Annapolis FamCamp

 
3.1 (36)
72464 0 7 0 19

User reviews

11 reviews with 4 stars
36 reviews
 
6%
 
33%
 
36%
 
19%
 
6%
Overall rating
 
3.1
Location
 
4.1(36)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.6(36)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.2(36)
Value
 
3.6(36)
Overall Experience
 
3.0(36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
22-30 Oct 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Check in is no longer at the NSA Rec building. Instead the Academy side people telephone you with a site number the morning of your arrival date. They later visit you at the cg with paperwork. It turns out they have size specific sites identified but not advertised nor obvious to the eye. Power sites open all year, "primitive" area closes for the winter. Agree cg is pretty old and somewhat rough. No views nor foot access through the surrounding jungle except the single lane unpaved road.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
19-21 June 2019
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The Good: Value, Location, ease and friendliness of staff. Bad: Sites are more of a parking spot then a campspot. Meaning, you are not really their to enjoy the camping spot. More of a place to park your hotel on wheels so you can get out and visit other spots. We were in spot 13 and it was a 30ft spot. But the staff said it would accomodate our 37ft MH and it did with ease. Spots are level and paved. Rest of the area is somewhat grassy but more muddy. Didn't use the bath house. Their is a sewer dump on site but you are not able to dump from your rig. You can only dump portable totes. The actual sewer dump is at the NEX gas station right outside the campground. The majority of the folks I saw staying here were staying for an extended visit. If you get the chance to request a spot, go for #2. It was a pull thru and easy to access. I am assuming it might be the 40ft spot. I also saw a big Berkshire 40+ft Class A in #3.
Annapolis FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
October 17 - 23. 2018
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Older CG without sewer and only 30 amp power. Only two or three spots for over 40' rigs. Great location though. Made reservations by phone through Navy Bed = they won't give you one if you say you're over 30' long, but over half the spots will take up to 35' or longer. I was told by another camper to make them online to reserve a longer spot as you can't make one with the MWR people directly. There was one 40' 5th wheel, an at least 40' class A and a couple other long trailers besides us (38') here over the time we spent. The bath house was STILL being worked on and closed. The dump station at the CG is VERY hard to use, but there's another less than a mile away behind the gas station and car wash that's a lot more accessible.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We headed south from Maine to FL for a friends wedding. Our first stop was in Annapolis. I lived across the street years ago so I knew where to find the campground. Even then it was still a bit difficult to find. The sign pointing into the camp was overgrown and barely seen from the road, plus it points you down a gravel road that barely looks like a road at all. We would stay again however there was some confusion with getting a reservation. MWR does NOT run this campground and we had to call some Navy lodge reservation line where the folks at that end seemed confused as to why we were calling them...... Call early with a pen in hand so you can chase down numbers until you find the right person to help you. Yes the sites are overgrown with vegetation, the gravel roads are in poor condition, the bath house is extremely old (but clean), the site pads seemed to be a bit narrow (and we were camping in a teardrop), the price is right on to save you some $$$$ while staying in an expensive area. It fit our needs after a very long day of driving to reach our first stop. We would use it again just to crash for one night and move on the next day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
3 to 6 July 2014
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There is no sewage connection, so going in, I knew there was the wife issue. In 3 days, though we used 1/3 of the storage tanks. I called the day we were going to arrive and Navy Getaway had sent a list, so I was able to get a site assigned. #10 had no sign on it, but we did our best and guessed right. Our spot was nice, relatively private. There is no nearby playground, and the roads are gravel, but we didn't have grandkids with us. The bath house needs a little renovation, but is OK and clean. We went down to the Annapolis waterfront for the parade, Naval Academy Band and Fireworks. MWR offered a pool party and food, with watch the fire works from the Naval Support side, but we went to the madhouse anyway. The Baltimore and Annapolis Rails to Trails is nearby, a nice but boring ride, same scenery all along it. Overall, it was a nice place (don't ask my wife), she hates bath houses and camping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 10-24, 2012
(Updated: July 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The MWR here at Annapolis is a great place to stay! We loved the atmosphere here and the outdoors in the middle of metropolis. We used it to stage jaunts to DC & other attractions around the area. The NEX & Commissary were close by & they were stocked really good with the things we needed. The post gas station was also close by and it said that it had bio-deisel and flex-fuel. We could not have asked for a better park to stay in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 22, 2011
(Updated: March 22, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
NEX gas station near the NEX/Commissary has a B20 Diesel Pump. It is set for only $35.00 limit on credit and debit. That will hardly fill a VW, but it takes multiple times to fill anything larger. The package store is operating from the NEX building temporarily.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
13 Jan 2011
(Updated: March 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped on the way south, easy to get to off US 301. Bathhouse was clean and warm! Called when we reached the FamCamp and they gave us a site, than drove to MWR to sign-in with just the pick-up. It would have been tight to drive our 42 ft 5th wheel there and turn around. Small FamCamp, but easy to get around. We had site 2, which is a pull thru. Looked like the only one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct, 18-23, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: Rustic campground. Clean, but not immaculate. Bath/Shower house in poor shape. No laundry facility at campground or on station. Used public Laundromat near Naval Academy. Possible low or variable voltage.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
13-15 Nov 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C.H. left this review using the Directory software: Very handy location. Satellite TV (DISH Network, anyway,) is possible only from sites 4,5, or 6. Verizon Broadband Access available. Same old bathhouse - nothing fancy, but at least the water is nice and hot in the showers. I asked the gal that checked me in at MWR about the rumored closing for renovations. She couldn't tell me when, if at all, it might happen. Also, the check-in place has moved from the front of the gym/rec center to downstairs to the Liberty Lounge in the rear of the gym building. I wouldn't exactly call it big-rig friendly, but with care most sites can handle good-sized rigs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Easy access to all of Annapolis especially the Academy and the harbor. Both are must sees. Satellite reception is non existant due to the trees but good reception on antenna. Dirt roads, but smooth level pads and wide enough for small patio. Picnic table at each site and some permanent looking residents had fires though unknown if legal. Would definately stay again. Very quiet except for the sounds of the midshipmen coming across the river, taps, revely, band practice and cheering at intermural sporting events. The restroom/showers are about 10 years overdue a remodel, but they were cleaned every day. Would be a five with sewer and new bath facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11 results - showing 1 - 11