Joint Base Andrews FamCamp

 
3.8 (78)
106576   1   14   0   59

User reviews

23 reviews with 3 stars

78 reviews

 
(21)
 
(31)
 
(20)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.5  (78)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.5  (78)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.1  (78)
Value 
 
4.2  (78)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
3 May 2019 to 8 May 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
An embarrassment to the Presidential Flagship Base. Made reservations 4 months out and was required to call back every month after that and two weeks before we arrived. Once you find the place, look at the golf field and the buildings around it then the camp ground. Big difference, It is run down and very poorly kept. The sign directing you to the famcamp is an older sign with family camp ground. Looking down the road you could not see any trailers or the camp ground itself. The lady working that day did give a lot of information about the local area, and gave two metro passes to use, just give them back before you leave. The metro cards had very little money on them, so we put more on and turned them in with a lot more on them. I suggest buy your own at the station. All the reviews about the sights were correct. Due to the rain the area was swampy most of our stay. The amenities listed are not all at the camp ground. The bathroom/showers area need a lot of updating, shower walls are old, not very clean and yellowish in color. A lot of warning signs posted all over the place. We left a day early and informed the staff 24 hrs prior, and was not given the one day refund. I did get the run around from staff. I guess she needed the money more. During our time there, I observed three different persons working the place, and directed to another camp sight if I needed anything after hours. Out of the 18 pad sights, 4 had long term campers placed 3-4 months, one over a year (the assistant). I've never seen a place run that bad on a military base. It was a good location to see the DC sights. Would I go back, No. Check with the other RV sights and other bases.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
12 Mar 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I just called for reservations, as I often do, during the July timeframe but, the nice Manager lady said they are closed for construction to upgrade the sites until further notice. Her recommendation was to call back, starting in April, every two weeks or so until they get everything up and going. Instead, I made a call to Ft Meade for our reservation with no problem. My experience at this park last summer (2018) was such that half the park was under upgrade construction, while the other half was open. Just wanted to let everyone know, just in case have your options ready.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Sept 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The only good thing is the location for visiting DC and concrete pads. Very easy to take the Metro into DC. this could be a nice fam camp, but is suffering from deferred maintenance. There are a lot of areas roped off with yellow police tape, that looks like it has been there for years. It is really run down, unmowed, standing water, potholes and LOTS of rules and signs posted everywhere. Two signs in the tiny bathroom stalls instructing you to check after flushing, just to make sure. Lots of signs about what not to do. It is very unwelcoming, it's like they really don't want you here. weird vibe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 14 - 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We are here in May 2017 and the park is sorely in need of upkeep and maintenance; grass and weeds are knee high, tree limbs laying on the ground around the sites, lawn debris left in piles. The facility is old, run down, and in need of a real face lift. The sites are packed together leaving about 6-8 foot between campers and 30a service. On the bright side it is inexpensive and near the Green line metro station at Branch Ave. After looking at older reviews, it would seem that maintenance and repair of this Fam Camp is a very low priority.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
April 1-11 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
After reading the Jan review, I would guess there as been no maintance this year. Unpaved roads are still full of pot holes, trees and branches down and the weed are growing. The park is Surrounded by the golf coarse so I'm sure it a nuisance to them. I was challenged by a man who said his was park host about walking my dog in the park. He wanted to be sure I was a quest? He was gone two days later so I didn't follow up. That being said. Parking is on level concrete pads and the Metro was only 4 miles and with parking. We where for the D.C. Sites and it was a good location at a good price. With only 30amps I wouldn't recommend late summer visits.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Nov 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nice base, well worth the visit, lovely wooded setting. Campground laid out well, back in sites. Outer loop has fhu, inner loop is electrical only, tents, and bathhouse. Located right inside the east golf course. Office staff gets three stars. On one hand Denise was very informative about visiting the city, ask her about borrowing metro cards ($2. each and needed to ride the metro) I assume from previous RV'ers but spotty about enforcing the HOA's of the campground, letting long termers slide in appearance but upset about three buckets of kindling that we had near our rv door. Don't pass on DC attractions, drive in and out was busy but do-able for larger rigs, this is a nice campground. We would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Jan 2015 - Mar 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Not much good to say. I got a full hook-up but was unable to use the water due to the camp host coming by and disconnecting it whenever the temperature would get near 32 degrees. I was not allowed to use a heated hose or heat tape. When I could use the water I would have to run it for up to an hour for it to run clear. If you stay here, DO NOT drink the water!! If you use the washing facilities do not do your whites...the water will turn them a light brown color. Also the dryer will never get your clothes dry the first time so you will have to spend the extra $1.50. You can't hang your clothes out either, there's a rule against it, there are LOTS of rules. There is a road right outside the gate so be prepared to be woken up at about 4:30AM when the big dump-trucks start heading to work...It is LOUD! Although there are concrete pads, the semi-gravel road in the park is mostly mud.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct. 17- 21, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
RV wise this is a very good place to stay. Unfortunately, our arrival was met by a very hostile employee named *******. The first impression you get from a place is the reception. She was overbearing and rude and lent to the feeling of unfriendliness which continued the second day when we asked her for a map and she would not give it to me as one had been in our packet. The campground is in a good location to tour the area. For those wishing to play golf...perfect! It is a great deal. I would have no problems except the first which unfortunately made a lasting impression.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
June 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Good location to visit DC. However, it is only marginally maintained. You expect more from a premier base. Staff friendly and helpful. Sites are somewhat elevated in some areas and become a peninsula in the rain! However, given the location to DC it provides a good alternative to commercial campgrounds. We would stay again because of the location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Arrived at the Famcamp after hours and found our reservations as promised. Location was great and the staff pleasant and helpful. Sites was crushed stone with the exception of 1 or 2 with cement pads and not level. My jacks sunk into the stone surface. Base facilities were good with the exception of the Base Theater which was closed due to maintenance problems (leaking roof). The campground is in serious need of upgrading. The sites only have old 30Amp services, no cable and the septic system needs revamping. If the campgrounds were kept up like the golf course, it would be some campground. Using the Metro system to get back and forth to downtown DC was easy. The hard part was attempting to find the Metro stations. The cost for a family of 5 was $38.00/day to use the Metro.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This Fam-camp is an embarrassment to the AF and the issues need to be addressed ASAP. Sites need leveling and graveled. The power needs to be upgraded desperately as does the sewer. The 30 amp is very old and there is no 50 amp. The sewer connections are very low some beneath grade and they are at the very rear of the site. The roads are a mess, potholed, mud and very little gravel. There are puddles that form long enough for the skeeters to hatch and the solution? Scrape a little trench across the road. The managers are very nice people but do not seem to have the motivation to make improvements. Another major issue is the number of homesteaders here. Some rigs have been here long enough that leveling blocks are sunken in. The laundry? $2.50 a load and the machines are old. The most redeeming quality of this park is it's cost and location. Your close to DC and the Metro is only a few minutes away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 4-7, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.N. left this review using the Directory software: - My reservation was lost, although they would not admit they made a mistake, even after I showed that on the 29 of May we talked for 4 mins. on my phone record. This not withstanding they did accommodate us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jul 26 - Aug 4, 2012
(Updated: August 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The best part was the price at $16 a night. The camp is not very well kept and the bath area is in need of upgrades. I wouldn't have mind paying 2 or 3 dollars more a night if I knew they would upgrade the wifi (useless), the bath/shower areas and groomed the park some. Staff need to turn off the A/C in the laundry room as it does not work, waste of electric. A new one would be nice as it gets pretty hot in there in the summer. The staff are very helpful. The metro pamphlet was very helpful. We were able to find the metro station easily. With the heat, a 50 amp service upgrade would also be a plus for campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 2012
(Updated: June 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Not much new to add to previous reviews. The location and price are the best things about the campground. And those two items alone make it a decent choice. It apparently is a money maker but I wish they would use the money to make it a better campground and more well run. The campground help (and phantom campground host) have a schedule that is hard to follow. There are people there during the day at times. Satellite doesn't work so I wonder why it hasn't been put in. It is a real shame to be in the nation's capitol and have such a horrible campground. I think it is a problem of leadership and interest by the MWR staff. Who ever is running this place really isn't. The staff seem barely competent. There is no presence of someone who is running the place. The same issues noted previously remain. No wifi, potholes, basic upkeep, rusty water etc. New gravel was put down around the roads and campsites a while ago but many of the campsites are not level. How much does it take to get them level? Not good when someone has to raise wheels off the ground to get it level. Would we came back? Probably. Because of the cost and location. It is just a shame it isn't in better shape and more well run.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 24-30, 2012
(Updated: May 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This location is great if you're wanting to do DC. Overall appearance of park is pretty shabby--grass hasn't been mowed in weeks, trailers, RVs and dolly trailers stored hodge podge thru out the park. Only 30 amp and couldn't get satellite. We had a lovely site (25) that put us looking into the woods and this was very pleasant and relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
1-14 Sep 2011
(Updated: September 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Location to Washington DC is great, location of famcamp on Andrews no so good, right next to a busy highway. Camp site nothing special, laundry room has 2 washers and 2 dryers, one doesn't work. Restrooms usable but not what I call clean.. Water extremely colored with rust or dirt, not fit to drink. Price great for east coast, no reason to stay longer than necessary for touring DC. Ask office for Senior Fare cards for METRO.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 2011
(Updated: March 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Positives are (1)campground is in a good location for seeing the DC area; (2)daily rate is good; (3)bathhouse, game room, and washer/dryers (2 of each) are available. Negatives are (1)the main water system has been flushed three times in the past few days but the water is still orange; (4) WiFi is available, but not in your RV - campers take their computer to the campground office building for internet connection; (5) the "dog park" at the campground is an incredibly small area that is totally unacceptable as a space for dogs to run or chase a ball; (6) too many potholes on the gravel road in the campground;(7) no playground for children; (8) golf course is too close to the campground. I was walking my dog by the office a few days ago when a golf ball came close enough for me to hear it as it flew by -- landed about 20 feet away from me; (9) campground is very close to an off-base, heavily traveled road (which means loud traffic and booming music at all hours of the day/night). The rest of the base looks as if it is well taken care of but the campground is sorely lacking in many respects.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 24 - May 1, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
If you are hoping this FAMCAMP is like other Air Force facilities you will be sorely disappointed with the condition of the park but elated with the closeness to all the major attractions that Washington DC offers. FACILITIES: There are no full time office personnel and no posting of hours of operation. The Campground Hosts were not available - both were gone. The road is very rough with lots of pot holes and some sites were very difficult to get to with a large motorhome. Electrical hook ups though adequate looked sad all catiwampus. Pads are sparsely covered with gravel and anything off of the pad is muddy after a rain. A drive around the base reveals very upper tier facilities mostly new, very nice housing area, office buildings, BX and Commissary. Too bad they couldn't spend just a little on a revenue generating camping area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
5 May - 19 May 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We spent 14 days here 5-19 May 2009. We were assigned site # 1 which according to the bulletin board is the Campground Host spot. During our stay we had a number of visitors looking for info and help due to the fact that no one was in the office. It had rain for a number of days prior to our arrival and our site was a major mud puddle with lots of standing water. A number of the site had cut drainage ditches through the roads to get some drainage from there sites. There are a number of permanent or semi- permanent residents living in the park. Twice during our stay the water was shut off without warning for repair, when it was turn back on it ran mud for a number of minute until it cleared which caused our water filter to clog. For two days over a weekend a tent was set up in the recreation room with an individual sleeping in it to get out of the rain. Lot of traffics noises. As mention in other postings the price and location can’t be beat. Even with our troubles we would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 15-25, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I agree with ALL the other comments! It's nice for its solitude, the cleanliness of the bath house and other facilities, and its close proximity to D.C. and the Metro line. It's not so nice because most sites are uneven, all are graveled (not well), the CG roads are dirt/gravel (chunky and rough) and the electric only section is full of old, moldy campers. Because of the low rate (thankfully) I would stay here again, because the positives more then outweigh the negatives. There is recycling here, a good commissary with many organics, a dog-potty area with baggies provided, and plenty of trees for shade and solitude. There are no playground facilities near, and no place for kids to ride bikes/scooters, though. We kept busy visiting the area anyway, so it worked out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2