Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (189)
184197 3 32 1 115

User reviews

127 reviews with 5 stars
189 reviews
 
70%
 
22%
 
4%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.5(189)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(189)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.4(189)
Value
 
4.5(189)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(189)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
127 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
April 1-13, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first visit to a military Famcamp and I think we have been ruined for all of the rest. We are at site 222 in the new section of the park. We are very close to the dog park, laundry, and our neighbors. The older section, wagon wheels, have wonderful trees and much more space. Our need to come here was weather-based so a last-minute reservation and we got what they had available. It is a new section so we have young trees and your normal stone/concrete site. The staff has been wonderful and friendly along with our fellow visitors. As for the base facilities, visited the Commissary for our grocery needs. They have a wonderful produce section and things are reasonably priced. The staff was helpful and friendly. The exchange is huge and exactly what you would expect. Overall our experience was outstanding. The Commander of Nellis AFB should be very proud of this facility. Even the security staff at the gate smiled. We will be spending time here again. Maybe an entire winter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct-Nov 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here on our way to AZ for the winter. The phone is always answered. Just to let you know the GPS from Hurricane Utah guides you the wrong way to Range Road. If you are coming from the north on Hwy 15 to the base exit 604 (Las Vegas Blvd N). When we followed the GPS we got stuck on Range Road that is closed as the entrance after we were told to use this road, its a very bad section that was being redone and behind the Amazon Warehouses. We called and a very nice person guided us all the way to the base. Outstanding Customer service. The base has some new RV Pads, but you are sandwiched in like sardines. The old section is only for Active Duty from what we were told. The spaces are huge. The WiFi in the new section works great. The bathrooms are beautiful and clean we did not use them. Due to Covid-19 you pull up in a parking lot and call and you do all your check in over the phone. We would stay here again. This is by far the best Air Force RV park that we have been at. Most of the ones we have stayed at are very run down but this one is great!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 14th, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We called the same day for a reservation - no problems. We just spent one night in a FHU pull-thru site in the old "wagon wheel" area. We met a host on the way in who showed us to our site. We called the next day to make payment. All went well. We didn't do anything and barely left the rig. We were just looking for a spot to spend the night and run the A/C. It was still above 100 degrees here. Nice visit, and will stay here again when needed.
Desert Eagle RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 6 thru 27, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at Desert Eagle from 6 to 27 Aug 2020. Aside from the oppressive heat (averaging 104 to 114 degrees) the park is very nice. We stayed in space 86 which is in the old loop section. The spaces are nicely spaced, so much so that there is enough room between them you could put another RV, which some money hunger parks do. The sites are all concrete with concrete patios as well. The loop sites have many trees and the shade they provided helped significantly with the heat. There is a walking path around all 4 of the loops with plenty of well stocked doggy bags and disposal bins for picking up after you dog. There is ample room to park you RV when you arrive for check in and maneuvering around the park is very easy even for the largest RV’s. The staff were very nice and a pleasure to interact with, they obviously enjoyed working there. The new section of the park is very nice as well; however they built the sites much to close together for my liking. There are no trees either (no shade) which exposes you to that hot Vegas sun all day. Even with the shade we had a hard time keeping the RV cool and the best we could do was the upper 80’s during the heat of the day. However, the evenings and nights were much cooler and the AC’s kept the RV nice and cool for sleeping. The best way to get to the RV park is through the N Las Vegas Blvd gate. However, use caution. Once through the gate there are large speed bumps and they have put the concrete barriers pretty close so squeezing a RV through them is tight to say the least. However, if you go slow and use caution it’s manageable. Once through just go to the first stop sign and turn left and follow the signs to the park. You’ll see the park as soon as you get through the gate. I would not recommend exiting the base through that gate with your RV. There barriers are even closer together and getting through is very tight. I watched a large 5th wheel go through and he only had a few inches clearance on either side. I wouldn’t risk it. You can drive through the housing area and exit onto E Craig Rd which will take you straight to I-15. Nellis is a very large base and is divided by North Las Vegas Blvd. The north side is mostly housing while the south side is where the commissary and BX are located. Due to COVID the base commander only allows retires to enter the south side on weekends. Evidently, we are not contagious on weekends. All this accomplished was to force all the local retirees to cram the BX and commissary on weekends along with all the active duty. Sorry but I cannot see the logic in this decision. That aside, we enjoyed out stay there and look forward to returning one day. It won’t be in the summer months though. If you’re planning a stay there and can pick you dates, I would recommend you not go in July, August or September. One sort of a downside is that Walmart and Costco are not close by. Getting to them is about a 10-mile drive through the city. There was a Walmart right outside the main gate, but it was boarded up and abandoned from some reason. The base gas station does not sell diesel and fuel prices off base were a little high. The cheapest I found diesel was $2.49.9 a gallon. There is much to do in and around Vegas but the heat kept us from doing much. It was just too hot. All in all, Nellis is a really nice base and Desert Eagle a great RV park. If you get a chance go, you won’t regret it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 10, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here 1 night while traveling from Phoenix, AZ to Idaho. Very easy check in and the staff allowed us to check in early. The staff guides you to your space in a golf cart. Spaces are level and all hookups work good. Very quiet (appeared that no fighter jets were in the air). Easy on/off from the Interstate 15. Will stay again. $26; good bargain. One note: the entry gate is a little awkward. You need to make a few tight turns but we made it in ok with our 32 foot travel trailer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 July, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed here. Albiet only for an overnighter, and during the summer, when things are not as crowded. This time was like all the others. The staff was wonderful and helpful. They call you the day of your arrival to verify things about you arrival plans. Put us in a very nice pull-through with good shade to help with the heat. It was 117 degrees out when we arrived, and the shade made all the difference in the world. All the facilities have adjusted services with the COVID response. Sites are clean, level, good utilities and the Wi-Fi was very good. The office is closed except to staff, simply call when you get there from outside the office, and they will get you taken care of. There are still deliveries from Pappa John's and others. One item for the directions. WE came in from the north, and got off on Racetrack to get fuel. You can not get through to Las Vegas Blvd from there as Hollywood road is closed. Also, the north Range Road gate is closed all the time right now. Lamb proved to be the best route in. Will always stay here when we can.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 30 - July 2, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As mentioned earlier in June, we stopped at Nellis AFB Desert Eagle Fam Camp in Las Vegas, NV on our way back through. We arrived after hours, but the staff called us during our drive to make sure they had everything ready for us. We arrived after office hours, but they had a packet which included a map with driving directions highlighted or drawn on the map to get us from the registration office to our new temporary home, Circle #1 Site #16. The packet included their request to ensure we stop by the office before 1000 the next morning to settle up on the bill. Second stay in less than a month...the staff here is awesome. They made us feel welcome during both visits. We have only stayed in the circles so far...and will ask for these spots whenever we come through this part of the country.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 9-11, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park has grown since our last two visits (2013 and 2017 when we stayed for five days), but the staff is just as amazing. The dog park area was very much appreciated (in 2013 we didn't have our two GSD's with us, and by 2017 they had passed). We now have a Dutch Shepherd, and she loved being able get out for some needed running. We originally had a single night stay booked for our return trip from the Phoenix NASCAR race, but had a minor engineering casualty that made us stay a second night after repairs. Both spaces were in the original section of the park, but the staff shuffled to a second spot in a different 'wheel'. Water pressure was good, power was steady with good numbers and we had great Sprint and ATT coverage and data speeds (I didn't recall my speed test results but was able to play a few rounds of World of Warships waiting for the mobile mechanic). Our DISH worked flawlessly after getting clear line-of-sight around trees behind our first spot. The prices per night are such a great value - and definitely makes it worth the extra drive time to get 'into town'. We went out to eat at local restaurants along North Nellis Boulevard, and saw just how the area immediately outside the base has suffered economically. Many stores were shuttered for the first few miles, and though we felt safe the entire time, it brought home how we spent most of the time on prior trips to Las Vegas either on base, or at the Strip/Fremont Street areas. Definitely spend some of your dollars near the base to support local, family businesses (because the food is great!). We are looking forward to being able to spend a month here after we retire and can travel full time! The roar of F22's, F16's, the distinct sound of A-10's are enough to raise the spirits of this old squid, too!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 19-21, 2020
(Updated: June 28, 2020)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed two nights...we did not use the facilities, our coach is fully equipped. The pull through spots are very spacious with lots of landscape between us an closest neighbor...we had #76 in Circle #4. We will stop again on our way back through Las Vegas. The only negative was the speed bumps going in and out of the base at the gate, they need to be painted yellow so you see them before your coach bottoms out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed this time in the “old” ex-mobile home park section and liked it. Very long site with good level concrete pad to park on. Trees for shade, etc. We like Nellis and have stayed here plenty of times. Staff in office were very friendly and helpful. In the past have had off-on experiences but they are doing things right now. They even called us when it was looking like we might arrive after closing. A welcome package with site info was awaiting us. Wi-Fi isn’t real strong and can be very slow at times. It is still a free service even though the park map indicates a fee after 30 minutes of complimentary service. Select the Viasat service. Getting ready to go and dumping the black and gray tanks. Sewer line clogged. Thankfully was when doing the gray tank, line accepted all the black, otherwise would have been a yucky mess. Good thing I was keeping eye on line and caught just as it backed up. Told maintenance guys and sounded like this has been occurring. Could be because it is the older “ex-mobile home park” and lines aren’t new like in the newer section. Used the dump station on the way out. Considering the cost to stay at commercial parks, still think this is a good deal for us. We aren’t into the “resort” lifestyle. Not the cheapest military RV park we have stayed in but consider the price to be reasonable for what is provided and security of being on base. We will visit again in the near future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Nov 1, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to stay. Easy to get to sites other than down town Las Vegas. Hover Dam and the West side of the Grand Canyon. We enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 3-6 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I am a retired DOD Civilian with a Department of the Army retired civilian ID card. Any retired Department of Army civilian can get an ID card that allows one to use military recreation facilities. Just visit a civilian personnel office where you retired or bring in proof of retirement to any other military civilian personnel office and apply for the card. I have used it on Air Force, Navy and Army Famcamps over the years. Now, I must say that I really enjoyed my stay at Nellis AFB Famcamp. We had attended a military reunion in Vegas and this was a great place to relax away from the Strip. The only facility we used was the laundromat which proved to be clean and easy to use. Also, the instructions to Nellis Famcamp were right on. However, I found that coming from Kingman, AZ you follow Highway 93 north changed name to I-11, then to I-515 to the I-15. Then use the instructions posted on this sight to Nellis. I did find that if it isn't a heavy traffic part of the day, I could exit I-515 going north and exit on North Las Vegas Blvd North and follow it to Nellis for about 5 miles. Yes, you would hit traffic lights, but the traffic was low and it was a straight shot to the Nellis Famcamp. The traffic on I-15 was hectic and not fun while towing a travel trailer to get to the Craig exit. Stay away from the I-15 on Friday through Sunday as that is the heaviest traffic scene, also during normal rush hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
25 Sept - Oct 6, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Clean, quite and can't say enough good things about the staff. This is a great park and the base has everything you could want plus the Thunderbird's museum. My wife and I had a great stay and plan on coming back. RD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 28 - Jun 10, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great camp ground needs a little TLC on overall camp but the people working here are VERY SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY type people in the state where everything is fast paced!!! Would recommend this anytime!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
January, 2019 - April, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed for 78 days and were very pleased with the park. When we first arrived we were assigned site 180, which is in the 'new' section. The new section is tight, very tight. We didn't think that we could do 78 days in such cramped conditions so we asked to be moved to 103. Perfect! We were very comfortable and had plenty of room. There were people there that were in the new section for much longer than the 78 days we were there and I never heard a complaint from anyone about the cramped quarters. The bathrooms, laundry and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen. The staff was always friendly. They were installing the Wifi while we were there and were able to use it for the last week. It worked great - but, it will be a pay service when the installation is complete. As in most military famcamps, it is nicer than most commercial campgrounds, less expensive and safer. We enjoyed our stay at Desert Eagle and would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Feb 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Return for a few days before heading for home. Assigned a site in the “new” section of the park. This site was also good for us, easy pull through and hook-ups. In this site we were able to get very spotty wi-fi access at the RV. Did learn from the staff than the wi-fi is being expanded. We could see a “Desert Eagle Wifi” option with a very strong signal but that is still under installation and not open for connection just yet. This will be a great addition to the park. Park is busy with plenty of campers, yet still a number of vacancies. Nellis is making progress in becoming a very good park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Boy what a big change to this RV park. Arrived for New Years and appeared to be a full house. Thankfully we had made reservations and welcome pack was waiting for us on our late arrival. The new sites are mostly well laid out for easy in & out and hook-ups. (However, noticed that some sites across the street have sewer connection far forward requiring a very long sewer hose, yuck.) Our site had a nice open area next to it but most do not and can be a little close to neighbors. No internet signal in our part of the park, needed to go to main office for connection (lowered my Amenities score due to this). Would have been great if this service were provided at the site. Overall: Nellis did a nice job. Side Note: Needed to wash the road salt and grim from Utah off the RV. Considered using the base coin operated car/RV wash facility. Neighbor said some folks him told the RV wash bay was difficult to get in and out of. We did a recon of the facility and looked ok to us. On wash day we found the bay pretty straight forward to drive into and worked just fine for us. We have a 36’ class A, maybe a larger rig would have trouble. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Nov/Dec 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second visit and need I say, this visit was OUTSTANDING. Our first visit was during one of the hottest times (112 degrees) in our rig. Much nice visit this time of the year. Can not overstate what an great facility and location. Crime on the Strip has spread out well beyond the strip now and it is so nice to have the safety of an armed guard at the front gate. They recently expanded and added a lot of new sites with their sites on more expansion and possibly a new “club house/office space”. You have to live with the hours of training flight, sometimes in the night but overall felt great to be here and we’ll certainly be back. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
20-27 November 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've stayed here many times and have always been pleased with the consistency of professional service and outstanding facilities. Quick, friendly check-in and escort to our paved and level concrete pad in the old, now "premium" section, our preferred location. Lots of space between sites, some trees and shrubs, and no obstructions to TV satellites. Plenty of OTA TV channels and good Verizon cell/data. The park WiFi would not connect during our stay, not unusual now that everyone seems to streaming video. Plenty of the "sound of freedom" starting early on weekday mornings but relatively quiet on nights and weekends. Outside the base is a deteriorating neighborhood so off-base dining and shopping require a few miles of driving. Overall one of the best Famcamps in the system. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
16-17 Nov 18
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Popped down from Mesquite, NV for the weekend to get the rig ready for an extended trip. First time we've stayed here; will definitely stay again. Very nice and helpful staff. Hundreds of great sites. The older ones likely have more room and some shade but we didn't mind staying in the new area. Very clean showers and restroom facilities. Easy access on/off the highway. Base has great facilities. Very secure. Close to some great national and state parks (Zion, Bryce Canyon, Valley of Fire). Overall a great value. Thank you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
127 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7