Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Secret Key Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

give me your opinion 13 years 9 months ago #1923

  • digabe
  • digabe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 1
driving my motorhome down an expressway that has three lanes, I like to drive tn the center lane. I put the motorhome on cruise control at 60 MPH and let the world pass me by. I have my own reasons for driving in that lane, but what does everybody else think?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 9 months ago #1924

  • bill6750
  • bill6750's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 252
  • Thank you received: 9
I do the same thing. The road is smother and I can go to the right or left easier. People pass on either side. I am comfortable with it.
Bill & Jean
Bill Retired US Army,
Viet Nam Vet, 24th Evac. Hosp.
Jean Retired from DOA
2014 Tiffin Phaeton, 40'
2018 GMC Sierra 4x4 in Toe

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 9 months ago #1925

  • Nomads
  • Nomads's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I believe the "Center Line" is a trap.
In my years of Tractor & Trailer and RV driving, show me that the center line is hard to get off if you brake down on heavy traffic. The key here is "Heavy Traffic". Sometime the right lane is soooo bad that you'r force to move over the center lane. Do so with extreme coution. You never know whats around the corner ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 9 months ago #1927

  • larryf
  • larryf's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • 40' Phaeton MH w/ Jeep G Cherokee
  • Posts: 1785
  • Thank you received: 330
For me, it depends on the traffic. I also go 60mph. If the right lane is empty, I'll go there. I prefer the right lane, as I (usually) only have one side to worry about. If the right lane is full of slower vehicles, I may take the center. But if there's a bunch of slow vehicles in the right, there's usually a reason. Even in a 55mph zone, 60mph is on the slow end already. Although I try to avoid and dislike city traffic, THERE I take the center lane to help avoid the oncoming traffic.

But then again, we're rarely in a hurry and travel slow and avoid freeways. We prefer the "red roads" (as they appear on maps). The smaller county and state roads don't usually have three lanes. :P
Larry Farquhar, USAF (Ret)
Owner/Operator of this website.
The Happy-Wanderers
Casino Camper Website

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 9 months ago #1928

  • monkey44
  • monkey44's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 1260
  • Thank you received: 106
I like the center lane when it's available, but usually travel the "red line" road too when I can get to where I'm going that way ...

Right lane means too many lane switches when following slow traffic, and fast lane just ain't for me ! If the right lane is empty, or traveling at a nice pace, I will stay there as a first choice as long as the road rides smoothly -- right lanes sometimes give a rougher ride ...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 9 months ago #1931

  • bblhed
  • bblhed's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 78
  • Thank you received: 1
Traffic conditions are key on this one. I try to stick to the lane where I am not burdening other drivers, and I feel safe. This not being a perfect world I occasionally have to change lanes annoying other drivers, or making me feel less safe than I like.

I guess that a wise man who lived long before me said it best "You can please all of the people some of the time, and you can please some of the people all of the time, but you can't please all of the people all of the time."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 9 months ago #1934

  • digabe
  • digabe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 1
The reason I like travelling in the center lane of a three lane expressway are: smoother roads, faster trucks can pass me and nobody has to change lanes, I don't have to change lanes for merging traffic coming down an on-ramp.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 8 months ago #2014

  • skyking8
  • skyking8's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 350
  • Thank you received: 24
I just finished my latest trip from TX to SC. Can't count the number of times I missed an exit by being in the wrong lane. The real issue here is why can't state DOTs do a better job of advance warning with signs? Must be because the ones responsible for the job have never driven a vehicle.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 8 months ago #2025

  • Sandman
  • Sandman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 148
  • Thank you received: 10
Urban and heavy suburban Interstates I will use the center lane to avoid the exit traffic..

On the open road.. if someone passes you on the right, you are wrong... pull over..

Yes the center lane is smoother but if I can't run with the big dogs I have no business there (hazard to vehicular navigation)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 8 months ago #2026

  • Big John
  • Big John's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 41
  • Thank you received: 1
I typically run the center lane, especially when I'm going thru areas where several interstate roads intersect. I've found using the center lane often gives you a better option to hit your new routes or exits, most cities don't give you much warning about interstate turns, etc. i.e. Atlanta, you got to be on top of it to hit the lane changes for I-75, which changes left to right and right to left several times downtown.....Nashville is another one that center lane works well....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: give me your opinion 13 years 8 months ago #2050

  • utmtman
  • utmtman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 212
  • Thank you received: 0
I too drive the center lane or the first lane left of the right lane. My reasoning is, that way I dont have to move left around traffic entering the freeway or traffic traveling slower. I also drive at 60 mph since it seems to give me my best gas average.
Digabee you might want to see if you can find you an atlas or maps that have the exit numbers on the map. It does make it a lot easier to find your exits that way.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
Time to create page: 0.325 seconds