Mountain Home AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (47)
64998 1 18 0 29

User reviews

47 reviews
 
32%
 
45%
 
15%
 
9%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.8(47)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(47)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(47)
Value
 
4.3(47)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(47)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
47 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
July 2013
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
After reading the other reviews, I began to wonder if those folks were at a different famcamp. I didn't like the MH famcamp at all. It felt desolate and inhospitable. The camp hosts didn't answer the door when I knocked, even though they told me to come back so that I could get my AF Frequent Campers coupon book stamped. I had to figure out that the table under the cabana next to their Class A had the stamp and ink on it for me to stamp the book myself. But the coupon book requires a signature...it was a bummer. Uncool even. The place just felt dark and dingy to me, and I'd been to four other famcamps in the same month and I felt just the opposite about them. :o(
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Oct. 11-14 2012
(Updated: October 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A very quiet base/stay as well as almost empty. Even the skeet range next to park was quieter this visit. Camphosts were gone for winter so not sure when the restrooms/laundry will get cleaned again... Verizon MI-FI was fine but poor TV reception(only ABC in our site) Nice big dog park since last visit and you can no longer eat at chow hall. Sites are small as RV's get bigger but the concrete pads are flat. Camphosts had planted wonderful garden-impressive. We had a ridiculous wait at the Commercial gate...appeared to be one guard for two lines till suddenly 5 guards showed up and they apologized for wait as all we had to do was show ID's twice to go thru. All in all though we would come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 19, 2012
(Updated: September 18, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A nice FamCamp. Hosts were congenial; disappointed that we didn't stay longer. We like trees so this was very pleasant for us; shade most of the day; that helped with keeping the RV cool. Restrooms/showers, Clean clean clean! Base commissary/BX very convenient and appropriately stocked. Gas station has room for big rigs needing diesel (use the right hand pumps, right side). Note: you have to enter via the commercial gate for security, BUT you can depart via the main gate; there's adequate room to get around the barriers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 3 - 5, 2012
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice small famcamp. Restrooms/laundry were spotless. Long pull-thru concrete pads. Famcamp brochure is very useful, as is the other info posted in the kiosk where you register. Park hosts were very congenial. We'd like to stay again sometime, for a longer period.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 9, 2011
(Updated: October 16, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed there Oct. 9, 2011 for 1 night. Really liked the campground. CAUTION - the commercial gate is closed on Sunday and there is no way to turn you rig around to go back to the road. There is a sign directing you to go on an old road thru a field back to Grandview if the gate is closed. Took the road only to find a fence at Grandview. I had to drive out into a field to turn around to go back out the way I came in. Note: the commercial gate is also closed after hours. I was able to enter through the main gate with no problems. My rig towing a car is 45ft. Other than getting into the base our experience was positive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9 Sept-12 Sept 2011
(Updated: September 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here 9 September for 3 nights and found it very quiet and clean. Our space was 8 and close to laundry. Toured the Dam area, but did not go into Mountain Home. There was a host on duty and were told to pick any spot available. Would stay here again. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22 July 2011
(Updated: July 22, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
At Mountain Home now, agree, a little off the beaten path but 15 mi. ain't that bad. I only have a small RV (Leisure Freedom) so we have no problem getting in and out and the weather is nice and cool so we are not using A/C so no power problems. Since you can't make reservations it is good we got here early because at 2 PM there were only 4 slots open. And I think they are all full tonight. As I said WX is nice, we walked to Commissary and BX and didn't pick up a lot. There were a few eating areas close. Bowling Alley right up the block. We are here only one night but I think we could enjoy a longer stay. bath house clean, laundry cheap. I'm using Verizon stick for Internet and TV has about 15 channels on antenna.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 10-13, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice FamCamp. Paved roads and full concrete pull-thru sites. 50 & 30 amp electric. Lots of pretty green grass and shade trees. The trees may cause a problem with satellite reception. Full size commissary and exchange nearby. Nearest town is 15 miles away. Nothing in between. My RV is 37' and the sites are not quite long enough to park tow vehicle on site. Nice clean laundry and bathhouse. Commercial gate is open 24/7.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
5 July 2009
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nice spot albeit a little off the beaten track; about 15 miles from freeway. It might be a great spot for long term visit, but for overnight I think it is just too far off the road. The electrical service was dogie at best throwing my circuit breaker at least three times. Sewer hookups too far from drain; need an extra long hose. BX and commissary located about 1/2 mile from camp. Good selection, but too far to walk in the extreme heat we experienced during our stay. Restroom facilities are adequate and semi-private. Best spaces for late afternoon shade: #3 or #12.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 30, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If you have a long rig, use the Commercial Gate on Grandview Avenue. It is a little further west on Highway 67 from the main gate. The Main Gate has been recently re-designed and has sharp curves. We maneuvered our 40 RV and toad through the curves but were hitting the sidewalls on our rear RV tires. The FamCamp is an older campground but very nice and clean with many tall trees. It is on the north side of the base and located in a very quiet location. The host is very friendly and helpful. I sought and could not find a base map. There is a crude map posted at the FamCamp entrance but it is not entirely accurate. Like another post, we had water spots on our RV each morning from the sprinkler system that runs every night. I don't know how you can avoid this and you are not allowed to wash your RV in the campground. Overall, a nice, pleasant place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 27, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
K.H. left this review using the Directory software: Excellent FamCamp. Don is a great host with 11 years experience here at Mountain Home AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
31 Jul-1 Aug 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A very clean and quite RV campsite with concrete pads and full hook ups. The base is 10 miles away from the main town and I-84. But it is easy access to town and the base has a good BX, commissary and other facilities expected at most bases. Good Verizon cell coverage for phone and 3G service. For larger units the commercial gate at Grandview is much easier access to the campground. Gas station near main gate was easy access and had cheaper gas/diesel price than other station in the area (at least at the time we were there). Well worth another visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 11, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The base is 10 miles from town so if anything is needed that can't be had at the commissary or BX it might be handy to stop there first. Entry to the base will be much easier if the commercial traffic Crowe gate is used. Once past it, follow the road for a few miles and turn left on Falcon. There are very few signs directing you to the base facilities. Fortunately, it's a small base so a minimal amount of hunting for them will be necessary. I wasn't impressed with the Class 6 store, but the golf course is nice. It's also possible to fit all but the largest rigs into the car wash. The C/G is in a nice quiet location on base. 50A sites are concrete, 30A are gravel, but both types are nice. Anything on the outer ring will be best for satellite signals. The voltage was low even tho there were only a handful of rigs in the C/G. The skeet range is nearby. I suspect that would provide some unpleasant noise when it’s being used. Reservations aren’t taken and there’s no on site office so it’s best to check with the host for site selection even tho there’s a self check in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 15-28, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This seems to be a very well run campground. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the camp host. He was helpful in telling me about the campground and how to register. It is self registration. The bathrooms and laundry facilities were extra clean and well maintained. Laundry is 50 cent wash and 50 cent dry, although I did have to put extra in for the dryer on a couple of loads. The campground is well maintained and quiet. I would stay here again and it would probably be a lot better in the summer. Easy drive to shopping off base. Well stocked commissary and exchange on base. Verizon cell and wireless worked very well. Dish network also worked well. When coming on to the base, if you stay in the right lane after going through the gate, you will be in the right lane to make the right turn to go to FamCamp. At the second light if you are in the right lane, you have to turn right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 20, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice camp with shade trees and a quiet atmosphere. No restrooms. Good base camp for local sights like Hagerman, Snake River, Thousand Falls,and Boise (only 1/2 hr). Base facilities are all close by. Movie theater was good. About 15 min from town with Walmart etc. Terrys RV Repair in town did some work on our 5th wheel and treated us fairly. Great stay for the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
1-2 Oct 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Main gate is still closed. Not a place to stop just to get some sleep since it's several miles from I-84 however, they have a nice BX and Commissary. Meat prices in the Commo were very reasonable. Club is not open for dinner any longer and the enlisted lounge is only open on Fridays now. Nice golf course with good prices. Verizon cell and aircard service is excellent.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
1-4 Sep 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It was a bit interesting getting to the Famcamp as the main gate is closed and traffic enters the Grandview Gate. Base street names have apparently been changed, so we could not rely on the names on our printed map from MS Streets & Trips or the names we saw on the GPS. One "street" on the GPS took us into a dead end but had a large parking lot we could turn around in -- fortunately it was Labor Day holiday! We had an enjoyable stay. We had to ask how to find the Post Office as the location on the map was an empty building with no direction posted as to where to find the new location. The only irritants were hard water spots on the side of the motorhome from the automatic sprinkler system, and several intermittent "ground fault" alarms on our electrical line meter in the very early morning hours the last night we were there. We really enjoyed using the provided grill at our site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 29 - June 4, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice clean park with most sites having a concrete pad and all having a BBQ grill and picnic table. Verizon aircard works great along with the cell phone. We could get 4 or 5 TV channels with the crank-up antennae. The weekly rate is $84.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 16, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
D.V. left this review using the Directory software: Main gate is under going construction, you must use the Grandview gate. This gate is just a few miles down the road. There are plenty of signs.|Not hard to find the FamCamp from this gate. The tree are starting to get thier leaves, no SAT reception. DW made me try 4 sites for reception. Could not find a good one, most RVers had portable tripods to aim between the trees. The trees hinder RVs with slide on both sides. You must maneuver unit to fit between the trees. Camp host were very helpful and accomadating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 4 - 18, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Small, but very nice famcamp. No camp host during winter months. No reservations, first-come, first served. Paved roads throughout. Check-in kiosk at entrance. Sites are pull-thru, level concrete pads. Each site has a grill and picnic table on small, concrete pad. Each site is landscaped with grass and shade trees. Shower/restroom/laundry room by entrance. Two washers and two dryers ($.50 to wash/$.50 to dry). Very clean. Exchange/commissary/gym/pool all within a few blocks. Small base so everything is convenient to the famcamp. Note: Main entrance will be closed for reconstruction from April 2008 until November 2008. Enter thru Grandview gate. Just follow signs on Airbase Rd as you come in from I-84.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
47 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3