Holloman AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (76)
88465 1 20 0 33

User reviews

76 reviews
 
26%
 
37%
 
21%
 
7%
 
9%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.8(76)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(76)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(76)
Value
 
3.6(76)
Overall Experience
 
3.5(76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
76 results - showing 61 - 76
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Jan 29 - Feb 10, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The camp host, Ralph and Mary, are the nicest people! We even went through moving from a class A to a fifth-wheel and they were great and helpful through our process. The older kids enjoyed the youth facility and the baby loved the age appropriate playgrounds on base. The laundry and baths are clean. The only bad thing I could find is the prices at the Main Exchange. DO NOT buy RV items there. A water filter is 27.00 and for the same filter at Wal-Mart is 17.00. Just to give you an idea of price differences. Would recommend a filter, water is hard and I do not like a rainbow film on my morning coffee! Price is excellent. We will return at a later date.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
December 10-17, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We checked the FamCamp out during a trip to White Sands to see if we could get a spot. We had been staying in Las Cruces. The camp host was great in talking to us re moving over there. When we asked her about getting onto the base via the main gate (the entrance was blocked) she told us the secret. You need to sit at the cones and blow your horn! We moved the very next day and followed her advice. The guard had to come out in the rain to move the barricade, but he remained very pleasant! The campsite is near the freeway, but the noise never bothered us at night. We were gone site seeing most of our visit, but when we were in the camp the freeway didn't seem to bother us at all. The spacing between sites is very good and there are tables with shelters at each site. Although laundry facility is small it is clean and sufficient. The camp host is extremely pleasant and helpful. Base facilities not far from campsite and are good. We really enjoyed our stay and the value is excellent. It is a good location for site seeing and take off point for day trips!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
8 Oct 2007 - 7 Dec 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Holloman FAMCAMP is in a "unique" location. Trying to find it without prior knowledge of the base can be tricky. Wi-fi is intermittent at best but the library is close and they do have wi-fi access. The camphost is really nice and has a wealth of info on what to do in the local area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Nov. 10 thru ? 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This campground is very clean and the camp host very friendly. We did get the last space available....but just getting to the camp ground was very confusing. There is a lot of construction ( removing old base housing ) so the streets were blocked off. Lucky for us a very nice young man saw that we were lost and led the way to the famcamp. After our first trip to the shoppette we learned the error of our ways. You take the first left after entering the gate, then the next left ( which takes you through part of the housing area) straight to the campground. There are no signs posted for the second left.....which is why we went straight through. As for internet connections..I am sitting in my motor home right now using wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
April 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
M.D. left this review using the Directory software: Visited last spring. Campground was very nice at time. Has a new campground host now. Back then the host was very rude. We reported bathrooms & laundry room problems (dirty, need to be fixed). Was told "was not here problem or job to fix or report". She ran some others campers out with her rudeness. THERE ONLY FOR THE FREE CAMPING. Campground is going downhill quick.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
27 Aug 07
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived around noon and were met and greeted very promptly. The camp host checks you in. One thing the park needs is a way to use the internet on location. I found the park to very nice in appearance and well designed. I would rate this park in the top 25% of the parks I have stayed at which includes about 7-8 parks per year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 18th-June1,2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice
WR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Early March
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We drove up without reservations and got one of the last campsites available. The Campground is quite nice, new with covered patio, cement level pads and full hookups. One of the things I thought made it even better was the hosts and people who worked there. Beautiful scenery, if you like the desert and mountains, we do, warm days and cool nights. Close to the highway but not as bad as I thought it would be. Nice community and people, we had a very enjoyable stay there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 13, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a well run, well maintained famcamp. The hookups have their own area lights to simplify night arrivals, which is what we did, and the light was much appreciated to help speed the task in a drizzling rain. Instead of a combination keypad lock that you find on many campgrounds, they issue a key that is for the bathhouse and laundry, so when you depart, you need to remember to leave the key at the host shelter, or in the drop-box in the laundry. We made no reservations and, as of this date, there were several empty spaces available. Seems some of the snowbirds have flown, and as I write this I'm watching another one in a big class A making departure preparations. We're just passing through, so it's just this one night and a leisurely morning before we head down to see White Sands, and then travel on into Arizona. When you're out this way, this is definitely a fine place to stay, either overnight or longer term.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 16 - 20, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Holloman and we're always impressed with camp host Fred & Judy. Sorry to see them move on and wish them best of luck. Nicest people and great for the job! New Host will be Ralph & Mary, never met them. Campground was full but luckily was fortunate to get a site as someone was leaving just as we arrived. As a pet owner we always clean up behind our dog but there are many pet owners who just won't bend down and clean up after their pets, guess some people lost their military discipline! Small Dommissaary and BX but they serve the purpose. Gas Station/Convenience Store/Class V1 well stocked also has movie rental, clothing/uniform shop and a Poppeye's. Water and Air pumps for vehicles was down and advised to visit the Hobby Shop. McDonalds located very close to BX. Library very nice and has excellent internet services, WIFI, DSL etc. There is a Sunday Brunch at the O'Club. Thanks and hope you enjoy your visit.... A&J
AR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Mar 13, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Just visited today to check Lat/Longs and find out if we want to make it a destination. Friendly and helpful campground host explained the local attractions. Nice BX and Commissary. We'll make Holloman a future destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Feb 1, 2006
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Located right inside base entry, but be careful. Entry to the campsite now takes you through the housing area with a lot of small cul de sacs. This entry is not as described in the published travel guide. Small but adequate toilet and laundry facility. Good to have cable tv provided at no charge. No telephone or access to the internet. A phone is on the premises but can only be used for on base calls. Seems like it would take very little to allow toll free dialing from this phone... In spite of my complaints, it is a great bargain and location for the price. On base facilities were excellent. 5 miles from White Sands National Monument, well worth a visit
JC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec.6, 2006
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Lovely, small, quiet. No playground, but the empty fields surrounding the camp kept my three kids busy HOURS on end! Would love to see some kind of playground anywhere around this park, and I might then attempt "homesteading" there. Some reclycling on base, but none at the camp. Easy getting around on base and the dining facility always allows retirees/kids/grandkids! Wonderful stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 2004-Nov 2004
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The park and the people who run it ( Hosts Ralph and Mary and Fred and Judy) were some of the nicest people I have met on the road. Camp was very clean, sites were large, shower and wash house was easy to access. One of the nicest places I have been.

Now yes there was some extra noise because of the Air Field and the highhay being sort of close by.. however well worth the trip and a great value..

BT
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
12/5 thru 12/13 2006
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Secure Campground with things to see (IE White Sands), other than a little sound of Freedom an excellent camp
D
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 2004
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campground is along Hwy-70, but not much traffic. Nice, quiet campground with full services on base. Neat watching the Stealth F-117 planes. Near the White Sands.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
76 results - showing 61 - 76
1 2 3 4