Whitaker Place Campground

 
4.5 (61)
69983 0 35 0 31

User reviews

61 reviews
 
67%
 
28%
 
2%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.5(61)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(61)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(61)
Value
 
4.6(61)
Overall Experience
 
4.6(61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
61 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Aug 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Was heading north from Nashville TN to Northern Indiana. Not much available along the route unless you want the KOA east of Indianapolis for $95 plus a night. Found this by chance and was easy to make reservations via phone. Two nights to relax. Nice, well-designed campground with easy access from Alternate gate as the main gate is being rebuilt. You drive by the Housing Office building 403 where you have to sign-in. We didn't need access to bathrooms or washers so we didn't need the pass key at all. This made it easier when leaving. They gave me a nice pull-thru with free wifi. Check in after 12 noon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 18, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
When we stayed here from 6/18-25, there was construction at the Main Gate, so it was closed. The gate guard said the construction may be completed by year’s end, but don’t count on it. The only gate open was on Schoolhouse Rd – so, from HWY 31, turn on CR 800 (Old Hospital Rd), Left on 22nd St to the end; turn left and then immediate Right. This road leads straight into the CG. The roads within the CG are gravel, as are the sites. Our site #6 pad was fairly level, sloping down a bit at the front and right side. Ample space at each site, more than enough room for RV and vehicle. We were across from the older bathroom, which was kept clean & supplied. A big downside: There are NO trash dumpsters in or near the CG. You must drive to the nearest dumpster south on Durban St, about a couple minute’s drive. They also have recycling in that area. At the CG, they have plastic and aluminum recycling. On most days, you will hear the sound of gunfire – not from the army troops, but from a civilian firing range on Camp Atterbury. So, it’s not as quiet here as we’d like. There is a large lap-pool across the street within walking distance from the CG. We enjoyed cooling off and getting some cardio exercise there. Speedtests - At&t: 37DL, 1.64 UL; Verizon: 887.8DL, 3.05UL Recommend the Taxman Brewery for some delicious craft Belgian-style beer and eclectic food fare.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20-27 Oct 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was an interesting visit as it was a time as Camp Atterbury was receiving "guests" from Afghanistan. It is striking how dire the times are for these people. Watching how the military steps up once again for humanitarian care is heartwarming (est. 40% are small children). Now, as to the Campground, Mark the Host was gracious and helpful from the moment we entered the park. He guided us to our site, gave us directions to on base facilities and just overall a excellent person. The park itself is roomy, fairly, easily fitting big-rigs, well maintained and peaceful. Only one of the four wash machines (free to use) was in operation. Mark did say new ones were on order.. With the current supply chain issues, I wouldn't hold my breath but, washer and dryer use was free! There is a pond on site which allows fishing (catch & release), a great place to have a picnic lunch or just sit and relax. The local area has all the amenities necessary within a few miles, the All Ranks club is great for food and drink, personnel friendly and accommodating. Did not visit the PX which appeared to be small and was very busy with providing for The Guests.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Mark is a super host. He was there every time you needed him. He answered all our questions and knew a lot about the camp ground. We have traveled all over and Camp Atterbury is by far the best .
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 28-31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Memorial day weekend was fantastic with all of the things that were available. Jim and Sally worked hard to get everything in order. This is my wife's favorite campground beings it's close and quiet and secure. We've never had an issue with anything. I only wish they'd bring back trash bins and firewood at every camp site. The pool is closed again this year so not as much fun for my daughter. We'll still come back and relax and recommend to anyone else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 28-31, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are new to the military campground experience and Whitaker Place was a great introduction. The sites are clean, with full hook-up. I really liked the gravel/cement perimeter design as it helped keep our site clean. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The kayak races and pond fishing was great for our children, they had a lot of fun! My wife enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and general feeling of safety. I loved that our children could ride their bikes around and I didn't feel the need to be over-protective. I never realized how much we both missed the military community. Ive read other reviews about the lack of trash receptacles, but didn't find this to be a big issue for us. It's a good excuse to go for a walk. It would be great if they brought back the firewood. Even if they charged for it, the convenience of grabbing firewood at the campground would be great. I am not sure if it is possible, but I would love to see some trails added near the campground. We ended up going for a ride over to Driftwood Public Fishing Area. It is pretty close-by and offers a beautiful pond/lake and walking areas. Also, while in the area, we stopped by Apple Works. It is only about 10 minutes away and offers fresh fruit/vegetables and some activities for the children. Also, the campground is far enough from the large cities to offer a wonderful night sky. I'll need to bring my telescope next time! The host was great. He remembered our children's names and greeted them by name. He even cheered for them during the kayak races. Overall a great experience. Thank you, and we will return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 20th 2021 thru June 19th 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The couple who runs this campsite are hands down some of the kindest and nicest i have ever met. They went out of their way to make sure we had any and everything we needed including providing thier own stuff for our use! Overall its been a great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 30th 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The camp hosts are such great people and welcome everyone with open arms. You can truly tell they love what they do and have a great time doing it. Would recommend this place 100%.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 28, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice campground, very clean and very well maintained. I will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice park. The sites are very roomy and they have a huge gravel patio with built in fire ring. Roads and sites are gravel. The park is clean and we'll maintained. Utilities worked well and were placed well. Easy to navigate through the park and there's a nice catch and release pond. No complaints at all with the park. There is no commissary and a very small exchange even though it's an active base. There are some good restaurants in Edinburgh but Walmart is about 10 or 15 miles away. We would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Aug 3 - 19, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
RV Park is clean and well maintained. Good Wi-Fi. Laundry has 3 washers, 2 dryers, all working, and is FREE! Because of COVID, there is plenty of space available. Biggest drawback is that you have to take your trash 1/3 mile to the recycling center. We reserved for a week, but liked it so much we stayed 16 days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 29-Sep 03
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Price jumped to $30/night; $210/week; $900/month. No trash cans or dumpster in Campground nor any trash pick up service. No firewood delivery to site as provided during previous 3-visits. New camp host, Sally, is very nice and attentive. No prisoners seen working cleanup. Grounds need grooming, shaggy. Check in and reservation process seamless. We are pleased to see MWR eliminate all the full-time liveaboards in the campground. We fully support military campgrounds as recreational vs housing. We hope MWR mgnt will reevaluate pricing structure for those of us who are from out-of-state and like staying in the area for few weeks to a month. Please get trash receptacles back in Campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 1
Jul 29 - Aug 3, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Good for short term stay. Being a training base there is no traffic. Nice pool across the street. No commissary and a very small shoppette type PX. Grocery store a few miles away. The good: One of the best entrance gates to accommodate big rigs we have seen. No concrete barriers, just a straight thru entrance. The bad: You arrive at the campground without a site number and must park somewhere (and disconnect vehicle) in order to go to Bldg 402 to check in and get a site number. Bldg 402 is not within walking distance of the campground. It would be more convenient if the site number was also provided in the confirmation email to facilitate parking your RV upon arrival. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 14, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Good for a stopover. No shade (I know, get over it). Some person left his trash by laundry facility versus pack it out or take to dumpster up the road (good grief). Some critter got in it and scattered trash all over. I watched people who work here ignore it. I ended up policing area and throwing it away. Laundry facilities ($1 for both washer and dryer) providing they worked. One dryer ran hot and the other didn’t dry very well. The other two were not working. Same with washers, 2 out of 4 worked. We paid $30/night. We picked up our packet at gate for key to restroom/laundry facility. We have to return to a different building when we leave. Dunno why we can’t give to guard on way out. Insects are horrendous! Plus, watch out for big skunk!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 17, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campground has changed since our last visit. WiFi has been installed but is scetchy at times. The biggest complaint is the removal of trash cans. There is no dumpster. Trash must be taken to the base central trash facility witch is 0.2 miles up the road. Very inconvenient. I’ve never been to a campground that didn’t have a dumpster or trash receptacle. If in this area again I would stay but just as a stopover. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 26, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Looks like they are upgrading everything and the wifi was great! Cable is included also. Betsy was our neighbor and our host and she was very kind. We very much enjoyed our stay. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2 Oct 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground now has free WiFi. 3 of the 4 Antenna's which were recently installed have Wireless Access Points (WAPs) with fast internet service. You no longer have to go to the USO or All Ranks Club to get WiFi, you can get it right at your RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Best kept campground, the grounds are maintained by Indiana State minimum security prisoners. A lot of space between campsites, a lot of open space, and a fishing pond. It is on the secured section of Post so feels safe. Some permanent residents but I might want to do that someday too. Excellent laundry and not crowded. Wifi works for net surfing but not Netflix streaming. All and all, a good experience. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 2018
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Stayed here in April 2018. The host, Betsy, was very nice and informative once you get her to talk. The campground is very nice, however there are always improvements that can be made. There are a lot of full timers here, some with storage sheds on their lots that make it look more like a trailer park than a campground. Alot of the full timers have underpinning around their trailers making them more permanent and unattractive. There are also a lot of older units that are not registered or have current license plates. The facilities are great for walking your pets. A couple of trails (not clearly marked) make for a good walk in the woods. The laundry, and restroom facilities are clean and reasonable. There is a small PX on post along with an All Ranks Club that serves food and drink. A shooting range is also nearby. With some additional cleanup of the campground, this could be a hidden jewel. We will return here again. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
April 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The park itself is good. The sites are gravel, level and spacious. It is close to the pool once it opens and there is a small lake to walk the dogs around and fish and release. The bad is there are several old and what appears to be permanent mobile homes in the park with junk all over and storage sheds setup at their sites making it look very trailer trashy. Like many other RV parks, I wish people would be more responsible for their dogs and clean up their poop. Please, for God sake... clean up after your dog! For the price of the camp ground, the security, and fairly close location to Indianapolis makes it the most affordable and viable option for any ID card holder wanting to explore the area.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
61 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4