Offutt Base Lake FamCamp

Offutt AFB Base Lake FamCamp

 
4.1 (95)
96150 0 12 2 36

User reviews

95 reviews

 
(41)
 
(40)
 
(8)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0  (95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (95)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (95)
Value 
 
4.3  (95)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
95 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Oct1-8,2012
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Ok, to start with, off the main street in old Bellevue there is NO Harlan Lewis access you MUST turn south onto Hancock through residential area 25mph with big rigs flying opposite direction all day long, tight fit when both are passing, down the hill around the corner and 35mph then 55mph but do not do it because as the speed limit sign arrives the left hand turn into the FAMCAMP is only a couple thousand feet down on the left, small sign and barely reflective unless you have your highbeams on or arrive during the day, careful going over the railroad tracks my Kardolly drug just abit, then a right and follow around, 15mph. Check-in was a breeze, WI-FI was great, showers are located at the boat house and electric combo locked to keep park users out, nice showers with awesome water pressure, private toilet and sink, heater in the bathroom also. The toilets in the middle of the park, well very open to nature and birds and bugs, no warmth for the bottom but covered and private, the spots are concrete and have water sewer and 30/50amp. Fishing at the lake requires base permit(boat house $6) and NE license $29 for three day, BX/Wal-Mart. Large/small mouth bass, walleye, perch always jumping around but had a hard time convincing them they need my bait. The toll bridge coming off the I-29 or going to is $1 per axle, very narrow I repeat VERY narrow, had one 18wheeler come across while I was and my Kardolly tapped the barrier, thank god the dump truck was nice and waited at the other end for me to get off the damn bridge. If you do not want this bridge then N I29-W I-80-S HWY 75- E HWY 370 to Hancock rd just after Franklin rd.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 22-23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
T.D. left this review using the Directory software: - It's a lovely facility with lots of things to do right at the FamCamp. Even though it's not on base, it is very convenient. The Commissary and BX are huge and very comprehensive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 25-27 2012
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The directions were spot on, but I would add that when you turn left at the FAMCAMP sign and go over the RR tracks, turn right to get to the park. The lady in the office was very helpful and efficient. We didn't use the showers or restrooms so I can't comment on them. One washer was out of order while we were there, but I was able to do laundry without waiting for someone to finish. We enjoyed staying here, but I wish it was closer to the base. It was a bit isolated. The big drawback we saw was with something they mixed with the gravel. We had some heavy rain and a clay-like substance got all over our truck when we went thru some large puddles at the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
18-21 Aug 2012
(Updated: August 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I wish I had seen the new directions to the park before our arrival! Very nice campground with some large pull-thru's. We were assigned space 32, one of the pull-thru's. The hookups are at the back of the sites so you might need extra sewer and water hoses. A lot of train noise! Bathrooms are very dated and need to be cleaned more often. Laundry has two washers and dryers but only one each working. Apparently they others have been inop for some time. Staff was pleasant but not very accommodating. We asked to be moved to another space and told that all their spaces were booked. We saw two spaces that were empty the whole time we were there and no indication of a reservation on one of them. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 8-13, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: - this is one nice rv camp we have been to alot of famcamps and this one is a very good place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 29, 2012
(Updated: June 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wish I could stay longer, not really a good place to overnight. Off the beaten path. Got lost trying to follow the directions. I submitted new directions they could be used along with the directions already listed but mine are easier to understand. Here they are: The easiest directions from any direction: Go to exit # 42 on I-29 (exit for Hwy 370/Mission Avenue) head East. You will go over a toll bridge and pay $4.00 for RV and toad. Turn left on Hancock Street, yes it is a residential area complete with trees and old homes. Hancock turns into Harlan Lewis Road, you will come to a sign for the campground on the left.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
April 24 - Apr 29, 2012
(Updated: May 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The camp opened again on April 1, 2012, after being closed since last June due to flooding. Location is great; however, I rated it down due to road closures beyond the control of the base. There is a bit of cleanup still going on after the flooding, but it's only a matter of time before that will be done. The posts at the entry to each site have been removed, making it much easier to back in. WiFi was down for two days at the beginning of my stay, but again this was beyond the control of the host site. When it came back up, it worked great. Overall, one of the best FamCamps I've ever had the pleasure to visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 9, 2011
(Updated: June 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
They are closed as of 9 June. I got their the middle of Apr. and they were worried about flooding ever since the last of May, they had a meeting the 30th of May and said they were playing it by the day, but thought we would be good for at least 2 or 3 days. The 6th of June the camp host came around and told everyone that we had to leave by the 9th. For how long she didn't know. From the sounds of the flooding around here, it'll probably be next year now before they open again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2011
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
An important update if you are coming to Offutt in Jun 2011 (maybe July). Be certain to call and ask for the current status before coming to Offutt. The Missouri river is flooding north of Omaha. The Corps of Engineers are considering releasing additional water from up-stream dams. There is a chance that the Offutt RV camp will be flooded (on purpose) as well as the surrounding area. Just call first to make sure everything is ok and to avoid possible disappoint.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25 May to 8 Jun, 2011
(Updated: May 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Not quite a 5 in every cat, but pretty close. Overall was a very strong 4. Real easy to get to. The directions are correct, but I'm uploading my DeLorme map just in case. The camp ground is away from the normal hussle and bussle of the base and located on a lake. The boat house has hot dogs, polish dogs, and nachos at reasonable rates. Also, ice cream. 370 has a few bumps, but generally not a problem... Nothing like what you might find in CA. Generally good. The heads need a little upgrading and I'm not aware of any shelters for tornadoes. I guess more anything they could use wouldn't cost much is gravel. Several loads of gravel would go a long way. Overall, the place is very nice and easy to get to. Roads leading into the camp were no problem at all. No matter what you do, get to Hancock and 370 and then turn south on Hancock -- good road, no overhangs, etc, etc. Closest gate to the fam camp is the bellvue gate. Just go south on Hancock (lake road), the left on 24th and you run right into the bellevue gate. Follow it around (natural curves) and you run right into the post office, commissary, and bx.
Camp host is Sam and she's a real hardworking trooper. Nice lady....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
21 - 23 May 2011
(Updated: May 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was the third time I have stayed at Offutt. The road from I-29, NE 307, is really rough and will rattle everything in your rig if try to drive the posted 55 mph speed limit. The Nebraska cost of $2 to cross the bridge is a rip off but it is only $2. The campground was a mud pit. Not a real good experience this time around.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15-18 July 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second opportunity to utilize this facility and again, it was a positive experience. We found the concrete pad, full-hookup sites to be excellent for our 40-ft. motor home. The camp host was professional and most courteous. The facility is well-maintained, but the laundry room was usually in need of attention. It did rain while we were there, but the roadways had been recently covered with gravel and the drain-off was satisfactory. It is somewhat difficult to find and negotiate all the narrow turns to arrive at this destination, but it was well-worth the effort.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8 Sept - 10 Sept 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Most of the other reviews are right on. In a Nutshell: Difficult parking, Hard to find, Poor Access (rough, rough, roads). The wifi was good, the area was clean, it was VERY hard to find, and there were dammed rough roads getting there. They will shake your eye teeth out. The staff was friendly. Mowing the grass at 7:30 in the morning was a bit early. The 30 amp sites (1-10) are DAMMED short and there is NO parking on the grass. Where do you park? We're 27 ft and essentially hung out in the road when the truck was parked in front, so the sites have only about 40 ft to work with, including the parking of your prime mover. Quiet, peaceful, and the water pressure was about 50 lbs, a bit high.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug. 27 - 30, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Site was level, showers were clean and secure. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms needed some additional cleaning. Staff was very professional, helpful and courteous. Overall a very good first time stay. I will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jul 30 - Aug 06, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This FamCamp is outside the base security gate so anyone can come into the area. Upon arrival, we were given a written warning about bicycles being stolen. I have not seen base security since I arrived 5 days ago. In addition to the FamCamp, the area is also a picnic and recreation area and can get pretty crowded and noisy even during the week. Right now, on a Tuesday afternoon, a group of about 40 are hosting a function that includes a very loud band. On the positive side, the sites are concrete pads and are level. About half are long pull-thru sites with plenty of room for tow vehicles. Full hookups with 50 amp electricity. The breaker on my site was bad and the camphost, Bud, promptly found someone to replace it. Shade trees at many sites. Laundry with 2 washers and 2 dryers. Bathhouse is two individual, lockable rooms that contain a shower, sink, and toilet - very private. Since the FamCamp is off-base and is on the opposite side of the base from the gates, the commissary and BX are 6 miles away. Although your mail can be forwarded to the base Postal Service Center, I would recommend using General Delivery at the Bellevue post office off base. The roads are not paved and I would suspect it would be quite muddy when it rains. Excellent free WiFi - it stayed connected and was faster than my air card. Good strong Verizon air card signal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
July 6-8, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We totally enjoyed our stay here and would like to have stayed longer, but they were booked up. Yes, the roads are not paved, but everything else was great. You can't beat the price. We did not have the opportunity to check out the bathrooms or the laundry. The WIFI worked great. Much better than some of the commercial campgrounds we've stayed in at twice the price. If in the area again, we will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
20-21 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Am presently here, in site #1. Sort of a shabby side of the CG, new pad, but short and no place to park vehicle nearby. Has been raining and the roads are REALLY messy, a white, pasty mix that really messes up your vehicle, inside and out. Some real gravel, or concrete/paving, would really be a plus. Host was very helpful in directions, called him before arriving. When arriving via I-80 use Exit 439 onto Bellevue to the base, as directed by the Garmin. The directions provided in "the book" direct you to exit at 452, which requires about 20-30 miles added travel, if arriving from the West, and also requires navigating through some back streets. I found the book directions vague and confusing, but followed them thinking Garmin would mislead me. In this instance it was correct. Someone might wish to review the directions to this location. On the plus side, once set up, there is a neat patio table and chair arrangement on a concrete pad in front of each site in the lawn. The lake is really neat with fishing and canoes available. When the roads dry I am certain I will like this place a lot better, right now I need to find a wash rack for the RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
12/13 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice park. Concrete pads make the place a little more upscale. Base Security patrols routinely. We asked for an extension to the 11 AM checkout. They didn't seem real happy about it so I didn't push the issue and we departed at 11. Overall, a good experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10 May 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I'm here right now, very pretty place. The weather was real bad when I got here, water was standing everywhere, doubt if they could do anything about standing water though, it rained 3 in. This morning, 11th, it all soaked away. They have some brand new concrete pads, still building them. Camp host is a great guy. There is a place in the office where you can order sandwich's and such. I agree that the laundry is a ways away from everything. Harlan Lewis Rd, is a ruff sucker, only did about 20 mph on it. Overall it seems like a real nice place, course I'm originally from Nebraska. Oh ya, I have a 40 FT fifth wheel, and a semi to pull it, 62 ft all together, and I got in here fine, staying on the west side by the lake in the new sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 April 2010- current
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
First off, I have called a few times this past winter to find out about staying here for awhile while we were going to be PCS'ing out. I talked with a gentleman over at Equipment Rental and he said that there are monthly rates for those PCS'ing in or out of Offutt. So when I called to make a reservation for this month the lady said "Oh no, we have no need to have monthly rates." As if this park is the greatest thing next to sliced bread. So even tho we are PCS'ing out. On www.offutt55fss.com on the FamCamp page (http://www.offutt55fss.com/recreation/outdoorrec-famcamp-location.html) it says there are monthly and weekly rates available. What in the world, how come some people can't get their info correct. Another thing, if you stay here do not get the back in's on the East side. They are ridiculous to try and back a larger 5thwheel into. The post's get in the way, not enough room to pull up and straighten, totally ridiculous. I would say a mid 20 footer is the max for these spots. Ask for a pull thru if larger than that. Oh and the people who are pouring the concrete pads are doing a horrible job, need to angle them better with the drive and make them bigger..and maybe make them a bit more level... But besides that it's a nice quiet location (except for the occasional train, which isn't too bad and airplanes of course, but that's expected being next to an AFB). Real close to base too. Takes like 10 minutes max.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
95 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5