Holloman AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (76)
88465 1 20 0 33

User reviews

76 reviews
 
26%
 
37%
 
21%
 
7%
 
9%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.8(76)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(76)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(76)
Value
 
3.6(76)
Overall Experience
 
3.5(76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
76 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Dec 2010
(Updated: January 25, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The FamCamp is a slab of concrete in the back 40 of nowheresville, quiet and isolated with only the sound of Raptors in the sky... but it's one of the better kept FamCamps I've seen anywhere. The host and hostess are warm and friendly and responsive to any request for help and guidance, and they keep the facilities spotless. Well Done!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 4&5, 2010
(Updated: September 28, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived on the Saturday of Labor Day weekend without a reservation. We felt fortunate that we were able to have a site. The host's trailer was well marked as you enter the Famcamp. The host was very friendly and handed us a brochure about the Famcamp as well as a base map. He pointed out places that might interest us. The bathrooms and laundry room were clean and usable. The only mark down was the new showers built separately from the one in the bathroom. The newer ones are nicer however the wind had warped the middle showers door. For some reason the last shower was locked all three days that we were there, so only one new unisex shower was available. I would definitely return to this FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
MAY 2010
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This place is not worthy to bare the "FamCamp"! It is very small and directly off the interstate, very noisy!!! They had tile bathrooms which I discovered only after chasing the roaches to the corners. They would not answer the phone number listed so we were placed in overflow due to the limited number of spaces and what looked like a good number of full time residents, with no hook-ups and super loud semi trailer trucks every minute, all night long!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
May 3, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Good Famcamp to use as a base to see the mts and the desert. White Sands is a must see to check off your bucket list. The down side is all the dog poop in the park. In the week we stayed there we never saw anyone carry a bag to pick up the business. The weekly rate is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 24 - April 7, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice FamCamp! We stayed here while exploring the area, came here specifically to tour the Trinity site. The base is upgrading housing, including new roads, so do not believe your GPS. Follow the directions from the previous poster if you have to enter the main gate. Wifi is up most of the time, but it does crash regularly. Nice exchange and commissary, we loved the base library. Overflow parking is generous, level and graveled. During our two weeks here, we saw a lot of turnover, most people only stay overnight. We only saw people in overflow for one night, then they either left or moved into a full hookup site.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
December 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If coming from Alamogordo south on Hwy 70, the West gate is the second gate. You can use the West Gate unless you are coming in on a weekend, or after 5:30 or 6:00 p.m. weekdays. Otherwise, you will have to use the Holloman AFB main gate. The directions to the famcamp from the West Gate above are correct. However, if you come in the Main Gate, Martin Ave. is closed and blocked off due to housing construction. Our entry preference was to proceed to Arizona Ave.(3 more streets down), turn left and proceed to Patterson Dr. You will pass the commissary on the right. Turn left on Patterson Dr. until you reach Mesquite Dr. (3 speed bumps) When you reach Mesquite Dr., turn left and continue as per directions above. You avoid driving through housing this way. There are no signs on base pointing the route to the famcamp, which we found a bit odd since most bases display them. We did not find the background highway noise that distracting; the mountain view in the background is beautiful. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. Laundry room has upgraded machines. The free Wi-Fi works best near the laundry/shower rooms. Will stay again if we come this way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov. 1, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: The camp is clean and the host Fred & Judy are outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
29 Oct 09
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Prices have increased to $20 per night, $90 per week. The directions need updating. Ongoing construction in base housing has wiped out the first block of Andrews. From Martin take the first left at the end of the construction fence, then the second left onto Boeing. Then right on Andrews, right on Mesquite, and the first left into the rv camp. The host was pleasant, the camp is clean and well maintained. The base is nice with all the usual amenities and facilities, golf course, indoor pool, commissary and BX, etc. White Sands National Monument is only six miles further but has no camping. However $20 per night for a parking space and hookups exceeds the price at New Mexico State Parks and many of the commercial parks in the area I think.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here on our way to Mexico. Getting to the campground takes a little as the facility in in one of the housing areas which you have to drive through, one wrong turn could be a problem. The campground has pull through and back in sites with full hookups. Each site has a picnic covered table, concrete pad, and is long enough for a 40' motorhome and toad. Services, W/E/S, are located just where they should be for minimum stretching of hoses and cords. Didn't use the showers or laundry facility but did look and found then clean. We were told that the base was expanding the campground with up to 25 more sites. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We loved everything about our stay here. The sunsets were astounding. We will visit again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 March 2009
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Arrived around 1900. Host was put out that I knocked on her door. Way to many homesteading here. Overflow backs onto NM Rt# 70. Very busy, very noisy! No Base information available at campground. There are some real long termers here and as traveling active duty member, I got no support from the host. Highly recommend, DOG CANYON State Park. Beautiful, 12 miles south of town on Rt 54, views to die/kill for and the most beautiful canyon hikes right from your electric steps!! $14 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Feb. 5, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: Just arrived and camp host was very helpful. Very nice but small famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15-17 Sep 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Altogether a rewarding experience for AF Fam Camps. A little difficult to locate on first attempt, (probably my fault). Construction was distracting. Facilities all clean and up to date. Camp host Mary genuine and helpful with a smile. Wish bases provided base maps to military ID card holders at the main gate. Google world maps is an excellent alternative. White Sands missile test range is a must see for first time visitors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Apr 23, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Much construction going on in the residential section of the base which is where the campground is located. Old roads no longer exist, new roads have been built, making it hard to find the campground if you come in the West Gate as recommended. The campground was full so I stayed in overflow which is a dirt field next to the campground. When it rains, it would be a mudhole. Six of the 24 sites were occupied by or reserved for active duty military. That is a lot for this small campground and is a common problem at more and more military campgrounds. This makes it difficult, if not impossible, to get a regualar site for someone staying only a day or two. The rest appeared to be mostly homesteaders but it was difficult to determine how many. The water has a lot of minerals which spot anything that comes in contact with it. There is no campground office - only a camp host. No base map, no policy statement concerning rotation from overflow to regular site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
28 Mar 08
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Blocked roads , new construction , and no signs , makes it difficult to reach the camp. Eeven though it can be seen from the main gate. Stayed there a year ago, and was a good experience. This time we arrived in the early afternoon and observed 6 empty pull thru sites. A few had orange cones but most were completely empty. Rather than just claiming one, we first checked in with the camp host, who advised that they were full, and did not offer overflow. Written policy says no reservations ?. So, we went on our way and will try again next time through.
CA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 11 - Feb.10, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent also a month here, we found it very comfortable. The host were great with info about the base and how to get around town can't wait to go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 31,2008
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
It must be a good park and a great location from the previous reviews. However we have tried twice in the last month to get in. The 30 day stay policy has an obvious flaw or not enforced. A few RV's have been there a long time. The elderly Lady in the Van from New York has been there for over 4 months. Another example of the unpublished Good Old boy Policy that is alive and well throughout the system. If you're going to have policies to manage a park lets enforce them. Thats why the ICE system was introduced.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
16 Mar 08
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just six miles west of Alamogordo on US70. We used main gate...enter on the right hand lane. If closed, beep your horn and the civilian rent-a-guard will move the cones, check your ID, and wave you in. Very nice folks on the gate! Take your first left, into base housing, then your next left, go to end of road, take right turn and then first left into RV park. EZ to find. Base people are super friendly. Base is clean, tidy, and on the grow! Certainly more happening now than last time here in 2004. New mission is takeing place with retirement of the stealths. Relatively new BX, very nice, and older but VERY clean and well stocked (wide aisles!!) commisary. Park itself very clean - paved sites, full, easy hookups including real (not satellite) cable TV with 70+ channels. Wi-fi, probably from base housing, is weak, but obtainable if you go outside or use a small wifi antenna. I'm writing this online from site #22. Very nice, easy going hostess...super helpful. Lots of comments from other patrons as to how nice Holloman is. Based on what we've seen, we decided to do a full week here rather than press on for another 300 miles to Davis Monthan where we're told there is still a 3 to 6 day dry camp wait. Right now Holloman is about 50-60% full. Would definitely recommend it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar 2-4, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were lucky to get in, as there were only 2 sites available. The CG was full by 1:00pm with another rig spending the night in overflow. They got a FHU site the next day. Nice RV Park with friendly hosts. I was stationed here over 20 years ago. The base has grown and still is. Lots of new housing being built. But Alamogrodo hasn't chenged very much. This trip brought back many fond memories of our time stationed here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14 Jan - February, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are schedule to leave here on 14 Feb, 08. We are going to try and stay another two weeks. According to the camp host it shouldn't be a problem. This is one of the nicest Military Campgrounds we have stayed at. It will be the first time we have ever stayed more than 4 weeks. They have wifi, but the signal is really low. My sprint wirless card works good, just not at broadband speed. My cingular cell phone works great here. The gym is awesome, they have a bike path, and the BX/Commissary are okay. They have a super walmart downtown. The only knock is the water pressure, but that is controled by the base. This is the place to stay if you are ever in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
76 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4