Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (180)
145580 2 37 1 81

User reviews

180 reviews
 
29%
 
53%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(180)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(180)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(180)
Value
 
4.2(180)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(180)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
180 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
July 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pleasant park in an outstanding location for outdoor entertainment. The installation is welcoming and well kept. The park is not well looked after, but is in acceptable shape. The sewer hook ups are nearly 12 inches off the ground which makes it difficult to drain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 10, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It would be nice if this campground took reservations. We had no difficulty finding a site. We have stayed here in the past. As of April 2021, the Wyoming Gate is closed indefinitely. Could not find any additional information. We came in the Truman Gate. The Eubank gate is much closer to the campground but it is not suitable for a big rig to enter or exit through. Be prepared for high winds to come up at any time regardless of the weather forecast. Also, several of the roads near the campground have been blocked and turned into dead ends. Rigs now enter the campground from the end of the campground closest to the Eubank Gate which means the signs for the campground are not easily seen. Large Rigs should use the Truman Gate. Take I-25 Exit 222A East Gibson Blvd SE (From I-40 take I-25 South) In 2.8 miles turn right on Truman, Continue through Truman Gate, Continue Straight to T in road which is Randolph, Turn left on Randolph, Turn Left on Hardin, Hardin will become 20th St SE, Stay in left lane to go straight across Ave G at Stop Light (right two lanes will exit base through the Eubank Gate). Take First left into Campground. You will see the Storage Area first, then the newer area of the campground followed by the Campground Office in the older section of the Campground. There is a sign by the office but it is difficult to see when entering from the east end of the campground. Recommend Big Rigs park in the large gravel area in front of sites 80, 82 & 84 (see park map) and walk to office to register. Some of the older directions suggest turning onto Wyoming and then Right on Frost. We found the Right on Frost to be very difficult for a big rig without blocking other traffic lanes.
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Dec 10-18, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped at KAFB on our way to Santa Fe from White Sands. We stayed in the newer area with wide open pull-thrus, spot 78. Ms. Janet and Mr. Javier were very accommodating and friendly. Facilities were all clean and in good repair. No trees out there in the newer area, so a bit windy. Further utilized their RV storage area for the next 4 months. Make sure you follow the driving directions to get on base with your rig and come in the Truman gate, other gates are not forgiving in their turns.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
17-20 Jan 21
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First RV trip EVER. This was a great place to learn about RV life. Check-in after hours super easy. Variety of slots available. Two bathroom areas. Not pristine but acceptable. Nice dog park allows for some relief for dogs but most grassy areas are off limits for dogs. Definitely using again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9 - 14 Oct 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The last time we stayed here we entered through the Eubanks gate, but this time we tried the Truman gate and it was far easier, getting on base and not having to take the freeway to Eubanks and down to the VERY narrow gate. That area has been completely redone with traffic lights and new roads. We were a bit nervous about them having a space as they don't do reservations, but the place had plenty of spaces. A always, the base is a great place to home base for seeing northern New Mexico. Follow the signs and getting in is a piece of cake.
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Kirtland AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 2020
(Updated: October 25, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here about 3 weeks. Planned for 2, then had a mechanical issue the day we left and this ended up being the closest park that had space when we headed back toward Albu. When you arrive, you can just take a site as long as it's empty and doesn't have an orange cone on it. You can pay at the office then next time it is open if you don't want to write down your credit card info on the paperwork. Daily dose of Reveille, Retreat, and Taps didn't bother us. Stayed in the gravel (new) section. Next time I'll look for a 50 amp site in the old section, just for some more shade and for slower speeds past the sites. Some people have no clue the speed limit is 10 mph. Restrooms appeared to be good the 2 times I used them. Dog park is nice and dog owners mostly picked up after their dogs. There are 4 washers and dryers, but only 3 of each were working. They have a dog wash station and a dog grooming table adjacent to the building with the washing machines. Little kids appeared to enjoy the kiddie playground. Eubanks gate seems to be open from 0600-1800 weekdays, NOT 24/7. It is under construction. Saw a fifthwheel lose it's ladder (mounted on the driver's side toward the rear) when the driver failed to pay attention as he drove thru the gate. He later admitted he forgot to look at this site for current info. He's also lucky the SF moved the weave poles for him at the gate. If you make it thru the Eubanks Gate, turn right at the first traffic signal. It is 20th St, not F Ave SE. Then turn left at the next intersection. Saw a Class A get refused entry at the Wyoming gate. SF members weren't moving those weave poles. Gibson gate also has some construction, but some rigs could probably make it thru. There are a few harsh speed bumps there though. Truman is the easiest. Coming off I-25 onto Gibson Rd EAST, the asphalt quickly turns to concrete and the road sucks in a long bed crew cab. The concrete slab joints are at the perfect interval to bounce the heck out of you and it is almost 3 miles to Truman. Turns back to asphalt when you're almost at Truman. If you're coming on I-40 and want the Truman Gate, the Louisiana (south) or San Mateo (south) exits offer asphalt roads all the way. Both roads end at Gibson Blvd. When you get to Gibson Blvd on Louisiana, you can either go straight, then turn left and go in the Gibson Gate, or turn right at Gibson and go about a half mile to the Truman Gate. On San Mateo, turn right and immediately get into the left lane, because you'll turn left onto Truman in a few hundred feet. IMO, Louisiana is the smoother of the 2 roads. If you need welding or suspension work done while in Albu, I recommend McBride's Welding and Spring on 2nd St downtown. They helped me out when I needed it. The base auto hobby shop is well equipped. They have a lift that can handle a 1-ton dually if you want to rotate tires, change oil, whatever. They also have a drive on lift that can handle a 1-ton, but you can't rotate tires on that. Great Fam Camp, great base, great city. ---- ** Caveat to the on-base driving directions above...you can stay on Hardin instead of turning left onto Wyoming. It will bring you out adjacent to the Eubanks gate. Just keep going straight on Hardin. The construction mentioned in other reviews is done.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I recommend using the west-side gate off of Louisiana Blvd SE (Gibson gate). The gate on the east side of the base (Eubank gate) was under construction during my visit. The campground typically has plenty of open sites in the hot summer months. Most site are FHU but there are some dry camping sites too. The bathhouses need some work (cleanliness and keeping supplies stocked up). The bathhouse on the east side campground had one of the two individual bathrooms closed during my visit. I assume the bathroom was down for maintenance. That left one bathroom available for the entire campground on the east side. I did report the problem to the Outdoor Rec office who responded to my email quickly. It's a good place for a stopover visit. Not too far from I-40. Nice BX and commissary on-base.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
June 14-18, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Need to adjust the driving instructions for Large Rigs coming in the Truman Gate.. DO NOT FOLLOW it to the end on Hardin st... turn left on Wyoming street to Ave F ..turn right follow it to the famcamp.. there is MUCH construction on the end of Hardin and it is CLOSED prior to the turn suggested on G st. (Editors note: directions were updated).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 2019
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Kind of not a fair review. We only stayed one night in over flow parking BEFORE the gravel was laid down. Not sure why they waited until everyone was arriving for the balloon festival to do that?? We had a wind and rain storm, so all of the sand and dust that was blowing around the parking lot was caked everywhere by the next morning. We were were only passing through Albuquerque, however if you decide to visit here around the balloon festival activities I would arrive a week or more before the festival to ensure a spot. I agree with other reviewers this place needs to have new staff and management interested and capable of invigorating life into the ole' park. This place is in a weird location, make sure you study Google Satellite before arriving and make note of the one way streets. Nice BX and commissary, diesel is available at the gas station shopette.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 3, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Third time at this CG as we have family in the area. This time we arrived the Wednesday before the Balloon Fiesta and since reservations are not allowed, took our chances. We selected a nice dry camping site that backs up to the road near the back of the office and added our name to a waiting list for full hook up. Spent two days dry camping and then moved over to the full hook up in the older section...our favorite! There are trees! Yeah! Never had to camp in the newer section where there is no shade and more in the open for wind to be an issue. We are very comfortable at this CG. Roomy sites, nice walking behind the CG to a parade ground where the dog can get great exercise chasing a ball, Janice and Doreen are super to work with, laundry has 4 washer/dryer combo machines for $1 a load, easy drive to exchange and commissary, gas station has diesel, easy access for us with a 24 foot Navion to the Eubank gate and from there I-40. Also the fitness center is very accessible as is the golf course. Just outside the Eubank gate is the Nuclear Museum which has special events periodically. Very interesting museum. Lots to do...children’s museum...Explora...zoo, botanical gardens, aquarium, dinosaur museum, terrific hiking in the Sandias off Tramway. Easy driving distance to parks such as Bandelier National Monument and the Tent Rocks National Monument. Feels safe to leave the rv for the day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
12-15 Sep 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed at Kirtland several times and we've seen numerous changes over the years. Although they do not take reservations we have never been turned away but had to stay in dry camping for one night a couple of years age at the beginning of the Oct Balloon Festival. Good power and water pressure in huge parking sites in the "new' section.It is a tad of hassle getting to the park through the Truman gate and having to drive all the way across the base when the Eubanks gate would be much more convenient. Yeah, it is about time for the manager to retire. Did not use any of the facilities but stuck my head in to check them out and all looked OK.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 2019
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Disappointed. They do not take reservations, so we were sure to call ahead the day we were due in. Called about 1:30 to see if they had any overnight spots. Sure glad we did! Only dry camping, no hook-ups! Are you kidding? 72 spots and nothing in the heat of the summer?? Maybe they are doing some construction, or maybe they close of part of the camp for the summer. Regardless, BE SURE AND CALL AHEAD.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We’ve been coming here every few years for 18 years or so and the same manager has been here all this time. We have 4 words for her — “It’s time to retire.” I’ll refrain from specifics. That said, this place has almost tripled in size since our first years. They now seem to use a 30 day max stay and it is pretty full. There is a younger maintenance fellow taking care of some things. The older section is the most pleasant looking and the newer section has the most spacious sites. Wind seems more an issue in the new section. Watch your awning. Half the rigs have doors facing west, too. Ugh. No WiFi anymore. Laundry room has been upgraded. All gates have changed from a few years ago. We used to use Eubanks gate nearby, but all gates have been narrowed and it is tight. Truman is the best bet now— it is a bit wider and has fewer obstacles. This is a busy base which is good to see. Commissary and BX area are good. There are Rec activities everyone can participate in. The golf course needs more TLC but is okay. Its restaurant is a busy place for breakfast and lunch, too. A great attraction is the Nuclear Energy Museum out the gate north several blocks on Eubanks. Very interesting. 
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful? 17 1
5 Jun 19
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice stop, nice campground, facilities close , 50A, great big rig stop. Clean....other than a few long term folks the staff let's trash and hoard full of junk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
31 Apr - 3 May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have a 34' 5th wheel and followed the instructions using Truman gate and had no problems. Staying 3 nights at the newer area on the east side of famcamp. Sites are big and wide with lots of room, (just gravel). Bath/shower is worn like most famcamps, nothing special there. We went to the Petroglyphs National Monument and to the Sandia Tram. Base is nice, Big BX and commissary, diesel at the express station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb. 26, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It had been 5 years since we were last here. Not much has changed. This time of the year, the park was less than 50% occupied. Since it's not busy, they changed their stay limits to 30 days instead of 14 days. While the FamCamp is old and nothing great, I disagree with a previous reviewer about closing the campground. It's still a good location and price to stay in the Albuquerque area. You won't find FHU sites for this price anywhere nearby. Just don't expect the FamCamp to be a fancy RV resort. The base itself has all of the amenities you would want. Commissary and BX are large. Fuel (including diesel) was slightly less priced than off-base. I also agree, and verified, the Truman gate is the best gate to sue with a large RV. It's not the closest gate to the FamCamp, but it's the easiest to get through and drive to the FamCamp. The road to the Gibson gate entrance is undergoing major changes and now includes many tight turns. The staff at the park were friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Oct 4, 2018
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I feel that all the others who gave reviews were at another camp. I was shocked at how much the park is not maintained. The manager indicated their maintenance guy retired and they had no one for a long time. The problem with this campground is simple. None of the funds collected are going back into the camp. Laundry room too small for the size of the camp. Amenities are awful. Everything looks run down. Sand spurs everywhere that coat your tires, feet and everything else. The overflow is so full of fire ants that I had to move three times and gave up and left the camp. Even the FHU's look rough and ugly. The road to the camp is very residential and too narrow for big rigs. If I were the commander I would close the camp. The base commander and his staff clearly do not care what happens to this camp. This isn't the camp staff's fault, reminds me of an old KOA that wasn't ever remodeled since 1965. I have stayed at many installation camp sites from all the services and this one gets my vote for the worse! STAY AWAY!!! Let it die a natural death! Don't reward poor leadership all the way up the chain of command. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 5
Aug 22 - 25, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Go in the Truman gate. This is a giant base so be patient and you'll find the fam camp. It's a large parking lot but very large spaces on the "new" side...no trees just gravel. Fine if this is a jumping off point to see things in the area. They really need to take reservations here. We were lucky and rolled right in but I'd hate to get all the way here and not have a place. I thought the bathroom/shower rooms were just fine and were very clean. Power was off the last morning we were there which was a small inconvenience. The woman at the desk of the fam camp was helpful when I called prior to getting there but grumpy when I checked in. Maybe she just had a bad day but she was a bit dismissive which put me off. The base has everything you need for food shopping and other stuff and the location is great if you are exploring the Albuquerque area. We were surprised at how close it was to everything. The hookups in the 'new' area were a little confusing as you have two sewers and two waters next to each other (so one RV would then face one way, one face the other) but we got there first and picked the ones we wanted. I liked it here as a base of operations for that part of New Mexico. The nightly fee was reasonable. Again....it would have felt a little better if they took reservations but it's a big place so not sure if it ever is full to capacity. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 6, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Wyoming gate is NOT RV Friendly. Avoid it even if you are a class C. I got caught in the barriers and with two blocks of traffic backed up had to go on forward. $30+thousand in damage to my motor home. Eubank gate is ok but very narrow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 15 - July 29 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Typical of Air Force FamCamps, overall in need of maintenance on just about everything, overall good FamCamp but not great. The Truman Gate (24/7) located on the north side of the the base is Big Rig friendly and does not have any barriers or obstacles. The newer section has large wide sites using common FHUs between the sites. There's absolutely no shade in the newer section. Signage here is horrible. I had to park in the area just south of the newer sites and walk around to find the office. The office is closed on weekends. There are instructions at the office for after hours check in. When arriving after hours you can park in any open site that does not have a cone in it. Then fill out the reservation provided at the office, place it in the dropbox, then mark an 'X' on your site on the campground map. You can pay by check or credit card. If paying by credit card go to the office and provide your credit card info. If you drive your RV into the last road on the west of the FamCamp you will need to disconnect to turn around if no sites are available. In the older area most of the site are not really big rig friendly. Dense trees offer good shade but can be a problem with large RVs and slides. During our stay here there was some tree trimming going on. Site 25 through 33 in the older section are big rig friendly. Those sites offer some shade and green grass. If you want grass and shade those are the best for big rigs. Sites 25 through 33 share a common power pedestal. Which means on some sites you will need to run you power cord under your RV to the power pedestal to the right of your RV. Be prepared and bring an good extension cord. In sites 25 through 33 every other site has a concrete pad. There is WiFi but almost useless with .71Mbps download, 3.07Mbps upload. Verizon Data 34Mbps download, 16.8Mbps upload. AT&T data 6.90Mbps download, 15.1Mbps upload. Verizon cell service was good. The restroom photos here are outdated. Both the newer and older section restrooms are in need of repair and updating. The newer section is the worse, very grungy and smell like poo! I personally would not use the shower in the newer restrooms. The laundry photos are also in need off updating. The laundry room now has stackable washer and dryers. The dog run photo is also in need of updating. The dog run now has large shade tree, but the grass is now gone. I've posted update photos of all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
180 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9