Whitaker Place Campground

 
4.5 (62)
69983 0 36 0 31

User reviews

62 reviews
 
66%
 
29%
 
2%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.4(62)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(62)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(62)
Value
 
4.5(62)
Overall Experience
 
4.6(62)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
62 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Aug 29-Sep 03
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Price jumped to $30/night; $210/week; $900/month. No trash cans or dumpster in Campground nor any trash pick up service. No firewood delivery to site as provided during previous 3-visits. New camp host, Sally, is very nice and attentive. No prisoners seen working cleanup. Grounds need grooming, shaggy. Check in and reservation process seamless. We are pleased to see MWR eliminate all the full-time liveaboards in the campground. We fully support military campgrounds as recreational vs housing. We hope MWR mgnt will reevaluate pricing structure for those of us who are from out-of-state and like staying in the area for few weeks to a month. Please get trash receptacles back in Campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 1
Sept 6, 2013 to ????
(Updated: May 28, 2014)
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
My experience got off to a rocky start when one of the hosts, (?) answered my phone call for directions with rude and discourteous insults; when I asked her a question about getting to the campground via the Main Gate, her response was, "Well, yeah, duh!" My question was a legitimate one, due to the fact that in some military campgrounds, you enter via a different gate than the main gate; however, I found out the reason for her insulting discourse a few minutes later when I arrived at about 7:45 PM. She was drunk. She handed me a plastic key fob, without the key, pointed to where the bathrooms are located, and said, "Rule#1: you go over 5 MPH in this campground, and I'll ream your ass!" Then, she handed me a form to fill out, which stated that it was $20/night at the top of it. When I asked about the price for tent camping, she said that it was $15/ night; not the $7-10/night advertised on this website (TENT CAMPERS: PAY ATTENTION!!!). So, my wife and I, tired as we were, hurriedly set up out camp site and then went to use the bathroom (about 9 PM). All bathrooms were locked and the little plastic key fob was, of course, useless. I went back up to the host camper (Lot#1) to get a key and when I tried to get someone's attention for help, they turned off their lights. So, my wife and I (not being familiar with the base facilities) went into town to McDonald's to use the bathroom; which, we had to do again the next morning while we waited for the camp host to awaken. The next morning at 8 AM, I went up to the office to see if I could get a key and there was no one there. As I turned to walk away, the ****** (that's what their sign said), in Lot #1 came outside their trailer; so, I approached to ask about the key to the bathrooms. The greeting I got this time was, "What do you want, Bud?". I asked about the key and she said, "You know, there is another camp host over there", gesturing across the campground to the other side of the main building. I told her, "thank you, I did not know that because I've never been here before. Her response was, "Well, we've got signs, you know". Now, I don't know if this is "normal" protocol for greeting guests, but if so, I'll never stay here again. The tone was set right from the start for an unpleasant stay, and thought we tried to make the best of it, all we could see were flaws and faults with all of the high scores given to this place. It makes me think that a lot of these positive comments are from the dozen, or so, "homesteaders" who stay here year-round. It also gives credence to the argument against homesteading in FamCamps. *** had made a statement in our brief conversations, that she and her husband have been here for 13 years. Well, it shows. They, and their other co-hosts, have taken over the lounge, the laundry room, and even the pavilion outside of the main building, turning it into their private little area to entertain their personal guests, or so it would seem. They have all of their personal lawn furniture scattered about, a golf cart (MWR on it) parked underneath in among the picnic tables, and they even have a little statuette fountain that looks like both of their dogs. Even the laundry room seems to have been taken over with someone's personal belongings strewn everywhere, in there. The lounge is a joke; its more like an extension of their office space. All of these things combine to make a stranger very uncomfortable in wanting to use those things which are advertised as being available. To us, it seems as though you must get permission from the camp hosts to use anything, or do anything. Now, I will give high marks for the campground facilities. They are clean and everything looks neat and tidy. In fact, were it not for the unpleasant experience with the camp hosts, I would give this place higher marks; but, in my eyes, one can't help feeling obliged to leave after being greeted and treated the way we were. Campground hosts are supposed to be cordial, inviting, understanding, courteous, and polite; they are NOT supposed to be rude, insulting, and DRUNK!!! And, they definitely should not treat a government-owned facility like it is their very own property.
Report this review Comments (4) | Was this review helpful? 11 4
April 2018
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed here in April 2018. The host, Betsy, was very nice and informative once you get her to talk. The campground is very nice, however there are always improvements that can be made. There are a lot of full timers here, some with storage sheds on their lots that make it look more like a trailer park than a campground. Alot of the full timers have underpinning around their trailers making them more permanent and unattractive. There are also a lot of older units that are not registered or have current license plates. The facilities are great for walking your pets. A couple of trails (not clearly marked) make for a good walk in the woods. The laundry, and restroom facilities are clean and reasonable. There is a small PX on post along with an All Ranks Club that serves food and drink. A shooting range is also nearby. With some additional cleanup of the campground, this could be a hidden jewel. We will return here again. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
2 Oct 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground now has free WiFi. 3 of the 4 Antenna's which were recently installed have Wireless Access Points (WAPs) with fast internet service. You no longer have to go to the USO or All Ranks Club to get WiFi, you can get it right at your RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice park. The sites are very roomy and they have a huge gravel patio with built in fire ring. Roads and sites are gravel. The park is clean and we'll maintained. Utilities worked well and were placed well. Easy to navigate through the park and there's a nice catch and release pond. No complaints at all with the park. There is no commissary and a very small exchange even though it's an active base. There are some good restaurants in Edinburgh but Walmart is about 10 or 15 miles away. We would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The park itself is good. The sites are gravel, level and spacious. It is close to the pool once it opens and there is a small lake to walk the dogs around and fish and release. The bad is there are several old and what appears to be permanent mobile homes in the park with junk all over and storage sheds setup at their sites making it look very trailer trashy. Like many other RV parks, I wish people would be more responsible for their dogs and clean up their poop. Please, for God sake... clean up after your dog! For the price of the camp ground, the security, and fairly close location to Indianapolis makes it the most affordable and viable option for any ID card holder wanting to explore the area.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 22-24, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is only about 5 hours or so from our home, so it is a perfect first or last destination when we're headed north. They have large, open sites, both pull thru and back in. Most have full hook-up. It's an easy campground to get in/our of, plus the sites are easily accessed. The free firewood is a definite plus for us when we travel in the fall and spring. The bathhouse is small, but always clean. The campground has a quiet, wooded, country feel. You don't hear highway noise here!! The price is great, as well. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 18, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
When we stayed here from 6/18-25, there was construction at the Main Gate, so it was closed. The gate guard said the construction may be completed by year’s end, but don’t count on it. The only gate open was on Schoolhouse Rd – so, from HWY 31, turn on CR 800 (Old Hospital Rd), Left on 22nd St to the end; turn left and then immediate Right. This road leads straight into the CG. The roads within the CG are gravel, as are the sites. Our site #6 pad was fairly level, sloping down a bit at the front and right side. Ample space at each site, more than enough room for RV and vehicle. We were across from the older bathroom, which was kept clean & supplied. A big downside: There are NO trash dumpsters in or near the CG. You must drive to the nearest dumpster south on Durban St, about a couple minute’s drive. They also have recycling in that area. At the CG, they have plastic and aluminum recycling. On most days, you will hear the sound of gunfire – not from the army troops, but from a civilian firing range on Camp Atterbury. So, it’s not as quiet here as we’d like. There is a large lap-pool across the street within walking distance from the CG. We enjoyed cooling off and getting some cardio exercise there. Speedtests - At&t: 37DL, 1.64 UL; Verizon: 887.8DL, 3.05UL Recommend the Taxman Brewery for some delicious craft Belgian-style beer and eclectic food fare.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 28-31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are new to the military campground experience and Whitaker Place was a great introduction. The sites are clean, with full hook-up. I really liked the gravel/cement perimeter design as it helped keep our site clean. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The kayak races and pond fishing was great for our children, they had a lot of fun! My wife enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and general feeling of safety. I loved that our children could ride their bikes around and I didn't feel the need to be over-protective. I never realized how much we both missed the military community. Ive read other reviews about the lack of trash receptacles, but didn't find this to be a big issue for us. It's a good excuse to go for a walk. It would be great if they brought back the firewood. Even if they charged for it, the convenience of grabbing firewood at the campground would be great. I am not sure if it is possible, but I would love to see some trails added near the campground. We ended up going for a ride over to Driftwood Public Fishing Area. It is pretty close-by and offers a beautiful pond/lake and walking areas. Also, while in the area, we stopped by Apple Works. It is only about 10 minutes away and offers fresh fruit/vegetables and some activities for the children. Also, the campground is far enough from the large cities to offer a wonderful night sky. I'll need to bring my telescope next time! The host was great. He remembered our children's names and greeted them by name. He even cheered for them during the kayak races. Overall a great experience. Thank you, and we will return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 3 - 19, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
RV Park is clean and well maintained. Good Wi-Fi. Laundry has 3 washers, 2 dryers, all working, and is FREE! Because of COVID, there is plenty of space available. Biggest drawback is that you have to take your trash 1/3 mile to the recycling center. We reserved for a week, but liked it so much we stayed 16 days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Nov 16-18 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Getting here was no problem. Just follow the instructions on this web page. Once through the gate, bear right, but make a wide swing as you will go around a curve which is no problem, go through what they call a tunnel but its a very tall structure used for inspections, but not in use at present time. Make a left at the first intersection on Headquarters Rd, go to the second building on the right which is the base housing office. Turn right and good luck parking with your rig in tow, but, really shouldn't be any problem. The office closes at 1600. The office staff  was very efficient and friendly as well as helpful. The camp sites are level with compacted gravel as well as wide, the sites have full hook-ups with cable. Each site has a picnic table. Wood is provided for the fire pit. I'm giving this campground a 5 star, although it is gravel. The restrooms and the family room were very clean and inviting. There is a play area for kids (or grandkids) and a couple covered picnic areas with picnic tables.  The PX is almost NON-existent, but has the basics. The post office is next to the PX with a drop box outside. An area not far from the campground is recycling. There are 22 homesteaders in the park. There seems to be enough sites for us folks coming off the road. This campground is well worth a visit while your going north or south.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jul 29 - Aug 3, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good for short term stay. Being a training base there is no traffic. Nice pool across the street. No commissary and a very small shoppette type PX. Grocery store a few miles away. The good: One of the best entrance gates to accommodate big rigs we have seen. No concrete barriers, just a straight thru entrance. The bad: You arrive at the campground without a site number and must park somewhere (and disconnect vehicle) in order to go to Bldg 402 to check in and get a site number. Bldg 402 is not within walking distance of the campground. It would be more convenient if the site number was also provided in the confirmation email to facilitate parking your RV upon arrival. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 14, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Good for a stopover. No shade (I know, get over it). Some person left his trash by laundry facility versus pack it out or take to dumpster up the road (good grief). Some critter got in it and scattered trash all over. I watched people who work here ignore it. I ended up policing area and throwing it away. Laundry facilities ($1 for both washer and dryer) providing they worked. One dryer ran hot and the other didn’t dry very well. The other two were not working. Same with washers, 2 out of 4 worked. We paid $30/night. We picked up our packet at gate for key to restroom/laundry facility. We have to return to a different building when we leave. Dunno why we can’t give to guard on way out. Insects are horrendous! Plus, watch out for big skunk!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Best kept campground, the grounds are maintained by Indiana State minimum security prisoners. A lot of space between campsites, a lot of open space, and a fishing pond. It is on the secured section of Post so feels safe. Some permanent residents but I might want to do that someday too. Excellent laundry and not crowded. Wifi works for net surfing but not Netflix streaming. All and all, a good experience. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 20th 2021 thru June 19th 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The couple who runs this campsite are hands down some of the kindest and nicest i have ever met. They went out of their way to make sure we had any and everything we needed including providing thier own stuff for our use! Overall its been a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Was heading north from Nashville TN to Northern Indiana. Not much available along the route unless you want the KOA east of Indianapolis for $95 plus a night. Found this by chance and was easy to make reservations via phone. Two nights to relax. Nice, well-designed campground with easy access from Alternate gate as the main gate is being rebuilt. You drive by the Housing Office building 403 where you have to sign-in. We didn't need access to bathrooms or washers so we didn't need the pass key at all. This made it easier when leaving. They gave me a nice pull-thru with free wifi. Check in after 12 noon.
Whitaker Place Campground
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 28-31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Memorial day weekend was fantastic with all of the things that were available. Jim and Sally worked hard to get everything in order. This is my wife's favorite campground beings it's close and quiet and secure. We've never had an issue with anything. I only wish they'd bring back trash bins and firewood at every camp site. The pool is closed again this year so not as much fun for my daughter. We'll still come back and relax and recommend to anyone else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 30, 2017
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I've had my camper less than a week. My husband and I are so excited to get it to a spot and start making memories....anywhere but at Camp Atterbury. We rented a spot to store the camper, but instead of being welcomed we were chased down by the most rude woman I have come into contact with in quite some time. At no point was there an introduction, just a full on berating loud enough for the whole campground to hear. Apparently my husband went above 5 mph and she didn't like that. Too bad we were going all of 7-8 mph at the most. I guess her magic radar gun was broken that day. Anyhow, just wanted to forewarn of the most un hospitable "hostess" in Indiana. Because of her we will never camp at Atterbury and we will be moving our camper to a new storage lot. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 7
Sept 9-11, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Absolutely WONDERFUL RV park. Host, Betsy, is great. This place is spotless, inside and outside. Nice respectful neighbors. Very nice base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We decided to visit at the last minute and found the campground to be above our expectations. It has a nice playground for our grandkids and the full hookup for the price was a great deal. The one downside is there is no key drop off near the site. It needs to have a drop box next to the laundry. Other than that, it was a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
62 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4