Whitaker Place Campground

 
4.5 (61)
69983 0 35 0 31

User reviews

41 reviews with 5 stars
61 reviews
 
67%
 
28%
 
2%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.5(61)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(61)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(61)
Value
 
4.6(61)
Overall Experience
 
4.6(61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
Aug 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Was heading north from Nashville TN to Northern Indiana. Not much available along the route unless you want the KOA east of Indianapolis for $95 plus a night. Found this by chance and was easy to make reservations via phone. Two nights to relax. Nice, well-designed campground with easy access from Alternate gate as the main gate is being rebuilt. You drive by the Housing Office building 403 where you have to sign-in. We didn't need access to bathrooms or washers so we didn't need the pass key at all. This made it easier when leaving. They gave me a nice pull-thru with free wifi. Check in after 12 noon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 18, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
When we stayed here from 6/18-25, there was construction at the Main Gate, so it was closed. The gate guard said the construction may be completed by year’s end, but don’t count on it. The only gate open was on Schoolhouse Rd – so, from HWY 31, turn on CR 800 (Old Hospital Rd), Left on 22nd St to the end; turn left and then immediate Right. This road leads straight into the CG. The roads within the CG are gravel, as are the sites. Our site #6 pad was fairly level, sloping down a bit at the front and right side. Ample space at each site, more than enough room for RV and vehicle. We were across from the older bathroom, which was kept clean & supplied. A big downside: There are NO trash dumpsters in or near the CG. You must drive to the nearest dumpster south on Durban St, about a couple minute’s drive. They also have recycling in that area. At the CG, they have plastic and aluminum recycling. On most days, you will hear the sound of gunfire – not from the army troops, but from a civilian firing range on Camp Atterbury. So, it’s not as quiet here as we’d like. There is a large lap-pool across the street within walking distance from the CG. We enjoyed cooling off and getting some cardio exercise there. Speedtests - At&t: 37DL, 1.64 UL; Verizon: 887.8DL, 3.05UL Recommend the Taxman Brewery for some delicious craft Belgian-style beer and eclectic food fare.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20-27 Oct 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was an interesting visit as it was a time as Camp Atterbury was receiving "guests" from Afghanistan. It is striking how dire the times are for these people. Watching how the military steps up once again for humanitarian care is heartwarming (est. 40% are small children). Now, as to the Campground, Mark the Host was gracious and helpful from the moment we entered the park. He guided us to our site, gave us directions to on base facilities and just overall a excellent person. The park itself is roomy, fairly, easily fitting big-rigs, well maintained and peaceful. Only one of the four wash machines (free to use) was in operation. Mark did say new ones were on order.. With the current supply chain issues, I wouldn't hold my breath but, washer and dryer use was free! There is a pond on site which allows fishing (catch & release), a great place to have a picnic lunch or just sit and relax. The local area has all the amenities necessary within a few miles, the All Ranks club is great for food and drink, personnel friendly and accommodating. Did not visit the PX which appeared to be small and was very busy with providing for The Guests.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Mark is a super host. He was there every time you needed him. He answered all our questions and knew a lot about the camp ground. We have traveled all over and Camp Atterbury is by far the best .
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 28-31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Memorial day weekend was fantastic with all of the things that were available. Jim and Sally worked hard to get everything in order. This is my wife's favorite campground beings it's close and quiet and secure. We've never had an issue with anything. I only wish they'd bring back trash bins and firewood at every camp site. The pool is closed again this year so not as much fun for my daughter. We'll still come back and relax and recommend to anyone else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 28-31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are new to the military campground experience and Whitaker Place was a great introduction. The sites are clean, with full hook-up. I really liked the gravel/cement perimeter design as it helped keep our site clean. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The kayak races and pond fishing was great for our children, they had a lot of fun! My wife enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and general feeling of safety. I loved that our children could ride their bikes around and I didn't feel the need to be over-protective. I never realized how much we both missed the military community. Ive read other reviews about the lack of trash receptacles, but didn't find this to be a big issue for us. It's a good excuse to go for a walk. It would be great if they brought back the firewood. Even if they charged for it, the convenience of grabbing firewood at the campground would be great. I am not sure if it is possible, but I would love to see some trails added near the campground. We ended up going for a ride over to Driftwood Public Fishing Area. It is pretty close-by and offers a beautiful pond/lake and walking areas. Also, while in the area, we stopped by Apple Works. It is only about 10 minutes away and offers fresh fruit/vegetables and some activities for the children. Also, the campground is far enough from the large cities to offer a wonderful night sky. I'll need to bring my telescope next time! The host was great. He remembered our children's names and greeted them by name. He even cheered for them during the kayak races. Overall a great experience. Thank you, and we will return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 20th 2021 thru June 19th 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The couple who runs this campsite are hands down some of the kindest and nicest i have ever met. They went out of their way to make sure we had any and everything we needed including providing thier own stuff for our use! Overall its been a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 30th 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The camp hosts are such great people and welcome everyone with open arms. You can truly tell they love what they do and have a great time doing it. Would recommend this place 100%.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice park. The sites are very roomy and they have a huge gravel patio with built in fire ring. Roads and sites are gravel. The park is clean and we'll maintained. Utilities worked well and were placed well. Easy to navigate through the park and there's a nice catch and release pond. No complaints at all with the park. There is no commissary and a very small exchange even though it's an active base. There are some good restaurants in Edinburgh but Walmart is about 10 or 15 miles away. We would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 3 - 19, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
RV Park is clean and well maintained. Good Wi-Fi. Laundry has 3 washers, 2 dryers, all working, and is FREE! Because of COVID, there is plenty of space available. Biggest drawback is that you have to take your trash 1/3 mile to the recycling center. We reserved for a week, but liked it so much we stayed 16 days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 26, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Looks like they are upgrading everything and the wifi was great! Cable is included also. Betsy was our neighbor and our host and she was very kind. We very much enjoyed our stay. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2 Oct 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground now has free WiFi. 3 of the 4 Antenna's which were recently installed have Wireless Access Points (WAPs) with fast internet service. You no longer have to go to the USO or All Ranks Club to get WiFi, you can get it right at your RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Best kept campground, the grounds are maintained by Indiana State minimum security prisoners. A lot of space between campsites, a lot of open space, and a fishing pond. It is on the secured section of Post so feels safe. Some permanent residents but I might want to do that someday too. Excellent laundry and not crowded. Wifi works for net surfing but not Netflix streaming. All and all, a good experience. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We decided to visit at the last minute and found the campground to be above our expectations. It has a nice playground for our grandkids and the full hookup for the price was a great deal. The one downside is there is no key drop off near the site. It needs to have a drop box next to the laundry. Other than that, it was a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 9-11, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Absolutely WONDERFUL RV park. Host, Betsy, is great. This place is spotless, inside and outside. Nice respectful neighbors. Very nice base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 22-24, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is only about 5 hours or so from our home, so it is a perfect first or last destination when we're headed north. They have large, open sites, both pull thru and back in. Most have full hook-up. It's an easy campground to get in/our of, plus the sites are easily accessed. The free firewood is a definite plus for us when we travel in the fall and spring. The bathhouse is small, but always clean. The campground has a quiet, wooded, country feel. You don't hear highway noise here!! The price is great, as well. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 17-18 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of those very nice out of the way places. Extremely good facilities and amenities. Some slight annoyances with or dance explosions occasionally, but hey, it's an Army Post. We made a reservation for a pull through in Space #7. But when we arrived the Camp Host said that someone already had that one and he had another unit coming in for his last pull through. On the way around the park, my wife mentioned to me that why should someone else get the pull through when we got there first. As I came around I asked Dave about that and he said we could have the pull through. I told him we were very grateful and appreciated his decision. As far as I know everything worked out for all concerned. He told us that the MWR folks that make the reservations don't communicate with the hosts very well. Other than that, it is a great place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I advise calling ahead before arriving, as this new CG is quite busy-with about half of the sites filled with long-term campers. After entering the main gate the one-way street curves to the right. About a block after the curve is a stop sign. Turn left and continue thorough the X-ray quonset-hut. At the stop sign turn left, continue to (I think) building 7002. The check-in desk will direct you to the CG about 3 blocks away. Bldg 7002 is not in the same area as the rest of 7000 series of buildings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 1, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time at this great little Famcamp! Clean, well maintained, and very hospitable camp hosts (who invited us up to sit by the fire after we set up). Especially liked the grassy and shady primitive area. Only negatives: some homesteaders and expensive WiFi. We'll definitely use this one again on our many trips: Albuquerque to Pittsburgh (especially now that our GPS knows how to find it)!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Sep 30-Oct 4, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I think the review from DellJr65 is bogus. I can't believe that Nancy was let go. She worked very hard to maintain this place and make everyone's visit fun. The hosts do not monopolize the space. I've been coming here for years and it has only improved under Nancy. DellJr65 must be an unhappy person.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 5
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3