Uchee Creek Campground/Marina

Featured
 
4.6 (97)
137778 0 18 1 75

User reviews

97 reviews
 
67%
 
31%
 
2%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.5(97)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(97)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.5(97)
Value
 
4.6(97)
Overall Experience
 
4.7(97)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
97 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Oct 6, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Had a electrical connection problem on site # 19. Called office lady on phone said she send maintenance right away. Maintenance tech arrived in about 15 minutes Sunday a Holiday weekend!!! After ckecking the issue said he had to go to his shop to see if he had the needed parts would return in about 15 0r 20 minutes, he did. I explained I had to leave, but when he completed the repair it was safe to turn power on. When I returned the power was on every thing was fine. Later in the evening the tech returned to see if everything was still ok "WOW" What customer service. This staff deserves a PAT on the BACk!!!! RV camping for for over 25 years, USAF CMSgt Ret I salute these folks. Great Camp Ground
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
24-25 Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Fantastic park. Folks at office were great. Easy propane access. We stayed in the section that has huge paved pull throughs with lots of privacy. Nice landscaping and many trails. WifI was great. Verizon perfect. Some may not like the noise from 130's at low level to and from nearby Fryar field for Airborne School...didn't bother us. First military campground that we have stayed in recently that hasn't turned into family housing. No homesteading here it seems. Wish all campgrounds were like this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
22-23 Feb 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Outstanding park. Probably the best park we have ever stayed in. Agree with the other positive comments. Staff and Host very friendly and accommodating. Host said it is rarely crowed except on some summer weekend. They have long term sites avail. Earlier post mentioned the C130s. They are dropping students from the Airborne School over at Fryar Drop Zone which is about 10 minutes away. If you hear a 130, head that way (Google Maps will bring it up but don't take the first suggested turn on a dirt road...stay on the paved and follow the signs). Guests are welcome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Sep 20-23, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed for three nights in a small Class C. One of the nicest parks we have stayed in recently. Check in was easy and within minutes we were able to find our site #39. There was a tree near the sight unfortunately it was not on the sunny side of the RV. All hook ups are next to each other and sewer is on back side. No dog park in campground however there are plenty of trails and roads where walking Daisy was easy. That said, need to be aware that wildlife does show up in AM/PM...deer and understand an armadillo or two (which we did not see). Campground is about 4 miles from back gate of Ft Benning and the gate is open 24/7. Showers and bathrooms were very clean. Verizon phone signal was weak but doable and if there is wifi we couldn't get signal. They are near a lake and river so fishing and pontoon boats are available for rent. We used opportunity to visit a niece in Auburn which was about 45 minutes away...just need to remember time zone change from eastern back to central. We came up from the south so as shown in the directions section, we came up US 431 to AL 165 to 101st Airborne Division Road and followed the signs. We did go on Ft Benning which put us across the bridge that is being repaired and is a controlled one lane. Will be back..might even try one of the chalets next time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
29 Nov - 3 Dec 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Directions say use base access point #2. There are no signs that tell you which gate is what access point. Gate guard at the end of I-185 said that is gate #3. Regardless, if you come in I-185, it is very easy to find the park and drive thru the base even in a big rig. Once you pass the big water tower (it will be on your right) you go down a small hill and will see 3 crosswalk signs. Just past the 3rd sign, you will turn left. There are signs to the campground, but some give zero warning of an impending turn. This was one with next to no notice of a turn. The other left turn with next to no warning is the final turn onto the marina/campground road. Immediately after passing the 2nd solar panel farm (this is out the back gate), you turn left to the marina/park. Easy check in at the country store. I had an older pull thru and had to adjust a few times to make sure the slides would extend and not hit the trees. If I return here, I will ask for a back-in out in the open. I just don't like climbing up on the roof and sweeping off the slides. The newer pull thrus appear to be longer and wider, but not tree covered. This place is HUGE!! No fenced dog area, but there are so many roads to walk the dog, it is not a problem. Just remember to carry your pick-up bags, because the doggy comfort stations were empty. Water pressure was very good. Electrical and cable worked well. Wifi was better than I expected. If ever in the area again, I would definitely stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
June 21 - July 1, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.H. left this review using the Directory software: This was my third visit to Uchee Creek. It was also my first summertime visit, so I was able to experience something which had thus far escaped me. My visit included the longest day of the year, and with temperatures into the high 90's, I was disappointed to see that the pool is open only from noon to 6:00 PM during the week, and only slightly longer during the weekend. When I asked about it, I was told that there was only one attendant, and that he was allowed only 40 hours per week. His explanation was understandable, but not quite acceptable. All other aspects of this campground are the same as before - impeccable! Although not guaranteeing a specific site at time of reservation, staff always has gone above and beyond to accommodate my request. Although only an old enlisted dog, I feel like a VIP when at Uchee Creek.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 2015
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was a very nice campground with everything you could need. All sites are full hook ups 50amp, and cable hook up with 58 channels! We came from Alabama so we didn't need to drive through the whole base. Also information here is incorrect and outdated so I will update: first the address is all wrong, here's the address your GPS will take you exactly to this RV park: 5 Uchee Creek Rd, Fort Mitchell, AL 36856. Also prices are as follows; Prices are based on rank (retired or active), E-5 and below= $23/$138/$552, Tent=$8/$48, E-6 and above= $24/$144/$576, Tent=$9/$54. They also have 75' pull through sites for $1 additional per night for E-5 and below and $3 additional for E-5 and above. Golden age/access pass is $5 discount. (Editor note: Website updated).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Mar 30 - Apr 3 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Second time staying here and it was another nice stay. Bridge from the post out the back gate is under construction, but your RV will fit...just go as slow as you are comfortable. Quiet during the week and only a little noise from kids on the weekend. Plenty of room between sites. Utilities worked well and were located in a great spot for my rig. I had a back-in this time and went all the way back to the tires almost on the concrete block. Some sites are open and others are well treed. No grill at my site, but most site have one. Wifi was fine late at night and during the week when fewer people were using it. It is over a 30 min drive to Columbus whether you go thru the post or the long way around. Andersonville National Military Cemetary/POW museum/historic site is over 90 min away, but worth the drive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 22-23 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wonderful, clean place, noticed pet people with bags. Made same day reservations very accommodating staff. We went riding to check out the park noticed the other campers were very friendly, Lots of Family's camping here. Did not have issues with anything not working, did not need maintenance. Loved the hiking trails will definitely keep this as a favorite place.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Weekend of Dec. 3, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is by far my families favorite military camp! It is located in a beautiful wooded area, with nice play grounds, views of an amazing river, a swimming pool, and huge camping lots. I was very impressed and can't wait to come back and camp here!!! This place is great!! It's a drive to get to main post, but it's not too bad. It's worth the drive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
31 May - 4 Jun 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed this park and will come back. Staff was nice and helpful--only markdown is for the laundry facilities. They could use a good cleaning and several of the dryers didn't work. We were parked near the pool and found all the spots around us to be well kept and large; many parks you are right on top of your neighbor--here you had plenty of room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
February 8-23, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is one of our favorite military campgrounds. The sites are large and easy to get in to. Office personnel are friendly. The one who checked us in, though, needed to be updated on one way streets in campground. He had us going down wrong way. It's a good thing we had been here before. Deer are always seen in the campground in the evenings. The Fryar Drop Zone is only about a mile away where you can go and watch the Airborne drops. Some of the sites flood pretty good during a hard rain, but dry up quickly. Didn't get a chance to visit the new museum but understand it is worth the visit. Would recommend this campground highly. DO NOT FOLLOW YOUR GPS DIRECTIONS. We never did find the campground that way! Just follow the directory directions. I am sure we will be visiting here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 27 - April 2, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First, getting there. I used the GPS and it took me right to the Country Store for check in. I talked to another person that also used it and he had no problems except he thought it was taking him astray. He said he was confused because he was in Alabama. Uchee Creek Campground is in Alabama, but part of Ft. Benning, Georgia, thus the confusion. I was in site 27 and it was an excellent site. I was within easy walking distance to a bath house and laundry. The only down side of the place was in the laundry. There were 6 each washers and dryers. Some of the washers were 75 cents a load and some were $1.25. Same type washers, so couldn't figure the difference. 2 of the washers were broken. The dryers were also different prices. Half were labeled as 25 cents but no time given, the other half were labeled as 50 cents for 12 minutes. Again, could not see any difference in them. I dried a double load in one of 50 cent ones and put $2 in and they dried very well. All the facilities were very clean and the whole camping area was well landscaped and maintained. Definitely a place to stop if you are going to be in the area. Not that far to Columbus for major shopping. The exchange was large, well stocked and had just about everything you would need. Commissary also large and well stocked. Verizon and Dish worked well here except you are right on the Time Zone line and my phone kept changing times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
19 May 2010 - 02 June 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Generally speaking this is a nice facility, however, on arrival we were assigned a site in the "long term" area (Site 65) on the back side of the facility. It appears that alot of the travel trailers in the campground belong to Fort Benning and are being utilized for housing active duty and other personnel. All of the campers appeared to have been there for some time. The area was infested by mosquitoes to the point that it was not possible to go outside day or night. After several days I requested to move to another site in the campground. Was permitted to move to Site 41 and it was much better and the remaining time was much more enjoyable. Deer are everywhere. Laundry facilities could stand general cleaning and several driers had been broken into and not repaired. Cell phone and internet service was almost non-existent. Satellite service was good. Water pressure was low.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Mar 20 -21, 2013
(Updated: March 24, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Short stay on the way from Florida back to SC. As usual this is a great place to visit for short or long stay. The new water lines are almost complete and a new power line is being run now. Also with the housing developments on Highway 165 there is a new cell tower making cell service much better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 24 to March 31, 2013
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Has been over two years since we have been here and what a nice surprise that the new section of 22 sites is now completed and our Zephyr fits here beautifully with plenty of room for the car and a clear shot for roof mounted Dish. The office/registration building has been redesigned on the inside and more staff available to help you individually as it can be busy at times with so many outdoor activities on this post handled by them and they were very friendly as well as knowledgeable. Sites are blacktop, very level and very large and not just for long term as we are here for 6 nights. The folks someone mentioned that were here with all kinds of stuff must have left or been asked to leave and there are very few RV's in the new area and absolutely no one has any stuff outside that looks like they live here. New brochure states homesteading is prohibited and the other areas of the campground look much better than in the past so at this time I have to say the homesteading prohibited rule is being enforced. The Golden Age Card discount price of $12.00 a day or $360.00 a month should get this place full as word spreads and folks know the new sites are beautiful and very large. We use our MiFi from Verizon and have no problems getting and staying on the internet. The exchange and commissary are large, clean, organized and employees are friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 27 to Aug 3, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first stay at Fort Benning. We have been told about this campground from a Army buddy of ours. He couldn't say enough about how great this place was. We found them to be true. One of the nicest Army Campgrounds we've every stayed at. Flat sites. There is cable service but our antenna worked pretty well. Staff was very friendly. It's a remote location but still close enough to the base that it's not a problem. We were able to drive down the road to watch paratroopers jump from C130s. We would recommend this campground. We have ATT cell service and it's terrible (not their fault). WIFI is non existent and that would be my only complaint. We came in from from Kentucky on US 280 to US431 then turned onto Alabama 165. About a mile past Fort Mitchell National Cemetery, turn left onto 101st Airborne Division Road. . We would return to this Campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
22 Apr to 24 Apr 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has got to be one of the BEST military campgrounds we have stayed at ever........... The setting is fantastic, the people were good, our stay here was absolutely fabulous. We will be going here often from now on. Yes, you are 20 minutes from main post, but who cares. First night we were on a site that was fairly good but asked if we could move to a different site because of our two dogs. No problem, we were moved. Huge site, with trails right behind us, and yes, we clean up after the dogs. About dark, 20 or so deer walked across by our rig to go eat and bed down in the center of the cg. This campground was exceptionally well cared for and is also a marina where you can rent boats to go fishing or relaxing. This will definitely be one of our stops on our way north to south and back again...........
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
6 Oct - 10 Oct 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit to this Famcamp and we plan on visiting again. We camped in our 39ft 5th wheel and had no problems getting in or out of the park. We were in site 28 and it was plenty large enough for our rig. Site 28 is next to the pool and up and across from the bathhouse/laundry room. The park was very clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. The wifi was hit or miss the entire time of our visit, but for our short stay we didn't miss it very much. The commissary and PX are located on the main post and are very well stocked. If you visit this park you must visit the Infantry Museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 13 to June 13, Oct 1 to Oct 31, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
M.P. left this review using the Directory software: - Beginning Oct. 1, 2011, this campground accepts "the america the beautiful card" (golden access). The cost to stay in an RV site per night is $10.00 with the America the beautiful card. This is a beautiful park with plans to to make this the best campground in the East. This year improvements include new washers and dryers, 22 new pull through RV sites, paving the road to the executive chalets, a new fishing bridge, a remodel camp store, new system for a smoother check in, trees removed and new beautiful street lights through out the Campground. I am sure there have been many more improvements however these are the ones that I have noticed. The office staff is one of the best. They will go out of their way to help you. We get three bars on our verizon cell phone and I tether my blackberry so internet isn't an issue. They are working on getting free wi fi throughout the RV park... This is our second month long visit this year, and it won't be our last. This is a wonderful winter home ...and most times warmer then the gulf coast. Plans to build a new recreation center is in the budget for this year. The camp cove is open for games, card playing, hot dog night and a movie night. The base offers much to do and see. I almost forgot to mention the Large pool had a major overhaul this past spring... new tile, sanding and refinishing took place.. Nice to have if you spend anytime during the summer months here. My very favorite thing to do while staying here is to sit around the campfire with family and friends. A huge herd of deer stop by every evening and morning for whatever handouts we can spare. All the improvements have been made without a price increase.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
97 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5