Mountain Home AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (46)
64998 1 18 0 29

User reviews

46 reviews
 
33%
 
43%
 
15%
 
9%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.7(46)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0(46)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(46)
Value
 
4.3(46)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
46 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
May 21, 2021
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Wife and I passed through this FAMCAP on 5/21/21. It looks terrible. FAMCAMP manager should be fired for allowing the campground to fall into this dismal condition. Also FAMCAMPS are supposed to be available for all authorized personnel to access but with all the homesteaders and no reservation system in place the chance of being able to stay there appears to be slim.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
May 8, 2021
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This has become a dump, its no better than some of the trashy RV parks in towns across the US. Some residents have definitely been here longer than the rules allow. also, overflow in the middle has cords running from all over. only choice we had was to boondock so we went down to the big parking lot, just to be courtesy enough so others didn't have to listen to our generator all night. Never saw the host. Been to a number of military FamCamps but this one doesn't even rate a 1. Very disappointed because we had intended to stay here in Jul and do some sightseeing but not unless some drastic improvements occurs. We lived in military housing at 4-5 bases and this condition would not have been tolerated.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Sept. 24-25, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Spent a couple nights while traveling through the area. No problems finding the FamCamp following the directions on this site. The campground was full when we arrived, but was greeted by Chuck, the camp host, who offered us an overflow site with 50amp electric. Great! They ran electrical extension cords in several places to provide overflow guests with electric. A very nice courtesy. There's several residents who have stayed in the campground for more than a few months. The host has been working hard on the campground condition and it was in decent shape. Sure, they grass is brown, but it had been mowed and was now under control. However, several dogs do run freely (owned by the residents) and dog poop was everywhere. There was also still the previously mentioned fly issue. This isn't a fancy RV "resort", rather more like a campground. The base commissary and exchange are large and fully stocked. Overall, we had a wonderful short stay. Their pricing is very fair and the hospitality was top notch. The self check-in process is very easy. Chuck is working hard and doing a great job for what he has to deal with. We'll stay here again when in the area!
Mountain Home AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct 2019
Overall rating
 
2.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The 1 star rating for cleanliness/hospitality is for the cleanliness. Camp host, Chuck, was very nice and extremely helpful. The camp, just like many parts of the base, is quite neglected. Weeds grow every where, the spaces between RV pads is strictly dirt with no rock or weed barrier, so the dry, prickly weeds grow every where. The leaves from the many trees are never raked up, so what ever was left on the ground, before the leaves fall, is still there. Which brings me to my biggest complaint...dog poop! It's every where... under the leaves, in between sites, on the edge of the roads...every where! Dogs run freely here, and people don't ever seem to pick up after them. This means that the flies here are INSANE! The camp host had told us that they would be weeding and putting in grass before next summer - if that's true, it could be a major improvement for this park. All that being said... it's cheap, they have nice, level pads to park on (big rigs should park in the back two rows), they have a decent laundry room, and the base has a BX, commissary, movie theater, library, and other amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Sept 01-04 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Good things to know about this famcamp: The 14 day stay limit is a myth. Some of the campers have been here for months and act like they own the place. One such camper saw our rig approaching the site next to hers and blocked the empty site with chairs and dog bowls apparently because they did not want a neighbor and use that site as their play area for kids and dogs. Despite several long term campers it was not full on Labor Day weekend. Per the camp host there is dry camp overflow available for one night if full even though Outdoor Rec told me over the phone overflow does not exist. This place is a super value for $15 per night full hook ups on paved pull through pads.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
July 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a good FAMCAMP. Big rig friendly, clean, utilities all work. It is first-come, first served but the park average around 50-75% occupancy while we where there. You can go there directly and register (and pay) onsite via a dropbox. Nice commissary and BX within 5 minutes, as well as bowling and other amenities. Base was VERY quiet on weekends, borderline ghost town. Burger King and carwash adjacent, and the usual fast foods (including a Popeyes's) in the BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 22, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Recently repaved and now big rig friendly. Sites are nicely shaded. Close to BX, Commissary, and Chapel. Felt very much at home. Plenty of spaces available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15 June 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Please be advised that the campground is NOT closed. They repaved the roads and as of mid-June the place is wide open with brand new roads. Very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2017
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The camp host cornered my 10 year old and 5 year old sons in the bathroom and screamed at them for being too loud after quiet hours. He frightened them very much. I heard the yelling and crying (yelling from him and crying from the boys) and came in to investigate. He proceeded to scream at me as well, calling us a bunch of White Trash and threatening to call the base police. I very nearly called them myself, and looking back probably should have. The next morning on my way back from the bathrooms my 10 year old son came running to get me. "Come quick the scary man is here." I ran back to the campsite to find the host yelling at my 5 year old son because he had ridden his scooter without a helmet. He then proceeded to call my military service into question - "How did they let you on base anyway?...You, an officer...yeah right. If you really were an officer and not some damn white trash you would have taught your children to wear a helmet." We left as soon as possible. I have never felt so unsafe in a campground - public or military. Mountain Home has hired crazy people to host their campground. I will never stay there again.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful? 10 3
June 2017
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Be advised that not all the sites are 30/50 AMP. Some (not sure how many) are 30 only. We found the park to be overgrown and not well maintained. The only site available was 30 AMP and we need 50, and that,plus the general overgrown nature of the sites made us decide that we would rather spend more money on a park in town, so we left. They do inspect your rig. SF was going to come inside until he saw our golden retrievers and decided just to look in the outside bays. As a note - we found a great park in town, Mountain Home RV park. The cost was $35 a night, but well worth it. Wide streets, pull thrus, oversize lots and friendly staff. If we come back to Mountain Home, won't even bother with the base famcamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July 5, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First thing I would like to say is this was very BIG RIG freindly. 44 ft 5th wheel at 1 am and I pulled right in, set up and had a great night sleep. Going through the gate was easy, I pulled up to the right side and the guard ran out to open up for me. They must have added a stop light because once through the gate go 3 lights not 2 then turn right. The BX was nice and well maintained. I had a Great time, Thanks!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 18, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed just 1 night passing through on our way to Cascade, Id.  Nice sites with easy access. Decent bath house facility & laundry. Was nice to have a carwash close as the truck & trailer were plastered with 1500 miles worth of bugs. Was able to fuel up easily & grab dinner at Pizza Hut. Utilized the BX in the morning on our way out.  Would stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
7 August 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Although base is off the highway a little way, approx 10 miles, once we were on base we were pleasantly surprised. We were quickly greeted by the camp host and welcomed and given options on where to park and door codes for facilities. This was not our destination, just a stop over which worked out perfectly for us. Campground was easy to locate and within walking distance to the BX and Commissary. Sites were clean and easy to navigate with a bigger rig. Would recommend as a stop over for a day or two depending on your need.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
JUL 26-01 AUG 2014
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - VERY LITTLE OPEN/AVAILABLE AT THIS BASE. DISAPPOINTING VISIT. UNSURE WHAT HAPPENED. FAMCAMP FULL OF THISTLES. CAMP HOST WATERING WITH PORTABLE SPRINKLERS TO NOT AVAIL. APPARENTLY VERY LITTLE MONIES GOING INTO THIS FACILITY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 13, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
MHAFB Fam Camp is a VERY decent RV park, and for the money it's outstanding! We came in late on a Friday and there were still spaces available - not alot, but we got lucky. We came late on a Friday, so called the command post and they gave us the number to SF to alert them we needed to come through the main gate, they opened up lane 3 to let us and another RV in. Their number is: 208-828-2256. We were just passing through, so only stayed one night, but after looking at all the marina has to offer we may very well come back here on vacation. Every spot is easily accessed and there is a well kept lawn and picnic table for every site - a very nice touch. The bathroom / laundry room is great, nice and clean and the laundry is only .50 per load. One dryer was out of order, but the other dryer handled both of my loads just fine, thoroughly dried. The showers were great, good water pressure, clean, new shower fixtures enabled you to adjust to your perfect setting. We stayed here in a travel trailer with 4 children. Mountain Home is a nice little town too. My only complaint would be that it's 10 miles off the highway, but when you leave there is a bypass you can take to get you back to 84 North, but it comes up on you quickly, so have your GPS zoomed in so you don't miss it, we missed it and went through Mountain Home, no big deal. My final rating for this camp is OUTSTANDING!! Easy in / Easy out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6-12 June 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is an excellent park. My only recommendations are for more signage when entering from the Commercial Gate, as well as direction of travel once inside the park. Also once in the park it would be nice to know where the BX, Commissary and other facilities were located on base. Granted it's a small base so we were able to drive around and find everything. My point is if a map was located on the wall where you self check-in, it would have saved a couple gallons of diesel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Famcamp is great for the price. Laundry is only .50 per load. The place to eat is at the bowling alley. They have fixed it up much better than some off base sandwich shops. I would give the bowling alley snack bar 5 stars! The BX and commissary are small. It all correlates with the base population. The base has all new housing since the 80's when I was stationed here. The hospital can fill your prescriptions! Less than 50 miles to Boise. Sun Valley is about 130 miles. There is a Walmart in town!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17-19 Dec 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great little camp site. Warm showers that were really appreciated during negative temps. Older facilities and thin pads but overall okay. No camp host available during low temps but the self pay center was very informative. No cable available, but you can explore so much here. Its a good little camp site to stay at for a little bit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 2013
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Okay, this FamCamp is off the beaten path. but its still only about 10-11 miles from I-84, so what's the big deal. The place was fairly clean and Don greeted us, even though it was about 11 PM when we got in. We are TENTERS, and Don requested we set up off to the side a bit, as he was trying to get the grass back in shape (and, he's doing a great job!) The place does have a desolate feel to it, but so does the rest of the surrounding area. At least this place is closer to being what I'd call a CAMPGROUND, than say, Hill AFB. You're not next to a highway, you're not on top of each other, and you still have amenities close by, but not right next door to you (so that you don't hear the constant parade of cars getting gas at all hours of the day and night. So what if you don't have a major city just down the road; at least you don't have to fight the traffic that goes along with that paradigm, either. Listen, Mountain Home is clean, quiet at night and a good value compared to other places and other FamCamps. A good night's sleep means more than having the mini-mart just two streets away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
After reading the other reviews, I began to wonder if those folks were at a different famcamp. I didn't like the MH famcamp at all. It felt desolate and inhospitable. The camp hosts didn't answer the door when I knocked, even though they told me to come back so that I could get my AF Frequent Campers coupon book stamped. I had to figure out that the table under the cabana next to their Class A had the stamp and ink on it for me to stamp the book myself. But the coupon book requires a signature...it was a bummer. Uncool even. The place just felt dark and dingy to me, and I'd been to four other famcamps in the same month and I felt just the opposite about them. :o(
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
46 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3