Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
94710 1 11 1 39

User reviews

33 reviews with 5 stars
83 reviews
 
41%
 
37%
 
17%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.1(83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(83)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(83)
Value
 
4.4(83)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 21 - 33
1 2
Ordering
February 23-25, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice quite wooded area, easy directions. Nice clean sites. Will stay here any time in the area. Have a 45 ft. rig, was assigned site #35 which was perfect. Staff was outstanding, very friendly & helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 3rd through October 6th 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has to be the greatest RV facility we have been to in a long while. The place is quiet, clean and hosts are really friendly and helpful. The base itself is really good, nice size Bx and Commissary and easy to get around. Today we are going to look at houses as we think this area might be a great place to move to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 15-25 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We're back at Barksdale prior to beginning our Fall/Winter RV travels. Barksdale Famcamp seems nicer than ever. The "tree men" have been here for the past 3 days removing the dead trees that a previous reviewer mentioned. It enabled us to watch the nearly full moon come up last night over the Famcamp. Four or five FEMA 3 bedroom trailers are now avail for rent @ $49 per night. They don't seem to bother the Famcamp or add to the traffic. The club/bathhouse is still great, ice maker still turns out tons of free ice. The wi-fi seems stronger than last visit and they have a new color Fampcamp brochure/map. Hurrah for BAFB MWR management.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18-19 Aug. 08
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place and the management is super the only problem that we came across is that the GPS coordinates lead you to a now non used gate. They take you through a neighborhood that is a very narrow two lane and not much room to turn around. We found out that you need to come in through the commercial gate which is not marked too well and has Army Reserve on the sign. To find this gate use coordinates as follows, 32 31' 35.6" N X 93 40' 32.1" W or GPS 32.526547 N X 93.675596 W. After entering the gate turn left on Perimeter road and follow the signs. We were told that this gate is open 24/7. Other than that it was great. Just to let everyone know they have trailers on site to rent and also on site RVs too. $30.00 to rent an RV for the night. My daughter stopped at the base to stay at the Inn for the night and it seems there was an exercise going on and there was no room for her and her kids. She had to stay in a Motel for the night. Though they have been told that there were rentals here in the campground the word was not passed to her and it cost her over 60.00 for the night, plus the person at the desk was totally rude to her till the manager gave her some assistance in finding a place to stay somewhat within budget as her husband is active duty and everyone knows how that is. Now that I have vented, the FamCamp was great even though we only stayed for the night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
8-11 May 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WOW, the management desreves a big BRAVO ZULU, they were fantastic. The campground was full when we arrived, after 1700. Instead of them closing up and going home, they put us in overflow for about an hour until a plan could be put in action. They moved a rental trailer off a site and pulled us in. Then the remainder 5 rvers that followed us in got taken care of first thing the next morning. Great staff and super clean facilities. The only issue we had was with the campground host in site #1, I like to drink to, but this guy started each day at 0700 popping tops and didn't stop till the wee hours of the night. Then I found out he was nozing around our rig when we were at the airshow, seems he thought my OLD fresh water hose was his new one he had left out. He stopped us and asked us why we took his water hose, he was to drunk to even talk to, so Monday it will get resovled with the management. Other than that... IT WAS a great three days. Use exit #23 off I-20 and take Industrial Blvd right into the base.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24 Mar-03 Apr 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just a quick report since there were no 2008 reviews on Barksdale. We stay here 4x per yr for 2 wks each stay. It's every bit as nice in 2008 as the great reviews from 2007 say. I wish they had not put 4 rental trailers into the new RV spots, but while we've been here the FamCamp hasn't been full, so I guess it isn't that bad. A great FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept 16 - 17, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My campground experience is limited to Eglin AFB, Hurlburt Field and now Barksdale AFB. Barksdale wins...hands down! If it's it's peace and tranquility you're looking for, this is it. The new office, dayroom, laundry and bathouse complex is top of the line. Paul Willamson runs a great ship. The daytime employees promptly responded to every request (propane, minor maintenance, etc). There are two host families that are on duty, during the evenings, each a week at a time. They are retired, Sherman/Helen and Bob/Tina. These are GREAT folks, friendly and very helpful! I've had more interaction with Tina and Bob than with Sherman and Helen but both couples are super. Many evenings were spent around a campfire, listening to 60's oldies and sharing stories from our military careers. It quickly became a home away from home. I've watched late night arrivals roll into the park. Bob and Tina were quick to help the new arrival get parked and hooked up with never a complaint. The following are my only recommendations to help improve an already outstanding facility: Civil Engineers could spray for mosquitoes weekly to help keep the insect population down to a less bothersome level. Following a rain shower, the clay soil causes water to stand for days. Once again, CE could have a project to spread sand around the trailers. This would faciliate drainage and be less messy than presently exists. The office complex has a nice screened in room on the rear of the building. I would like to see the installation of a multi-purpose weight machine (exercise equipment). The base gym is 6 miles away and is inconvenient for those seeking a quick exercise experience. Overall, this experience has been great. The highest praise goes to the daytime staff and especially to the evening/weekend camp hosts. The hosts made all the difference. Steven Duke, MSgt, Eglin AFB, FL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jan 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is outstanding. Sites are nice and level with slabs. It has a nice washers and dryers and the area is beautiful. Also the price is very reasonable at $350 per month. I recommend this one to everyone. Lots to do around Shreveport Bossier.
AA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct. 30, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A top notch campground. Staff and host were friendly and very helpful. The sites are spacious and level. We were in one of the center sites and had no problem with satellite connectivity. The perimeter sites have shade trees so satellite connection may be tricky. The grounds are well kept and the new facilities are great. The washer and dryers are inexpensive and the free ice is a plus. The commissary and Exchange are very nice. Static display of Museum aircraft is great and worth a couple of hours of your day. We will certainly return. Make sure you come in through the industrial gate (exit 23) which is open 24 hrs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 3-13, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Everyone's said it- the new BAFB Famcamp is great. Terrific, wonderfully clean & brand , spanking new. Camp hosts are better than ever & the office staff is friendly. What else can I say ? Thnx Barksdale !!! I wish other base commanders know how much traffic, rapport & kudos this kind of facility brings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent facility, full hook-ups, pleasant Hosts, "near new" facilities. Level spots, most shaded by large trees. A pleasant place to stay. First come first served but they have expanded their camp last year. Only negative is it is located about 4-5 miles on east of main base...but that just makes for a quieter stay. Highly recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
18 May 2007 - 18 June 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Good place to stay at in the Shreveport area. Camp hosts and manager very friendly and helpful. The new pads are great, very wide and easy to get into. They are crowned so try to stay in the center so you don't have to level. They were just finishing some of the contstruction when we arrived. At night it is a very quite area, during the day there is an occasional fly over (low and loud). The water still needs some work, its safe (according to the camp host) but there is some coloration to it. Can get TV with an antenna, cable would be nicer. The facilities are some of the best I've seen and are kept clean, very clean. The free ice machine in the laundry is a nice touch. I'll be back. Word to the wise -- keep your rig on the gravel roads -- the ground is very soft here and we saw a few have problems when they got in the mud.
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
5/19-31/07
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very friendly staff. We have a 34 foot MH and was in a back-in spot which was very wide and level. Laundry and shower spotless and the laundry very affordable. The ice machine in the laundry is wonderful. The commissary and BX are nice. The only major problem we had was setting up the satalite dish, it took over an hour, due to the trees. Cell phone and wireless card worked great. Went to the MUDBUG (crawfish) festival in Shreveport (every year on Memorial Day week-end) and had a good time. Something everyone should do at least once. Bossier City boardwalk is very nice, and a good selection of shops to explore. Just a reminder no pets on the boardwalk. Several casinos are located here too. So you can see the cg is within a short drive to a lot of things to do. The construction is still going on and when finished this will be one of the best FAMCAMPs. Keep up the good work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
33 results - showing 21 - 33
1 2