Joint Base Andrews FamCamp

 
3.8 (76)
100122   1   14   0   57

User reviews

21 reviews with 5 stars

76 reviews

 
(21)
 
(31)
 
(18)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.5  (76)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.5  (76)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.1  (76)
Value 
 
4.2  (76)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
April 26, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Overall 5 stars. Great value. What the Andrews Famcamp lacks in facilities and updates, Denise makes up for in outstanding service and helpfulness. She's great. A renovation is in progress and I hope it proceeds quickly. This campground could be a money maker for the Airforce. Best value in DC for military campers. Tidbit for getting around, taxis can pickup and deliver from your campsite. Uber must stop at Virginia gate. Wish Uber was allowed on base like taxis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 24 - Mar 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Denise and Andrew are the kind of employees you need to run a RV campground, because they treat you in a very caring way. They have an information board about information in the area. For example they provide you information on where you can purchase the cheapest propane gas. I think that is very important to RV's people. I highly recommend any RV camper to stay at Famcamp, because the location is great to Washington, DC and the surrounding area, and Denise and Andrew will treat you the way you would like to be treat. Thanks Ronald C.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great Place to tour Washington DC from. The Metro rail Branch Ave station is a 10 minute drive from the campground and the fare was 3.75 from me and half that for my wife (65) during the off peak hours. All day parking at the station was $5.25. Fares and parking can be paid with the use of a Smart-card. The card can be purchased at the Metro station and loaded with money from a credit card and then used to ride the rail and bus system without having to carry cash. Sometimes the campground office has a few Smart-cards that you can use instead of purchasing your own. You can take the card to the station and load it with money from your credit card. That will save the $5.00 purchase price for the card. When you are finished touring return the card to the office for someone else to use. The sites at the campground are all paved with concrete and level with good separation. All utilities work fine. The roads are gravel and not in the best shape, but are not a problem. The hosts where great and very helpful with information about the area and touring DC. Shower facilities are old but very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July/August 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground was great. We had read a couple reviews that were not too flattering. We made reservations for the last week of July/first weekend of August and when we arrived we discovered that we were given Space 1. This space overlooks the #17 green of the Andrews AFB East Golf Course. The location is great for sightseeing. Close to a DC Metra station. The camper-room/lounge and laundry were open 24 hours. The park was clean and well manicured. We truly enjoyed the stay and well stay here again when in the DC area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 23-28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location to visit DC. Camp Host and MWR staff were great help. We had spot #1 that gave us a great view of #17 green when we were there during the day. The location had a concrete pad however make sure you have a hose extension for the sewer as the sewage is at the front of the pad for some reason. Internet was scratchy at best as they have Hughes Net and apparently is limited to how much gig they can use each month. Park was very clean. Upon arriving at the base we had our camper inspected/searched, told security prior to opening camper where my weapon was at and he had no problem and was very respectful and helpful to check it into the armory. Everyone at Joint Andrews was GREAT!!! Internet is the thing I am downgrading or everything would be a 5. If you have kids the camp building offers a pool table, air hockey, darts and directv. I will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 18-28 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As always, we enjoy our stay here. They seem to be having a tick problem this year and might want to check into it. They also might want to look into updating electrical hookups to 50 amp, lots of big rigs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 08-10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent, concrete pads and roomy spaces. The park is nestled in a nice woodsy area adjacent to one of the three golf courses on base. Kind of far to the commissary/exchange and the wifi was often too slow to use, but overall I still give it five stars. The camp office people were extremely friendly and helpful, and one of the camp hosts came over to our site and introduced himself and his wife after we were settled in. Very quiet at all hours, except for the occasional plane taking off. Hey, it's an air force base. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 29 - Oct 12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived on a Sunday, our reservation envelope was on the board at the clubhouse. It contained out site #, directions to the commissary & BX on base and to the Branch Metro station. We checked in with Denise, the office manager, on Monday - she is very helpful, giving us metro passes and answered all our questions. The WIFI is great sometimes and other times it will kick you off. It was acceptable for us. We were able to get 56 TV stations with our antenna. Getting mail at the PO is easy. The laundry facilities were OK and free ice a nice bonus. The cost of $100 per week is great. Because of the government shutdown-12 of our 14 days-we did not go into DC except 3 days. Therefore to fill our time - we used the base fitness center (wonderful), golf driving range (free), rode bikes and made friends with other campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 22 to August 27, 2012
(Updated: September 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground for the money to use as a base to seee all of the Washington DC sights. Folks in the office could not have been more helpful.....explaining the location of the Metro rail system, offering Metro rail passes with money already on them. Passes that other folks had left.....we paid forward...left more on the card than was there when we started, and they worked great. Laundry facilities were ok, and free ice machine was a great addition. We would absolutely return when we come back to the DC area. We had no issues with the directions getting off of 495 and into the Pearl Harbor gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 24 - Aug 1, 2012
(Updated: July 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Andrews AFB. The staff was very helpful and really nice to our party. The Metro System is just about down the street and the people we met on the metro were helpful to "Country Come to Town". The BX & Commissary were fabulous, the commissary we ever seen. There isn't any diesel on post but out the Virginia Gate & turn right there is diesel there for a good price. Walmart is out the Virginia Gate as well. Exit gate & turn right at light, next light turn left, go under Hwy 5 & follow the feeder or something to that effect, Walmart & Lowes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Visited on 28 Jul, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I saw the other reviews and had mixed feelings about being here. But after getting here I feel that some of the problems voiced might be a tad harsh. The site I had was exactly what I was given to understand by the Host, a nice basic hook-up, electric only. There was obvious damage to the connection by previous campers (if you pull away from your site with the electric shore tie hooked up, you may want to consider using motels). But the staff was doing all they could to repair damages and keep the park running. The new pads may be close, but I have been in parks where these would be considered "spacious". Please remember, the costs are low for the area. The staff went above and beyond assisting me at every turn. Knowing that I have a disability, one even volunteered to take my wife and I to the Base Facilities, returning to pick us up after shopping. Will I return, there is no doubt.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May30 - June 14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay for two weeks. Each day some of the campers threw trash and bottles around but these were cleaned up quickly. Trash seemed to be the fault of campers not the staff. They had free wifi at the office and laundry. The metro station was about 4 miles away and made getting to the sites in DC very easy. I will go back to this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
18 June 2010 till 1 July 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
After reading the other reviews we were a bit nervous about this campground. We were met by a very helpful Camp Host. She explained she was there during the day and closed the office at 1630. We are staying on lot 9 and hook up was easy. The park is quite clean and well maintained, comparing it to several we had paid a high price for. The boys found the bathroom adequate and had no problem with washing clothes. The water was clear. Talked to one of the permanent Camp Hosts and he explained the problem with the water at times. They have to flush the lines regularly since they are at the end of the line. They are in process of putting cement pads and 5 of them are almost completed. Our trailer is on one of the graveled sites but we just had to wear shoes. We did find the Metro a bit of a challenge. Husband is handicapped and uses a electric scooter. The elevators not working at several stations made our trip quite interesting. Would we come back? Definitely.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 5 thru 12, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed being near family and friends with a very affordable, usually quiet, beautiful FAMCAMP. Even though we were in the middle of the golf course and close to an exterior highway that had a hole in it, that every time a truck hit the hole it sounded as if someone had dropped a dumpster. But other than that one annoyance we didn't get hit with any golf balls, or bothered by golfers. We were visiting family and Washington DC. I couldn't find any problems with the area and all the other campers were friendly and courteous. The campground was well maintained and located near a gate with access off base. I thank the US Air Force for providing such great place for visitors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 8 - May 25, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first time here. We camped in a motorhome. I agree the park could use some upgrading (ie, road grading as well as leveling sites. Standing water in places. Actually, it's rustic considering where it's at. No host there now but he,(Steve) may return. The MWR employee that is running the camp was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. It is by far the closest RV park to the DC area ("The Mall"). Metro was great, about 4 miles away. Didn't have to use the car in town at all. The park has it's short comings but you can't beat the price and the location, location, location. Would definitely return if visiting DC in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22 - 29 October, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My Wife and I came to DC for the first time, and this was the perfect place to stay, for the week. It was near to Metrorail that we used, once we got the hang of it, very easy to get around. The facilities were clean, Roads gravel and good. The office not open very much, but most folks are out sightseeing. Great place to stay for the money, and of course security. Near a gate, so access was easy. Full hook-up. Would stay again, given the chance. Being on a base, amenities were not needed, as they have golf for those who like that, a club on base I think, library, etc. When I did go in the office, the help was very friendly, and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11-14 September 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Visited Washington for a few days while camped here. The price is great and the operator went out of her way to help us with directions. Close to the METRO is a big help. The site was o.k. but the big negative is the stones. When you plan to go to Washington or use the METRO the manager has some leftover passes for parking. We left ours at the office since we do not plan on being back in the areas for a long time. The card cost $5.00 when you purchase and can only be used on the system. Maybe some other campers can enjoy. Would go back again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug. 12 to Aug. 26
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We just spent two weeks (during the summer two weeks is all you can reserve) at Andrews and found it very easy to get into Washington, DC to tour (about 15 miles). It is only 30 AMP but that didn't bother us. The host was very nice and helpful but is only there two hours/day. Laundry was clean and in good repair. There is a huge rec. room for playing pool, big screen TV, and cards. Also a smaller TV room with books, puzzles, magazines to trade. I do feel that some energy could be put into the sites as they are not well tended (watch the poison ivy) and a little maintenance could go a long way. However, it is a great place to go to play golf (I was told there are three courses) and biking is easy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Mar 14-16, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit to Andrews AFB Fam Camp. We love it because it is so close to home and easy to get to which makes winter camping easy. The campground is quiet...we've hardly see anyone else. The bathrooms are clean and warm. When it does rain heavily, there are some spots of standing water, but these normally dry up pretty quickly when the sun comes out. It is located on the golf course...how cool that? We camped here in a 36ft 5th wheel and had no problems manuevering. The staff that we've met are helpful and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
15 - 18 Feb 08
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent the President's Day weekend here and enjoyed it very much. It was a good basecamp while visiting D.C. We did not tow a vehicle & called ahead to make sure that cabs were allowed on base. Pam called a cab for us but they did not show up after 30 minutes--she was amazing & gratiously offered to give us a ride to the Metro. She also took the time to give us lots of information about the area, museums, parking, etc. Our site was clean, free of leaves, and reasonably dry. The shower stalls appeared to be new and the heat in the shower area was appreciated. We will visit again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
21 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2