Gateway FamCamp

Featured
 
4.3 (62)
71209 1 28 0 30

User reviews

62 reviews
 
58%
 
31%
 
6%
 
5%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.6(62)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(62)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(62)
Value
 
4.2(62)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(62)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
62 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
June 29-July 6, 2010
(Updated: September 19, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Upon arrival we spent one night in the Annex on base as no spots in Gateway. I was somewhat disappointed as to camp 'hostess'--I will give her benefit of doubt as this is first year both as hostess & I understand to the RV world. Was often difficult contacting her & when did she could be a bit less than courteous. The couple at the Annex were great, however we really did need the 50 amp. That said the Gateway was well laid out in a beautiful area--sites were good size--do have to drive 'around' to get on base as 'main' gate was still being re-done. This was our 'base' as we did a number of day trips in area prior to driving on to Glacier & ultimately Alberta, Canada. We were lucky to be on a military base for July 4--enjoyed a great base picnic. We were told that plans are to double the size of the Gateway & close the Annex completely as Annex has been there a number of years & only 30 amp. There was no target date given for this. At this time there was 'lots' of construction on base & as there building time is so short I don't believe the expansion of FamCamp will be top priority. Oh the WiFi worked great--all in all would recommend if you are in area--beats anything the civilian world has to offer in area!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
July 23-24 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A very nice camp ground (GATEWAY), but for the price ($19) other military fam camps are a better value. Ft Sam or DM for instance didn't use wi fi or the laundry or bath facilites. Would stay here again. Directions for entry are a bit confusing. We looked for 3rd st but missed, it started a turn on 2nd st, but turned around and continued on 87 N. past the commercial entry gate. Pulled over and called Outdoor Rec for directions. Kevin had a hard time figuring out where we were and started giving directions from the wrong direction, didn't seem to know where 2nd and 3rd were. The problem is this 3rd st is not at a light and easy to miss and has no signage for the FAM CAMP, the next st,. 2rd is at a light and goes straight to the gate with signage to the FAM CAMP. The attached directions should say turn rt (E) on 2nd st vice 3rd st then every thing would be fine. (Ed note: directions corrected - thanks!) All in all a very nice park. Al Sawyer

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
July 6-August 9 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Enjoyed our visit and would return! Bruce is everything the reviews say..he and his wife planted flowers and took care of on their own! There is can recycling at campground and more recycling on base. No diesel on base. Retirees can eat at the dining hall for breakfast and on weekends meals-a definite plus. Campsites off base are mostly level and paved and room out the front door. Horses and donkey to view and talk to and plenty of area to walk dog. My Verizon Internet card was much faster then camp wi-fi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 30-July 1st 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stopped on our way to Glacier Natl. Park. The Gateway Famcamp is located immediately to the right outside the main gate, so that you don't have to negotiate the security barriers. We were immediately greeted by the camp hosts and directed to an available site. The hookups are good (except for shared water which posed no problem), the laundry and bathrooms were immaculately clean. It is windy here, but everywhere we have been west of the Mississippi has been windy, so no big deal. I would highly recommend this famcamp to anyone traveling this direction. And oh, by the way, the WI-FI must have been fixed because it worked great for us...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 18, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No host on duty upon early afternoon arrival so we drove through camp ground to pick a site, however some sites were blocked off and 2 sites, maybe more, were unusable as the occupant of the neighboring sites were using both sides of the shared water utility leaving only electrical and sewer available. This must be standard operating procedure as later in the day someone in a pickup drove through the campground whom we later saw parked at the host's site, my guess he was the host, and those sites using both sides of the water remained hooked up that way. Otherwise the restroom and laundry facility was very clean and the parking pads were large and level.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 5 - May 13, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great stop on the way to Alaska. Bruce, the camp host, lived up to his reputation. This is a small park and the wifi antenna is right in the center, so all should be able to get a signal. I got 1 or none. Needs upgrading. My Verizon data card worked fine, tho. Meals available at the chow hall. My biggest complaint (which the campground host, MWR, or even the base commander can't do anything about) is the wind. It was VERY windy most of the days I was there. I even brought in my slide on 3 occasions, for fear the cover would be ripped off (it is now sagging). I would go back, tho, as a last stop before going to Canada. Steve Turney
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 15.29, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is indeed a nice, clean FAMCAMP and the camp host, Bruce is a very friendly, helpful man, he is a BIG ASSET to this park. The sites are nice, level. I was really surprised when they allowed me to sponsor two guests while we were here. Their brochure states that guests are allowed. The only problem with this FAMCAMP is the WiFi. It's just about worthless. We have been on for a short time and get bumped off and then about 2-3 hours later we were able to sign back on. They only have one antenna and router for the entire park and they need to add more so that the entire park can be covered. I called and discussed this with Scott, the manager of Outdoor Rec and he said he would see what could be done. If they get the WiFi working properly this will be a GREAT FAMCAMP. Even with the poor WiFi I will come back here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 4 - 6, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The GPS coordinates took us right to the off base facility. We found the facility to be very neat and clean. The camp host wasn't home when we arrived, so we drove in and picked out an open site. As we were setting up the host came back and came over to welcome us. He was very friendly and provided directions to the best viewpoints for the falls. My only complaint would be the lack of Wi-Fi in the camp. There is good Wi-Fi available at the BX, and after hours you can sit on the walk by the door in a lawn chair and still get a good signal. I will definitely stop here again whenever I'm in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
8 Aug 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Have stayed here numerous times over the past few years. Camp is well maintained restrooms, showers, and laundry are all clean and well maintained. Sites are 'somewhat' level. The camp host made the stay pleasant as a result of his helpfulness. I've stayed here for the past 6 or 7 years on my way to or from Alaska, - starting to feel like home?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
5-8 June 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
When we arrived at Malmstrom we went to the new campground, but it was full. The host was very hepful; he told us to check out the on-base camp, which had openings. The hostess there was super nice, said we could pick any open site. Picked #21, and saw that obviously it was an old, and tired camp. But, the sites in the older camp were quite large...you had a good distance from your neighbor. The scenery was very mice - we looked out on a broad, open field. I walked over to Outdoor Rec the next morning to pay and asked about wifi, paving the site, etc. He explained the budget problems Services was having, and I fully understood. USAF is at war, and the $$$'s aren't there. He reminded me that the base was keeping the old camp open simply because the new one is often sold out. Wifi was available at the base library - very nice - as well as at the Lodging office, 24/7, and the food court at the BX, 9AM-7PM M-Sun. A great value at $13 a night. Great Falls is a nice little town. Oh yes, one problem...there isn't a base laundry, although you could sneak into the lodging guest quarters. Nearest laundry - a good one - is in town, about 5 miles from base. There was quite a bit of vacant commercial property right outside the gate - a great opportunity for some enterprising retiree to build and operate "Main Gate Laundry"!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
9-12 Jun 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
C. H. left this review using the Directory software: We spent three nights here. This is a first-rate FAMCAMP. When we pulled in, Host Bruce was right out there to greet us and get us squared away in finding a site and registering. We had three sites to choose from. Sites are open, paved, and have full hookups. The pads are slightly tilted front and back, good for drainage but requiring leveling. Excellent bathhouse and laundromat - very clean. Washers are $1.00, dryers $.75. We would definitely stay here again. We did not visit the on-base annex.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
19 May - 5 June 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What can I say, the newer campground "Gateway" located off base is great. The campground host, "Bruce" I think makes it very enjoyable. The sites are big, laundry room is nice, bathrooms are clean. You are only 1/4 from the base. Sprint card for wirless worked great. I will be back next year, great place to stay on your way to Canada. Anyone going next year????????
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at Gateway Famcamp here for a few days in June 2007 before traveling to Alaska. Nice super clean famcamp with informative hosts. Camp was full with other units that were gather here prior to traveling also to Alaska. We did not view the on base camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 8 to 15, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The nicer newer park is off base which is a little inconvenient to facilities. The on base park is not bad at all if you can get by with 30 amp. Certainly worth looking at before you commit, since it is within walking distance of many of the base services. We had a pleasant stay here. While there be sure to take in the Lewis and Clark Exploratory Center.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 22, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It was the best of times, it was the worst of times... That Dickensian dichotomy is the tale of two campgrounds at Malmstrom AFB. There's the new one, about half a mile outside the front gate that is modern, beautifully maintained, and hosted by a gentleman who clearly cared about his customers. He was courteous, informative, and helpful. The sites are concrete, level, and spacious. It has a modern bath house, with all the amenities, which is kept sparkling clean. A great place to stay when visiting the Great Falls area of Montana. The host said he was obligated to tell us about the other campground on the base itself. He said the rates were less there, and told us the facilites and setting were of somewhat lesser quality than his facilities. But he was careful not to outright badmouth the place. So, before deciding on one or the other, I thought it only fair to us, and to you the reader of these reviews, to take a good look at the other place. The contrast couldn't have been more stark. When we pulled up at the host campsite, a man sitting in a lawn chair didn't move, but yelled for his wife to get her papers. At the same time, their dog started barking, and never stopped, the entire time we were trying to converse with the hosts about the campground facilities. The woman took about three minutes to actually come out of the trailer with the signup board and info sheets. After a few minutes with thes folks, I figured MWR was scraping the bottom of the barrel for someone to host the campground. We were told that there were no showers, but that we could go over to the gym, about a quarter mile away for that. The toilet facilities consisted of two flush toilets in a small shack, one for the women, one for the men. A look inside revealed that they were clean and adequate for the purpose. The spaces were all gravel, not level, and were poorly maintained. In fact, the whole campground was poorly maintained, and the hosts/MWR didn't seem to care. We were told that we could have one of the full hookup sites for the W/E only price, because the sewer was clogged on those sites (three or four of them, I think). We thanked the hosts for letting us look around, and bid them and their yapping dog farewell. We were greeted with a smile as we returned to the other campsite. The new campground is $17 per night. The old one is $11 for W/E only, or $13 for W/E/S. The price difference is well worth paying. The base facilities are good, and we dined that night at the Grizzly Club, a combined open mess. There was no WIFI at either campground. The star ratings for this review are based on the new campground only. I think you can guess what the rating would look like for the other campground. Side Note: For Sprint users, there was no coverage, phone or broadband card.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
July 2006
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Visited last year. Located on the east side of Great Falls, it is a great place to stage a visit from. The base is very close with great facilities. Only needs Wi Fi. We plan on staying here every visit out west.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July 3, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are just finishing up two weeks here and love it. We will be back. The WiFi did not get installed. Great weather and great area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
June 8,2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just an update to the last post. There is a host on site at both the Gateway and the Annex Campgrounds. Facilities look very good at Gateway as a maintenance person is also on site 5 days a week. Hear that WiFI install is scheduled for July 1. Hope it comes through as it would be a great added feature.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Apr 29, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We're in the Gateway CG. Great jumping off place for Canada and Alaska. No camp host on site and only 3 RV's in 25 sites. Clean, well maintained with good facilities, including laundry, with plenty of open space around the CG. Sites could be more level. MWR people are very friendly and very helpful. You can have mail forwarded to their office and they will hold for pick up.
PC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 15, 2006
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Park nearby, and so is the pool with slide and diving boards. Laundry is in the annex area, though. Seemed "pricey" compared to other military campgrounds with more amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
62 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4