Offutt Base Lake FamCamp

Offutt AFB Base Lake FamCamp

 
4.1 (95)
95912 0 12 2 36

User reviews

95 reviews

 
(41)
 
(40)
 
(8)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0  (95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (95)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (95)
Value 
 
4.3  (95)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
95 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
April 7, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Having arrived a week before the season begins we understand the limited water source. What we did NOT expect was to be spectators to military dog training, which at one point found a military dog running around our rig, this had us thankful we were NOT outside with our 2 chihuahuas. The German Shepherd was failing to respond to his handlers call to heel..which was disconcerting to say the least. The 45min "attack" session was less than 100 feet away..so kept us locked inside til this session ended. At the SAME time...there were literally hundreds of rounds of small arm fire sounding at the general area of the group area of the famcamp....not 150 feet away as well. No posted warning in advance, just a morning "wake up". I understand the need for training, etc...but PLEASE post warnings to expect this activity. We ended up calling the SP's when the gunfire started, as we believed this was hunter activity. Needless to say this has terrified our own dogs, and put us on edge. The SP's tell us this gunfire was to scare away the birds. Fine, just post a warning to all here in the famcamp to be aware of this possibility!! The area is very nice overall. The roads are NOT paved in the park, and it's raining now..the road is coated with a cement like paste that sticks to your shoes and tires, and automobile just like cement. I would not return to this park. There are too many other options with less disruptions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23 Aug.-16 Sept 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had reason to stay for 3 wks and found the experience quite nice. The only negative aspects of the FAMCAMP are: location of laundry facilities from sites, and the condition of the restrooms near the sites. Full of spider webs and etc. Definitely could use a complete overhaul. Camp host and office personnel were extremely courteous and helpful. Since we have family in Omaha we will be planning on returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 19 - Sept 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The camp hosts here are incredible. Wish all the Military Campgrounds had people this nice. The setting is beautiful on the lake. The occasional train passing isn't too bad and the sound of the planes taking off is always enjoyable. The cicadas are something else!
People on the base are wonderful which makes up for the drive to use the services on base. The people who take care of general delivery mail are incredibly friendly and eager to help you out. (Unfortunately the camp host didn't know about them but I intend to give him that information. He told us we needed to go into Bellevue to get general delivery.) There are 2 washers and dryers available at the FamCamp. While the front loader washers work well, the dryers don't dry very well or maybe it was because of the high humidity! Would recommend this area to anyone. It is a peaceful place to spend a few days to relax and enjoy life. Met some wonderfully friendly people here too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First of all MONTANA RV must have been talking about another Offutt Famcamp (must have been on the Iowa side cause its only 6.3 miles NOT 15 from I-29 nuff said... Had a great stay everything was top notch, quiet, clean and very accommodating. Only "aww shucks" was the base police need to enforce the speed limit of 15 mph. I think there might be a few dyslexic folks that think the signs read 51 mph.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12-18 July 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a well managed RV Park. The most convenient way into the park is to take the directions off of I-29, and it is not what I would call an overnight stop, as it is a ways off of the major travel routes. However, staying here for a few days, seeing all the sites in Omaha and visiting the facilities on base (like a wonderful commissary) is a great treat. The park is clean, well maintained, and the staff, including the camp host are some of the friendliest and most attentive we've experienced in military parks. If you come this way, call first to make sure they have room, and then plan to stay a few days, you will not regret it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: The Famcamp is much improved since our last visit a few years ago. The entire park is clean and well maintained. The camp host is friendly and helpful. We had been avoiding this Famcamp although we pass through Omaha a couple of times a year. We will make it a point to stay here in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 17, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the best maintained campgrounds I've stayed in - public, private or military. We had a lovely concrete patio with vinyl covered 4 sided picnic table, lots of space between sites & trees galore - all trimmed for RV traffic. The only suggestion I have is the sign indicating the Famcamp entry needs to be followed by an arrow indicating the direction around the lake to the office (unless the road around the lake truly circles the lake but it didn't appear to.) FYI - you take a right turn around the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I'm glad I didn't pay attention to MountainRV's comments - he must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. I agree with the other two recent reviews about this park.....it is a bit of a drive from I-80, and there could be a bridge toll, but otherwise who can complain about a Famcamp on a lake? We didn't use any of the facilities but the office was okay. It needs a bigger sign so one can see where to check in when entering the park. I like having the concrete pad under the picnic table, but the gravel back-in site was fine since one steps out on to grass. I appreciated all the green grass. The camp host waved several times. This is a nice park and considering we have been paying $40 per night as we traveled from the east, $16 is a great bargain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 7, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
April 7, 2009. Heading South on I-29 we called in just north of Omaha. Person on phone confirmed that camp was open. Water was being worked on but water hoses were available to get water. We found we had to drive about 15 miles from I-29 and pay for a toll bridge to cross into Bellevue. The park had nothing but electricity. No water to be found, no hydrants to get water from. Showers and bathrooms not functioning. Grounds in very poor state of repair. Buildings falling down and paint blistering on them. Not something that just happened during winter season, this park has gone down-hill for a long time. Docks and fishing areas are impossible and sinking into the lake. No host and no one available on site. What a sad reminder of times passed when this was the showplace of the Strategic Air Command. We were disgusted. Just an overnight stay on on our way in early morning. Yes, we had to pay for toll bridge again to travel the 15 miles to rejoin I-29. PS: I was stationed here for several years and that old rickety toll bridge has been charging a toll since 1963. Seems they'd have it paid for by now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
11 May - 27 May 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
In general agree with the comments left by Bogie 1234. Baselake is a quite, secure Famcamp that is enjoyed by active duty and retired a like. Bud, the Famcamp host is continuing to do a great job for the Offutt MWR Famcamp. According to Bud the Famcamp will continue to install concrete pads in both the back in sites and the pull through sites throughout the summer. Wifi is excellent through out the camp ground.
Some posters have a concern on the distance from the camp to base. From the camp to the base front gate, off of Mission is 3 1/2 miles, with another 1 1/2 miles to the BX Commissary complex.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28 April - 11 May 09
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second time staying at Base Lake Campground. They have made some improvements and more are scheduled. They are replacing the 30 amp site that have gravel, and pouring cement. Before next year the gravel pull throughs and back-ins are to be upgraded with pavement. They painted the bathrooms, installed new doors, and replace all the smaller trash cans in the RV park. The lake is open for fishing, and the wifi still works great. Bud the camp host is back, and working just as hard as last year. He really makes this campground better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
15-17 August 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We came up for AF week and to see the air show. The CG is situated next to a lake which was very nice. It was very close to the flight line so we ended up watching most of the show from the top of our rig. Camp host was fantastic. On our first site the 50 amp plug pushed back into the terminal. The host was quick to find us another site and apologized profusely. The grounds were nice and well manicured. The only drawback (if there is one) is that it was far away from the actual base. So shopping at the commissary, etc. would be difficult. My recommendation is to stock up and go stay a while. Very quiet, relaxing CG. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
22 - 27 Aug 08
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A quiet comfortable campground with most needs within 10 Miles or so (South Omaha Area). Facilities set up for Recreation and Picnics. Exchange and Commissary available on Base but East Gate closed permanently so access through North and West Gates. Hosts pleasant and helpful. Nice facility for Spring, Summer and Fall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
11 - 25 Sep 08
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is your typical rec area campground. Not bad, not great, but worth the stay if you are close to the area. The base is really about 3 miles if you go the Mission Ave route. If you use 29th street it is around 2 miles. Then again, what is a mile?? Lets get real, right? They have great wifi, and it works no matter what site you are in. The camp host does a great job. The bathrooms need some major work, old, and not really up to standard. We liked it, could be better, but it is a rec area campground. Keep that in mind.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8 - 9 September 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.C. left this review using the Directory software: We used this campground as a stopping point on the way to Utah. We were in site 24, which was a pullthru. It was level and plenty long enough for our 40 foot class A towing a minivan. The staff and camp host were very hospitable and friendly. It is rather far to the base although the BX and Commissary were both very nice. The sign to the campground from Hancock can be easily missed as it sits back from the road a little and is not lit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
24 & 29 June, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
PROS: Host was very nice and accommodating. Location is beautiful and away from the sub/urban life, good quiet camping. Showers were available and clean. CONS: Gravel road needs leveled to keep the deep water puddles down, too many mosquitos even during the daytime. There are your usual homesteaders here. B/X & Shoppette are quite a trip from the camp. I would visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 25 - July 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived one week before July 4th for a two week stay and got one of several vacant sites, but were advised we would have to move to dry camp ("just pick any place outside the Famcamp area") for the 3rd & 4th as they had reservations for that time period. The base July 4th celebration is at the base lake where the Famcamp is located. They put us #2 on the waiting list. Three days later they knocked on our door and told us they had cancellations and we could stay in our site, and I noted on the 4th there were two vacant sites. The lake water level was very high and Famcamp very wet during the first week, but other than the messy road inside the Famcamp, it wasn't bad. We had our mail delivered via General Delivery at the PSC in Whiteman Hall next to the Dining Facility, per instruction of the base post office. We enjoyed our stay and definitely will return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 23 - May 30, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Granted, I am visiting during Tornado season. However, this type of weather occurs the same timeframe each year. When it rains, and it rains often, the gravel turns into grey mud with alot of small lakes. Since I arrived there is approximately 30 feet of space behind my 40' motorhome that is unusable due to the lake behind my coach. You are not permitted to launch your own boats, kayaks, etc. into the lake. You need to rent MWR boats. The only nice thing I can say, is that the Camp Host Bud is wonderful!!! One of the nicest Camp Host I have ever had the pleasure to meet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 19-20 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.I. left this review using the Directory software: The campground Host - "Bud" is a retired Coast Guardsman. He is an excellent host, and was very helpful during our stay. I had a panel on the side of the coach by the wheel well come lose. Bud was able to supply the name, address and phone number of a "jack of all trades" for motor homes. The repairs were accomplished at no cost! The campground is in an excellent location - but - too far from the base ammenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 31 - September 5, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good campground with gravel pads. Our site could have been a little longer but it served its purpose. The picnic area is on both sides of the campground and on the weekend a lot of traffic went by on the road behind our campsite. The road was about 6 feet from rear of our 5th Wheel. There was no WiFi but dial up was available at the store/snack bar. The gate to the base that is nearest to the campground was closed. You have to drive around through Bellevue to get to the base. A new commissary was under construction. On site RV washing was authorized. The host was great and located directly across the street from me. To me it was definitely a very nice campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
95 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5