Keesler AFB FamCamp

Keesler AFB FamCamp

 
3.9 (80)
131252 2 23 0 73

User reviews

80 reviews
 
39%
 
28%
 
24%
 
9%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0(80)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(80)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(80)
Value
 
3.9(80)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(80)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
80 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
4 July 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Hard to get reservation due to having to leave voicemail. Phone rarely answered by human. Site was nice enough except for the ant invasion. Not near level. Some sites cannot be accessed by 32 ft Class C. Staff friendly when you can find them. Tried to stay twice in 2021, but nothing available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 22-26, 2021
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We were overall very with this Famcamp until we went to use showers near our site (across the bridge and up the hill). I thought the men's room was bad, especially the showers: dirty, especially floors, handicap shower not suited to wheelchair - room to get in and maneuver but fixed shower head unreachable by someone in a wheel chair and no detachable shower heads for handicap use, missing soap dish. My wife told me the women's shower was as bad or worse, including broken handicap rails with sharp edges. Dirty and buggy not to mention the sign "showers are a privilege not a right, clean up after yourself."

Keesler AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 2020
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We attempted to stay here but were not able to fit into the only spot they had available. We had reservations and told them we had a 37 foot rig. We did not tell them how tall our rig was (never had to before) and that was the problem. The spot had branches right over the pad that were just above eye level with me sitting in the driver's seat of our Class A motorhome (overall height: 13 feet 2 inches). I doubt a small travel trailer would have the height clearance to get in there. We arrived right after the office closes and the camp host was great in trying to help us out but they were completely full so there wasn't anything he could do. We ended up going to Shields and should have done that from the start. The drive into the famcamp is pretty tight but passable for big rigs. Quite a few sites are nowhere near level so bring leveling blocks. If you want Internet or cable you will have to get a Verizon jetpack and cable box from the office. There is a $100 deposit for each. There is only a limited number of each device so you may be out of luck when you arrive. We did speak to the office the next day and they apologized and also told me that they are building a new famcamp on base. He didn't say where it was or when it would be ready but he did say it was close to being ready to open.
Keesler Famcamp Drive Through and Review.  Watch out when driving in!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
February 24-27, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Although the description doesn't indicate it, Keesler FamCamp IS big rig friendly! There are lots of big rigs here, including ours. The street getting into the campground is narrow, but very doable. Also, there IS wifi available. You can rent a Verizon Jetpack from the office for a $100 deposit that is fully refundable when you turn it back on. The data you use is completely free. We rented one and the service has been excellent. My wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a 5th wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Feb 18, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
No Cable TV, Must Pay Deposit For Cable Box Or Use Antenna. Clean And Friendly Facility. NEAR Base But NOT ON Base. Do NOT Use The Listed Coordinates To Get Here... They Will Bring You EAST Past The Entrance!!!... Use The Address. There Is A FAM CAMP Sign Right At The Fenced Entrance... Enjoy Your Affordable Stay... AATW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2 June 2019
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Camp host is quite rude and autocratic. His unsolicited "help" when office was closed conflicted with arrangements made with reservations. Seems to make up new rules as required to flaunt his authority. My 40 foot coach towing was not large enough to occupy one of our favorite unreserved spaces.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 5
29-30 May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The directions say to turn east on Atkinson Road, but there are low tree branches across the first part of Atkinson. The safe route is to stay on Popps Ferry road to Pass Road, take a left (east) to Jim Money Road, take a left (north) on Jim Money (by the Post Office) back to Atkinson Road where you take a right (east) until you get to the FamCamp. They are also reducing the office hours to 9-4 on weekdays and 9-12 on weekends. They have installed recycling can near the dumpsters. They still are having electrical problems on some of the sites on the west side of the camp. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
November 2018
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I've been here for about 2 weeks now. The electrical posts are a major issue! Since I have been here, three units have experienced major electrical issues because of deferred or a complete lack of maintenance on the electrical posts. All three units have had their unit inverters fried because of this lack of maintenance, including me. The bathroom facility scenario seems to have been resolved with a new camp host. He is doing the cleaning himself to ensure the facilities are acceptable.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
October 27-31, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Like others in this forum, I agree with the condition of the Bathhouse/shower facility at the front of the park, totally UNSAT! However, I've found the rest of the park to be well-cared for and maintained. Yes, some of the electric boxes and posts need to be swapped out, or updated; and, the recycling area could use a rejuvenation, of sorts. But, for the most part, I love the location and proximity to the base, parks, sights, and everything else! What I wonder though, is how many people who have responded negatively about things, bothered to submit an ICE Report? It's that icon on here that reads, capital ICE. Just click on it and follow the prompts!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
July, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The actual GPS address is 2003 Atkinson Rd, Biloxi, MS 39531. The road through the campground is tight as others have noted, our 26 ft Classic GMC had no issues but a larger bus would, ask for a spot in the front of the campground if you are in a larger rig. The bathrooms were clean but definitely in need of repair, the sink was cracked and the shower head holder was broken. Insist that the clerk signs you out a MiFi ($100 deposit) or you will have no WiFi. The grass was mowed while we were there but it was pretty high before then.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
May, 2018
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
New AFI restricts visits to 3 months, then out for a month. Snowbirds be aware! Facilities are terrible, NO maintenance at this campground! They say they are building a new facility, but have been saying this for well over a year now with no construction in sight. The garbage dumpsters may or may not get emptied weekly, the flies will let you know for sure! The grass cutting is abysmal at best, tall grass everywhere! Even around the power pedestals, so watch out for creepy critters! Bathhouses, 50's vintage and falling apart! The kids that work there are nice, just have no comprehension of RV's or running a campground. Washers and dryers, forget it, most are broke and have been for over a year. Sites are OK, unless you go to the back, then you have to hope you don't drag the rear bumper or high-center your rig trying to get on your site. The Air Force should be embarrassed to have this site listed in their inventory. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
3-4 May 2018
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
What a goat rope. Very hard for larger RV’s to manage thru the small roads and very steep and badly angled sites. When we arrived, the young lady at reception office gave us a spot we couldn’t fit in, then gave us another spot with directions to enter the wrong way, then said I don’t know anything about RV’ or camping. Famcamp is not actually on the base, the road entering the area is tight, along with turning in and out of campground. I don’t recommend for 36 ft RV or larger. Very disappointed 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
April 13, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Kessler AFB – Biloxi Mississippi $22 a day for concrete slab with electric/sewer/water/picnic table – cable box available Pros + Flat RV sites + Laundry room (2.00 per wash/dry) + Common firepit in the middle of the front campground loop + Bathhouses are ok, outdated and not terribly clean but good enough – though they were always full + Relatively close to the beach + Ice for sale + Rentals available on base (tents/grills/boats etc) Cons - This is actually an annex so you are off base which means you have to leave and drive 3 miles down the road to go to the base (not a big deal but we enjoy being able to walk around the base or walk to the gym from the RV sites) - WiFi is weird there, they use Verizon MiFis so you have to give a deposit of $100 to have your own WiFi. Since we are in a class B (therefore leaving regularly) we were told not to worry about it and just use others as we are all given a master list to the units- this did not work. We have very few visible networks to use and then had to wait 2 days for a box to be turned in so we could borrow it. But once you have one you are golden! - Back in angle of the slabs can be tight (even in our B we had to do small movements to get into the sites (#6) +/- As mentioned this is an annex location therefore there is no security/checkpoint to enter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Mar 20, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stay in. 43’ MH. CLEAN, QUIET. Did not use laundry or showers. We look for level when trayin in parks and #46 is level. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
15 March 2018
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Don't use the Bathhouse if at all possible. Bathhouse is in drastic need of upgrades. The two toilets are loose and seals are just about gone. Urinal is stained and handiecap grab handles are rusted. The two showers are stained and look ugly. Sinks are also ugly and mirrors hanging loose or propped up on the countertop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Feb/Mar 2018
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Facility in very poor condition, No host at FamCamp, only a clerk/typist at office to check you in.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
4 April - 1 May 2017
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice enough campground. We arrived early and were told if we had prior reservations to check the list on the door of the office and park and come back at 1530. No problem. We go parked ok. I found on hooking up our utilities that the sewer line was just a pipe stuck up from the ground, no threads or any way to keep the sewer hose in the hole. Ijust stuck it in the pipe and hoped for the best. We attempted to set up our sattalite dish and found we could not get a signal. I noticed that the neighbors had cable running into their coach so I hooked up ours, remember that we had not got checked in yet, I found that I could only get a set screen on scan of the cable. I went to the office at 1530 and meet a very nice lady that explained the cable needed a box, which she gave me, hooked us up with the usual brochures and paperwork. On the third day I attempted to dump my tanks when I opened my valve the hose blew out of the hole and soaked my feet and the surrounding ground. The drain, because it had no cap on it, was full of leaves and other trash. The mananger called CE on a emergency call out to fix the drain. They came out about an hour later to fix it. The bath houses were in need of some updating really bad. The grounds needed a good clean up. Other than that it was a good campground for the money. We were here in a 38' class A. We will stay here again when we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
15-18 Jan 2017
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We didn't find the campground especially difficult to find or to get to in our 35' motorhome (just enter "200 Annex Rd Biloxi" into your GPS, then follow the "Keesler AFB FAMCAMP" signs to the campground entrance.) The campground itself is outside the base - just next to leased family housing - and is a bit of a letdown. It appears to have been neglected & in dire need of some "TLC": 3 of the 5 washers in the laundry were inoperable, the grounds need some tending & the shower/restrooms are BADLY in need of some upgrades. It's just a short drive over to Keesler AFB from the campground. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
October 20-21, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campground is difficult to get to. You must travel a narrow local street which appears to dead end near the campground. Once inside campground there is adequate space to maneuver your RV. We were placed in the overflow area even after I had called to reserve a site for overnight. Campground was full with many active duty personnel attending school on base. Only water and electric were available to us. Lots of shade but sites appear to be somewhat tight. Office staff was friendly and helpful to us in locating an overflow site for one night. Had to disconnect the toad before parking our Class A motor home. We would consider staying here again with better arrangements.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
May 11-18, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Here we are again. This time I have some good news to report. The host said that Keesler is going to build a new Famcamp with over 100 sites and will take reservations. The old camp will remain open as an overflow area. I saw a map of Biloxi with this site marked off and it's located near the Imperial Palace Casino at the southeast corner of Porter Avenue and Division Street. east of I-110. At least it's good news for me because I stay here twice a year and like the idea of making reservations. Now some not so good news. The homesteaders with the large toyhauler 5th wheel are still in the short-term site area. Otherwise, another good stop-over.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
80 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4