MCLB Albany RV Park

 
4.2 (31)
48162 0 18 0 27

User reviews

11 reviews with 5 stars
31 reviews
 
39%
 
52%
 
6%
2 stars
 
0%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.9(31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(31)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(31)
Value
 
4.6(31)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
June 27-29, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very clean. All short term sites are long and pull thru in center of campground. Gravel parking. Many homesteaders, the pictures show they even have storage sheds at their perimeter sites. The pictures are accurate, NO laundy at campground, base car wash did not work. Everyone on base was very friendly! Large units should contact the main gate to get help passing. They moved barricades after my call and before I left. There was even a guard there to direct traffic and get us out easily.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 20 & May 29, 2013
(Updated: June 02, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Visited on 5/20/2013, got a run around by security about using the side gate with my motor home, finally let me in after some discussion as to why I could not use the truck gate or the main gate. they did not understand backing up with a tow is not possible, and that there was a side gate besides the main that I could get through, there is in the out bound lane which I would not want to enter. On return 5/29/2013 I stopped in the large parking lot beside the pass & ID building and call the traffic control officer who came and let me in without any problem or static. Why have a truck gate that will not allow large RV's ? Most all other Military Bases Do!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1 May 12
(Updated: May 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The base is about 45 min off I-75. This is our second visit to this FamCamp. We enjoyed the last stay and we are enjoying this one. Made reservations the day before, we were told that the spots with cable were saved for guests staying more then 30 days. On arrival we asked if we could get a slot with cable, again we were told only if we were staying 30 days. When we got to the FamCamp the host came to check on us. He remembered us from the last trip and told us he had no problem with us taking one of the empty slots with cable. We moved to one slot, someone put an odd type connector on the cable and we couldn't get it off so we moved to another slot. There are 20 slots, 8 drive thru without cable 12 back in. All have E/W/S plus a storage shed on the outer 12. They are in the process of turning an old quarters into a bath house and laundry. It is well on it's way but host wasn't sure of completion date. We are just passing thru but asked the camp host what there is to do in the local area. There is a lot of history in the area and he had a long list of things to see. Base has theater, gym, bowling ally golf course and the other things most bases have. Only complaint, the nats and there isn't much they can do about that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26-29 February 2012
(Updated: February 28, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Am presently camped here. Very quiet, 10 sites occupied, including me. Most are active duty. Eight very long pull through sites and about another dozen or so in a large semi circle. W/E/S to all. The pull through are all relatively new additions. Walking distance to the Commissary/MC Ex...about 3/4 of a mile. Plenty of walking/biking areas. Outstanding WiFi, probably the best I have used anywhere. Attendant, Richard, a retired Marine that now runs the Housing Office, is a very pleasant fellow and knowledgeable of the local area. A laundry/bath facility is in the construction process nearby. There are two RV service business in the nearby area only a few miles from the Base. 30 day maximum stay. I would definitely return here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb 11 2012
(Updated: February 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived at MCLB Friday afternoon from Florida. I have a Class B so we used the main gate. I had put the lat & long into my GPS but it didn't work that well when we got close. There were good signs though. I'm sure it is my GPS, it's older and I've had other problems with it. At the gate the guard gave good instructions. Stay right, go past the golf course, when you get to the fire station on your left, stay left and you'll dead end into the RV park. He was right. We had reservations, we were told we could pay the Camp Host or drop a check in the box. Camp Host works on base and he was at work, there were no envelopes at the drop box so we drove to the MWR and paid. Gas on base was much cheaper then the outside so we filled up. We noted the base theater had a good movie, first run, so we came back for the movie. ($2.50 adults $1 kids under 12) When we made reservations we were given an inside spot that had no cable. When we checked in they moved us to a spot with cable and they told us they had been trying to get them to put the cable in the middle spots but the guy hasn't done it yet. Also talked to the Camp Host when he came by and he said that they had new base housing so they kept an old house that will be converted into the bath house/laundry. He talked as it would be done soon. Wi Fi was great. All in all this is a hidden gem. Yes there are homesteaders but the area is neat and clean and for now there were plenty of spots.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
28-29 Oct 2011
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
D.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice RV park and base, MCX on Radford Blvd. Eight (8) new pull thrus are near completion, Super free WIFI, Super nice Camp Host.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 2011
(Updated: March 03, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We made a reservation for one night and ended up staying three. This campground offers excellent value. Our only complaint is that it is deep within the base and you have to drive about four to five miles off the highway to get to the RV park. The directions do not indicate just how great a distance it is. The sites have mainly homesteaders but we were warmly welcomed. No campground office on site but the campground manager on site 10 was able to check us in. Sites now have excellent free wifi and cable. Wide paved sites with large area to accommodate tow vehicles. Not far from the base exchange and commissary. Rural type atmosphere, wooded area. Hiking in the woods not available at the time because of hunting season. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Years 1986-1991
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My dad was stationed here. I grew up here. On the back side of the circle 2 or three spots from the end as you take a right around the circle. I'm glad to hear that they are keeping it up. In the field to the SW we used to have a small vegetable garden. The field to the right when you go in there used to be a small playground for the kids. I remember being able to ride my bike to the pool and exchange, getting hair cuts at the barber. Minor League baseball team the Albany Polecats games. I'm sorry to say the moved. I also used to have a tree house there. From the satellite map it looks like it is still there. Sad to say i will most likely never see it again. It was a tree with a main truck that split into a Y a ways up. If anyone visits I ask that you take a moment and check on my childhood tree house and let me know. Before the circle begins it was maybe 50 ft up the road across from the field. It wasn't too far in the trees. If it is there and someone got a picture it would make me so happy to know that that piece of my childhood is still there. I hope everyone enjoys the RV Park that was once my childhood home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 - 26 March 2009
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We loved this little campground. Large sites, lot of space between each site. Joe the man that maintains the campground does a great job. Best looking campground I have ever visited. There are still only 8 sites, three are taken by full time DOD workers. We spent time talking to one, and received some good information. They are tearing down the old base housing, but they are going to leave one house for the campground. They are to convert it to a community center/laundry room for the campground. He said it should be finished early next year. The BX is closed for renovation, will reopen next March. Commissary is small, but great prices. If your in the area stop by.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 15-18, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Huge sites, clean, rates great. They do take reservations but at time we went take only one week in advance. Is near a family housing area, however was told these houses will soon be demolished as new being built due to age. Entire area still looks good, and being a Marine base (hmmm am I a bit biased????) the entire area is beautiful Only 4 sites / 20 presently in use--working on an additional 4 when we were there--VERY SLOWLY working. This was once a small trailer part for military families. The personnel were friendly / helpful--although it would be nice to have a camp host. If you are traveling & looking for just an overnight this is a bit of a detour from I75--but certainly was a 'great time down memory lane' for my husband in the 3 days we spent. I would recommend it! Need to get the word out & perhaps they will speed up preparing the additional sites, maybe even open all 20!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July - September 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
They are in the process of opening up 4 more sites with W,S,E. I see them over there digging. There is cable here also. Hopefully they will have everything in place in a few weeks. The 30-day limit is pretty relaxed. You can pay for 30-days at a time. The sites are HUGE. Probably about 35 feet to the next campsite. Each site has a two car paved driveway up front, and a little brick storage room at the rear of each site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11 results - showing 1 - 11