Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
94710 1 11 1 39

User reviews

83 reviews
 
41%
 
37%
 
17%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.1(83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(83)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(83)
Value
 
4.4(83)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
December 14, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.T. left this review using the Directory software: - This is an excellent campground with a friendly, helpful staff. It does take several miles of travel to arrive at the BX and commissary, or to even reach the gate from the FamCamp, which eats into the savings on campground fees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
16 May 14
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stay here every year on our way to New Mexico. If you want a site you need to plan to get here EARLY in the day! No reservations made here! The office staff has always been courteous when I have called in making sure they still have spaces open. These are some of the oddest sites. Some of the sites have hookups on the opposite side from where one needs them. So, make sure you have plenty of water hose & electric to reach. Pretty much everything is on the other side of the base. There is a convenience store on past the famcamp but only the smallest of rigs - class b would get in there with any ease. I love the sounds of freedom that comes across the sky here at Barksdale.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
23-24 April 2014
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed here a couple of days in April as we toured the State of Louisiana. There are a lot of long-term folks in the campground. Very few spots are available for short-term guests. Bathhouse is clean. Clubhouse/office is well-appointed. Large TV and PC available for use to check e-mail, etc. Also, they sell beer and a few other necessities in the office. There is a mini-mart about a mile and a half up the road with some snacks and gasoline. No diesel at the station. Close to the casinos in Bossier City if that is your game. Some noise with B-52's flying over - but they do not appear to fly late in the evening.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 2014
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We had hoped to spend two nights here so we'd have a day of rest before getting on the road again. We are heading home to Nevada from visiting family in Pensacola. We are a bit disappointed in this FAMCAMP. Too many homesteaders with all their "stuff" piled up outside their rigs. When we called this morning to see if there was a possibility of an open site the phone rang 12 times each of the 3 times we called. About noon we got a call back. They must have a way to tell who called as there was no way to leave a message. We were told there were plenty of sites so we came on in. When we got here we saw why there were sites available - they were all the "backwards" ones. We were told to drive around and pick our site and then come back and pay and let them know which site we chose. Utilities are on the wrong side of the RV in half the sites. Yes, some have driven in forwards so it works for them, and then driven the tow vehicle across the grass. No problem hooking up water and power but our sewer hose wasn't long enough to cross under the 5th wheel to reach the sewer. So, we are only staying one night. There is a dump station, but it seems as if it would be an issue to use - you have to park in the middle of the road to use it and no one could get by you if they needed to get out while you were dumping. Love the greenbelt area between the sites and all the trees are nice, but weird parking and the feeling of not belonging. Won't come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
11March-14March 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice FAM camp but seems to be a lot of long term people. Only a few sites that were available and we were fortunate and got one. Nice level sites but roads need to be improved with some grading/gravel. It seemed that they haven't performed any general grounds maintenance in awhile. If you have a towable camper be aware that some sites you will have to pull in and disconnect, turn your vehicle around on the grass, a bit bazzar (refer to some of the photos). Wi-fi isn't that great but used my-fi Verizon and had great signal. Vicksburg, Shreveport and Bossier down the road a bit. I would go back if I could get a space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2013
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The FamCamp is located on the Eastside of the base…a long way from the main base. However, it is located in a wooded area, but the roads are gravel (very dusty) while the sites are cement and very level. If you like staying in the trees, then most of the sites will be accommodating. However, I'd watch for falling tree limbs in the windy conditions…since they don't seem to do any tree maintenance. There does seem to be some "homesteading" and/or people living in the FamCamp. However, we saw very few days when there wasn't at least one slot available and they do have primitive camping in the park next to the FamCamp. We liked that they had a clubhouse with a large screen TV and AC. Nice place, but few people use it even though the Camp Hosts keep it open until 9pm nightly. Finally, the FamCamp Hosts were…distant. One of the Camp Hosts was not very engaging nor helpful…in fact I'd say rude most of the time. However, Teresa the person who runs the FamCamp was very engaging and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
24-26 Oct 13
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Outstanding facility and staff (Thanks Theresa). Restrooms clean and heated. Computer available in office. FamCamp has everything except cable.... but local channels are available via air/antenna. Close to good stuff in Bossier City/Shreveport including casinos. Nothing negative to say. Enter via commercial gate off I-20 exit 23. Will definitely stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 4, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Donna, the FamCamp Manager, was really friendly and helpful. Her directions to the BX and Commissary were perfect! Think the FamCamp office had more amenities than any other I've ever seen. The BX gas station and Shopettte just down the street were very convienent!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 16, 2012
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Only stayed one night but found the place nice. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The cost has gone up to $18 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov. 13- Dec 13, 2012
(Updated: November 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
It's back to Barksdale AFB. Didn't see any current reviews so here's a brief update. Exit 23 off I-20 is still the preferred entrance gate. I-20 construction has not reached it yet. Lots of SP's on base patrolling for speeders. The long winding road around the back of base to the RV park has construction, so be aware. The new main gate construction is complete & the gate is open but it's NOT for trucks or RV's. The RV park has lots of open spaces now. It is the quietest we've seen it in 3 winters. Most of the FEMA trailers turned tempo family qtrs are empty and it appears that most of the "trashy" full-timer, RV spaces have been vacated or cleaned up. Welcomed news for us since we really love Barksdale. RV park facilities and base facilities are unchg'ed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 27 - ?, 2012
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Pros: Very nice, clean park and clubhouse. Staff was friendly and helpful. Fellow campers were helpful and friendly as well, and the park is very quiet (except for the cicada bugs at night, which is the loudest I've ever heard! Would be nice to have cable TV, as the satellite signal gets blocked by the thick tall trees (the same trees that provide excellent shade). I stayed here as a temporary home while house hunting, and it is has been very nice. Theresa and Paul are awesome, and the rates are the best by far in the entire area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 4-6, 2012
(Updated: June 09, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We inadvertently went into the wrong gate but did not have to turn around which was nice. We finally found the campground after making a wrong turn but once there we were greeted nicely and were given a convenient campsite. Used the shower and got ice from the laundry room...everything was fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Apr 6-10, 2012
(Updated: May 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very convenient famcamp. Sites very close if all fill up. Staff helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 13-17, 2012
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Upon arrival on a Sunday I went to talk to the Camp Host who informed me that there was someone on duty 7 days a week now. All arrivals should check in at the FAM CAMP main office during business hours before selecting an open spot. We told the on duty host which spot we desired but she informed us that that particular site was taken. There is NO advance reservations accepted at this FAM CAMP so I still don't understand that one. After finally setting up our site, I went back to the office and paid in full. She never really provided me any information unless I asked her for it which I thought was odd. Most FAM CAMPs provide you packets of information upon payment. Hospitality gets a low mark from us. Cleanliness was above average. FAM CAMP was about 8 miles from the base amenities but no really a bother. Commissary, Fitness Center and Museum were excellent.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 16-22, 2011
(Updated: November 17, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to stay,,, the staff was very helpful and the facilities were great. Comfortable shady spot, and nice quiet neighbors. Easy and continent to get on and off base, great Bx and Commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
19-29 Oct 2011
(Updated: October 20, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The hot summer drought season is over at Barksdale. Oct 19 brought the cold spell and hopefully rain. It was good to see Theresa & Paul again. Same great staff and facilities. Everything's working as advertised and we got the last spot available. Yeah, some of the longer term residents here are getting a bit "junkie". I wish the time limits were tighter but then if & when I needed to stay longer, I might wish they were not. All we can do is keep our place spotless and hopefully it will rub off on others. I for one enjoy being a bit away from the main base. Close `enuff to get there easy but far away from the traffic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 10, 2011
(Updated: October 11, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Check in was a breeze and received a nice site. Real value for the cost of $16.00. Site is level with good utilities. Beverly was extremely helpful explaining everything we needed to know at check in as this was our first visit to Barksdale. Hope they keep up the good work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2011
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Stopped for 2 days while in transit. We had a nice pull through site. Rode the bicycle trail. TV reception was ok. MiFi2200 and cell service worked. Retired Navy host was nice. On site store had beer and snacks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
June 25 - July 8, 2011
(Updated: July 08, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pros: Large, level concrete pads for RV parking. New (4 years old) building that houses the office, small lounge, showers, and laundry. Ice machine provides free ice. Very fast Wi-Fi (almost 4 Mbps.) Campground is wooded which provides some shade. Each site has its own garbage container. Full hookup site for only $16 while many FamCamps are charging $20 or more. Cons: Many long-term residents with trashy sites. Gravel roads. Only 2 washers for 42 sites which is not sufficient because of the large number of long-term residents. A large number of sites share their utility area with another site, bringing those pair of sites close to each other. The FamCamp is 4 miles from Industrial gate, 7 miles from the BX/Commissary. Power drops from 120 volts to 107 volts on hot days when many A/C units are in use. Weak to medium cell phone and air card signal. Trees could block satellite TV reception at some sites. Noise from B-52 flight operations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
5th of July
(Updated: July 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The directions are spot on. Very friendly staff. Went out of their way to take care of us. Nice shady spots. Everything we needed so am going to stay one more day. Update to the camp trailers for rent, they don't have them anymore. They do still have the mobile homes though.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
83 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5