Holloman AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (76)
88465 1 20 0 32

User reviews

7 reviews with 1 stars
76 reviews
 
26%
 
37%
 
21%
 
7%
 
9%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.8(76)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(76)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(76)
Value
 
3.6(76)
Overall Experience
 
3.5(76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
21 March 2019
Overall rating
 
1.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The only reason this stop is on our list is that it is on the way. The locations is good, It's a military base, and I am retired military.. Anything else is a zero. 1. There is no host. If you find a spot, pull in, go to the laundry, fill out an envelope. 2. The connections are "on the ground", (very short posts) This is difficult because I am disabled and have mobility issues. 3. The park is a secondary housing area for active duty members, as evidenced by the RV with the permanently mounted canvas sun screen which has been there for at least two years. 4. The "free cable and wi-fi" was non functional, even after I repaired the connections I had to set up my .portable satellite system. In my opinion, the USAF needs to take another look at the so called "FAMCAMPs'. They are rapidly becoming a secondary "sub-standard" housing area within the military. Several states, Oregon, Montana, and others are looking at RV Parks and placing severe restrictions on the RV'ers, such as, 30 to 60 day limits, must move out for 30 days before returning, etc. Wake up people, this may be a pleasant experience in the short term, but it is not a way to raise a family.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
January 21, 2019
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
One night stop over. Easy check in with camp host. Was able to pick any site. Most all sites were concrete pad. All had full hook ups. Bathrooms ok but need update. Overall good experience. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
April 5, 2018
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
WORST CAMPING EXPERIENCE EVER! DO YOU LIKE TO CAMP ON A SANDLOT? THEN THIS IF FOR YOU! NO bushes, trees, flowers or native plants...just dirt. DO YOU LIKE HIGHWAY NOISE? THEN THIS IS FOR YOU! The 5'brick wall did nothing to dampen traffic sounds. YOU DON'T CARE ABOUT RESTROOMS? THEN THIS IS FOR YOU! The toilets are still broken...made "the Commander" really mad! Yes, Active Duty and long-term campers have the few "nice" spots: concrete pad, a shrub, and a covered table. SKIP THIS PLACE! SAVE MONEY - head east across the valley to OLIVER LEE MEMORIAL STATE PARK. Quiet; beautiful native landscape; hiking trails; water& electric for only$15/night! 
Overflow
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
April 12, 2012
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This FamCamp is very small, although there is adequate land nearby for expansion. It seemed that there were a large number of "homesteaders" (almost 50%) here and at least two Motor Homes (That I saw.) were turned away as all the pull throughs were taken. The place was trashy and poorly maintained - light bulbs out, shower door broken off the men's shower and laying against the wall, trash blowing around, etc. Not what you would expect for the nightly rate. There is a major road construction project on base which keeps you from finding the camp or getting to the gas station. Signage is poor or non existent. I squeezed through the cement blocks only to be told by the gate sentry that I should have used the West gate. A left turn onto Alamogordo was not possible because of road construction. Finding the camp was a real mess. This place needs major work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 Oct 2011
(Updated: October 11, 2011)
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I can't honestly speak about the campground itself other than to say that it is somewhat difficult to find once you get on base. What I can speak about is how rude and disrespectful the campground host is. This was my first experience trying to stay at a campground on post....as we just bought our camper about two months ago. As we drove up we saw several spots we thought were open. I found the park manager and told her I was checking in.....she told me in uncertain terms that she didn't have any open spots. I understand that she was full.....however she was completely unprofessional. All I could do was shake my head and walk away....I will not be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
MAY 2010
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This place is not worthy to bare the "FamCamp"! It is very small and directly off the interstate, very noisy!!! They had tile bathrooms which I discovered only after chasing the roaches to the corners. They would not answer the phone number listed so we were placed in overflow due to the limited number of spaces and what looked like a good number of full time residents, with no hook-ups and super loud semi trailer trucks every minute, all night long!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
26 March 2009
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Arrived around 1900. Host was put out that I knocked on her door. Way to many homesteading here. Overflow backs onto NM Rt# 70. Very busy, very noisy! No Base information available at campground. There are some real long termers here and as traveling active duty member, I got no support from the host. Highly recommend, DOG CANYON State Park. Beautiful, 12 miles south of town on Rt 54, views to die/kill for and the most beautiful canyon hikes right from your electric steps!! $14 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
7 results - showing 1 - 7