Westover ARB FamCamp

 
3.8 (35)
51980 0 13 3 19

User reviews

35 reviews
 
37%
 
31%
 
20%
 
6%
 
6%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.2(35)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(35)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(35)
Value
 
3.9(35)
Overall Experience
 
3.8(35)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
35 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
May 27th,2022
Overall rating
 
1.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The office staff have no idea who is there and when they are leaving, even though there is a 14 day max stay. Most of the campers listed on the board are beyond the listed departure date and when I asked if someone will be leaving soon to open a site up I was told " I don't have a crystal ball so no I don't know". I'm not sure why they even write down departure dates when they completely ignore them anyway. They don't know whos there or when they will be leaving or how long they have been there, Staff was preoccupied with MWR rentals and completely disregard the campground. I waited at the desk to check in and fill out the appropriate paperwork for 15 minutes while being ignored before I just left. Horrible customer service and complete lack of professionalism. The bathroom was clean but everything else was a negative.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
October 26th, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice facility, convenient to I-91 for seasonal travel to or from the northeast. A very good value. My only negative comment has to do with the difficulty in communicating with the FamCamp management. None of the posted material lists anything other than a single phone number to communicate with the FamCamp/MWR personnel. However, you can spend days trying to speak with anyone. The system would not accept a voice mail message today, and shunts you to a directory "tree" that doesn't provide any useful option, and that you can't get out of without hanging up. There is no e-mail address that I could find. Finally, IMHO, all military campgrounds should have a system to make and cancel reservations, and pay for those online or by phone. The Navy has such a system and it works very well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
Sept 14, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived on a Sunday in a twenty-eight foot trailer. Office is closed then so we checked in with Flyer's Inn and then the Campground on Monday AM. Sites are large and mostly wooded. There were eight empty sites. All sites have concrete pad and are spacious. We were on #14 which had only 50 amp and 15 amp electricity and water. Sites have no sewage connections but the dump station is convenient and there is a honey wagon service which I never saw operate. I saw two people using their personal sewage toats. I suspect that they are long term campers even though the stay is supposed to be fourteen days. Main gate being used was from Westover Road off Memorial Drive. Entering 2255 Westover Drive into your GPS will get you close to and across the street from the entrance road. Our Verizon cell phones worked for voice but not data. Over the air TV reception was outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
June 8, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Excellent location. Arrived on a Sunday. No host and office was closed; instructions for self parking were adequate. We took spot 16. No satellite reception because of trees. MIFI signal was poor. Spot was level, but so unkept. Grass was overgrown; dirty rug left on ground; fire pit full of trash, etc. Bathroom was adequate, but filthy. Several "homesteaders". This fam camp could be such a gem. It just looked like nobody cared.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
19 Sep, 2010
(Updated: September 24, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We were on our way from Boston, MA to West Point, NY and made a slight detour to stay here long enough to get our Frequent Camper logbook stamped. Since we were only here overnight, I can't make a thorough evaluation but this is not a place I will return to and I do not understand all the 4 and 5 scores this place was given in previous reviews. I have stayed at about 60 military campgrounds and this place would be in the bottom 10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
August 31, 2016
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This stay was a complete disappointment from our first. We knew in advance that reservations are not taken, but still called four days prior to see how many open sites they had available. I called the office six times over the course of four days and never spoke to anyone. I left a message each time, specifically telling them the date I was looking to arrive and asking how many sites were currently open. I received one return call, which I was not able to take, and the message left from them only stated who they were and the phone number, no answer to any of my questions. The day we were looking to stay I called and again only got the voice mail. We figured we would try stopping by since it was on our route. We arrived fifteen minutes before the scheduled close time and found the doors already locked and the office worker heading to his truck. I was able to catch him and ask what was available. He said he had just given away his last open site to a motor cycle trailer that only needed a 20 amp hookup. When I asked why we had not received a return call to any of my messages but one, he just stated he does his best to return all calls. Since he had no sites, he allowed us to park next to the bath house and plug in where one of the rental trailers are plugged in. It wasn't until we parked the RV did we find we were on top of a bees nest and the swarm was at our door. We had to wait till nearly sun down for the bees to leave, since sprays did no good. The only thing we could use was the power and that was ok. Until a change in the office personnel takes place, we will not even attempt to stay here again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
Aug 22, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We came in after hours and didn’t stay more than 12 hours. In that time we checked out the base. It is small. They have a decent size Exchange. That’s about it. The FAMCAMP is heavily wooded. Spaces are large and significant distances from neighbors. They also have a large open field camping area. Overall spots are clean and well maintained. Staff was pleasant and delivered excellent customer service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
June 4 - Aug 3, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Traveling this past summer I stopped at Westover Fam Campground. Found the staff to be very friendly. Had to extend my stay for an operation on my knee which kept me there for a couple of months. Club was a great place to eat as you can buy and cook your own steak. Rest rooms were cleaned everyday and campground was very neat with big lots. My 38ft class A was a little big for the pads but it was no problem. I was able to level. Again the staff was excellent and I will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
17 Aug 2013 - 3 Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had called the day before to see what the possibility of getting a site would be because reservations are not accepted. We were told to come on in and they'd find us something - even if it was backing up to the building and plugging in to power there. We arrived on a Saturday. The gas station is the first facility you encounter on the way to the FAMCAMP. Made it convenient to fuel up before going to the FAMCAMP. There was no one working at the FAMCAMP when we arrived. Fortunately, there was one space remaining (# 13). My MIFI worked well in this space but we could not get our satellite TV to receive signals because there were so many trees around. The next day, the people in space 20 left and we moved into it. When I parked on the small concrete slab, the TV would still not receive signals but then I moved 6 feet forward off the slab and the signal came in great. However, my MIFI did not work as well. I parked our car out in the open and placed my MIFI in it and then got a good reception. The FAMCAMP host is also the outdoor recreation office manager. This is the best equipped outdoor recreation I have ever seen. That is the good news. The bad news is that the manager is so busy with outdoor recreation sales he had little time to devote to the FAMCAMP. However, he was very receptive to any problems we had. The FAMCAMP is centrally located in the New England area. We made day and overnight trips to Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. There is just so much history that you could spend months here and still not see it all. My biggest dislike was with the shower room. The shower was large and had good water pressure. However, the only privacy you had was when you were in the shower. I'm not too good at dressing and undressing just in the shower. When you step out of the shower, you are in a big open room. I did manage to stay clean though. We had a really good time here and would come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 22-23, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location is perfect for an overnight stay on your way to New Hampshire. It's easy to get to, with a Shopette nearby (you actually go past it on your way to the FamCamp). The FamCamp has water and electric, but no sewer. You have to use one of those blue portable honey wagons and have it pumped out, or take it to the dump station. The manager is nice and friendly, the facilities are clean and the Club is in the corner of the campground. We'd stay again, but just short stays...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 8-9, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This park has some real potential.  We stopped here for two nights on our way to New Hampshire, so the location was ideal for our route.  When you arrie, you will enter the main gate, go through the traffic circle, pass the the gas station where you will turn left.  This road will lead right to the campground.  To echo what others have said, the camp is treated without a lot of care.  We arrived on a Saturday after the office closed and chose a spot.  We had to inspect three different sites since the first two were 50 amp service only and we are 30 amp.  We chose site 11 which gave us good TV antenna coverage as well as Verizon wifi.  The pad was concrete and level with plenty of room for our 35 ft fifth wheel and truck.  The big negative was the trash in the fire pit that seemed to have been there for some time.  This could be a really nice campground, it just needs the attention.  If passing through we would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 6, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice, convenient location for NE tourist travel, except finding the base was VERY frustrating as there was no address and the site directions were only from one highway which is totally not able to be found. Manager of campground and sentries are all super helpful & pleasant. Spots are sand with lots of high trees and cement pad (at least where I parked). Water and 30 amp service with a common sewer dump. Easy to get into park & site (once directed by the sentry.) There's a Super WalMart within a mile or so. I didn't use any of the base facilities so can't comment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 3-5, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time here. Had a wonderful time! The easiest way to get there is to utilize I-90, Mass. Pike as is suggested. Suggest strongly NOT to enter at the northern gate - barriers! Getting to the FamCamp isn't too difficult. I'll try to upload a scanned map to the Webmaster for inclusion. Sites 1-15 are mostly shady. 16-20 are mostly sunny until late afternoon. Westover Club (combined O & E) shown on the map does have wireless (need info to access; ask at the Club) but is difficult to receive at the FamCamp. Best chances would be at Sites 6, 8, 10, & 12. Those same sites appear to have units that have been there an extended time (14 days at a time). Sites 8, 10, 12, & 16-20 would have the best chance for satellite TV reception. Fairly short cement pads, but not a problem for our 25 foot trailer. A bit of noise from C-5s flying approaches or running engines, but they stopped flying at 10 p.m. on the one night they were flying while we were there. Very friendly & helpful staff. Clean bathrooms/showers and laundry. You can rent canoes, tents, RV trailers, and other items at the Services Office at the FamCamp where you check in. Good food at the club - some nights buffet, some nights menu. Good value for what you get. I will definitely stay here again if I get the chance. ---- Additional information: I have uploaded a map of Westover ARB in the Files section of this web site. It might help if you download it, print it out, and have the guard at the gate show you the route to get to the FamCamp. Also, the Gas Station is only usable if it is open. You must have your ID checked before you are allowed to purchase fuel. Arnie Johnson
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29-30 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just got back from an overnight trip (tent camping). We have Season passes to Six Flags New England, and this campground is about 20min away. I decided to try this instead of spending all that money on a hotel when all we do is sleep there. I (31yr old female) took my 2 yr old daughter, 3yr old son, 15 yr old son, and 14 yr old nephew. I was impressed, as this was my first time staying at a military campground. The people were very friendly and accommodating. The facilities were new looking and very clean, great showers, we (myself and the two little ones) used the handicapped shower with the detachable sprayer and it worked great. The sites were nice and level. It was kind of odd that the tent sites didn't have picnic tables. They said we could take a camper site for the same price, since it wasn't very busy and we did, just to have the picnic table. We hadn't brought any chairs and I wanted somewhere for the little ones to sit for breakfast. Laundry area was nice. We'll definitely stay here again. Probably in a few weeks when I go to Six Flags again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The road to the fam camp was under construction when we were there but still easy to get to fam camp. A really nice clean and fairly quite very large sites. We used the famcamp to do day trip to all the New England states worked perfect for us. I would go back has the elec and water hookup with dump station and honey wagon that comes around once a week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22- 24 August 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice, small FamCamp - as noted, no sewers but OK for a short stay. Previous reviewer Arnie had it right on entry, in fact it appeared to me that all access to base is through the one gate, all other access points seem to be permanently closed. Entry is from I-90, to MA33 (Memorial Dr), North to Right on Westover Road, that's it. WiFi has very particular "Govt" parameters that must be entered exactly as stated to gain access, an type of error will result in no access. However, after getting all just right I did get online from Site 5 which is across road from the even numbered sites. Sites have some low spots so rain, which there's been lots of in New England over this summer, make it a bit messy due to short concrete pads. Only big problem I noted and which I mentioned to office on departure (they already knew!) was "permanent" resident in Site 12 with dog barks all day while he/they are evidently gone to work! Big German Shepard so it is very loud, just open your door and he hears you and starts up, someone walks by or drives by, same thing. Office response was kind of "oh yeah it's a pretty big dog"; so guess there is no intention to act on any such complaints - too bad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug. 28-29, 2010
(Updated: October 13, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here for 2 nights in August. Campground is clean with large sites. Had some difficulty getting to the campground after getting onto the base. We found the bath house and laundry room clean. Will definitely come back when up that way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 13 - Sept 19, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Not much has changed since my last visit. This place is a nice little campground, friendly staff and small concrete pads. I noticed that motor homes had some of there leveling jacks off the pads because they were not long enough. I was in site 19 and must comment on the electric. It states above that the sites are 20/30/50A. Sites 19 and 20 are only 20/30A. This is not a problem for me, but for someone with a big motorhome, it could be. The exchange is well stocked as is the small store at the gas station. To me it is a good stopping off spot when passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
13 July - 3 Aug 2012
(Updated: July 28, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The park is small but pretty well maintained. There are a couple of guys who work at the outdoor recreation facility and they are very helpful. None of the spots has sewer so one must drag their campers to the dump site or they will, for a nominal fee ($12), pump your tanks. They do this twice a week, Tuesday and Thursdays, although they will do it if asked and they have two people on hand. There is no WiFi but a trip to Starbucks and friend wife is happy and I get on line. The BX is small and the gas station has some other stuff but not a full service store by any stretch of the imagination. There are large grocery stores very near and some real good restaurants. Masse's is just down the road and has the freshest sea food in the area as they are a distributor and supplier to the other restaurants in the area. The entrance to the base off Westover Road goes right by the RV park. Entering through the gate is no big problem as there are only rubber cones blocking the way if the commercial entrance is closed. Go through the gate and take the first left after the gas station/shoppette and follow the road around, back by the gate you just came through, to the RV park. We were in the area visiting family and very convenient. We would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9-11 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 11, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed for two nights over a weekend. The campground was very quiet with not much going on on the base. The dirt road through the campground has several large potholes that should be filled. The concrete pads on the sites are too short for our 38' class A but the sites were level. The first site we tried had no water which we reported. The laundry facilities were very good and cheap at $.75 for both washers and dryers. The bathrooms were clean. Small exchange, no commissary although the convenience store at the gas station carried a few thing, including Class 6. Gas prices were considerably lower than outside the gate. Not much else to say. It is a good stopping over point if traveling through Massachusetts but not much to do in this area. At $18/night, it was a real bargain as we had just paid $37.50/night in a very dumpy campground in CT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
35 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2