Gateway FamCamp

Featured
 
4.3 (63)
71209 1 28 0 34

User reviews

32 reviews with 5 stars
63 reviews
 
59%
 
30%
 
6%
 
5%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.6(63)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(63)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(63)
Value
 
4.2(63)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(63)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
32 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
July 13-27, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Both of the FamCamps are open and doing well. During our stay the Gateway (off base) stayed full and the couple of times we went by the annex they were full as well. There was a regular flow of rigs coming and going daily, so if there is nothing in the evening when you arrive, there will be something the next morning. The facilities were well cared for by the friendly camp host, Bill. The laundry room is small and two of the four driers were out of order. Each site has a very nice, new picnic table. There are ample shopping opportunities nearby for supplies. There is WiFi available but I did not use it. Verizon cell service was FANTASTIC! At the time of our visit there were two sites that were blocked off, needing maintenance done with the water or sewer. There was a large sinkhole blocked off with barricades. We plan on coming back up next summer to visit Glacier Nat Park if we can get reservations for entry into the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 17, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground is still closed with no opening date scheduled yet due to the corolla virus. I will update when I know something. I am in contact with the Outdoor rec Director often.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
6 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived 6 June 2019 and had no issues getting a spot that accommodated our 44' motorhome. The camp host (Bill) was friendly and helpful and the check in process was painless. They don't take reservations, but I never saw the park completely full during our week-long stay. Easy in and out pull through sites that are relatively level (we didn't need to use leveling blocks) concrete pads. There are limited trees for shade and the area tends to be windy so I wouldn’t recommend leaving out an awning. We didn't use the laundry or shower facilities. The park was clean and quiet with plenty of open grassy areas for the dog. We didn't use the wifi, but AT&T and Verizon hotspots worked fine. The park is close to a few things to do: Malmstrom Museum and Air Park; Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center; River's Edge Trail; and C.M. Russell Museum to name a few. Oh...and check out the mermaids at the Sip & Dip Lounge if you get the chance...it's kind of a novelty thing. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
6 June 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The only down side of this FamCamp is that their laundry facility has been completely non-op our entire stay. Otherwise the stay has been very enjoyable. Concrete pads, well kept grounds. Easy access to the base. Full hook ups. Warm durning the day and cool (cold for us Florida people) during the nights.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
April 15, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It's weird that I am reviewing myself as the camp host. WE ARE OPEN. and waiting for you. Prices are the same as last year. $25.00 per night and $130.00 for a week. Despite what is written, we do allow tenters at the Gateway famcamp. $10.00 a night. Planting in our whisky barrel planters will begin soon! Outdoor rec has lost our programmer, Drew to Nellis AFB. Good Luck Drew! New adventures await you! We are starting the season with three less employees. Hopefully, the leaders will get these positions filled soon. It shouldn't affect the operations of the Gateway Famcamp. This is my third year as camp host. IF you have questions, feel free to give me a call at 406-731-3263. I can NOT return calls. Sorry, I only have a class B phone line. If you are headed to Glacier National Park, the visibility is the best it has been in years. Cross your fingers for no fires!
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
17 Jun 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground. Clean facilities and very nice sites. Grass areas neat and well maintained. Camp host friendly & helpful. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 31, 2017 - 2 Oct 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I am Don Kostyal, retired USAF CMSgt, and I was the camp host for the Annex this past summer. The Annex is the Famcamp located ON the base. It has 25 full hook-up sites and 5 water and electric only. The sites are various sizes and the patio may be opposite your camper door. This is because this was once the base mobile home park. Yes there are sewer connections that are at various heights from your camper outlet--again, due to the previous mobile home connections. The sites are all back in. The 5 sites that are electric and water only can only handle a camper less than 20 feet in length. There is a dump site located at the Annex and if you are camping in the Famcamp there is no charge currently. The $2 charge is for folks not staying in the Famcamp. There are no showers at the Annex but the base fitness center is across the street and it is open to campers from 0500 - 2130. There is a public restroom, ladies and a men's, with a toilet and sink in each. The base has a BX, Class VI, Commissary, gas station (no diesel), fitness center, pool (summer) and a great Outdoor Recreation Shop with lots to rent and great personnel. The cost to camp at the Annex is $20 a night or $100 a week and yes there is a 21 day max stay. I believe the off base camp grounds were around $80 a night. Great Falls is 2 hours from Glacier National Park and a stop over for folks going to and coming from Alaska. There is a project to upgrade the Annex to bigger sites and 50 amps, but is has struggled to move up the priority list of things to do. 30 amps is only a problem when the temps go above 85 degrees as there isn't much shade but it I see a dry heat. Since the power lines are from the old mobile home site days, there are times when power goes out. During the winter the winds and severe weather cause problems with the wiring. We had a few sites down with no powere this summer for several days until CE could retire some receptacles and overhead wires--sites were NOT reserved for campers, but those were the only signs we had available to block off the sites. We also had a few days where a few sites were closed off due to a sewer line backing up from some improper items being flushed down the lines. While sites are first come first serve, I did direct some campers to various sites but this was because they had long campers that I knew would most like back into a power pole or to put them on a site with a patio door side. There is one site "0" that I would try and keep for a big rig tag axle (42' or bigger) as it was the only site at the Annex that could handle that size rig. Usually those folks want to go to the main Famcamp off base as it has pull through sites, but when the main camp was full I would hold spot "0" for a big rig. Worse case scenario, Walmart was only 1/2 mile from the base and they allow overnight parking. There is no laundry on base and Annex campers cannot use the main Famcamp laundry (there is only 2 machines) but there are several laundries around Great Falls. I really enjoyed my time as host this past summer and enjoyed meeting the many folks who came to stay. It was a quiet campground and with only one exception, all the campers were great guests. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
June 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to stay The whole facility was clean and neat,especially the restrooms and laundry.We would stop there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 31 through June 3, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice well kept no hassel Famcamp outside the gate. Camp host is friendly and helpful. Laundry room and bathrooms are clean and washer dryer price are lower than normal.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2017
(Updated: July 04, 2017)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Let me introduce myself. My name is Bill Whitehurst and I am the camp host for the 2017 season. This is my first time hosting, so please be gentle with me. I am here to make your Campground experience at Gateway Family Campground the best ever. The direct phone number to me to check out to see if there is any space for you is 406-731-5140. If no answer, please call back. It just means that I'm away from the phone helping out other guests. I cannot hold a site for you, but I can let you know how many sites are still available. The dump station in at the Annex campground on base. The fee is only $2.00.  We are now allowing limited tent camping at Gateway, Only $10.00 a night, includes showers, rest rooms and use of laundry facilities,
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
3-7 July 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Came in on way to GNP. First visit to MAFB since stationed here in 1965. How Great Falls has changed. Had rv trouble so did not dare try to make it to Canada and instead took toad to GNP. Loved the location outside the gate and how quiet it was there and the cleanliness. Plan on returning within a few years.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 7, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great stop here. Great camp hosts. The ladies restroom had that special touch with lotion, plant, boxed tissues etc... the location is great. Don't forget to visit the Lewis and Clark center. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 June -6 July 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice campground. Sites have nice grass and enough room between each one. Wifi was weak, even though we were close to antenna. Laundry is very reasonable. $1 to wash and $1 to dry. Camp hosts very nice, very helpful. Only complaint: There should be a contact number available, since reservations are not taken. Having to drive almost 8 miles from I-15 and being told "no space available" would be very frustrating. This did not happen to us, even though tried calling outdoor rec and reaching a recording during working hours, but saw numerous RVs having to turn around and leave.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
June 5, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Camped in 43' MH. Stopped here just for the night on our way to the Canadian border. Great facilities, wide, level concrete pads, great wifi and best of all wonderful people staying at the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 12, 2012
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A nice, clean, park in a great location. Bruce, the host was very hospitable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 28 - July 3, 2012
(Updated: July 03, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice campground with a helpful camp host. We called the day before arrival and asked about availability. We were reminded they didn't take reservations, but there shouldn't be a problem and to come on. The park is well laid out, clean and maintained. The new exchange at Malstrom AFB is opening soon. As posted before, getting onto base can be a hassle. Waved right on thru the first time, but the next day was told "not in the system". A short stop at the visitor center got us into the system. The airmen working in the visitor center were very polite and professional. We were here a week and will stay again when in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 5 - 8, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a wonderful RV Park - Hands Down. This is one of the nicest RV Parks I've ever stayed. It is well laid out, has plenty of space between sites and for walking the dogs. The restrooms are as nice and clean as the one in your own home. There is grass between the concrete sites and throughout the campground. Within a half mile off 87/89/3 and a short drive to the city or base. WiFi worked great throughout our stay. I would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 3, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.M. left this review using the Directory software: Found this to be an excellent FamCamp. Maria the camp hose was exceptionally helpful. The laundry and restrooms were clean and BX and Commissary well stocked. Over flow area available and several had to wait only a day or two before finding a spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 20-24, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at the Annex, outside the Base. All 50 amp service. Paved sites, grassy areas in between the spaces. Well-maintained. Camp host on site. Laundry/showers kept clean. Camp host said she didn't care if we washed down the motor home. The on-base FamCamp is older, 30 amp service, smaller spaces.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2-4 August 2011
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in Gateway for 2 nights. When we arrived there were six pull thru sites available, we chose two and were greeted by the camp host shortly after. He was very courteous and helpful. We were settled in quickly and pleased with the area. The sites are concrete pads with 30/50 amp service, water and sewer, only missing cable, camp WIFI was great the entire time we were here. Was able to also get 4G with my sprint service so watched some Netflix while here. The CG is right outside gate 4 for the AFB so did not have to enter base for CG, the CG was nice and quiet while we were here. We did go on the base to check out the BX and commissary. We were confronted by something new to us when going on base. It seems that they do not use DOD stickers, instead they use ID cards for entry, we were directed to go to visitor center and register ID cards prior to being allowed on base. It was no problem getting the IDs registered and then going through the hate but it would have been simpler to do this prior to trying to go through the first time. The commissary was well stocked and convenient to get to, the BX was small but they are working on building another to be completed by June 2012. The CG is well taken care of, while we were there, although not in need of it, the grass was trimmed, looks really good. The bathrooms, small but up to date and very clean as is the laundry. Realy liked this CG and would recommend to anyone, will definitely stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
32 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2