Gateway FamCamp

Featured
 
4.3 (62)
71209 1 28 0 30

User reviews

62 reviews
 
58%
 
31%
 
6%
 
5%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.6(62)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(62)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(62)
Value
 
4.2(62)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(62)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
62 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pulled into the park on our way from Alaska heading south for the winter. Very nice park only about 6-7 rigs there. The winds were terrible 30MPH gusting to 50-60 for three days straight, grounded us there for that time, good kite flying wx. Lot's to do around town and overall a nice park, fond memories.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice FAMCAMP. Being there after Labor Day no doubt made getting a site no problem. I didn't count but I'd say maybe 5 to 8 were available during our stay. Sites large and level. Host was quite pleasant taking care of business but didn't chat much beyond that. Grass was ok, they'd been having rain. WiFi was not to be found on arrival but worked fine the second day. Laundry and restrooms clean, in fact the whole area which is quite extensive was clean. Laundry reasonably priced at $1 each. And the price while maybe high by national FAMCAMP standards is very (very) reasonable by Great Falls standards as I found when I was looking for a fallback in case they were full. I kind of liked having the FAMCAMP right outside the gate. I'd sooner negotiate the barriers with my toad than with the motorhome towing. Few and small facilities on post: BX, commissary, library, dining etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 20-21, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We just spent two nights here and would probably stay again if ever we are back in the area but would not go out of our way to get here. The campground was spotless, the grass dead, the camp host a bit officious, the laundry room clean and a good price. It was quiet as there are no airplanes at this Air Force base. My complaint was that WIFI is advertised but doesn't work. We pulled in, was given a choice of sites, and told to put our money in the payment box. I asked about putting a pen out for our little dog for when we sit outside as she doesn't like to be tied up. I was grudgingly given approval after I convinced the camp host that she would not do her business in the pen. He was concerned that she would ruin the dead grass! We spent about half an hour trying to log on to the internet on each of our electronic devices (one iPhone, one Android phone, the Kindle, and a Mac) and could connect to the signal but could go no further to get onto the Web. I walked down to the camp host and asked if there was a problem or was I doing something wrong. The response was that I was right, it didn't work. Rarely does. Signal is too weak, antenna is too short, and he really didn't seem to care. Others I talked to said it's always that way. I asked who to complain to and was told that if they would let him have comment cards I could write one out and put it in the comment box. Not his fault, but he 1) should have mentioned it when we checked in to save the grief of trying to figure out what was wrong, and, 2) should care enough to talk to someone above him about the issues. Not acceptable. The Outdoor Rec people need to know or maybe even the base commander. If you advertise it, then it should work. Otherwise, don't say you have it.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Jun 30, 2013 - July 6, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stay here whenever we travel thru this area and are always grateful if we get one of the few available spots. Again this time, we arrived around noon and got our choice of three pull-thru sites. Yes, the grass was full of dandelions and the wood picnic table was in poor condition (probably stuck outside all winter) but we were there for a military burial and were just content we only paid $130 for a week's stay. The view of fireworks through our windshield was spectacular. All things considered, it wasn't a bad place to be on the 4th of July.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 9-12, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
M.K. left this review using the Directory software: - This is a nice stopover on the way to Canada/Alaska. Real quiet with only one helicopter flying while I was here. Restrooms and shower were clean, and I didn't spot even one cig butt anywhere in the campground. Oh yeah, the grass was nice and green, and was being watered daily. I would like it less expensive (who wouldn't) but for me it was worth the $24 a day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 9-13, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
K.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Very disappointed in the look of the place and the price increase (25%). Have stayed here many times over several years. There used to be lush green grass between sites where picnic tables and bbq's are located. This year there is brown/dead grass and plenty of weeds. A young man (not the host) is mowing the weeds today. His work is not improving the look of the place. One would think that with that big of an increase in price from one year to the next that there would not be a commensurate decrease in livability. Laundry and bathrooms are still very clean and laundry is reasonably priced. In previous years I would have rated this place 4 or 5 across the board. With the price increase and the unwelcoming look of the grounds it ranks much lower. In the past the lack of mature trees was compensated by the lush grass which made sitting out in the evenings very pleasant once the sun had dropped. That is no longer the case.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 12, 2012
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A nice, clean, park in a great location. Bruce, the host was very hospitable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
14 July 2012
(Updated: August 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The front campground was full so we stayed in the back camp, on base. Let me tell ya getting in the AF gate with my big fifth wheel was tough! But its okay the front host Mel helped me get to the back camp, he was very nice and friendly, greeted me right away. The back camp host in the back site area was not even available to answer my question! I needed to find the PX and commissary. He must have been sleeping and tired from not cleaning the tiny bathroom cause I'm glad my tax pay money is paying for an invisible host. The very very small toilet looked like a Virgina outhouse and there was no showers and no laundry back there. Dang nice scenery though looking at wheat fields and hills. And I talked to a guy who was the former host Bruce who was there...dang nice fellow as well. Quiet camp too but the fees are too high. I have stayed at nicer rest areas for free! So the good things were Mel and Bruce but I would have been better staying in town or the big camp in front if there was room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 2012
(Updated: August 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The main Gateway Campground has gone through changes. The host this year, Mel, does a great job of greeting and providing information about the area and the base. Outdoor Rec doesn't seem to care about cleanliness of the facilities and it has been stated that it is their responsibility. Bathrooms today were really bad. The sad part is the rates were raised this year by $5 to $24.00 per night making it one of the most expensive in the Air Force Military Camping system with no care for the upkeep of facilities. I've visited Montana for many years. This is very sad as this has been a great place and a good value in the past! We hope Outdoor Rec and Force Support can get their act together!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 22, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.O. left this review using the Directory software: - I stayed at the Gateway FamCamp which is just outside the main gate of Malmstron AFB. The facilities appear to be well maintained and the host "Mel" was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the rates at this FamCamp were raised from last year's rate of $19.00 to $24.00. It appears this increase and possibly other factors such as the overall economy have caused the occupancy rate to be much lower than previous years. It would seem the Wing Commander may be trying to use the revenue from this facility to support other unfunded activities on post. I will avoid this FamCamp until the pricing is restructured.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 11th and 12th 2012
(Updated: July 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Are you kidding me? After many years and mega-miles of travel and visiting our wonderful military bases and famcamps, I am appalled at what I found at the Malmstrom AFB Famcamp annex. There has been no updates to this place in a long, long time. There is nothing but weeds everywhere (although I will admit that the camp host Don and his very helpful wife are doing their damn-est). The people or person in charge of the Outdoor Recreation decided to increase the price to $20 per night without any visible justification. Why - well I suppose that it is just because they can. Poor Mike the maintenance man works very hard, but it is too evident that he just doesn't have the experience, knowledge or support to keep up. The cotton pickin stickers and fox-tails just made it miserable for my pets. 'Cousin Brucie' who thinks that he secretly controls everything, is actually not concerned at all, but rather seems to want to prove the ineptness of the current hosts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 28 - July 3, 2012
(Updated: July 03, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice campground with a helpful camp host. We called the day before arrival and asked about availability. We were reminded they didn't take reservations, but there shouldn't be a problem and to come on. The park is well laid out, clean and maintained. The new exchange at Malstrom AFB is opening soon. As posted before, getting onto base can be a hassle. Waved right on thru the first time, but the next day was told "not in the system". A short stop at the visitor center got us into the system. The airmen working in the visitor center were very polite and professional. We were here a week and will stay again when in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 14-20, 2012
(Updated: May 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed at the off-base Gateway location. Super nice FamCamp, well laid-out facility, the only thing missing was cable TV service (our satellite had quit working earlier in our journeys) but there was plenty of local broadcast TV available on the antenna. There is a nice walking trail adjacent to the park. The FamCamp was only about 25% occupied during the week we were there, so we had plenty of choice of spaces, all pull-throughs. The camp host, Mel, was friendly and helpful getting us settled in. City (Great Falls) bus service is available just outside of the FamCamp entrance and will take you all over town. The initial process for entering the base was somewhat tedious, but once we were in their "system" everything went smoothly. Propane is available at the AAFES gas station, but only Monday through Friday. All-in-all a nice experience, we will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 5 - 8, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a wonderful RV Park - Hands Down. This is one of the nicest RV Parks I've ever stayed. It is well laid out, has plenty of space between sites and for walking the dogs. The restrooms are as nice and clean as the one in your own home. There is grass between the concrete sites and throughout the campground. Within a half mile off 87/89/3 and a short drive to the city or base. WiFi worked great throughout our stay. I would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 3, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.M. left this review using the Directory software: Found this to be an excellent FamCamp. Maria the camp hose was exceptionally helpful. The laundry and restrooms were clean and BX and Commissary well stocked. Over flow area available and several had to wait only a day or two before finding a spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 20-24, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at the Annex, outside the Base. All 50 amp service. Paved sites, grassy areas in between the spaces. Well-maintained. Camp host on site. Laundry/showers kept clean. Camp host said she didn't care if we washed down the motor home. The on-base FamCamp is older, 30 amp service, smaller spaces.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2-4 August 2011
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in Gateway for 2 nights. When we arrived there were six pull thru sites available, we chose two and were greeted by the camp host shortly after. He was very courteous and helpful. We were settled in quickly and pleased with the area. The sites are concrete pads with 30/50 amp service, water and sewer, only missing cable, camp WIFI was great the entire time we were here. Was able to also get 4G with my sprint service so watched some Netflix while here. The CG is right outside gate 4 for the AFB so did not have to enter base for CG, the CG was nice and quiet while we were here. We did go on the base to check out the BX and commissary. We were confronted by something new to us when going on base. It seems that they do not use DOD stickers, instead they use ID cards for entry, we were directed to go to visitor center and register ID cards prior to being allowed on base. It was no problem getting the IDs registered and then going through the hate but it would have been simpler to do this prior to trying to go through the first time. The commissary was well stocked and convenient to get to, the BX was small but they are working on building another to be completed by June 2012. The CG is well taken care of, while we were there, although not in need of it, the grass was trimmed, looks really good. The bathrooms, small but up to date and very clean as is the laundry. Realy liked this CG and would recommend to anyone, will definitely stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 14-21, 2011
(Updated: July 21, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second visit to this famcamp. I had forgotten just how very nice this cg is. There are only 25 sites, but the cg is probably the best laid out cg I have ever visited. The sites are all large pull-thrus with each site facing a different direction. This way when you open your door, you do not face your neighbor's hookups - instead there is about a double site-width space with picnic tables and grills on very well maintained grass. The only complaint I have with this famcamp is, when we were here, they had allowed a pretty destitute family in an old run down travel trailer, to stay in the site across from ours. According to the camp host, they were "sponsored" by someone who was eligible to be here. The only thing was, the "sponsor" did not stay in the famcamp. Does this make you want to wear a uniform for 20-30 years, along with family separations, hostile environments, getting shot at, etc, so that anyone else can enjoy the same benefits that we do? The BX and Commissary are very small, but adequate. The directions lead you to the front gate of Malmstrom. Instead, turn right off 57th street onto 3rd Ave S. This will get you right to the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
June 27, 2011 to July 6, 2011
(Updated: July 03, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a review of the newer fam camp that is just before you enter the gate just off Highway 87 South. The camp hosts this year are nothing like described in previous year. They are friendly and helpful. They are in a clearly marked spot with their trailer near the entrance. The husband greeted us and was very helpful. The wife helped me with some information later and was very nice. This park is wonderful. The bathrooms are always clean and in excellent shape. The laundry room is fantastic with great washers that hold a lot of clothes and dryers that don't need to be fed more coins than once. Laundry room fully stocked with change machine, laundry soap vending machine, magazines, books donated, rollaway laundry baskets. Just next to the bathrooms and laundry room is a soda machine. Very handy to have.
There are exhaust fans in all bathrooms and in the laundry room so they don't get too hot. The groundskeeper keeps the place absolutely immaculate. There is a pet walking area, complete with doggy bags to pick up. This is such a quiet and beautiful park. There are amazing sunsets, a nice breeze. Truly get a taste of what big sky country really means. There are beautiful flower boxes everywhere, and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to see all the prairie dogs running here and there. (although I am sure they annoy the groundskeeper because of all the little holes they make) There is a nice gravel walking trail just past the park area. Never any problems with any of the campers here. The water supply is very good, and the sites are very level paved. Big enough sites to bring our 40 footer plus an 18 foot trailer (and enough space at the end to park our towed vehicle while off the trailer) The mosquitoes can be a little rough at dusk, but if you go out while the sun is out they don't bother you. This has to be the very best RV park private or military that I have ever stayed in.
Wanted to stay here a month after arriving, but had to rush off to see family. The surrounding community is very friendly and has great restaurants, plus a great RV service center just down the road. It was fun to see the Black Eagle Falls along the Missouri river just down the road. Don't forget to take a drive down River Road to see it. Beautiful! The Lewis and Clark museum was incredible, too. Coming back often!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
end of August, first part of September 2010
(Updated: October 19, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This is the second year in a row that we've found the Gateway FamCamp completely occupied and according to all reports there are no "rules" enforcing a time limit for occupancy. Also, it's apparently very common for the camp hostess to be "unavailable" and she also doesn't mark nor advertise which space she's in. Don't expect her to be in #1, and the guy there is cranky if you knock on his door. The MWR people on post need to get a grip on the stay-over's here. We no longer even attempt to get into Gateway but just drive on post to the old Annex where the hosts are wonderful and there's almost always a spot available, 30 Amps or not.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 5
62 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4