Offutt Base Lake FamCamp

Offutt AFB Base Lake FamCamp

 
4.1 (95)
96150 0 12 2 36

User reviews

95 reviews

 
(41)
 
(40)
 
(8)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0  (95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (95)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (95)
Value 
 
4.3  (95)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
95 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
August 14 - August 17
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground and staff! Slightly dated facilities, but everything is clean and well kept up. Didn't experience any issues about being near the end of the runway and aircraft noise (seems most of the larger ones here have new engines and are much quieter!). The pads are long enough for our 38' fifth wheel and our full-sized crew cab dually doesn't stick out onto the road. LOML wasn't impressed with the laundry facilities, but there's a laundromat a few miles away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
11-14 July 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cannot say enough good things about the Camp hosts! We called at the last minute due to having an issue with our 5th wheel while passing through Omaha. Sammie was more than accommodating, told us we would have to stay in dry camp but at this point we just wanted to get off the road and see how bad our problem was. Luckily for us she had a cancellation and put us in a full hook up. They were full the whole time we were there (3 nights) but we had a full hook up site every night. Probably didn't hurt that this was one of the hottest weeks so far this summer but we were able to sleep in AC every night thanks to Sammie and Lee. I would highly recommend this camp to any and everyone. We will definitely be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jul 6-9, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great famcamp. Had reservations so had a nice back-in level spot. Check in was easy. Loved the location on the base lake. Could fish, rent canoes/kayaks, great kids playground and it appeared they were installing a new interpretive area for kids. Located on the backside of the flightline (not on base). Heard some RC-135s taking off and got some great pictures of them taking off into the sunset over the base lake. Access to the base is just a few miles away but easy to get to. Lots to do in the Omaha area: great zoo, appeared to have some nice parks in/around Omaha, bike trails nearby, nice golf courses. Did not use the showers/laundry but checked them out. The showers appeared clean and taken care of. There was a stackable washer/dryer that appeared to be free and then a commercial size washer and dryer that cost (minimal). Would definitely plan to return and stay longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 15-17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
There seems to be a pattern here. I arrived without a reservation and asked for a site that was dark and quiet. She put me in Site #1, between the only two street lights in the campground. It was across from one of the picnic areas. Sites 1-10 are Jack & Jill sites. You park butt to butt and share W/E hookups. The sites are about 25' long, there is a tiny parking pad, grass patio w/ table and a bare spot. When I asked about the bare spot, they told me there were concrete patios but they got broken and weeds grew up so they removed them and planted grass. They couldn't have put in a new patio? You may not park on the grass, so if your tow vehicle doesn't fit in the site, you have to put it down in the extra parking. These pitiful sites are the same price as the larger, nicer sites in the other loop. Those sites all have normal hookups and room to park the tow vehicle. If they reserve the pull-throughs for overnight and short stays, I didn't see any empty. The restrooms and laundry are well away from the campsites so we didn't use them. The lake was beautiful and there were plenty of recreational opportunities. The main base is miles from the FAMCAMP.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Easy to get to, great price, solid WiFi. Level concrete slab to park on. Flight Ops going on, but that's to be expected. An occasional train will go by, but not a problem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We called to check availability when we were about an hour out. Received good directions from the person manning the phone. We were assigned a pull through without requesting one, possibly because we were only staying one night. The camp was about 75% full. We spoke to several people about the narrow toll bridge and got as many opinions. Some said definitely stay away, others said it's fine, just go slow. When leaving we took E Mission ave over the toll bridge to I-29. yes it is a little narrow but no worse than many bridges and roads we've traveled. Unless you're a very nervous driver it's fine. The park has a lot to offer for recreation. The deck at the boathouse overlooking the river is a good place to relax in the shade. The hookups were a bit of a reach at the back of the site with the sewer drain in the neighbor's seating area. A nice clean quiet place except for the occasional train.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Aug 30-Sept 3, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
GREAT famcamp! Hosts are outstanding. A little difficult to get to because gate closest to the Base Lake facilities is closed and you have to follow the above directions through Bellevue. Be sure to turn when you see the Offutt Base Lake sign. It is a newer sign that shown on this website and FAMCAMP is difficult to see. When you cross the RR tracks, turn right and follow the road around the lake to RV check-in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 21-30 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Found the personnel outstanding. Its a beautiful RV park right on the lake. Had a hard time finding it with the GPS coordinates confusing ended up in a corn field going towards a farm house ended up following the written directions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 29,2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great fam camp, really taken care of and staff were really friendly. stayed three nights really enjoyed entire stay. we will definitely utilize this camp again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 11-12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Agree with all positive comments but want to remind visitors that Water pressure is 80+ pounds. A pressure regulator might be a good idea. Heard and read some comments about the Bellevue toll bridge but was pleased to see it handled our diesel pusher quite well and is worth the toll.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
29 Jul-1 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our stay was excellent and very restful. The reservations phone doesn't start till 10:30. Can't really add anything to what everyone else has already stated. One update; one of the two washers is still broken and not due for replacement till FY14. Also the commissary is closed on Tuesday, until.............
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1-4 July 2014
(Updated: July 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the lake campground in our pull through full hook up site. We were here for the third of July (fourth of July fireworks and celebration) and really enjoyed the stay. We did not experience the visits to the Bath House and Laundry room since we have that capability on board our RV. I did enjoy the run around the lake. The commissary is getting ready to cut back their opening days due to the budget cuts. Beginning 8 July, they are going to be closed Monday and Tuesday. Not sure when or if that will change.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
20-22 June 2013
(Updated: June 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground, secluded on a nice large lake with a fairly well supplied shop which sells fishing permits and do canoe and kayak rentals. Spots are pretty nice with level concrete pads, a few are a little tough to back into but not too bad at all, the back in spots near the lake provide the best views. Previous reviewer is correct, two sewer hoses are a must for most spots. Bath house and laundry are a little far away and the laundry facility leaves some to be desired. Lake is great for fishing with a small dock and multiple spots along the lake with good access. You can run all the way around the lake and it is almost exactly two miles around. A nice campground and can't be beat if you have business at Offutt or in Omaha, just watch the toll bridge coming off the interstate, it is a tight squeeze with two way traffic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 12-14, 2013
(Updated: June 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Reservations & host were outstanding as well as very organized. Called in the afternoon for availability and was told they had full hookups, 50 amp sites available. Arrived around 1830 and the camp host meet us & escorted us to the site. In fact, she immediately directed us to a different site, because she saw our rooftop, directv dish. FYI.....Very level, cement pads, but make sure you have a long sewer hose!! 50 amp sites are $20.00, and 30 amp sites are $18.00. A lot of sites were empty, in both 50 & 30 amp area. Limited facilities & stock at the camp store. One would really need to go over to the AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 9, 2013
(Updated: June 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Base Camp is the name of the Offutt AFB Famcamp. It is located off base and technically it is in Bellevue, Nebraska but this is a “burb” of greater Omaha. It offers wide FHU sites, dog walking areas, fishing (license required ), nearby golf ( Willow Lakes GC = 18 holes off base / Warrior 9 on base is gone ), a limited menu snack bar (8AM-6PM), bike/small boat rentals, laundry ( 2 washers (one broke ) and 2 dryers ), a fair to good Wi-FI and a friendly on site host couple plus a helpful office staff. Our site was a level cement pad with nice picnic table. They do have lots of charcoal grills throughout the campground as this is a base recreation area. The only downside is getting here. If you program your GPS to find the junction of E. Mission ( Hwy 370 ) Ave and Harlan Lewis Rd ( Harlan Lewis may also be called Hancock Road ) you’re close. Just follow Hancock or Harlan Lewis Rd through a 25MPH residential area to Lake Dr. (on your left ), cross the RR tracks and you’ve arrived. Our site was at the 41.11441N and 95.87910W and this may be helpful if your GPS responds to Long/Lat inputs. In any case, don’t go on the main base with your rig as every security guard we talked with had no idea where Base Camp was located. This is a nice facility and we would definitely use it again if in the area. They do have some pull through sites but more back in sites but it is military/DOD only.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 23 to 25, 2013
(Updated: June 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a well run facility. We really enjoyed our stay. Like the previous poster said don't use your GPS just use the directions here. The directions that person who answer the phone were NOT good either. DO NOT COME in on 75 north through Plattsmouth! Skinniest bridge I have ever seen! The camp host was great! Tammy
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 22-24
(Updated: May 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First off, don't use the GPS coordinates or it will take you a mile down the road to a restaurant parking lot. Look for the Base Bass Lake sign which is not in a good location. Aside from the navigation issue this is a really nice park with nice facilities and a good fishing lake. WiFi is EXCELLENT better then any other campground I've been to. Good water pressure, electrical and sewage. Concrete level sights with mature landscaping and a grounds crew that keeps everything looking great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April/May 2013
(Updated: May 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoy ourselves at this camp ground. It's quiet (well run by the host). Peaceful and very pretty setting. Highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct. 20th 2012
(Updated: October 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
BE AWARE of Electric problems!!! We pulled in and left after a frustrating 1 1/2 hours! Evidently they had a transformer blow on Monday BUT it is not fixed. We plugged into 50amp and put out slides and jacks down and went into set the TV and no power. Nothing in 30amp and no 110 outlets on base to put in our tester.... we checked other lights on the bases and another RV'er who had just pulled in was having problems. We walked around to check what we could and went to try the 30amp in another site...after plugging in we saw the meter peg 140V. I called outdoor rec and the young man said he would make a couple calls and get back to me-never did! We and two other couples immediately packed up and left. I don't know if they will fix as it is "off season" and no host there and the 30amp older side seemed to be fine(unless they were not aware)and maybe outdoor rec thought I was a female who didn't know what I was talking about...SO please check electric!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 27 - Oct 11, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - First FamCamp we have been at, where we could not get a drive through site. We had been at this Camp a week earlier and had not been able to get a drive through, even though we requested one. Did not really understand why, since there were several pull through sites empty the whole week we were there. Anyway, we left Offutt to head to WI, but had to come back, since my mother-in-law had a heart-attack and was at a local hospital. We were driving all night and I called the FamCamp office and explained the situation and requested a pull through, so we could get right to the hospital. I had a tough time backing in a week earlier, because I'm new at RVing and found the angles and pad width made it very difficult to back in. Well, when I arrived I did not get a pull through as requested. It took me at least 20 minutes to back into the spot, Later, I went back to the office and asked the two office workers why I had not gotten the pull through when there were at least 4 open pull through spots. They said they asked the camp host and was told to put us into a back-in spot. When I told them I was not too happy about not getting the pull through, they showed me a camp map with the the spots on and a placement listing showing size of rig and was told that only over nighters or someone staying the weekend get the pull through spots. Later, the camp host confirmed this system and went on to say that it works good for the base people who come over on the weekends, since they do not have that much experience backing. She also said this kept the traffic congestion down, since the people who were only there for a day or two did not have to block traffic by backing in. I watched large rigs having to back in to these small width pads, while pull through sites were empty. We were there for six weeks and I never saw all the pull through pads full. The last week were there it was getting cold and not too many rigs were there, but they were still making large rigs back in, while they had many open pull throughs. Did not make any sense to me. There are several signs saying that you cannot park on the grass, so you had better not or the camp Host will be right there ask that you move. Many of the spots have room for your rig, truck and a car, because the grass has worn down. My sister came to visit and parked in front or our rig and was on the gravel/grass mix area and the camp host showed up and requested that she move her car. So, if you have grass coming up through the gravel, you had better not park on it. The only place for visitors to park are at the office area, which is about two blocks from the northern end of the camp. The camp is clean, grass is cut on a regular basis. Trash containers numerous which, is nice. I've read someone had complained about being next to railroad tracks. Well the trains have about three crossing to go through within a few miles of the camp so you do hear lots of horn blowing, but it's off in the distance and you get used to it. Never really bothered me. The camp was very quiet. Right next to large lake. It it was not for the bad exp. with the pull through situation I would be giving this camp high marks. I did have a chance to speak to the director (cannot remember her name) and we had a very nice chat. She said that in 2014 they are going to turn the east side row all into pull throughs, so that will really help. She said they could be more flexible with the pull throughs on a case by case situation, especially in the off season. They turn the water off on Oct.15, but she said they keep the roads plowed and open all year long. Word of caution, the RR crossing does not have lights or gates, so make sure you stop and look both ways prior to crossing. Seems like the base could pull some strings and get a safer crossing sign there. At least flashing lights. I grew up in a small town that had a similar crossing and we lost two people who were talking and drove right in front of a train at the crossing-even though the train was blowing its horn. I'm afraid it is just a matter of time before someone gets hurt at that crossing--so be careful. Last year the camp was closed because of flooding, but the only damage I could see was the water rose up on the lake and killed a lot of trees. Could not see any other damage in the camp area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
95 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5