Annapolis FamCamp

 
3.1 (36)
72464 0 7 0 19

User reviews

8 reviews with 2 stars
36 reviews
 
6%
 
33%
 
36%
 
19%
 
6%
Overall rating
 
3.1
Location
 
4.1(36)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.6(36)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.2(36)
Value
 
3.6(36)
Overall Experience
 
3.0(36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
June 6, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This has to be the worst place ever! Glad I was only here 2 days. The site I was in #3 was just long enough for my 32 ft class c, if I would have gone to far back I would have fallen off a cliff. LOT'S of greenery! Make sure it you have pets to have them on flea and tick preventive. Water and electric only. Showers well only one in the women's side. The water drained so slow I'm not sure what I would get! The only good thing about this place is all of the amazing sites to see. Maryland World War II Memorial, and The Naval Academy. Road construction made it a little difficult to get around Annapolis but it is a great town to visit. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 29-31, 2018
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
WOW, as a Army guy I figured that the USNA FamCamp would be terrific. Really any Walmart would be better. Worst campground we have visited. We arrived thinking we could bike the three miles to downtown Annapolis, not so-very little bike friendly roads. Too far to walk. Good news easy walk to commissary and NEX. It is truly a nasty campground. Stay 30 miles away and rent a car. For six years we cruised on our boat and stopped in Annapolis at least twice a year. Visited the Academy, talked to Blue Angels, saw lots of history. Kinda a bummer this time. We did catch a cab twice a day but that adds $30 or so to the daily bill. At least at Sigsbee you can hop on the bike and ride to breakfast or downtown. This place should rate 5 stars for location but the campground and expense of getting anywhere make it a 3 for me. First and last visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2017
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Although a great location, this place leaves a lot to be desired! I rated the value based on location alone. Most sites are short and maneuvering is tight, so it's not big rig friendly at all. The lighting of the area was non-existent at night. It's located on a slope that has little to no grass, and when it rains, there is a lot of mud run going on all over the camp sites. Facility for showers/toilets were bare bones and out dated. Come on Navy, get with the program on this one, I would have expected a lot better considering it's right across the river from the Academy!! There is plenty of land at this Support Facility that a proper FamCamp could be developed on. The one nice thing about the MWR here is that they rent motorboats; however, they too were in poor shape and old - we had to keep the dewatering pump running the entire time, as there was a small leak somewhere in the hull.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sep 7 - Oct 20, 2016 and Aug 17 - Apr 15, 2017
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
You must make reservations via navybeds telephone reservations, they frown and act like they're doing you special favors if you just show up trying to check in. I stayed here in tent camping a few nights passing thru in 2017 tent camping as it is too cheap $3.50 a nite, place is no better than when I stayed long term (6 weeks) earlier in fall 2016. Management really is dysfunctional here, very corrupt place (base mafia games run rammpet here) which explains the dysfunctional atmosphere. Good example is the campground host isn't present at night, he's actually working down the hill as a charge of quarters in the bachelor enlisted quarters and not around if you have problems/issues-there are people in his RV but they aren't the hosts??? Funnier is he actually physically lives in his conversion van, you'll see a yellow extension cord plugged into his van to power up his fridge when it's around during the day. The people in his van are his moody GF some other young guy named Steve who will drive around the camp host gator service vehicle acting like the campground host-he's friendly and tries to help it not a campground host...not making this up either...campground host is enabled to do this as he's the mwr directors pet-more examples of the corruption/incompatance at this base. During my visit in fall of 2016, older Lady who regularly works the desk weekdays of mwr/campground checkin didn't understand who is eligible to stay there when I called from California initially to make a reservation, she screamed at me in her moody frustrated state which I asked to speak to someone else, or her boss if no one else was available, this enraged her more so I just showed up and checked in when I got there. Needless to say, she decided to carry a grudge and be even more difficult for the duration and forever with me. So moving on, this same lady either knows nothing about the area, facility or chooses to be difficult and not helpful/spiteful (I think the latter) as she was clueless about lap swimming options (this can be done 1130-1330hrs weekdays at academy LeJuenne Hall free of charge) she also overcharged me on a bicycle rental, charging me the daily not weekly rate. She also knew nothing of where to bicycle ride even though she's an Annapolis native (Annapolis-Baltimore trail is awesome ride!) nor did she advise about using brigade sports complex gym for workouts instead of the less than desirable NSAA gym by blue jacket community center where you check in for camping (brigade sports complex is best place to use showers as campground bathhouse is worse shape than showers/bathhouses in Iraq) Blue jacket community center isn't a good place to use computers, watch TV as again, lady at counter isn't friendly and quite rude projecting anger issues like you're stealing by using the blue jacket community center. Exchange food court is much better as well as brigade sports complex. Best is to check in after 5pm so as to avoid the day crowd entirely here, commanders office is across street and you'll avoid them too. When I departed, week and half later on a Friday a charge showed up on my debit card for camping $24 for camping I didn't do, I had bank stop payment when I noticed charge on Sunday, Monday the campground sent an email invoice about the $24 charge so I made a complaint about what a sneaky and unprofessional waste of gov. Time and resources, the mwr director called me which I let go to voicemail and she played the facetious female act like it was an honest mistake, again more insulting lies. if you're navy/marine corp go to the midshipman store at academy, any and everything navy you could ever dream of as far as navy/marine corp logo stuff. Base has a new exchange/commissary which are very nice, lots of nicer gentlemans wear only second to Oceanis in Virginia Beach IMO. There is a commuter bus (Dillion's bus service #220) to natl mall area wash d.c. Weekdays for $5 per person each way 4:30am every half hour till 7:30am to and loads in D.C. 3:30pm till 6:30pm every half hour returning to Annapolis. loads by navy bagels by academy. This is a nice option for natl mall sightseeing visits as well as this camping option is nice for attending Annapolis boat shows in spring and fall or attending navy midshipman sports games/activities. Seemingly there is a pervasive attitude problem base wide, base mafia crowd finds humor in being difficult and giving bad information as well as sabotaging people? Atypical childishness you find in uneducated/impoverished people who entertain bad attitudes & don't know better than to leave economically/socially challenged places to live a better life. Seemingly I believe they're trying to end tent camping as navybed people aren't able to book tent camping, they say all they can book is RV spots?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 7
September 2014
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Great location for the USNA and local area. But, camp ground needs lots of work. Lots of work. Recent host lasted less than two weeks. Had falling out with MWR and departed. Instructions for payment leaves much to be desired! Board states go to gym. Woman at gym would not take payment. Informed to call Gateway Inns. Nope! Gateway Inns (the number provided by lady in gym) told us "we don't have anything to do with payment for famcamps/RV/campground." Go figure. Went back to woman in the gym. She then decides to tell us they are having problems with Gateway Inns to collect fees. Few of the numbers were missing from the spaces. Bath rooms were DIRTY. The entire FamCamp needs to be cleaned up. Was told by a home steader camper that camp ground will get a make over soon. i.e. dump station, hook ups, etc. Hope it does happen. Place needs it. Woman who was working in the gym was nice. Respectful and professional. She has her hand tied as far as the payment system goes. Hope she gets higher ups to correct it. Gym does not take any payments. Gateway Inns on other side did a 'we don't know" attitude on us...as well as their customer service rep on the toll free line. Place is good location and should be turning a buck. But nope. Like other MWR ran operations, they don't know how to properly run a FamCamp. NOTE: Galley is closing down end of Sept 2014. So no more galley. That was nice. Long gone now. New NEX and commissary complex is nice. Across the street from old complex.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24-28 Aug 2012
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - This is beyond a doubt the worst experience ever! Phone reservation went slowly. I was told we'd have to take site 5 for 2 nights and then move to site 12 for 2 nights. Not great, but acceptable. It took about an hour to actually get checked in. The people seemed to care and were friendly enough but either their system is broken or there is no training. She found the first 2 nights easily but was totally lost on the last 2. After checking with everyone in the office and calling someone to go out and physically check the campground (none of which was helpful at all) it was finally decided that the book and the computer didn't agree with each other. Then another long wait to process the credit card charges to cover both sites. I asked why we had to move and was told "some rigs are too large for some of the sites" Actually most of the sites are similar in size and hold our 35' fifth wheel with no problem. There are at least 4 empty sites so it will be interesting to see what the rest of the visit holds. This place is badly in need of someone to take charge and straighten things out. The sites are adequate but nothing special, kind of brushy. Unless you really want to be close to Annapolis I'd try one of the many other camps in the area instead.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 1, 2011
(Updated: December 03, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Stayed here two nights early Nov 2011. Found the check in staff Less than helpful. Was like pulling teeth to get info. This was our first military Fam Camp and although the area was convenient and the base was beautiful, the camp grounds were not very well kept. Sites were overgrown, Table pads were full of mud (side where we had to walk to enter trailer). Asked if someone could come and clean up the pad or if we could move to another site. the move was NO and basically it was NO to having some one down to the camping area to do that before the next day. Finally asked if we could have a small shovel or push broom etc. again the answer was NO..."wouldn't know where to find one". Bathrooms/showers are dingy and unkept. Only good thing was my wife did find a shovel in the women's bath!! LOL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2006
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Stayed here two nights to visit local attractions. The campground is across the river from the naval academy. Highly recommend you visit Naval Academy chapel. It is a beautifully adorned cathedral. The tomb of John Paul Jones and other historical sights are available for visitors to see. Visiting the nation's capital is only a short drive away. The view across the river is very nice from a well-maintained picnic area within walking distance. The campgound was very disappointing though. No sewer hook-ups available. The spaces were very cramped with the trees so close. Could barely get my awning out. No fires are allowed. Luckily, I wasn't there for the campground amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
8 results - showing 1 - 8