Offutt Base Lake FamCamp

Offutt AFB Base Lake FamCamp

 
4.1 (95)
101058 0 12 2 41

User reviews

41 reviews with 5 stars
95 reviews
 
43%
 
42%
 
8%
 
4%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.0(95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(95)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(95)
Value
 
4.3(95)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
July 29,2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great fam camp, really taken care of and staff were really friendly. stayed three nights really enjoyed entire stay. we will definitely utilize this camp again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 11-12, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Agree with all positive comments but want to remind visitors that Water pressure is 80+ pounds. A pressure regulator might be a good idea. Heard and read some comments about the Bellevue toll bridge but was pleased to see it handled our diesel pusher quite well and is worth the toll.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1-4 July 2014
(Updated: July 04, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the lake campground in our pull through full hook up site. We were here for the third of July (fourth of July fireworks and celebration) and really enjoyed the stay. We did not experience the visits to the Bath House and Laundry room since we have that capability on board our RV. I did enjoy the run around the lake. The commissary is getting ready to cut back their opening days due to the budget cuts. Beginning 8 July, they are going to be closed Monday and Tuesday. Not sure when or if that will change.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20-22 June 2013
(Updated: June 23, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground, secluded on a nice large lake with a fairly well supplied shop which sells fishing permits and do canoe and kayak rentals. Spots are pretty nice with level concrete pads, a few are a little tough to back into but not too bad at all, the back in spots near the lake provide the best views. Previous reviewer is correct, two sewer hoses are a must for most spots. Bath house and laundry are a little far away and the laundry facility leaves some to be desired. Lake is great for fishing with a small dock and multiple spots along the lake with good access. You can run all the way around the lake and it is almost exactly two miles around. A nice campground and can't be beat if you have business at Offutt or in Omaha, just watch the toll bridge coming off the interstate, it is a tight squeeze with two way traffic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 12-14, 2013
(Updated: June 14, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Reservations & host were outstanding as well as very organized. Called in the afternoon for availability and was told they had full hookups, 50 amp sites available. Arrived around 1830 and the camp host meet us & escorted us to the site. In fact, she immediately directed us to a different site, because she saw our rooftop, directv dish. FYI.....Very level, cement pads, but make sure you have a long sewer hose!! 50 amp sites are $20.00, and 30 amp sites are $18.00. A lot of sites were empty, in both 50 & 30 amp area. Limited facilities & stock at the camp store. One would really need to go over to the AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 9, 2013
(Updated: June 09, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Base Camp is the name of the Offutt AFB Famcamp. It is located off base and technically it is in Bellevue, Nebraska but this is a “burb” of greater Omaha. It offers wide FHU sites, dog walking areas, fishing (license required ), nearby golf ( Willow Lakes GC = 18 holes off base / Warrior 9 on base is gone ), a limited menu snack bar (8AM-6PM), bike/small boat rentals, laundry ( 2 washers (one broke ) and 2 dryers ), a fair to good Wi-FI and a friendly on site host couple plus a helpful office staff. Our site was a level cement pad with nice picnic table. They do have lots of charcoal grills throughout the campground as this is a base recreation area. The only downside is getting here. If you program your GPS to find the junction of E. Mission ( Hwy 370 ) Ave and Harlan Lewis Rd ( Harlan Lewis may also be called Hancock Road ) you’re close. Just follow Hancock or Harlan Lewis Rd through a 25MPH residential area to Lake Dr. (on your left ), cross the RR tracks and you’ve arrived. Our site was at the 41.11441N and 95.87910W and this may be helpful if your GPS responds to Long/Lat inputs. In any case, don’t go on the main base with your rig as every security guard we talked with had no idea where Base Camp was located. This is a nice facility and we would definitely use it again if in the area. They do have some pull through sites but more back in sites but it is military/DOD only.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 23 to 25, 2013
(Updated: June 01, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a well run facility. We really enjoyed our stay. Like the previous poster said don't use your GPS just use the directions here. The directions that person who answer the phone were NOT good either. DO NOT COME in on 75 north through Plattsmouth! Skinniest bridge I have ever seen! The camp host was great! Tammy
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April/May 2013
(Updated: May 23, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoy ourselves at this camp ground. It's quiet (well run by the host). Peaceful and very pretty setting. Highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct1-8,2012
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ok, to start with, off the main street in old Bellevue there is NO Harlan Lewis access you MUST turn south onto Hancock through residential area 25mph with big rigs flying opposite direction all day long, tight fit when both are passing, down the hill around the corner and 35mph then 55mph but do not do it because as the speed limit sign arrives the left hand turn into the FAMCAMP is only a couple thousand feet down on the left, small sign and barely reflective unless you have your highbeams on or arrive during the day, careful going over the railroad tracks my Kardolly drug just abit, then a right and follow around, 15mph. Check-in was a breeze, WI-FI was great, showers are located at the boat house and electric combo locked to keep park users out, nice showers with awesome water pressure, private toilet and sink, heater in the bathroom also. The toilets in the middle of the park, well very open to nature and birds and bugs, no warmth for the bottom but covered and private, the spots are concrete and have water sewer and 30/50amp. Fishing at the lake requires base permit(boat house $6) and NE license $29 for three day, BX/Wal-Mart. Large/small mouth bass, walleye, perch always jumping around but had a hard time convincing them they need my bait. The toll bridge coming off the I-29 or going to is $1 per axle, very narrow I repeat VERY narrow, had one 18wheeler come across while I was and my Kardolly tapped the barrier, thank god the dump truck was nice and waited at the other end for me to get off the damn bridge. If you do not want this bridge then N I29-W I-80-S HWY 75- E HWY 370 to Hancock rd just after Franklin rd.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 22-23, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.D. left this review using the Directory software: - It's a lovely facility with lots of things to do right at the FamCamp. Even though it's not on base, it is very convenient. The Commissary and BX are huge and very comprehensive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 29, 2012
(Updated: June 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wish I could stay longer, not really a good place to overnight. Off the beaten path. Got lost trying to follow the directions. I submitted new directions they could be used along with the directions already listed but mine are easier to understand. Here they are: The easiest directions from any direction: Go to exit # 42 on I-29 (exit for Hwy 370/Mission Avenue) head East. You will go over a toll bridge and pay $4.00 for RV and toad. Turn left on Hancock Street, yes it is a residential area complete with trees and old homes. Hancock turns into Harlan Lewis Road, you will come to a sign for the campground on the left.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
25 May to 8 Jun, 2011
(Updated: May 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Not quite a 5 in every cat, but pretty close. Overall was a very strong 4. Real easy to get to. The directions are correct, but I'm uploading my DeLorme map just in case. The camp ground is away from the normal hussle and bussle of the base and located on a lake. The boat house has hot dogs, polish dogs, and nachos at reasonable rates. Also, ice cream. 370 has a few bumps, but generally not a problem... Nothing like what you might find in CA. Generally good. The heads need a little upgrading and I'm not aware of any shelters for tornadoes. I guess more anything they could use wouldn't cost much is gravel. Several loads of gravel would go a long way. Overall, the place is very nice and easy to get to. Roads leading into the camp were no problem at all. No matter what you do, get to Hancock and 370 and then turn south on Hancock -- good road, no overhangs, etc, etc. Closest gate to the fam camp is the bellvue gate. Just go south on Hancock (lake road), the left on 24th and you run right into the bellevue gate. Follow it around (natural curves) and you run right into the post office, commissary, and bx.
Camp host is Sam and she's a real hardworking trooper. Nice lady....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First of all MONTANA RV must have been talking about another Offutt Famcamp (must have been on the Iowa side cause its only 6.3 miles NOT 15 from I-29 nuff said... Had a great stay everything was top notch, quiet, clean and very accommodating. Only "aww shucks" was the base police need to enforce the speed limit of 15 mph. I think there might be a few dyslexic folks that think the signs read 51 mph.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 17, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the best maintained campgrounds I've stayed in - public, private or military. We had a lovely concrete patio with vinyl covered 4 sided picnic table, lots of space between sites & trees galore - all trimmed for RV traffic. The only suggestion I have is the sign indicating the Famcamp entry needs to be followed by an arrow indicating the direction around the lake to the office (unless the road around the lake truly circles the lake but it didn't appear to.) FYI - you take a right turn around the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15-17 August 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We came up for AF week and to see the air show. The CG is situated next to a lake which was very nice. It was very close to the flight line so we ended up watching most of the show from the top of our rig. Camp host was fantastic. On our first site the 50 amp plug pushed back into the terminal. The host was quick to find us another site and apologized profusely. The grounds were nice and well manicured. The only drawback (if there is one) is that it was far away from the actual base. So shopping at the commissary, etc. would be difficult. My recommendation is to stock up and go stay a while. Very quiet, relaxing CG. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sunday 16 Sep 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived early evening with our 5th wheeler and were met and greeted by the onsight manager, Buddy. We were particularly impressed by his pleasing manner and the excellent assistance he provided. Had no problem navigating to this FamCamp using GPS but I definitely recommend a daylight arrival if it is your first visit. No problems with the site. It was a quick and easy set-up. We left early the next morning so did not use any of the amenities but they are all there. The lakeside surroundings are beautiful. We look forward to another and longer visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 12, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
N.C. left this review using the Directory software: This is one of the better Fam Camps we have visited. A bit hard to get to but well worth the effort.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 16,2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a heads up for everyone, Offutt FamCamp just got free wireless and it works great. Jason the manager has a terrific staff and the Camp Host Bud does a great job.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11-13 July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a wonderful campground at a decent price. Decent spacing between rigs, and plenty of room around the rig where you don't feel like you are in your neighbors space. 50 and 30 Amps available at some sites, but no 20 Amp, Good water pressure. We were in a back-in space and sewer was a LONG run if you back-in too far. The showers are located in the Boathouse and is a little far from the Campground, but they were very clean and presentable. This campground is NOT on the base, but you still feel pretty secure. Great fishing and hiking. No WI-FI or internet access, however Cingular cell had almost max bars. Outdoor rec operates the "boathouse" where you check in. Bud the camp host was very helpful and a great guy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 20, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We pulled in after a long day and Curly -the host was super...he even helped with a compressor problem the next day. No diesel on base or recycling at campground however a quiet beautiful view and train isn't that close (been closer!)and spacious sites. We had heard Curly had to ask people with 2 big dogs to leave cuz they weren't leashing or 'picking' up after-we are thankful for his sticking to the rules...we have a big dog and hate to be blamed for deposit problems and especially have to deal with other dogs coming 'thru' site. Thanks for enjoyable short visit-2nd time thru and we would go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
41 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3