Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
94710 1 11 1 39

User reviews

32 reviews with 4 stars
83 reviews
 
41%
 
37%
 
17%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.1(83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(83)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(83)
Value
 
4.4(83)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
32 results - showing 21 - 32
1 2
Ordering
20 Sept -27 Sept 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Alaskans are back to Barksdale, our home Fam camp away from home. Everything's just about like we left it. Facilities still clean & well kept. Bathhouse, showers, wi-fi all working top notch. At 95 degrees, we sure love their never ending ice-machine. Great Fam Camp. The only new glitch is the Global Strike Command (ACC, the old SAC, and Space Command combined) that's HQ'ed here now has got some new requirement to register into a brand new id cardholder Data bank. After 15 Oct (so we're told by base Sp's) you can not enter BAFB without being registered into the new system. It requires electronic finger printing and registering your ID card into this new data bank. We tried twice but no luck. "the system's down" - you know the drill. The best part is that you can't do it as you come on base but need to go sit in a separate line and wait to be re-enrolled. Seems like a lot of crapola to me, but SAC always had some extra security stuff that nobody else did. Hang on... BAFB's still not registering vehicles by the way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was are first visit to a FamCamp, found it to be very clean and accessable. Entering the base was just what you would expect and the security staff was very helpful in guiding us to the camp itself. The onsite managers were not to much help but once we got set up and investigated all was good. Would recommend this camp if ever in the area. Base exchange was awesome, you won't want for anything!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
10 MAR - 12 MAR 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked this FAM Camp. The staff were just so-so--didn't seem real interested in helping, but not rude either. We got a pull through right near the laundry room and clubhouse, which was nice. There was a nice sized book/magazine exchange and computers to use, if you need them. There were lots of empty sites while we were here. There are only two washers in the laundry room, so they stay pretty busy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 30, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground but too many rental travel trailers are on sites. Some sites have hazards such as falling tree limbs that the management want you to sign a waiver to stay in those sites. WiFi is great and free. Office and bathrooms/shower facilities are clean and fairly new. The pads are concrete, but the drives are gravel. Manager was nice and helped us find a spot for our big rig. Not all sites can handle a 35+ motorhome. We came here to evacuate from the hurricane on our way to Fort Worth and enjoyed our stay. We would come here again. The only improvements that I could recommend would be to cut down the dead trees that restrict certain sites and I would allow reservations. This campground is first come, first served. You roll the dice if it's a holiday weekend or evacuation for the lower part of the state. During our visit, the campground filled up very fast.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20-25 Nov., 2007
(Updated: November 25, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
While here at Barksdale, AFB FAMCAMP I had the opportunity to have lengthy conversations with the camp manager and both of the camp hosts. Currently there is not a length of stay policy but the manager insures me that if/whenever the FAMCAMP is full there will be a 30 day limit and whoever reaches it first will have to leave for at least 24 hours then go to overflow to wait for the next site. With two camp hosts and a manager on site the office is staffed 7 days a week until 8 PM. We have extended our stay here to six days because of the weather. This camp is located on low land and is very saturated with water right now with some sites almost completely under water. The manager/hosts avoid putting rigs in low sites as long as others are available and are quick to advise about the low ones. We are next to a low one and I'll take pictures when it stops raining. (I've already posted some taken from atop my 5th wheel). Otherwise, this FAMCAMP has been very adequately reported in the previous reviews. We and our friends traveling with us both have NAS, Jacksonville, FL base stickers and had no problem getting through the commercial gate. The threat conditions are Alpha and the gate guard only checked the drivers military ID. Tight left turn then just follow the FAMCAMP signs to the campground. If you miss the first right turn into the campground there is another one about 100 yards down the road. We had Thanksgiving dinner in the mess hall with the troops. Very nice meal and super service. Everyone was very friendly and we all had a great time. For the four of us the total was a whopping $12.30 and tips are not allowed. Also got in a round of golf on Friday - the only sunny day - and it was $26.00 PP with electric cart. Very nice lay out and in very good condition.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
10 May thru 05 June 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A great improvement over just a few months ago, we were there in January for a couple of weeks, camp ground was in very poor shape, now it's great, all sites were clean, the facilities were fantastic and the full time personnel were very good host. The couple of improvements that could be done is cable TV and wireless Internet service, but they did say that was in the near future. I'll definitely be back soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
April 6-23, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The new sites were opened for use the day we arrived. All sites now have 50 amp service. The pads are crowned (slightly higher in the middle) so you should try to park in the center of the pad for leveling purposes. Our rig is actually in the picture of the three rigs parked side by side. We are the Landmark with the silver Dodge one ton. We were also told that WIFI has been ordered and will be available through out the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
16-22 April 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I was a little apprehensive on coming here due to previous reviews, but this place is great! It was hard to find in the dark, so go slow and watch for the signs. It is a bit far from main base BX/Comissary, so plan accordingly. There is a small shopette a mile past the FamCamp, but it is just the minimums. It is very mucky in the rain, so stay on the roads when pulling in and backing in. The new construction is nearly done, but they are still working, so be aware that they will still be having to work around you if you do visit. They were very considerate of my kids when we were there. The concrete pads are well done, and the crushed rock access roads are adequate...another layer of rock was being laid when I left. Hopefully, they will get asphalt on those roads some day. There are a few pull through spots, (4 up front, 2 more around the back of the loop) so if you can't find a camp host to help you, then take a quick walk around and scope it out. I've never seen the set up that they have with many of the concrete pads, but it appears that the hook-ups are in-between two concrete pads, and one rig backs in, and another can pull straight in. If you have a 5th wheel, you'll have to back in, because you'll be off-roading to pull in, so the motorhomes should use the pull-in side. (Okay, I'm a little new to this, but in over 150 nights on the road, this is a first for me.) The new bathhouse/laundry facility is great. There is a great playground area for kids, and the base jogging trail goes right by, and is good for bikes and rollerblading. I talked to the Camp Host about people "living" there, and he said there was a lot of those types before the construction, but most moved out. During my visit, there appeared to be a few folks staying long-term, but most were just visiting/passing through. Lots of fishing and boating to do on-base. Other than going to the BX/Comissary for supplies, everything is right there out your front door. I will be coming back here frequently! Even if it's only for one night, it is worth the drive to get off the freeway and drive all the way around base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Feb 5-12 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Back at BAFB Famcamp again. Since my last visit in Dec 2006, a lot of work has been done on the new pads, hook-ups and bathhouse BUT nothing on the existing sites. Base Services manager says they lost a LOT of time due to rains. After the new pads, etc are completed (est June 2007) they will rework all the old pads and hookups (which are mostly on the wrong sides). Voltage is below 120 volts according to the sign & we did have significant fluctuation's. Be careful... The Famcamp was pretty empty, all full-timers are gone and there was plenty of room. All else remains the same. BTW- the easiest entrance to the Famcamp is from I-20. By-pass the Airline Dr. Barksdale AFB exit on I-20 and look for "Industrial Blvd". That takes you to the little used, back gate w/ no barricades, nearest the Fampcamp, avoiding all the main base traffic. If you are heading East on I-20 the "Industrial St." exit is 1 exit beyond the Airline Dr BAFB exit. Westbound- you'll come to the "Industrial St." exit first.
JH
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jan 07
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground is undergoing transformations into a first class facility. The new facilities will be operational within 60-90 days. Didn't have any problems obtaining a site, nor did I see anything that looked like a trailer park. There was one FEMA trailer there and the only way you could tell was it's semi perm hook-ups. The staff of outdoor recreation went so far above and beyond their responsibilities to help me with a problem on my rig, it would have been easy to shrug their shoulders and say not my problem, but they didn't. They were extremely helpful and professional. We will be back to enjoy this beautiful spot many times.
SN
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Lovely quiet c/g with treed sites, most welcome in heat. Pets on leash okay, nice area to walk dog. Garbage cans at each site. Come here for peace and quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Despite earlier posters comments, there are in fact, 4 pull thrus, ones nearest bathhouse. Other sites are oddly arranged. Utilities are in center between two sites so that, for instance, if two motor homes are parked, they'll be fore and aft to each other in order for utilities to be correctly placed. A 5th wheel can only utilize the left side pad since most of the sites won't allow you to pull onto the site and get your truck unhitched, and pull forward. Sites 5 & 6 have no sewer. Also CG public phone has been disconnected.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
32 results - showing 21 - 32
1 2