Offutt Base Lake FamCamp

Offutt AFB Base Lake FamCamp

 
4.1 (95)
101058 0 12 2 41

User reviews

39 reviews with 4 stars
95 reviews
 
43%
 
42%
 
8%
 
4%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.0(95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(95)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(95)
Value
 
4.3(95)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2
Ordering
August 19 - Sept 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The camp hosts here are incredible. Wish all the Military Campgrounds had people this nice. The setting is beautiful on the lake. The occasional train passing isn't too bad and the sound of the planes taking off is always enjoyable. The cicadas are something else!
People on the base are wonderful which makes up for the drive to use the services on base. The people who take care of general delivery mail are incredibly friendly and eager to help you out. (Unfortunately the camp host didn't know about them but I intend to give him that information. He told us we needed to go into Bellevue to get general delivery.) There are 2 washers and dryers available at the FamCamp. While the front loader washers work well, the dryers don't dry very well or maybe it was because of the high humidity! Would recommend this area to anyone. It is a peaceful place to spend a few days to relax and enjoy life. Met some wonderfully friendly people here too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
12-18 July 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a well managed RV Park. The most convenient way into the park is to take the directions off of I-29, and it is not what I would call an overnight stop, as it is a ways off of the major travel routes. However, staying here for a few days, seeing all the sites in Omaha and visiting the facilities on base (like a wonderful commissary) is a great treat. The park is clean, well maintained, and the staff, including the camp host are some of the friendliest and most attentive we've experienced in military parks. If you come this way, call first to make sure they have room, and then plan to stay a few days, you will not regret it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: The Famcamp is much improved since our last visit a few years ago. The entire park is clean and well maintained. The camp host is friendly and helpful. We had been avoiding this Famcamp although we pass through Omaha a couple of times a year. We will make it a point to stay here in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I'm glad I didn't pay attention to MountainRV's comments - he must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. I agree with the other two recent reviews about this park.....it is a bit of a drive from I-80, and there could be a bridge toll, but otherwise who can complain about a Famcamp on a lake? We didn't use any of the facilities but the office was okay. It needs a bigger sign so one can see where to check in when entering the park. I like having the concrete pad under the picnic table, but the gravel back-in site was fine since one steps out on to grass. I appreciated all the green grass. The camp host waved several times. This is a nice park and considering we have been paying $40 per night as we traveled from the east, $16 is a great bargain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
11 May - 27 May 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
In general agree with the comments left by Bogie 1234. Baselake is a quite, secure Famcamp that is enjoyed by active duty and retired a like. Bud, the Famcamp host is continuing to do a great job for the Offutt MWR Famcamp. According to Bud the Famcamp will continue to install concrete pads in both the back in sites and the pull through sites throughout the summer. Wifi is excellent through out the camp ground.
Some posters have a concern on the distance from the camp to base. From the camp to the base front gate, off of Mission is 3 1/2 miles, with another 1 1/2 miles to the BX Commissary complex.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 April - 11 May 09
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second time staying at Base Lake Campground. They have made some improvements and more are scheduled. They are replacing the 30 amp site that have gravel, and pouring cement. Before next year the gravel pull throughs and back-ins are to be upgraded with pavement. They painted the bathrooms, installed new doors, and replace all the smaller trash cans in the RV park. The lake is open for fishing, and the wifi still works great. Bud the camp host is back, and working just as hard as last year. He really makes this campground better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
22 - 27 Aug 08
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A quiet comfortable campground with most needs within 10 Miles or so (South Omaha Area). Facilities set up for Recreation and Picnics. Exchange and Commissary available on Base but East Gate closed permanently so access through North and West Gates. Hosts pleasant and helpful. Nice facility for Spring, Summer and Fall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11 - 25 Sep 08
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is your typical rec area campground. Not bad, not great, but worth the stay if you are close to the area. The base is really about 3 miles if you go the Mission Ave route. If you use 29th street it is around 2 miles. Then again, what is a mile?? Lets get real, right? They have great wifi, and it works no matter what site you are in. The camp host does a great job. The bathrooms need some major work, old, and not really up to standard. We liked it, could be better, but it is a rec area campground. Keep that in mind.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
8 - 9 September 2008
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.C. left this review using the Directory software: We used this campground as a stopping point on the way to Utah. We were in site 24, which was a pullthru. It was level and plenty long enough for our 40 foot class A towing a minivan. The staff and camp host were very hospitable and friendly. It is rather far to the base although the BX and Commissary were both very nice. The sign to the campground from Hancock can be easily missed as it sits back from the road a little and is not lit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24 & 29 June, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
PROS: Host was very nice and accommodating. Location is beautiful and away from the sub/urban life, good quiet camping. Showers were available and clean. CONS: Gravel road needs leveled to keep the deep water puddles down, too many mosquitos even during the daytime. There are your usual homesteaders here. B/X & Shoppette are quite a trip from the camp. I would visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 25 - July 10, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived one week before July 4th for a two week stay and got one of several vacant sites, but were advised we would have to move to dry camp ("just pick any place outside the Famcamp area") for the 3rd & 4th as they had reservations for that time period. The base July 4th celebration is at the base lake where the Famcamp is located. They put us #2 on the waiting list. Three days later they knocked on our door and told us they had cancellations and we could stay in our site, and I noted on the 4th there were two vacant sites. The lake water level was very high and Famcamp very wet during the first week, but other than the messy road inside the Famcamp, it wasn't bad. We had our mail delivered via General Delivery at the PSC in Whiteman Hall next to the Dining Facility, per instruction of the base post office. We enjoyed our stay and definitely will return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 19-20 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.I. left this review using the Directory software: The campground Host - "Bud" is a retired Coast Guardsman. He is an excellent host, and was very helpful during our stay. I had a panel on the side of the coach by the wheel well come lose. Bud was able to supply the name, address and phone number of a "jack of all trades" for motor homes. The repairs were accomplished at no cost! The campground is in an excellent location - but - too far from the base ammenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 31 - September 5, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good campground with gravel pads. Our site could have been a little longer but it served its purpose. The picnic area is on both sides of the campground and on the weekend a lot of traffic went by on the road behind our campsite. The road was about 6 feet from rear of our 5th Wheel. There was no WiFi but dial up was available at the store/snack bar. The gate to the base that is nearest to the campground was closed. You have to drive around through Bellevue to get to the base. A new commissary was under construction. On site RV washing was authorized. The host was great and located directly across the street from me. To me it was definitely a very nice campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 14, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The rating is going to be a four star, but comparing this campground to other FamCamps and also to commercial C/Gs, it about average. The negatives are that the roads and sites are gravel and they are fairly close together. The bathhouse is a good hike from even the closest site to it. The positives are that all sites are level and there are quite a few pull-thrus. Voltage and water were good. The campground is big rig friendly. The staff and Host were professional and helpful. I did get good Wi-Fi signals, but did not think to find out if they were from the office or a fellow camper who had an unsecured satellite set up that was next to me.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 24, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a wonderful campground at a decent price. Nice pull thru's if you can got one. Decent spacing between rigs, and plenty of room around the rig where you don't feel like you are in your neighbors space. 50 and 30 Amps at our box, but no 20 Amp, Good water pressure and the sewer might be a LONG run if you pull to the front of the space. This campground is NOT on the base, but you still feel pretty secure as to the location. Great fishing and hiking. No WI-FI or internet access, however Verizon phone and "Air Card" had Broadband and four bars. Outdoor rec operates the "boathouse" where you check in. There is plenty to do to keep you busy. Local shopping is within 5 miles. WalMart and oher stores.
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Entrance road is narrow with lots low overhanging branches, badly need trimming. Sites are spacious with patio and picnic tables at each site. Staff is pleasant and very helpful. Especially liked the privelege to use water source to wash vehicles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Staff is VERY friendly and helpful. Campground is in the process of adding wifi. We had to go to the boathouse in order to use wifi as it didn't reach our trailer. Should be fixed in the future. Paddleboats and canoes are available at resonable rates. We would camp here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
---
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at the Offutt FamCamp but we do have some recommendations. We arrived during the celebration of Community Appreciation Day which made our arrival and parking especially challenging. The staff including the camp host, Bob, were especially gracious handled the situation well. Recommend the trees on the Lake Road entrance be trimmed to 15? clearance. The restrooms in the RV parking area need a major cleaning and repair.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2