Camp Carlson Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (76)
119454 3 53 0 62

User reviews

76 reviews
 
61%
 
24%
 
13%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.3(76)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.7(76)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(76)
Value
 
4.3(76)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
76 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
24 Sep - 8 Oct 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I don't know where the previous 3 remarks were coming from 1) Cell service is good here on Verizon, 2) satellite is possible from about 80% of the sites 3) $35 a night is not above the usual for a lot of family camps, I've paid as much as $50 a night 4) there is a ton of things to do around here unless you think driving up to Louisville is too far to drive, there's Churchill Downs, the Jim Beam distillery, n numerous Louisville waterfront activities, etc every weekend 5) campground can't be more then 20 miles from I-65 (guess that's too far for some). This campground is GREAT compared to some we've been in, and would not hesitate to come back here again. Elect, water and sewer are all above average too. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
Jan 16, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a diamond in the rough. The camp hosts are very friendly & helpful and go out of their way to help. Arrived in rain & our host came out, running ahead of us, to guide us to our site. The shower area is about 5 x 10, half is the shower itself & has locking doors, nicest shower I've seen for a campground. Everything is very clean & they also have a fenced dog park area which is pretty good sized. There is a small lake & park area which is nice too. This is one to come back to stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
28-31 May 2017
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This is a peaceful, quiet campground located not far from the main Ft Knox base. Grounds and bathhouse were beautifully and meticulously maintained. There is a lovely hiking trail to the nearby lake where one can fish as well. There appeared to be many long-term campers, with semi-permanent fixtures, but no visible sign of occupancy. Such "homesteaders" make it difficult for those who simply wish to visit the area for a few days. The free WiFi was poor at best, and there was NO AT&T wireless coverage, which we understand is not the campground's fault. In our situation, we expect to be connected 24x7, so were grateful when we moved out of the gully after four days. Considering the wireless and Internet situation, we will likely not stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
June 28,2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
When we arrived the night-time host was very pleasant. I lost a part from my tow dolly on the trip, and the host was very helpful in helping me locate a local hardware store for the part I needed. The park had many units there and only a few sites were available. I was amazed at how clean the park was and the condition of the facilities were excellent. We only stayed one evening and had to finish our trip to Michigan. I would gladly stay there again if I am ever in the area. Alan and Carol Parmentier, North Port, FL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 8 2012
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I arrived at the CG late after driving from Branson, MO and was greeted by a volunteer, that wasn't sure what was going on. I were told that the only site available was one in the rear of the CG, where you have no Cell, Satellite, Antenna TV Service, Internet or Sewer. The neighbor to our left had a fire in the ring with the only thing but smoke rolling out and blowing in our direction, and drinking heavily. The neighbor to our rear had 2 dogs chained up, 1 was a bulldog, that we witnessed him beating that poor dog with what appeared to be a large stick. Now after all this the Home Stealers had every good site tied up. Some have been there, for what seems "THE BEGINING OF TIME". However, after getting setup we walked back to the office to get cell service and found 3 nice sites that were empty and in the open, and of course no one in the office. I did have the opportunity the talk to the MWR Director after leaving feedback on the "ICE" Website, and she assured me there was no home steadier there, (right). There is a Class a Motor home there that had a deck on the front of it. I express my feelings and told her that if there were Active Duty Folks staying there, no one would have any objections them living there, after all they are Protecting Our Freedom!! As a retiree, I felt I were treated inappropriately, or as I told her a 3rd rate citizen. Chances are I will not be going back there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 4
October 25-November 3, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are glad we were here in the fall as the campground is not crowded, it is very quiet, and the autumn colors are beautiful. We made this our main site for visiting Kentucky as we were close to Louisville, and within driving distance of Frankfort. We intended to go into Lexington but ran out of time. The campground is very clean and everyone was friendly. There are a few that look like long-time residents but their sites were clean and neat. The bathrooms, laundry and kitchen were spotless. Both washers and dryers were $1. Plenty of hot water for showers. I had a couple suggestions that a rack be added to the laundry room for hanging clothes and a couch in the kitchen area for watching TV. Right now there are only kitchen tables and chairs which aren't comfortable when watching a football game. There is a beautiful living room area at the check-in building but I never saw anyone using it when I was there. We don't have children but the playground area seemed very nice to me and was very convenient to anyone staying in the campground. Ft. Knox is about two miles away and has the best commissary I have ever seen with a great selection of meats and produce. We would definitely come back here next time we are in Kentucky.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
15-23 May 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Was very easy to find using GPS.  Arrived on Sunday after the office was closed (open until 1215 EDT on Sundays).  As soon as we pulled into the parking area adjacent to the office, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful camp host.  We had made reservations several months ago and had been assigned a electric + water back-in site.  We called a few days prior to see if by chance a full hook-up had come available and they said to ask upon check-in.  The camp host took me around on his 4-wheeler to view available sites.  We found a nice full hook-up back-in site.  This campgrounds is maintained immaculately.  The sites are level, easy to back in my 42 ft long fifth wheel.  Nice doggie park near our campsite.  It is split in half, one side for big dogs, and the other for smaller dogs, and no "land mines" - users apparently police the doo-doo pretty good.  The laundry/latrine facility looks brand new.  The washers and dryers look like they have never been used (eight each I believe).  $1 wash, $1 dry.  Very clean "day room" adjacent to the laundry with fridge and reading material.  Hard surface roads.  Mediocre internet, but it is free so not complaining.  Cell coverage is nearly none-existent, even with Verizon. Poor reception on broadcast channels (cannot receive NBC, ABC or CBS), but was able to see Directv satellites from a tripod.  Policy says no "homesteading" but it would sure appear some of these trailers have been here a VERY long time, especially the primo full hook-up pull throughs.  We have only been here one day but we would definitely recommend this campgrounds with our experience so far. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
March 18-22, 2020
(Updated: March 22, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in a "sleeper" cabin our first night here. It was crowded, with a double bed, very small bathroom, MW, under counter fridge, and tv. Very small table. So we upgraded to a one bedroom cabins that was much more comfortable. Both cabins were wonderfully clean; the entire campground was clean, for that matter. The mattresses are encased in plastic - maybe for cleanliness? But that made for noisy sleeping. The shower stalls were small; my dh and I are not heavy people, but those stalls were difficult for us to use. The campground is terrific - lots of open space around the cabins and in the trailer area. The laundry room was large and clean, so was the attached lounge. There are picnic tables/fire pits, and porch swings for each unit. The office ladies were friendly and helpful. It is a little strange that the tent spots have to use porta potties - couldn't they let tent campers put up tents closer to the bathrooms? The campground location isn't great, unless you are staying to visit someone at Fort Knox, maybe? We did stop at the PX; it is large and busy. I recommend this place; it is a good value - far better than what I have seen at many other military campgrounds and KOAs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Oct 11-15, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our visit to Camp Carlson Recreation area. The campground isn't a fancy RV park, but it's clean and quiet. Laundry s $1 a load and $1 to dry. The campground was less than 80% occupied during our late season visit. No problems with Verizon or satellite. We enjoyed visiting many of the local attractions, including Mammoth Cave. I felt $30 a night (FHU back-in) was a little high, but many military campgrounds are getting this way. The office staff was friendly and helpful. Making a reservation was easy. The nearby Fort Knox base has a decent sized commissary and exchange, including a well stocked class VI.
Camp Carlson Recreation Area
Camp Carlson Recreation Area
Camp Carlson Recreation Area
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
13 - 16 October 2019
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We have stayed here on numerous occasions and are hesitant to stop on our way south because of the location and the lack of services. The price is way too expensive for the amenities. There is little to no television reception and no wifi. There was no cell service. We had to go about five miles to use our phones. We have always commented on the cleanliness of the laundry and bath facilities but this time it appeared to be nonexistent. We will find another place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
June 3 & 4 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Enjoyed our stay. Attendants very nice. Be sure to follow directions for getting to campground if you wish to miss traffic of Elizabeth. Had no problem getting a site. We did have a problem with an electric 30 amp plug but was allowed to move to another site the next day. Great walking paths around entire campground including the lake area. Lots to see and do in the area. Buddy and June Buie
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 30-June2 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good little campground! Quite clean, new bathhouses/laundry facility is very nice. Ft Knox is close by, with all the usual amenities. I wish the Gen. Patton museum was finished, but for a two night stay, it was very good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 27-28 2019
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
For the amenities it cost too much. There is no local TV stations, satellite is only available from just a few spot in the CG, there is no phone signal, and there is no WIFI. If you like a secluded camp with no contact with the outside world then this is the place for you otherwise find another CG. The camp itself is well maintained everything was clean and the campers friendly. I would stay here again but only long enough to go the Patton museum, then I would have to go where I can get satellite and WIFI. I NEED MY TV! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept 10 - 24, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wife and I stopped for a week and ended up staying for two. The Famcamp is kept very tidy and the bathhouse is kept very clean everyday. The hosts that take over after business hours were awesome. One of them actually rode around tending to ice and firewood for the campers with campsite delivery. There's a beautiful lake area (Lake Carlson) for fishing. There's even a trail around the backside of the lake for a great early evening walk with your dog. Only problem I found and it has nothing to do with the "FamCamp" was the trash thrown everywhere around the lake by the fisherman. There was trash cans everywhere and they are checked and changed daily, yet fisherman would throw their cans, bottles, fishing line, dirty diapers wherever they fished. It was so bad, my wife and I on our nightly walks, filled a total of 5 trash bags...this is how I know the trash cans were changed daily. New hours, they close at 15:30 M-T-T-F closed wed,S-S. See camp host if closed. They have WiFi, you get a code from office or host, its slow but works for social media.
RT
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 10-11, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It was a great experience - off base but close, quiet & well maintained, friendly hosts, large sites with trees, picnic tables and fire rings & paved interior roads all at a great price! It was only lacking in cell phone reception (Verizon sometimes had 3G & 1 or 2 bars at best). General comments - Only a few sites were concrete, rest were gravel. Depending on your satelite dish, only a few sites would accommodate a roof mounted system and others will need a portable dish.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 10-12 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I just stayed for two days. The only open spots were water & Elect. I read all the other reports but I didn't have any of those issues, yes the WiFi was a little slow at times, yes a little dusty (but if the drivers would have slowed down NO DUST), I wish I could have stayed longer but the plans didn't allow it. The only big issue is the 120 day stay limit, some unit have way to much stuff around and outside their units like 5 propane bottles because they are allowed to stay for 4 months with out moving. If they were not allowed to stay that long it wouldn't take long to get a full hook up site. I have sat TV and didn't have a problem getting it in just had to watch where I parked. The power was a little low but heck every one was running 1 or 2 AC's; Washer/Dryers; and even one unit had a window AC mounted in the window along with 2 AC's on top. This causes elect drain on all spots. I didn't have any problems with the dump but I have a motorhome and the dump is on the drivers side, but i know some of the travel trailers have the dump on the right side so they have to drive around a circle or use an extra length of drain hose. The staff are the best and very helpful.I wish they would spray for bugs every once in a while can't sit out at night. BUG ATTACK !!!! even tried a fire. Really it's a great place to visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 2021 to January 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very Nice park. It is under new management and they working on improving the amenities. Nice shower and laundry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
21-25 Aug 16
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Had a very good time here. Easy to find, but the entrance is almost at the bottom of a hill, so slowing down to make the turn can be an issue. Campground is extremely well maintained. Grass cut, bathroom/laundry was very impressive. The campground is off post and no security at the gate. We were able to get the satellite up and running. Which is good because TV and Cell phone reception were non-existent. The WiFi was hit or miss most of the time. Two very nice dog walk areas. The table and fire ring were very good. We had a pull through gravel site which sloped slightly to the driver side. The only downside was the number of HS who took up good spots. The campground was very full while we were there. Overall great experience. We will definitely come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 13, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Positives: Professional staff, laundry facility, reasonable prices with age and America the Beautiful Card discounts, close to Ft Knox facilities, small lake with fishing, fairly new cabins to rent, well kept bathhouses, pleasing surroundings, free Wi-Fi. Negatives: It's a journey to get to this place from the major interstates. There are 32 rules mostly aimed at protecting their grass, Wi-Fi is as slow as a dead turtle, the squatters have all of the FHU 50 amp sites, the dump station is on the wrong side of every RV in the world, voltage is low (althogh, it was hot and the campground was full). Access road is gravel which make for alot of dust.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 20, 2010
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We arrived on June 20, 2010 and reserved a site for three nights. We left after one night. The campground was clean, the showers and laundry rooms were spotless, really nice, with a TV in the laundry room with a satellite hookup. It's the only TV we were able to watch. There was no TV coverage at the sites (cable, local or satellite), no sewage, no cell phone service and the WiFi never worked. I will say that Diana, the site manager, was very courteous and tried to be helpful, but not enough to bring us back to this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 3
76 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4