Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
94710 1 11 1 39

User reviews

83 reviews
 
41%
 
37%
 
17%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.1(83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(83)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(83)
Value
 
4.4(83)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Sept 16 - 17, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My campground experience is limited to Eglin AFB, Hurlburt Field and now Barksdale AFB. Barksdale wins...hands down! If it's it's peace and tranquility you're looking for, this is it. The new office, dayroom, laundry and bathouse complex is top of the line. Paul Willamson runs a great ship. The daytime employees promptly responded to every request (propane, minor maintenance, etc). There are two host families that are on duty, during the evenings, each a week at a time. They are retired, Sherman/Helen and Bob/Tina. These are GREAT folks, friendly and very helpful! I've had more interaction with Tina and Bob than with Sherman and Helen but both couples are super. Many evenings were spent around a campfire, listening to 60's oldies and sharing stories from our military careers. It quickly became a home away from home. I've watched late night arrivals roll into the park. Bob and Tina were quick to help the new arrival get parked and hooked up with never a complaint. The following are my only recommendations to help improve an already outstanding facility: Civil Engineers could spray for mosquitoes weekly to help keep the insect population down to a less bothersome level. Following a rain shower, the clay soil causes water to stand for days. Once again, CE could have a project to spread sand around the trailers. This would faciliate drainage and be less messy than presently exists. The office complex has a nice screened in room on the rear of the building. I would like to see the installation of a multi-purpose weight machine (exercise equipment). The base gym is 6 miles away and is inconvenient for those seeking a quick exercise experience. Overall, this experience has been great. The highest praise goes to the daytime staff and especially to the evening/weekend camp hosts. The hosts made all the difference. Steven Duke, MSgt, Eglin AFB, FL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
20-25 Nov., 2007
(Updated: November 25, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
While here at Barksdale, AFB FAMCAMP I had the opportunity to have lengthy conversations with the camp manager and both of the camp hosts. Currently there is not a length of stay policy but the manager insures me that if/whenever the FAMCAMP is full there will be a 30 day limit and whoever reaches it first will have to leave for at least 24 hours then go to overflow to wait for the next site. With two camp hosts and a manager on site the office is staffed 7 days a week until 8 PM. We have extended our stay here to six days because of the weather. This camp is located on low land and is very saturated with water right now with some sites almost completely under water. The manager/hosts avoid putting rigs in low sites as long as others are available and are quick to advise about the low ones. We are next to a low one and I'll take pictures when it stops raining. (I've already posted some taken from atop my 5th wheel). Otherwise, this FAMCAMP has been very adequately reported in the previous reviews. We and our friends traveling with us both have NAS, Jacksonville, FL base stickers and had no problem getting through the commercial gate. The threat conditions are Alpha and the gate guard only checked the drivers military ID. Tight left turn then just follow the FAMCAMP signs to the campground. If you miss the first right turn into the campground there is another one about 100 yards down the road. We had Thanksgiving dinner in the mess hall with the troops. Very nice meal and super service. Everyone was very friendly and we all had a great time. For the four of us the total was a whopping $12.30 and tips are not allowed. Also got in a round of golf on Friday - the only sunny day - and it was $26.00 PP with electric cart. Very nice lay out and in very good condition.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is outstanding. Sites are nice and level with slabs. It has a nice washers and dryers and the area is beautiful. Also the price is very reasonable at $350 per month. I recommend this one to everyone. Lots to do around Shreveport Bossier.
AA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct. 30, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A top notch campground. Staff and host were friendly and very helpful. The sites are spacious and level. We were in one of the center sites and had no problem with satellite connectivity. The perimeter sites have shade trees so satellite connection may be tricky. The grounds are well kept and the new facilities are great. The washer and dryers are inexpensive and the free ice is a plus. The commissary and Exchange are very nice. Static display of Museum aircraft is great and worth a couple of hours of your day. We will certainly return. Make sure you come in through the industrial gate (exit 23) which is open 24 hrs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 3-13, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Everyone's said it- the new BAFB Famcamp is great. Terrific, wonderfully clean & brand , spanking new. Camp hosts are better than ever & the office staff is friendly. What else can I say ? Thnx Barksdale !!! I wish other base commanders know how much traffic, rapport & kudos this kind of facility brings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent facility, full hook-ups, pleasant Hosts, "near new" facilities. Level spots, most shaded by large trees. A pleasant place to stay. First come first served but they have expanded their camp last year. Only negative is it is located about 4-5 miles on east of main base...but that just makes for a quieter stay. Highly recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
18 May 2007 - 18 June 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Good place to stay at in the Shreveport area. Camp hosts and manager very friendly and helpful. The new pads are great, very wide and easy to get into. They are crowned so try to stay in the center so you don't have to level. They were just finishing some of the contstruction when we arrived. At night it is a very quite area, during the day there is an occasional fly over (low and loud). The water still needs some work, its safe (according to the camp host) but there is some coloration to it. Can get TV with an antenna, cable would be nicer. The facilities are some of the best I've seen and are kept clean, very clean. The free ice machine in the laundry is a nice touch. I'll be back. Word to the wise -- keep your rig on the gravel roads -- the ground is very soft here and we saw a few have problems when they got in the mud.
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
10 May thru 05 June 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A great improvement over just a few months ago, we were there in January for a couple of weeks, camp ground was in very poor shape, now it's great, all sites were clean, the facilities were fantastic and the full time personnel were very good host. The couple of improvements that could be done is cable TV and wireless Internet service, but they did say that was in the near future. I'll definitely be back soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
5/19-31/07
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very friendly staff. We have a 34 foot MH and was in a back-in spot which was very wide and level. Laundry and shower spotless and the laundry very affordable. The ice machine in the laundry is wonderful. The commissary and BX are nice. The only major problem we had was setting up the satalite dish, it took over an hour, due to the trees. Cell phone and wireless card worked great. Went to the MUDBUG (crawfish) festival in Shreveport (every year on Memorial Day week-end) and had a good time. Something everyone should do at least once. Bossier City boardwalk is very nice, and a good selection of shops to explore. Just a reminder no pets on the boardwalk. Several casinos are located here too. So you can see the cg is within a short drive to a lot of things to do. The construction is still going on and when finished this will be one of the best FAMCAMPs. Keep up the good work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 6-23, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The new sites were opened for use the day we arrived. All sites now have 50 amp service. The pads are crowned (slightly higher in the middle) so you should try to park in the center of the pad for leveling purposes. Our rig is actually in the picture of the three rigs parked side by side. We are the Landmark with the silver Dodge one ton. We were also told that WIFI has been ordered and will be available through out the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 15 - 18, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Well we just got back from visiting friends. The Cg looks better than it did the last time in. The New Bath house was good there are a few quirks to be worked out still. The water at the new Camp sites is still sort of brown & you may want to buy water or get a filter if you don't have one. It wasn't full and that was nice for a change. The grass is pretty high and ticks are out if you have pets be sure to watch them for that. There are 2 camp hosts on site now all the time...but that's not saying much. We heard from friends down there that come every month for groceries that they are very rude. The lady camp host was rude and very annoying to them when they arrived and checked in. Then another man *a camper* noticed that the new shower in the men's bathroom was leaking and mentioned it to the male host there in the Bath house. He wasn't rude he just said you may want to look at the shower head in the here it is leaking water at a good rate. Needless to say the Male camp host decided to use allot of profanity yelling back at the man that asked him to look at the shower head. The host after that started spreading rumors about this camper and tried to get him kicked out of the CG. In our opinion either they need new camp hosts or pay someone who would actually care what the Cg looked like and took care of it better. There are more complaints but I will let others tell their side of it down there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
16-22 April 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I was a little apprehensive on coming here due to previous reviews, but this place is great! It was hard to find in the dark, so go slow and watch for the signs. It is a bit far from main base BX/Comissary, so plan accordingly. There is a small shopette a mile past the FamCamp, but it is just the minimums. It is very mucky in the rain, so stay on the roads when pulling in and backing in. The new construction is nearly done, but they are still working, so be aware that they will still be having to work around you if you do visit. They were very considerate of my kids when we were there. The concrete pads are well done, and the crushed rock access roads are adequate...another layer of rock was being laid when I left. Hopefully, they will get asphalt on those roads some day. There are a few pull through spots, (4 up front, 2 more around the back of the loop) so if you can't find a camp host to help you, then take a quick walk around and scope it out. I've never seen the set up that they have with many of the concrete pads, but it appears that the hook-ups are in-between two concrete pads, and one rig backs in, and another can pull straight in. If you have a 5th wheel, you'll have to back in, because you'll be off-roading to pull in, so the motorhomes should use the pull-in side. (Okay, I'm a little new to this, but in over 150 nights on the road, this is a first for me.) The new bathhouse/laundry facility is great. There is a great playground area for kids, and the base jogging trail goes right by, and is good for bikes and rollerblading. I talked to the Camp Host about people "living" there, and he said there was a lot of those types before the construction, but most moved out. During my visit, there appeared to be a few folks staying long-term, but most were just visiting/passing through. Lots of fishing and boating to do on-base. Other than going to the BX/Comissary for supplies, everything is right there out your front door. I will be coming back here frequently! Even if it's only for one night, it is worth the drive to get off the freeway and drive all the way around base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 2007
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The campground is on the back side of the flight line. Enter through the back, industrial gate, then follow signs. There is currently construction at the site....new spaces. The weekend was wet and rainy and the sites were very sloppy. The sites are gravel, close and not easy to back into (the loop is narrow). The drive from the mainroad could be widened to make the turn into the area much easier. I think the construction, when complete, will make a better situation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 25, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We arrived in a driving rainstorm at 8pm, with no reservations. Pulled up next to the office and waited for the rain to at least allow us to open the door without drowning. The office was closed at that hour, so when the rain eased up a bit, we went in search of the on-duty host. Found that there were two hosts, and BOTH were OFF-DUTY. Some guy at the bath house said to "just find an empty slot and take an envelope from the registration shelter over there." (Like the self register deals at some national and state parks). The instructions said to "drop the completed envelope with payment into the mail slot." However, no mail slot was evident at the office/bath house, so I just decided to figure it out in the morning. There were plenty of empty sites, so I chose one, hooked up, and fell into bed for some much needed sleep. Next morning, when my wife headed for the bath house, she found a keypad on the door, to which she didn't have the combination. Since there was no host on duty to ask, yet another helpful stranger was kind enough to give it to her. About that same time, I took a walk around the camp, with a cup of coffee in hand to see what was what. As I walked by the two off-duty host sites, one of the hosts must have seen this suspicious looking stranger, because he came out in his bathrobe to see what I was up to. I told him I was trying to pay my fee so I could get on the road ASAP. He told me to wait a minute to let him put on some clothes, and ten minutes later he opened the office, took my credit card, and I gave him some OJT on how to use the credit card machine. Regarding the mail slot, it was on the door of the former "office," which is a tiny shack that looks like a poorly maintained tool shed. My off-duty host informed me they just hadn't gotten around to changing the instructions yet. Hmmmmm... Now, to the campground itself. The new office/bath house/day room is a wonderful facility. It's so new they hadn't got the furniture in the office part organized yet. The paint smelled like it was still drying. There'll be WIFI, but the off-duty host said it wasn't installed yet. From my walk around, it appears that about 75% of the concrete pad installations are completed and the contractors were on-site at 7am examining the effects of the previous night's deluge. Those areas to the sides of the road and concrete pads were complete quagmires. Pity the young troop living in a tent in that swamp near our site. The good news is that the concrete pads in the old section of the campground are a much needed improvement. The bad news is that, even with the upgraded electric, water and sewer hookups, they're on the wrong side for half of the users, since they went for the cheap solution and paired them back to back. Regarding the electric hookups, there was a sign on the bulletin board at the registration shelter that said in big black letters, "THE ELECTRICITY IN THIS CAMPGROUND IS BELOW 110 VOLTS." Seeing that, I got out my precision voltmeter and checked it before hooking up (I would have anyway) and found that it was in fact 117.5 volts, a perfectly acceptable voltage for normal electric connections. I suspected it would be normal, because all the concrete padded sites had brand new junction boxes and wiring. Must be another instruction they "just haven't gotten around to changing." There are six new back-in sites ajacent to the bath house, separate from the main loop. They all have the hookups correctly located. The road into the campground and around the loop is made of compacted red dirt and heavy gravel mix. It is raised above the swampy areas and about even with the concrete pads, so you can have a smooth back-in. The road appeared to drain well after the deluge (into the low swampy areas -- poor tent guy), and didn't appear to have suffered any noticeable washout around the edges. And you could walk to the bath house without tracking mud onto raised surfaces. With all that standing water in the low areas, I expect in a couple more weeks there'll be a serious mosquito problem, unless they have a major abatement program going for the base. Shortly after paying the bill, we left and noted on the way out that both hosts were still off duty.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Feb 5-12 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Back at BAFB Famcamp again. Since my last visit in Dec 2006, a lot of work has been done on the new pads, hook-ups and bathhouse BUT nothing on the existing sites. Base Services manager says they lost a LOT of time due to rains. After the new pads, etc are completed (est June 2007) they will rework all the old pads and hookups (which are mostly on the wrong sides). Voltage is below 120 volts according to the sign & we did have significant fluctuation's. Be careful... The Famcamp was pretty empty, all full-timers are gone and there was plenty of room. All else remains the same. BTW- the easiest entrance to the Famcamp is from I-20. By-pass the Airline Dr. Barksdale AFB exit on I-20 and look for "Industrial Blvd". That takes you to the little used, back gate w/ no barricades, nearest the Fampcamp, avoiding all the main base traffic. If you are heading East on I-20 the "Industrial St." exit is 1 exit beyond the Airline Dr BAFB exit. Westbound- you'll come to the "Industrial St." exit first.
JH
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Dec. 30, 2006
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Can't wait 'till it's completed, because it's a mucky-mess in rain. Although there is a playground nearby, it's not within site, but the creek, with alligators, is closer to the playground than the camp. The showers and one washer/dryer facility are negleted and old, there wasn't enough amperage at my "30 Amp site" and my cord melted, and someone dumped an orange tom-cat at the park (or left it) and, after seeing our cat in the RV window, promptly cimbed upon and sprayed the RV window, RV door, and our car window. Then, the other stray cats began to show up...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 07
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground is undergoing transformations into a first class facility. The new facilities will be operational within 60-90 days. Didn't have any problems obtaining a site, nor did I see anything that looked like a trailer park. There was one FEMA trailer there and the only way you could tell was it's semi perm hook-ups. The staff of outdoor recreation went so far above and beyond their responsibilities to help me with a problem on my rig, it would have been easy to shrug their shoulders and say not my problem, but they didn't. They were extremely helpful and professional. We will be back to enjoy this beautiful spot many times.
SN
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
3-17 Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Before I begin I must say that major upgrades were in progress during our stay. We were told they were due to be completed by Christmas `06. I hope the management of the camp improves with the facilities. No full-time host is on site, but some one was in the small office duty daytime duty-hours most days.

The FAM camp is full of long-term campers that are homesteading. My neighbor was a PCS'ed NCO at Barksdale and lives full-time in the FAm CAmp. He said he'd be there for 2 FULL YEARS !! I heard that some of the residents were re-located retirees from southern LA fleeing from Hurricane Katrina, but I came to see first hand, that there were few (if any ) of those left. Every day there were 3-4 RV'ers in the overflow, waiting on someone to check-out. I never saw anyone leave for 2 wks except myself. I don't want to seem snooty but the camp has taken on a trailer park look & feel and NOT a FamCAmp for RV'ers or short-stay active duty families. Reservations are NOT taken. Now I know why. There are seldom any vacancies.

The bathhouse is a dump. One shower only, 2 toilets & 2 sinks; of which, only one worked. Dirty walls and floors & huge spiderwebs inside, like that Indiana Jones movie. The trashcans were full to overfilling that entire time we visited. Campground visitor walk their dogs in the grass near the bathhouse. You couldn't walk off the sidewalk anywhere near the bathhouse, without stepping in feces. It was EveryWhere. No signs were posted about pets and no one picked up after their dog. One guest even took his dog inside the Men's bathroom/shower.

I know that hook-ups on the wrong side of the back-in sites are old news to FAM CAmpers, so lets just say Barksdale has them too. The new sites are suppossed to correct this. Campground roads were dirt that turns to rich, red mud in the rain. We'll be there again in Feb `07, so I'll report back then. Shreveport is my childhood hometown, so I'd really love to see Barksdale clean up & effectively manage this beautiful site.
JH
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb 2005
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
A slightly remote campground on the far side of the base. Lots of trees, but we did find a site for satellite signal. We've seen an alligator in the nearby creek. Don't expect a fancy RV resort here. Just good 'ole campsites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not a bad little campground. Largely occupied by fulltimers and some active duty personnel. Has overflow for a few vehicles with 20A only in area near entrance to RV sites. Clean showers/restrooms. Honor system - find empty spot, pay by envelope drop in door slot. No caretaker on weekend/holidays. Lots of new sites under construction. Quite a distance to main BX/Commissary,etc. There is a convenience store/gas station about 1/2 mile away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
83 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5