Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
94710 1 11 1 39

User reviews

83 reviews
 
41%
 
37%
 
17%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.1(83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(83)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(83)
Value
 
4.4(83)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
June 14, 2011
(Updated: June 18, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Friendly and helpful staff. Located deep inside the base, this campground is very quiet. We had a pull through site with a concrete pad, picnic table, and full hookups. The clubhouse has shower facilities, a laundry, and TV room. This campground fit our needs and I would definitely return. We only overnight-ed here, and next time I want to visit the 8th Air Force museum. It looked very interesting, but we didn't have time to enjoy it. There is a nice commissary and PX here. The officer's houses here are beautiful; built in the French colonial style.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
22 April 2011
(Updated: May 20, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband and I was up there on the weekend of the 22nd of April 2011.We enjoyed our stay and was very pleased to see how clean and well organized this campsite was run. The hosts were very helpful ...especially Adam & Beverly Handy who were extremely courteous and informative of the surroundings activities around the campsite. I give high marks to this campsite for quietness and overall camping experience, planning to make as many trips back to this facility as soon as possible !!!!!!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 Mar 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spending a lovely evening among the tall trees. Just to add my admiration of the staff and facilities here. Plus the kids got a real kick when the B52 flew right over the camp. Hope they don't get an early start in the morning, I was hoping to sleep in. We are just here for the night, but wouldn't mind coming back for a longer stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 Jan - 12 Feb 2011
(Updated: January 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Back to Barksdale. 1st visit of 2011. From the last visit, the big difference I see is open spaces. 7 open today for example. The construction & placement of the 6 new FEMA double-wides is completed and FamCamp boss Teresa says it's allowed her to take out several MWR rental Travel trailers that were taking up regular Famcamp pads. So now there's more room in the Famcamp. Guess the FEMA trailers did some good after all. Same great park, facilities and staff. Lots of new building & renovations going on here at Barksdale, thnx to Global Strike Cmd, I guess. Still no diesel, however.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
27 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 27, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We just arr'ed for a 2 wk stay. So this is just a quick, emergency info entry for someone reading up on Barksdale before coming here soon. It's full !Packed !Overflowing. If you're inbound & reading this- pls call first. No they don't take reservations but they're great with current info & advise. They've been this full for several weeks according to the staff. There are no real RV sites empty; and there are MH's & RV's in every possible overflow spot that can reach electricity. My retiree neighbor says most of the "campers" are civilian contractors working on the new FEMA trailer/mobilehome "city", being constructed next door to the Famcamp. Pls don't get me started on civilians using the FamCamp. That's for the community blog section. Paul & Teresa were super helpful getting me squeezed into a makeshift spot that still got us w/e. I see some trailers that have been here for yrs. I really love this FamCamp & the staff but it's turning slowly into a "trailer park" in my opinion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 6, 2010 to June 13, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We found this to be a very well run facility. Was a little hesitant about not being able to make reservations but had no trouble getting a site once we arrived. The sites are large and spaced well apart. It was very hot and dry while we were there. There did appear to be a fair amount of long term individuals staying at this facility. The free ice was an unexpected plus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 14th and 15th, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place to stop and stay for a few days. Hadn't seen a B-52 since 1968. They fly regular here. Played golf at the base's golf course. Caught it at the wrong time. They had just aerified and sanded the greens a week before, but that's life. It's a necessary thing to to. The campgrounds were clean, sites were roomy though it seemed like a few people had been there for some time. Campers were parked there and not a sole in them for my 3 day stay. Restrooms were very clean. FAMCAMP people were very helpful. I'll stop by anytime I'm passing through for a day or 4. After all, there are casinos in town. Over all, a nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 23-25, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice quite wooded area, easy directions. Nice clean sites. Will stay here any time in the area. Have a 45 ft. rig, was assigned site #35 which was perfect. Staff was outstanding, very friendly & helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 23-28, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Another nice, quiet campground with very friendly staff. Facilities were clean and modern. WiFi was quick, and FREE! The AFB has everything you would want. The FamCamp is located on the quiet, wooded side of the base away from all the activities. It's been 5 years since we were last here and the improvements really brought the campground up in condition and ratings. Will always stay here when in the area. To be fair to all wanting to use this RECREATION facility, they need to start enforcing their "30 day stay limit" during busy seasons.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 21-Feb 20, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First review of 2010 I see. Barksdale Famcamp is still in great shape. Office area, computers, TV, restrooms, showers, are all clean and well cared for. The new FEMA trailers used for rentals are full, but do not seem to have overburdened the facilities. There are still several LONG time (years) residents and several civilian contractors taking up nice sites. (These bother me, but as long as there are openings when we come, I guess I shouldn't complain) We are in 1 of the "new" sites, closest to the road. The wi-fi signal is lower here, but usable. Just like someone else has noted, the electricity is low and fluxs at night (brown downs, etc.) Nothing damaged, but we don't have any real high tech, high power electrical gizmos. As noted in the "Discussion" section, BAFB is not using the scanners during the day. The new Bio-metric ID cards are only checked after 5:00 pm. Main gate construction is completed. The reworked Famcamp sites/roads are holding up well in the extensive rains BAFB has had this winter. The unpaved RV storage lot was underwater however. Very muddy, very hard to "extract" our TT. I'm on the waiting list at 3 other paved, military RV storage areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 25 - Dec 4, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice RV park the only problem I had was low voltage. I checked my site and 2 others and the voltage was 105 to 109. I did report it so I hope it has been fixed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 3rd through October 6th 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has to be the greatest RV facility we have been to in a long while. The place is quiet, clean and hosts are really friendly and helpful. The base itself is really good, nice size Bx and Commissary and easy to get around. Today we are going to look at houses as we think this area might be a great place to move to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 Sept -27 Sept 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Alaskans are back to Barksdale, our home Fam camp away from home. Everything's just about like we left it. Facilities still clean & well kept. Bathhouse, showers, wi-fi all working top notch. At 95 degrees, we sure love their never ending ice-machine. Great Fam Camp. The only new glitch is the Global Strike Command (ACC, the old SAC, and Space Command combined) that's HQ'ed here now has got some new requirement to register into a brand new id cardholder Data bank. After 15 Oct (so we're told by base Sp's) you can not enter BAFB without being registered into the new system. It requires electronic finger printing and registering your ID card into this new data bank. We tried twice but no luck. "the system's down" - you know the drill. The best part is that you can't do it as you come on base but need to go sit in a separate line and wait to be re-enrolled. Seems like a lot of crapola to me, but SAC always had some extra security stuff that nobody else did. Hang on... BAFB's still not registering vehicles by the way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was are first visit to a FamCamp, found it to be very clean and accessable. Entering the base was just what you would expect and the security staff was very helpful in guiding us to the camp itself. The onsite managers were not to much help but once we got set up and investigated all was good. Would recommend this camp if ever in the area. Base exchange was awesome, you won't want for anything!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
10 MAR - 12 MAR 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked this FAM Camp. The staff were just so-so--didn't seem real interested in helping, but not rude either. We got a pull through right near the laundry room and clubhouse, which was nice. There was a nice sized book/magazine exchange and computers to use, if you need them. There were lots of empty sites while we were here. There are only two washers in the laundry room, so they stay pretty busy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 15-25 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We're back at Barksdale prior to beginning our Fall/Winter RV travels. Barksdale Famcamp seems nicer than ever. The "tree men" have been here for the past 3 days removing the dead trees that a previous reviewer mentioned. It enabled us to watch the nearly full moon come up last night over the Famcamp. Four or five FEMA 3 bedroom trailers are now avail for rent @ $49 per night. They don't seem to bother the Famcamp or add to the traffic. The club/bathhouse is still great, ice maker still turns out tons of free ice. The wi-fi seems stronger than last visit and they have a new color Fampcamp brochure/map. Hurrah for BAFB MWR management.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 30, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground but too many rental travel trailers are on sites. Some sites have hazards such as falling tree limbs that the management want you to sign a waiver to stay in those sites. WiFi is great and free. Office and bathrooms/shower facilities are clean and fairly new. The pads are concrete, but the drives are gravel. Manager was nice and helped us find a spot for our big rig. Not all sites can handle a 35+ motorhome. We came here to evacuate from the hurricane on our way to Fort Worth and enjoyed our stay. We would come here again. The only improvements that I could recommend would be to cut down the dead trees that restrict certain sites and I would allow reservations. This campground is first come, first served. You roll the dice if it's a holiday weekend or evacuation for the lower part of the state. During our visit, the campground filled up very fast.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18-19 Aug. 08
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place and the management is super the only problem that we came across is that the GPS coordinates lead you to a now non used gate. They take you through a neighborhood that is a very narrow two lane and not much room to turn around. We found out that you need to come in through the commercial gate which is not marked too well and has Army Reserve on the sign. To find this gate use coordinates as follows, 32 31' 35.6" N X 93 40' 32.1" W or GPS 32.526547 N X 93.675596 W. After entering the gate turn left on Perimeter road and follow the signs. We were told that this gate is open 24/7. Other than that it was great. Just to let everyone know they have trailers on site to rent and also on site RVs too. $30.00 to rent an RV for the night. My daughter stopped at the base to stay at the Inn for the night and it seems there was an exercise going on and there was no room for her and her kids. She had to stay in a Motel for the night. Though they have been told that there were rentals here in the campground the word was not passed to her and it cost her over 60.00 for the night, plus the person at the desk was totally rude to her till the manager gave her some assistance in finding a place to stay somewhat within budget as her husband is active duty and everyone knows how that is. Now that I have vented, the FamCamp was great even though we only stayed for the night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
8-11 May 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WOW, the management desreves a big BRAVO ZULU, they were fantastic. The campground was full when we arrived, after 1700. Instead of them closing up and going home, they put us in overflow for about an hour until a plan could be put in action. They moved a rental trailer off a site and pulled us in. Then the remainder 5 rvers that followed us in got taken care of first thing the next morning. Great staff and super clean facilities. The only issue we had was with the campground host in site #1, I like to drink to, but this guy started each day at 0700 popping tops and didn't stop till the wee hours of the night. Then I found out he was nozing around our rig when we were at the airshow, seems he thought my OLD fresh water hose was his new one he had left out. He stopped us and asked us why we took his water hose, he was to drunk to even talk to, so Monday it will get resovled with the management. Other than that... IT WAS a great three days. Use exit #23 off I-20 and take Industrial Blvd right into the base.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24 Mar-03 Apr 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a quick report since there were no 2008 reviews on Barksdale. We stay here 4x per yr for 2 wks each stay. It's every bit as nice in 2008 as the great reviews from 2007 say. I wish they had not put 4 rental trailers into the new RV spots, but while we've been here the FamCamp hasn't been full, so I guess it isn't that bad. A great FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
83 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5