the RV so I wanted something to look at besides the side of someone else's rig, so we looked for an end spot. We found one, but the way the sites are set up you have the sun flooding in your windows at dawn or sunset. So instead, we parked diagonally in the site, had a breathtaking view of the mountains, no sun blindness, only a few quizzical stares from passersby. Facilities on base were great, enjoyed seeing the petroglyphs and wandering around the open spaces at the foot of the hills. We would not hesitate to stay here again, should we ever find ourselves in Albuquerque again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 2019
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Kind of not a fair review. We only stayed one night in over flow parking BEFORE the gravel was laid down. Not sure why they waited until everyone was arriving for the balloon festival to do that?? We had a wind and rain storm, so all of the sand and dust that was blowing around the parking lot was caked everywhere by the next morning. We were were only passing through Albuquerque, however if you decide to visit here around the balloon festival activities I would arrive a week or more before the festival to ensure a spot. I agree with other reviewers this place needs to have new staff and management interested and capable of invigorating life into the ole' park. This place is in a weird location, make sure you study Google Satellite before arriving and make note of the one way streets. Nice BX and commissary, diesel is available at the gas station shopette.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
2 - 10 Aug 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Fair Warning do not use Gibson Gate. There are concrete barriers that will damage your RV and can not be moved. Truman Gate is the best to use for entry, period. The wifi will not even allow us to check email. The RV is large and first come first serve. Most of the sites are gravel and very large. We did enjoy our stay as there are so many things to do in Albuquerque.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept 15 - 20, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
W.J. left this review using the Directory software - We stayed at this campground from Sept 15th - 20th. Stayed in spot w21. This famcamp is doing a good job. They have tried to answer all bad comments. Yes, for a military camp ground it is a little expensive. The best famcamp in the west only charges 17.00 where as this one charges 18.00. The camp manager is doing her best to satisfy everyone but of course, can't satisfy everyone. The fam camp is in a good location to see the upper east side of New Mexico. The new addition is now looking good. Rock and gravel have been put down and some trees planted. There is no wifi because Sandia Labs is afraid someone will hack into their system. Sounds like a problem with their security. Guess they have not heard of people bringing their own. There is no need for cable TV as Albuquerque has many local tv stations. The old FEMA trailers are still there. Problems here need to be addressed with WMR. By the way, a new restroom facility is being added in the near future to east side park. No plans for a new laundry room. I found all pf the facilities very clean, and staff very friendly. Will definitely will stay at this famcamp again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pleasant park in an outstanding location for outdoor entertainment. The installation is welcoming and well kept. The park is not well looked after, but is in acceptable shape. The sewer hook ups are nearly 12 inches off the ground which makes it difficult to drain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 6, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Wyoming gate is NOT RV Friendly. Avoid it even if you are a class C. I got caught in the barriers and with two blocks of traffic backed up had to go on forward. $30+thousand in damage to my motor home. Eubank gate is ok but very narrow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 28 - June 5, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are a 45' motorhome towing a truck. In the past we were just skinny enough to use the Eubanks gate, but decided to try the Truman gate. The gate is several inches wider than Eubanks, so passage was easy. Not so easy though for long rigs like ours are two of the left turns from a two lane to a two lane road.. If there had been traffic on the street we were turning into, people would have had to back up. Still, I recommend this gate over the others. Gibson for example does not allow vehicles with three or more axles. Eubanks during the early AM traffic has all lanes open, but later funnels everyone into one lane and after you enter, they have raised barriers so it becomes an "S" and is too short for any RV. We always stay on the new side because the sites are so long and wide you have plenty of room for any size RV and vehicle. They do not take reservations, but we have never found the park full during Spring, Summer, or Fall (never been here during the winter). 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
186 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10