Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
94710 1 11 1 39

User reviews

83 reviews
 
41%
 
37%
 
17%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.1(83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(83)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(83)
Value
 
4.4(83)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
83 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
June 12 - July 2, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very Nice Campground. We stayed in the new part. Level Concrete Pads, 50 Amp service, Water and sewer. WiFi very good. We didn't use the Bath House, but looked like several others did.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2-4, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed two nights en route to CO. Pulling a 27’ Airstream. 50 amps and pull thrus available. We stayed on the old side of the FamCamp with a lot of shade and adequate space between sites.Very quiet and pretty with minimal bugs amazingly enough. A lot of full timers in this section. The restroom and showers were dirty so BYOB - bring your own bleach. All dogs were leashed! They did not ask us for shot records for our dog.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 23, 2020
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
What a crock. I am 100%Dav my wife has an AF issued ID. Called to try and make a reservation. She is not allowed in base. It cheaper to stay of base any way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 5
March 6 2020
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
After driving all day and arriving at the base , we were told that I can come in to the campground but my wife who is not military could not . It would like to know when I made my reservation that my wife would not be allowed to enter. We are both in our 70 s . We have no problem staying at any Army campground . At the gate the security said that the Base commander rule was only Veterans . I will contact my Congressman and let him know how we were treated. I would think that if the Base Commander served in Vietnam Nam his rule would be different. (Editor note: this reviewer is less than 100% DAV.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Feb 23-26, 2020
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This is our second time here. Agree with previous posters. This just some additional information. It is not clear from the site directions that the Commercial Gate is only opened M-F.  On the weekend you must go thru the Main (West) Gate.  We had a problem getting thru and destroyed a window awning on a guard shack roof (45' coach + tow).  Could have been worse though.  There are many many many security poles and no straight thru way to get in for a large coach, especially if you enter in the wrong lane.  We tried not to block gate traffic and paid the price. There are offset poles before and after the Gate. Gate Security removes poles but are reluctant to remove enough of them to properly get through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
JAN 2020
(Updated: January 26, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice size lots (43'rig) with level pads 30/50A-WS, facilities are nearby, lots of shade so solar won't help you much here. However, this park is located in the "box field" approach landing pattern so you'll experience some daytime (at least while we were present) B52 low-level flyovers. Overall, this park rates 4/5 in our book. Another close-to base RV Park we'd recommend is the Diamond Jacks RV park which is only 2.5-3 miles from the West Gate. Their rates range from $26-$34 depending on discount/day of week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
January 8 - 11, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first time staying here. we decided to stay at the famcamp mostly because of the security. 100 percent id check. the famcamp was great for us it was not crowded and the showers and bathrooms are close to any site. the bathrooms could have been cleaned more. our site was level so we did not need levelers. the sites are spacious and plenty of room between sites. we used the east gate mostly which comes out at haughton was only about 5 minutes from the famcamp. the office people were great and very helpful. washers and dryers were available at $1.25 each. we will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Dec 26-30, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First let me say we travel in a 42' motorhome and tow a 4 door Jeep. As mentioned there is an older park where they have long-long termers and the new park for us transients. The new part has gravel roads but concrete pads for both the rig and the tow. I am not sure why but there is a concrete pad where the picnic table is however you have to walk through the grass to get to it. Now this should not be a problem when the weather is dry but during a rainy session the grass will end up following you back inside your RV. Not a big deal but just so you know. The entrance off Miller RD is easy but they do not allow POVs to enter that gate. It is OK if you are hooked up and towing but not chasing. Or I should say they frown on allowing the chase to come through. From the "main" gate it is quite a ways back to the park, opposite side of the flight-line. Be aware that if you need to come through that gate there are large trees hanging over the road and some are quite low. We are 13' tall and I am glad we didn't need to enter from that direction. The park overall is nice enough, everything worked fine, but for us and what we need to do when in the Shreveport area I am not sure we'd stay here again. But really it is more of a convenience thing for us rather than the park not being good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept. 14, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The FamCamp at Barksdale AFB has added a new section (OCT 2018). We stayed overnight at one of their sites on a recent trip. The older camp is adjacent to the new one and appears more used. The newer one has all concrete pull through pads (appox 60 ft). Easily fit our Class C and appeared to be large enough for any thing I saw in the park, including their tow behind vehicles. Large area between pads (15-20 feet) made for a nice quiet night. Wi-Fi was powerful enough to handle watching my FireStick without any lag. The bathhouse and laundry were as you would expect for a less than 1 year old camp. Well maintained and clean. The roadways were gravel, but in good condition. The whole camp seemed a bit sterile though. No trees at all. Appeared they clear cut an area of the base's woodland and plopped down 50+ RV pads. Full hookups - but no personality at all. Good for an overnight stay, but not sure I would have like and extended stay. There was nothing to see or do in the campground and I don't tow a vehicle. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15-16 April 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good value and very clean facilities. We were just passing through and stayed for a night. The site was level and having a trash can at each site was a nice touch. It had rained that day and many sites had pretty large mud puddles. The laundry and bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. Will stay again but it is a long way from the commissary/exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 15 2019
Overall rating
 
3.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We visited for three days and were assigned a spot in the new area. The design of this new campground leaves lots to be desired. The campground has gravel roads with minimum sized concrete parking pad and grassy area around the pad. Once you park on the concrete pad there is hardly enough room left to put your chair outside your door. The whole area is low land and the grassy area was soft, wet and mushy. Designers could have made the pads larger similar to Kings Bay GA, for example. Where on a single concrete pad you can park your RV, put the awning out with your chairs, and still have room for the picnic table. There are no trees or shrubs in this new construction. Very sparse looking. Even the old area had water and mud puddles at the parking locations. This is a good campground to go to if you are passing through, but I would not consider this a worthy recreational long term site. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
17-18 Dec 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Same day reservation, plenty of room in the new 20 site section. Entry through the commercial gate was easy to navigate, make sure you "pre-stage" at the stop sign and wait for permission to advance from the sentry, (even though you have been creeping along at 3-5 mph for the last 100 yards with no one at the gate ahead of you). There are 2 lanes with inspection pits that you have to straddle, and not drive between, unlike any other base that we have encountered, although the sentries gave no direction to guide us. On the second day we left via the commercial gate to visit the Camping World, which is just 1/4 mile outside the gate, and upon re-entry we were denied because we were only driving our truck and not pulling an RV. The sentry held our ID's, directed us to turn around and met us at the exit lane to return our ID's as we had to go to another gate, which is on the other side of the base. As a 25 year veteran retiree I understand procedures, but this was the first experience like this after visiting many military installations nationwide via the commercial or traditional gates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 3
October 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The 20 new sites are finished. They are long, wide, flat, concrete, pull-thru sites with full hookups. Still $20 a night. THEY DO TAKE RESERVATIONS NOW for the new sites. The hookups are conventionally placed and still shiny new. Driving instructions are still good. Check-in is at the old section and the new section is down the road (next right turn). The new section has its own bathhouse and laundry. The office/clubhouse in the old section is walking distance down a back driveway. This is a lovely quiet park in a secluded part of the base. Lots of tall trees around the park and deer who walk up onto the lawn. Had no trouble getting satellite DISH TV coverage. Verizon cell is pretty good. Park WIFI is weak. It is a 5+ mile drive around the flight line and down narrow tree-lined streets to the commissary and BX, but the BX and commissary are nice and well stocked. There is an asphalt perimeter path that winds all around this part of the base; great for walking and bicycle riding. There is a nearby park for children (walking distance) and lakes for fishing and hunting on base within a few miles of the park. The map of base given out at the office is really horrible, hard to read, a partial map, with an inscrutable legend, and not oriented to the compass. Manager says new brochure and map will soon be available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
March 4 to March 31, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed for 3 weeks in March. Make sure you use the commercial gate when entering the base with your rig. The famcamp is located on the east reservation (left turn once thru the gate) and it is quiet with roomy sites. However, but some sites are laid out incorrectly - they are paired with utilities in the middle. So when a rig is backed in, only 1 will have the utilities on the correct side, the other rig will need to run water, sewer, electric under their rig to the correct side. Wifi is "ok" if you are close to the office. The bathrooms were a surprise - a communal dressing room (no privacy)! Only 2 showers available but the water was hot. However, as far as I could tell the showers were only cleaned once during the entire stay! Only 2 washers, but 4 dryers available. There are 20 new sites being constructed, hopefully with a better layout. Overall, it was a good value and we enjoyed our stay. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 2-4 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'd pretty much decided not to come here but made a change in route plan and am very glad I did. It's a great little park, quiet, off by itself. I rated amenities low just because of the rather dumb layout of some sites. Whoever thought the side by side nose to tail arrangement was good?? Also those sites tend to be rather small. I was lucky to get single site 18 and even that was quite hard to get backed into. The road is narrow, there are deep ditches to beware of and after the heavy rain we'd just had I was trying hard not to tear up the grass. So just because you're told there are many sites available doesn't necessarily mean they'll work for you. It would be helpful if camp personnel assigned sites based on rig size so everyone had a fair shot. But then they'd have to understand rig handling so I guess that's a dumb idea. The base is very attractive with a great commissary and bx.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
9 March 2017
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This remote site on the far side of the base is in dire need of repair There is a lot of deferred maintenance. Sewer pipes are exposed right at the surface of the ground. The sewer connections at our site were broken and leaked when you dumped your tanks. Many of the sites are backward meaning if you locate on one of these sites, your front steps will open to the sewer fittings and your neighbors back. There appears to be plans to refurbish the park which is sorely needed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18 - 21 Jan 2017
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had a nice 3-day stay at this park: it rained quite a bit just before our arrival & the first 2 days of our stay, so the campground was very muddy. Most sites have concrete slabs & the roadways were graveled. The staff - especially the Camp Host, Teresa, were VERY hospitable & helpful. The base itself is laid out in a very confusing manner with many one-way roads, so it can be a bit confusing to drive around. Overall, a nice stopover campground! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25 Oct 2016
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Visited but didn't stay overnight. Talked to long-time mgnr, Teresa. She said big upgrades will begin April 2017. 20 new pull-thru' sites are being added. They will be back down the new road that currently leads to the refurbished FEMA trailers (now cute little cottage looking units). There is a new gate to Barksdale AFB in the new family housing area, approx. 5 miles beyond the FamCAmp. It doesn't admit RV's or big trucks. The gate that RV'ers now must use (detailed above) off of I-20, exit 23 -has new hours. It now closes at 1715 daily. If you're coming to Barksdale plan on arriving before it closes. There are no other gates that large enough to handle large trucks, RV's, motorhomes, etc. Besides these chg's Barksdale FamCamp looked about the same. Some of the vacant sites are the ones with "backwards" hookups and can't be used by most RV'ers. maybe they'll get those fixed during the big upgrade next yr. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. This was by far my favorite military RV park. It was nice and quiet. The folks there are extremely helpful and nice. We stayed in the clubhouse watching TV and using the Internet while we did our laundry. The commissary and Exchange is a few miles away from the RV park. Just a lovely, comfortable place to stay. I highly recommend. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 8, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Easy to find off I-20 exit 23. Staff VERY pleasant. Did not go to Clear Lake but close enough to walk via paved trail. Great for jogging or bicycle! Stayed in 43' MH towing. Did not have to disconnect.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
83 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5