Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (176)
172448 3 31 1 96
Desert Eagle RV Park

Location

Installation
Nellis AFB, Las Vegas, NV
GPS Coordinates
36.2492, -115.053
Location Information
Nellis AFB, Las Vegas, NV
RV Gate Coordinates
36.24804, -115.05201

Directions

Directions
From the South: From I-15, take exit 48 heading East on Craig Road. Travel about 2.5 miles and turn left onto Las Vegas Blvd North (Hwy 604). DO NOT go straight into the Nellis Main Gate. Go another .6 miles and turn left again (West) on Range Road (this is directly across from Nellis AFB north gate). From the North: From I-15, take exit 58 heading South on Las Vegas Blvd North (Hwy 604). Go almost 7 miles and turn right (West) in Range Road (this is directly across from Nellis AFB north gate). Both: After turning West onto Range Road, this will take you into the Range Road gate. After curling around the gate entrance, go 2 streets down and make a left onto Stafford Dr. Follow the Desert Eagle RV Park signs. After about .25 miles, make a right turn on Fam Camp Dr. Go to the end of the road and turn right into the campground. The registration office is on the left.

Map

Google Map (Click on the map to enlarge)
Map of Desert Eagle RV Park

Contact Information

Phone Number
(702) 643-3060
Fax Number
(702) 643-3702
Mailing Address
4907 Famcamp Drive, Nellis AFB, NV 89115
Email Address
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Campground Information

Authorized Users
Active, National Guard, Reservists, Retired, 100% DAV. DoD Civilians.
Season
Year round.
Reservations
Reservations are recommended and may be made up to 6 months in advance by mail, phone, web or e-mail.
Internet Access
Free Wi-Fi available throughout the park.
Mail Forwarding
Mail and packages are no longer accepted at the FamCamp. Must use local General Delivery for mail or a local business for packages. Ask the office for a list of local businesses that accept packages.
Pet Information
Allowed with usual leash and clean-up rules. There is a fenced grassy dogie run. Dogie pots/bags provided throughout the park.
Campground Information
Max stay six months, then must leave for a least 30 days. RV Site prices vary depending on the location assigned.
Big Rig Friendly?
Yes
Facilities
Game/TV Room, Jogging paths, Temp RV Storage, Arts & Crafts, Hobby Shops, Chapel.
Amenities
  • Dump, Sewer
  • Electric
  • Tent Area
  • Laundry
  • Showers
  • Playground
  • Picinic Area
  • Golf
  • Library
  • Gas
  • Commissary
  • Exchange
  • Fitness Center
  • Shoppete
  • Swimming
  • Snack Bar
  • Class VI
  • Movie Theater
  • Museum
  • Pharmacy
  • Hospital, Clinic
  • Post Office

Site Information

Type of site
Spaces
Hook-ups
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
RV Sites
222
W/30,50A/S
$22 - $26
N/A
N/A
RV Sites
4
W/30,50A
$20
N/A
N/A
Tent
6
None
$8
N/A
N/A

Other Information

Firearms Policy
Must be checked in with the base armory.
DoD Interactive Comment Evaluation

The Department of Defense (DoD) Interactive Customer Evaluation (ICE) system is a web-based tool that collects feedback on services provided by various organizations throughout the Department of Defense (DoD). Click the ICE logo to submit your evaluation on this campground directly to the responsible department.

Weather Information

The Desert Eagle RV Park has 226RV sites with water, electrical power, and sewage hook-ups, 4 RV sites with water & electric only, 6 tent sites, overflow area and 90 days storage sites. 4 coin-operated laundromats, showers and restroom facilities.

Nellis AFB is the home of the USAF Thunderbirds. Many times during the year, you'll see them practicing in the area.

Photos

Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park
Desert Eagle RV Park

Videos

Nellis AFB Desert Eagle RV Park - Las Vegas, Nevada
Driving Tour of Desert Eagle RV Park at Nellis AFB, NV
RV Campgrounds in Las Vegas: Desert Eagle RV Park (Nellis Air Force Base) and  Lake Mead RV Village

Attachments

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Desert Eagle Brochure
    934 KB
    3562

Map

Swap Start/End

User reviews

176 reviews

 
(123)
 
(38)
 
(8)
 
(3)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.5  (176)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (176)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.4  (176)
Value 
 
4.5  (176)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (176)
To write a review please register or
View all reviews View most helpful
Nov 1, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to stay. Easy to get to sites other than down town Las Vegas. Hover Dam and the West side of the Grand Canyon. We enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 3-6 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I am a retired DOD Civilian with a Department of the Army retired civilian ID card. Any retired Department of Army civilian can get an ID card that allows one to use military recreation facilities. Just visit a civilian personnel office where you retired or bring in proof of retirement to any other military civilian personnel office and apply for the card. I have used it on Air Force, Navy and Army Famcamps over the years. Now, I must say that I really enjoyed my stay at Nellis AFB Famcamp. We had attended a military reunion in Vegas and this was a great place to relax away from the Strip. The only facility we used was the laundromat which proved to be clean and easy to use. Also, the instructions to Nellis Famcamp were right on. However, I found that coming from Kingman, AZ you follow Highway 93 north changed name to I-11, then to I-515 to the I-15. Then use the instructions posted on this sight to Nellis. I did find that if it isn't a heavy traffic part of the day, I could exit I-515 going north and exit on North Las Vegas Blvd North and follow it to Nellis for about 5 miles. Yes, you would hit traffic lights, but the traffic was low and it was a straight shot to the Nellis Famcamp. The traffic on I-15 was hectic and not fun while towing a travel trailer to get to the Craig exit. Stay away from the I-15 on Friday through Sunday as that is the heaviest traffic scene, also during normal rush hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25 Sept - Oct 6, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Clean, quite and can't say enough good things about the staff. This is a great park and the base has everything you could want plus the Thunderbird's museum. My wife and I had a great stay and plan on coming back. RD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 28 - Jun 10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great camp ground needs a little TLC on overall camp but the people working here are VERY SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY type people in the state where everything is fast paced!!! Would recommend this anytime!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
January, 2019 - April, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed for 78 days and were very pleased with the park. When we first arrived we were assigned site 180, which is in the 'new' section. The new section is tight, very tight. We didn't think that we could do 78 days in such cramped conditions so we asked to be moved to 103. Perfect! We were very comfortable and had plenty of room. There were people there that were in the new section for much longer than the 78 days we were there and I never heard a complaint from anyone about the cramped quarters. The bathrooms, laundry and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen. The staff was always friendly. They were installing the Wifi while we were there and were able to use it for the last week. It worked great - but, it will be a pay service when the installation is complete. As in most military famcamps, it is nicer than most commercial campgrounds, less expensive and safer. We enjoyed our stay at Desert Eagle and would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Return for a few days before heading for home. Assigned a site in the “new” section of the park. This site was also good for us, easy pull through and hook-ups. In this site we were able to get very spotty wi-fi access at the RV. Did learn from the staff than the wi-fi is being expanded. We could see a “Desert Eagle Wifi” option with a very strong signal but that is still under installation and not open for connection just yet. This will be a great addition to the park. Park is busy with plenty of campers, yet still a number of vacancies. Nellis is making progress in becoming a very good park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
January 2019
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Yep, they did it. Had to install some sort of a valve in the water system for the entire FAMCAMP and some other facilities in the area. Shut off the water on a Friday evening and actual work was supposed to be completed by Saturday, including sanitizing the lines and flushing. Water sample then supposedly sent/taken(?) to State(?) County(?), someone, (no one can tell you who) but they don't work weekends. Water was supposed to be on by 6PM Wednesday. Of course it wasn't and the latest GUESS was maybe sometime Thursday, but of course no one has a clue. There is a water bowser near check in, but for 3-4 days there was only a 3" hose available and you had to go to the office to find that. No reduced rates, refunds, or even a reasonable explanation. Sorry about that. The office folks try but when no one keeps them informed there's nothing they can do. Obviously, no one in authority cares the least. Many people have gone elsewhere for the duration or have just forfeited their payments and left. Other issues as well. Although the FAMCAMP is on base it's located directly adjacent to the active runways and under the downwind so be prepared for constant extremely loud noise from 7AM on every weekday. So loud all conversation stops. But the posted quiet hours are until 8AM each morning. Bet that works out well for the tenters and those not using full hook ups but needing to use a generator for one reason or another. Overall recommendations, spend a few bucks more and go elsewhere. Doubtful we'll be back.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 10
January 2019
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We stayed in the older section of this FamCamp. We normally are very happy with our experiences at a military FamCamp. However this stay was a disappointment. When we checked in I told the office our son was staying with us for three nights. When I reviewed my bill I notice I was charged extra for entire stay. Office told me no refunds. OK, only $14. On our second day here we were notified that the water would be turned off for five days. Why were we not informed of the scheduled water outage at check in? If we knew about it we would have gone elsewhere. Since we would not have FHUs for five days I asked about any discounts or refund. I was told no discounts or refunds. The scheduled water outage turned out to be six days instead of five. Our other problem was with getting our mail. We had a prescription sent here. For whatever reason the office rejected it and had it returned. We knew nothing about it being returned. We only found out about it be returned when we called the pharmacy. They verified they used the address of office required. We had packages delivered here without issue before they refused our prescription. The office personal here appear to be folks that actually stay here in the park and really are not qualified for this work. The older section could use some cleanup, maintenance and is starting to look very tired. Overall we are very disappointed with the lack of customer service at this FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Boy what a big change to this RV park. Arrived for New Years and appeared to be a full house. Thankfully we had made reservations and welcome pack was waiting for us on our late arrival. The new sites are mostly well laid out for easy in & out and hook-ups. (However, noticed that some sites across the street have sewer connection far forward requiring a very long sewer hose, yuck.) Our site had a nice open area next to it but most do not and can be a little close to neighbors. No internet signal in our part of the park, needed to go to main office for connection (lowered my Amenities score due to this). Would have been great if this service were provided at the site. Overall: Nellis did a nice job. Side Note: Needed to wash the road salt and grim from Utah off the RV. Considered using the base coin operated car/RV wash facility. Neighbor said some folks him told the RV wash bay was difficult to get in and out of. We did a recon of the facility and looked ok to us. On wash day we found the bay pretty straight forward to drive into and worked just fine for us. We have a 36’ class A, maybe a larger rig would have trouble. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov/Dec 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit and need I say, this visit was OUTSTANDING. Our first visit was during one of the hottest times (112 degrees) in our rig. Much nice visit this time of the year. Can not overstate what an great facility and location. Crime on the Strip has spread out well beyond the strip now and it is so nice to have the safety of an armed guard at the front gate. They recently expanded and added a lot of new sites with their sites on more expansion and possibly a new “club house/office space”. You have to live with the hours of training flight, sometimes in the night but overall felt great to be here and we’ll certainly be back. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
20-27 November 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've stayed here many times and have always been pleased with the consistency of professional service and outstanding facilities. Quick, friendly check-in and escort to our paved and level concrete pad in the old, now "premium" section, our preferred location. Lots of space between sites, some trees and shrubs, and no obstructions to TV satellites. Plenty of OTA TV channels and good Verizon cell/data. The park WiFi would not connect during our stay, not unusual now that everyone seems to streaming video. Plenty of the "sound of freedom" starting early on weekday mornings but relatively quiet on nights and weekends. Outside the base is a deteriorating neighborhood so off-base dining and shopping require a few miles of driving. Overall one of the best Famcamps in the system. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
16-17 Nov 18
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Popped down from Mesquite, NV for the weekend to get the rig ready for an extended trip. First time we've stayed here; will definitely stay again. Very nice and helpful staff. Hundreds of great sites. The older ones likely have more room and some shade but we didn't mind staying in the new area. Very clean showers and restroom facilities. Easy access on/off the highway. Base has great facilities. Very secure. Close to some great national and state parks (Zion, Bryce Canyon, Valley of Fire). Overall a great value. Thank you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 28 - Nov 4, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I"m not sure why there are a few negative reviews. We had planned to stay one night, but ended up staying a week. The office staff was nice and pleasant and gave us an information folder with maps. We didn't have any problems extending our stay, other than having to move sites. But this was partly due that we had friends coming in and we wanted to be near each other. The new sites are close together with no shade. We got lucky and ended up in shaded sites. The restrooms and laundry were very clean, but most of them are also new. The commissary and exchange are a good size. Yes, we had lots of the "Sound of Freedom" from the jets, but we actually enjoyed it. The pricing is currently very reasonable for this area - I hope they don't get greedy and raise them too soon. This is a large RV Park and was about 90% full when were here. We enjoyed our visit and would return when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
October 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The new sites are small and will leave you feeling trapped between your neighbors. The neighborhood around Nellis is terryfing and to get to anywhere somewhat safe or enjoyable, it will take a 30-40 minute drive. They have one dog park that everyone waits to take turns with their different sized dogs plus it is kind of unsanitary as not everyone picks up after their pets including the dogs with diaharea. I drive over to the housing area where there are walk paths with grass. Las Vegas seems to attract most people with vices so if you live a healthy lifestyle, get ready to always smell smoke everywhere you go even at your site if you have people that smoke around you. The water is very hard and no humidity so bring a gallon of lotion. Overall, it is okay for short stays but realistically, I will probably not return again. On the plus side, Nellis has a great gym with an Olympic size pool.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 5
16 October 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed overnight on the way to AZ ... heads up ... the North entry point on Range Road has cement barriers in place to create an S-shaped entry. The path was so tight I was not willing to try to weave my 38 ft class A with towed vehicle through it and the gate guard agreed. So ... Go to the South entry on Range Road if you have a longer rig ... this is the entry for semi- trucks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
May 1, 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I must be completely honest and say staying at this park has been the worst experience I have ever encountered on a military base!! Just straight out nasty and racist!! And you people will pay for the way you treated me someday soon!! The worst thing the military has done is let the civilians take over Nellis AFB!! It has really went down hill! So that the hosts that work in that park and everyone else who treated me bad just remember what goes around comes around! And Karma is very real!!Now all you people can put your 5 stars in now! But to all just remember that you reap what you sow and GOD doesn't like ugly 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 20
15 August 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here on our return trip for an overnight. They take reservations and got us a nice pull through so we did not need to unhook. There are two areas. The “premium” ones are actually the older spots. They have shade and trees in most and are in the round “wheel”areas. That is were we stayed. Good utilities. WiFi was pretty good for an RV Park. Hosts were very nice. They escort you to your site, which is always helpful. Be sure and check if there is a NASCAR race if you are staying on a weekend, the traffic might be worse and the Famcamp fills up more. Great place, easy to get to. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 2, 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Been here before and the staff is still unfriendly! I'm sure they will lose business in the near future! Bathrooms are old and need to be upgraded! Showers are so small that u can barely turn around in them! The host seems to be polite but that office staff needs to change!! Been the same too long! Bad customer service!! Need diversity badly!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 7
Aug 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here one night as just an overnight on our way north. It was Hot on the way up and Hot there. We arrived around 4:30pm to 120 degrees! I say this not to complain, but to set the stage for the great visit we had. We were having roof Air issues on our coach, and the hosts put us in a site that was almost completely shaded. The hosts, Melanie and Victor were super friending and connected us with a great Mobile RV repair service, Tom, who called us back and trouble shot our roof air issue over the phone. We were even offered cold bags of ice. But back to the park. Our site was #63, a back-in, very level, easy to get into with convenient towed vehicle parking. The site was very clean and had some grass and a picnic table. Good electricity. The wifi connected very easy and the internet was speedy and perfect for e-mail and web browsing. We did not try any satellite. We had good version reception. We had ready about cleanliness and bathroom issues but we thought they were very clean and well kept. There is a very nice office with computers, tables and relaxing chairs. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was our second stay here. First time the park was immaculate. Hosts Melanie, Victor, and Howard provided excellent customer service at the office. Free bags of ice on hot days. This time bathhouses were deplorable though, floors were filthy, overflowing garbage cans at the dump station, laundry rooms were dirty and filled with ants. We cut our visit short this time, no refunds if you pay in advance. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
View all user reviews