Joint Base Andrews FamCamp

 
3.8 (76)
100122   1   14   0   57

User reviews

28 reviews with 4 stars

76 reviews

 
(21)
 
(31)
 
(18)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.5  (76)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.5  (76)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.1  (76)
Value 
 
4.2  (76)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
28 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Apr-May 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have been here a week and will be here another week. So if this review changes, I will update it. The campsite is conveniently located to DC. The sites are concrete pads and the road around campsite is gravel. The showers and bathrooms are very clean, but are also very outdated and old. They need a good overhaul, as it seems it is the original everything. Our campsite, and the gravel road in front of us, had a muddy mess most of the time, due to some sort of leak, according to the campground host, Denise. You will note from the pictures and there hasn't been any rain the week we've been here. Speaking of Denise: She is very matter of fact and to the point which is greatly appreciated! Another reviewer wrote she was trying to kick them out when instead of stating the fact: She was giving a reminder of check out time. She has also been quite helpful with information and I've seen her outside everyday we were there. Come to find out, she also keeps the bathrooms clean; probably why they are so well kept. She was mowing around the bathrooms with a PUSH mower and also weed eating while we were there! The whole place needed mowed and this lady was trying to do it all by herself! There is a busy road outside the gate and cars can be heard when the door is open with screen shut or late at night when the AC isn't on. While the campsite needs some updates and maintenance is beyond Denise's abilities, it's a great buy for $20 a night and I'd certainly stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
3 Apri 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I guess this place was upgraded since the last photos were posted because the sites are all paved now that was a pleasant surprise. We didn't see any camp hosts during our stay except for when were getting ready to leave she came out and said if we weren't gone my noon we would get charged for another day. That's fair I guess at least she came by for a visit even if it was to kick us out. lol The showers were ok, the pressure was good and the water was hot. The men's bathroom was relatively clean but could use an upgrade. The location and price for DC is outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 6-22, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
You would think this park being on Andrews would mean the base would care about the appearance and upkeep. That doesn't seem to be true. We stayed here Jun 2017 and the place looks like the base wants to shut it down rather than improve it. The park is in the process of being upgraded to 50 amp service however in the 16 days we were there no one worked on this and half the park is unusable because of the construction. I asked Denise when the estimated date of completion was and she stated the project did not figure in a new transformer for the upgraded power needs and so all construction has stopped and she doesn't know when it will start again, so half the park is unusable until who knows when. The club house has a pool table, fuze ball table, air hockey, and ping pong, however no one is allowed to use any of this equipment. Denise said management removed all of the rackets, balls, and sticks because parents wouldn't control/supervise their children and the kids were damaging the equipment. That said this could be a beautiful RV park, but it seems like the base management wants to let it run down to the point of closure. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
23-17 Jan 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our first RV campsite stay ever with our new (to us) travel trailer. We made reservations online and arrived after the office closed on Monday, but all of our check-in information was posted on a board at the office ready for our arrival. Services at our full hook up site all worked perfectly. The road through the camp ground was full of pot holes and slightly muddy due to recent weather. Bathroom facilities were clean, heated, and their only downfall was the floor finishing peeling off the tiles. We used the site as a place to stay while visiting family in the city, so we were gone from the campground from 0900-1800 each day. The ease of access to Suitland Parkway made the location very desirable for us, but you can hear a good bit of road noise while in the campground. The low price for staying in the D.C. area made it a great value for our use.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
July 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our stay for a week was a busy one... Famcamp is okay..the men's room was a mess needs some maintenance done correctly..The lady that works there is short with people and nosey..acts like a gestapo..if she doesn't like the job...find another..needs some updating to make look like it on a command base.....wifi not that great...being woke up by the weed eater at 7:30am... not nice either 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
30 May - 20 June 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our 4th time staying at Andrews. This time was by far the best experience with both Andrew and Denise being very helpful and accommodating. Denise invited us to participate in a pot-luck lunch during our stay and was a great treat. We took advantage of the base gym. Even though President Obama did play golf during our stay we were not locked down and were able to exit the base, just not via Virginia gate. Looking forward to our next stay in August.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at this base. Great location to visit the DC area. President Obama golfs on this base very often and if your here when he golfs the whole base is on lockdown including the RV park since hole 17 is next to the base. All campers are forced out of their RVs and brought to an area secret service can watch you, you can't make any sudden movements or even breath to hard. If you go to the commisary to get ice cream, you better eat the whole thing in your car cause your not going anywhere for 4-6 hours till Obama finishes his game. There overly strict. The lady at the office was very friendly and helpful to me but was very rude to my wife and kids, this park does not like kids. There's a game room with many games but my 10 year old son was not allowed to play fooseball, air hockey or pool...very bizarre. The roads on base are terrible, very uneven, many pot holes and even off the base there's construction all over DC.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Sep-Dec 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The only reason to go to this campground is the location. The staff is not very friendly or cordial. And neither one of the campground managers have ever owned or lived in an RV so their lack of understanding hampers their ability to effectively manage. The entire campground has two washers and two dryers and and random weak intermittent Wi-Fi at best. He created a further commute but we had a much better experience at Fort Meade Maryland RV park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Denise and Andrew were very nice and very very accommodating. The famcamp was pretty quiet for the most part. Pretty close to a freeway. They only have two washers and two dryers in their laundry facilities. They have a very good supply of informational pamphlets in the office for local attractions. Only 30 minutes to downtown Washington DC. Jiffy's is the best place for a sub or pizza, right outside the main gate to the right. (we remember that place from 43 years ago!) Golf course is just a hop and a skip away! I will stay here again is in the area! I stayed here 10 days. Thanks guys
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
25 Jul to 3 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
S.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice campground. Price is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Was a hot time the thirty amp service left a lot to be desired. However best place to stay for a Washington D.C. visit. I ran the generator to cool down the motorhome then ran the bedroom air at night worked well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 2013
(Updated: April 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We spent 7 nights there. Is close to D.C. if you want to visit all the museums and memorials. Camp ground needs a lot of work on the premises. Base does have a good Commissary and BX. Website is minimum. It works only if you go to the office/laundry rooms. It is a great value, everything from Nashville to D.C. is more expensive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 2011
(Updated: July 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Overall this famcamp was great. Directions were right on if followed. Pay attention to the directions and you will make the commercial gate with no problem. The folks at the gate were great, minor delay for inspections and right on in. No problem with the roads or streets getting to the campground, even at the gate. The folks at the campground were great, very helpful. Some of the camp sites are newly improved and it is my understanding more to come in that area in the near future. The attention to the landscaping showed the hard work in it's condition and appearance. Overall the facilities (club house, bath house, etc.) were fine. Trees everywhere, so a lot of shade. Might give problems at some sites for sat tv. Sites are extremely close together, not my favorite situation, but manageable. The internet service needs a huge upgrade. First problem was I wasn't told about it for several days after I arrived. Once I knew it was there it didn't provide reliability. If you get the signal it doesn't always provide the speed we are expecting and it will drop out fairly easily. For us that have working vacations this is a must. Finally, the manual reservation system is not reliable for those having to use it or the customers. There was a lot of confusion my last day about moving from one site to another because of someone coming in to my site. Turned out there was no reason for me to move at all. There has got to be software available for these folks to more efficiently manage the reservation system. Had no problem with location next to the golf course or closeness to the outside roads. Finally the dog park is not adequate and really did not provide a secure area for small dogs. Although I had no problem walking my dogs the area designed for that purpose and to allow them to run free needs some type of renovation, enlargement and improvement. If you visit DC you will like the location and I think the famcamp overall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Mar 12-26, 2011
(Updated: March 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Closest military RV park to DC and the Metro (only 4 miles away) which makes it a real bargain, however, it is small and the sites are close together. If in the DC area to be a tourist, highly recommended. Commissary and exchange large. The base itself is rather small for an Air Force Base. The park could use a good face lift, according to the camp host, it's better than it use to be. If you are a golfer, you would be in heaven.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 2010
(Updated: January 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our second stay at this famcamp. They have added some concrete pads. Nice idea but not executed well. They are too close together and when taking the rig off the ball, it was a long way down as the concrete was much higher then the gravel. My 35' Trailbay almost didn't fit. There is nothing for kids at this famcamp, not even a swingset. I had to move my neighbor's picnic table so I could get the slide out. Good thing he wasn't ever there because we were right up against him. There are other sites that have a little more room. Never saw the staff, communicated leaving notes, they weren't very organized but they tried to assist you. The location is great, price is even better and we will definitely return. Makes a great base camp to see D.C. Commissary and Ticketing office are very nice. Far more positives then negatives with this one. Make sure to use GPS coordinates to find the commercial gate as it is new and the road has been changed from most of the maps in the GPS systems. I would never try to take a rig through the any of the other gates, too small and not equipped to handle anything but cars.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18-26 Sep 2010
(Updated: September 27, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If you have a firearm, gate guards will call for an escort to take you to the armory to store the firearm. We use a sediment filter and never noticed any rusty water inside our motorhome, but the filter was unbelievably rust colored in just one week ...far more than when we normally change filters every 4 months. Voltage tended to sag under load, so we were careful to turn off the ac anytime we had any other load on other than a few lights. Could not get satellite TV due to tall trees, but some sites would be ok -- there are a number of local digital OTA stations. WIFI was "down indefinitely," but our Verizon broadband signal was good. We were stationed at Andrews, and have stayed here in the past so knew what to expect ...the best thing about the famcamp is the location. Other than location and price, the famcamp has very little going for it. Unlike most facilities at Andrews, the famcamp is a strong candidate for the worst military campground in existence (...we have been to over 40 around the country).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
31 Aug-7 Sept 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location to visit D.C., it was an easy commute to get to the Branch Ave, Metro station and travel into DC. We used the Smart trip card and were very pleased with using the Metro service. After getting into DC we were glad we didn't drive, traffic is horrible. Parking at the Metro costs $4.25 a day and well worth it for the convenience. At the campgrounds we were assigned one of the newly poured concrete sites. The site was fine, 15 foot wide by 40 foot deep and level. After reading some of the other reviews about these new sites I was apprehensive about taking one but am glad I did. There was plenty of room between sites, we parked the 5th wheel toward the edge of the pad and ended up with an 8X40 concrete patio under the awning. I would recommend not hooking up to water here, we did and found out quickly that what others had been writing about the rust was indeed very true. Bath house was old but kept clean and serviceable as well as stocked with the necessary paper goods. As far as the roads, they are gravel and dirt and the dry conditions of the week we were there made them very dusty but everyone traveled below the posted speed limit to try and keep the dust down. Anyone wanting to visit D.C. this is a great place to stay for the money, we would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 12-16, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Like other reviews this is a great location to visit D.C. Staff friendly and helpful. This could be a great camp grounds with a little work. A few gravels and maybe someone mow the grass a few times a month. Was able to use wifi outside of the camper didn't have to go to the office. Anyone wanting to visit D.C. this is a great place to stay for the money.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15 June thru 24 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
They have just put in six new pads! The only problem, they are so close that anyone with a awning or slideout will be on their neighbors spot. They need to rethink the whole process. Looks like an engineer that has never camped designed the layout. We spent 9 days there, the area is very historic, but, the traffic and attitude of the locals were so poor that I would rather be anywhere else. Maybe the campground upgrades will help the campers attitude of people visiting. Base has a very nice exchange and commissary, well stocked. Security forces personnel were very nice (had to check my weapon into the armory), escorted us to the armory and then provided directions to the campground. Won't go back, but, it has nothing to do with the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 9, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If they put concrete pads in like it looks like they are doing and concrete the areas around the pads, this will be an outstanding RV park. It rained for one of the days we were there which made it a little muddy. The camp host was very helpful in providing us a last minute reservation and the help she provided during our stay. Would be nice if they had cable RV hook-ups. Being just outside of DC, this is a great value for the money.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2