MCLB Albany RV Park

 
4.2 (31)
48162 0 18 0 27

User reviews

17 reviews with 4 stars
31 reviews
 
39%
 
52%
 
6%
2 stars
 
0%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.9(31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(31)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(31)
Value
 
4.6(31)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17
Ordering
April 8 - 9th, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were obviously horrible with directions at MCAS Albany. After touring the base looking for the camp in a 45' bus (towing a Jeep), the police finally led us to the camp. Our slot was 2. We observed a neighbor treating for ants. After spraying for ants on both sides of the bus, we set up camp for two nights. One crew associate was extremely helpful as we unfortunately had to unhook the Jeep after attempting a right turn during our exit. His support was "the" key reason for an overalll 5 experience. Attempting to exit the base, we learned that we could not get out via the gate our GPS provided. Fortunately, the police were out conducting random searches and redirected us around a supply building to another gate which turned out to be the gate we came in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
August 15 - 17, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Easy to get to. Close to commissary and NEX. Pool was already closed for the season. Visited Radium Springs and the Welcome Center.Wanted to visit Thronateeska, but it's closed Sunday - Wednesday. Nice stay. Gnats, but no mosquitoes! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
February 2016
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stop here each year on my way to Kings Bay, Big Rigs must go in side gate after opened by Base Security, Call the Chief helps. Base Directory is online, also there is a very large parking lot off base for stand alone units.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jan 5-7 2014
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Went through gate on Fleming Rd. was tight getting through barriers but took our time and had no problem. Gate guards were friendly, were changing over duty so the off going guards led us through the base to the CG. Upon arriving at CG was met by camp host, friendly guy who said just choose one of the open spots in the middle. All the center spots are pull thru and long enough to park at least a couple of RV's each. Inner ring is for short term campers and the outer ring, with the sheds you see in photos are for long term campers. Sites have 30/50 Amp service, WIFI, water and sewer at sites, there is CATV but you need a special box that you put down a $75 deposit on to be able to use the service, unfeasible for a short term camper. We didn't hook up water due to freezing temps, so not sure of pressure or taste. The bathroom/bath house is a good 150 yards from the CG but is modern, clean and nice & warm, building also has a good size laundry. Check in is located in building 3600 way on the other side of the base and disconnected from anything else related to recreation. It is directly across from the headquarters building, not the easiest thing in the world to find since there are no base maps in any of the literature available to campers. Base has a commisary and exchange, commisary closed on Sunday and Monday so didn't get to check it out. Thank goodness Wal-Mart is just 7 miles away. Overall this is a good CG with decent facilities, Set up more for long term use than short term the way it appears. I would recommend stopping here if you are in the area, I would camp here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 30, 2013 - Jan 5, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The commercial gate was not open when we came. At the main gate we drove around the pass bldg to get to the gate for easy access. It's locked. My husband, the driver, had scoped out the route at the gate & felt there would be no issue getting in. And it was fine. Our best friends, traveling with us are in a truck with a 5th wheel. They also came thru the main gate. Slow & steady. The gate guard gave us directions which we followed. And there are not many signs on the base. Take your time as you're driving as the trees are low. We had plenty of spanish moss on board by the time we got to the park. This is a small park with some long terms. Everything is neat & tidy. There are no fire rings. Never saw the bath house. The commissary & exchange are nearby. Gas pumps are in front of the exchange. It was easy to get our Class A to the fuel. There really isn't much on this base for activities. There is a bar/grill that is open M-F. We went in on Friday night thinking we would eat & then bowl as there is a 6 lane bowling alley. The grill was out of a lot of food as it was Friday nite & they would be closed for 2 days. And we couldn't bowl. You have to have reservations & the party a minimum of 6. We were thankful to see that several families had made arrangements to come in to bowl & that it was being used. The negative that we experienced was one evening when we came back to the RV there was a note taped to the door. Taped on all 4 sides. It was a notice reminding us of the hard freeze. That was not an easy task getting the tape off the door. My husband did call & have a conversation with the office suggesting that in the future notes be stapled to the handrail located by most RV doors. Downtown Albany has a great visitors center. Plenty of info & helpful attendants. Nice park. Ray Charles Memorial is unique. The statue is of Ray at the piano. His music is playing. The area around looks like piano keys and music notes scattered about. A few blocks away is a restaurant called Our Daily Bread. They even make their hamburger buns. (Except for the ones on the krispy kreme burger) One in our group had a Jimmy Carter burger. It had peanut butter on it. While you're downtown, find The Cookie Shoppe. They also serve b-fast & lunch. But, it's the cookies & baklava you want. Take time to look at the framed newspapers. They are original. Plains, GA - home of Jimmy Carter is a quick drive from Albany. Start out at the city's visitor center then head to the National Park sites. The visitor center is staffed by locals who really start out your visit. Make sure you drive out to Archery where Carter's boyhood home is. I don't know if we'll be back to this RV park. It was fine for what we wanted to do but it's not a destination park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 3
14 Oct 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.O. left this review using the Directory software: - What a well kept secret! Inside circle sites are well over 100', pull-thru and level. Campground is clean. Bathhouse is a bit of a walk but very nice. Concrete patios. Internet is great. Our cable wasn't ready yet but TV reception is very good. One complaint: Our picnic table was dirty!! Oh, snap.....Would definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Dec 17, 2012
(Updated: December 17, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I would concur with the review in May 2012 on the poor directions. I could not find Mock road. My GPS took me to a closed gate along the perimeter fence on Flemming road. After a couple of miles West bound on the road; I had no problem entering the main gate in my 38foot class A with toad (albeit a narrow passage). After a round the block turn-around near the MCX, I found the campground. However, there needs to be additional signage on the the base. The campground itself is clearly a hidden gem. Most of the parked RVs were occupied (not stored). Very quiet. Fairly spacious pull-thru sites with full hookups for only $15. Good WIFI signal and very clean laundry and shower facility. I did not use the cable service. I would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 19 & 23, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Mostly homesteaders, some bushes need cutting, sell the pine trees and use the funds to plant good trees and improvements. This park is a well kept secret, space 1 and some others are a tight turn for large motor homes to enter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 Oct 2011
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.S. left this review using the Directory software: - MWR needs to get the gate entry problem solved !
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 25, 2012 and November 29, 2015
(Updated: December 08, 2015)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I am so surprised that no one seems to have had trouble finding the gate.  The main gate has a "no trucks" sign, and the next gate down on Fleming, the Commercial Truck gate, says no POV.  There is no gate simply named "truck gate".  We came in from South County line and drove the whole length of Fleming looking for a truck gate.  Got to Mock and realized it must have been back there somewhere.  We called and were told we have to use the main gate.  We have a 40' pusher with toad, but okay, we tried it.  They allowed us to go around the building and out another fenced area - but why then do the directions here say truck gate?  What a fiasco.  Once we got here to the park, it's nice enough, and we may be back sometime now that we know where it is, but boy, the signage on base as well as these directions could use an overhaul! I'll revisit this when we leave to change the ratings as needed.  ~~~~~~~~~~  November 29, 2015: As of October 2015 the commercial gate off Fleming Road is closed for reconfiguration and will likely not be reopened for commercial purposes, only POVs. The new Commercial Gate is off S Mock Rd, but is only for Commercial Vehicles; not RVs. RVs must enter at main gate off Fleming Road. The "no trucks" sign in front of the main gate means no commercial vehicles, but the gate guards will open a gate for an oversized non-commercial vehicle. The office is in Building 3600 which is right behind the HQ building #3500 which is straight ahead on entering the base. This go-around the experience was much more pleasant, given that we called ahead to verify the main gate was the place to go.  Sure wish we could have gotten our hands on an installation map, though. never did find the commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
5 March - 7 March 2010
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We went down for the Snickers Marathon in Albany. We called a week ahead and had no problem getting a reservation. Arrived a bit late on Friday night and had a little problem with the directions given by the gate guard. Finally made it to our site and were pleasantly surprised to find there was cable in addition to W/E/S. All of the hookups were new and well maintained. There were 4 others homesteading in the park but other than that we were the only transients for the weekend. We found a nice hiking trail behind our site (#16). Everything was very nice and quiet. If you are looking for a place out of the way to get some peace and quiet, this would be it. The commissary, MCX, and gas station are about a mile away. We did find out from one of the homesteaders that the concrete out building was a storage shed from the days when Marine Corps bases had mobile home parks. When the Marine Corps quit paying for folks to move their mobile homes during PCS's they turned it into a Fam Camp. I believe there was one at Edwards AFB as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 21 - 23, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
T.M. left this review using the Directory sofware: It was very quiet, except for the mocking bird!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
12-14 MAY 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Spacious campsites (20 in all). This is the second time we have camped here as a passing through spot and it's the same as before, not many sites are being used and those that are seem to be active duty. The sites are nicely shaded and each has a picnic table, grill and a lockable shed. The active duty on base are QUITE friendly - the guard at the gate even remembered us from our stay here last NOVEMBER! RV office staff (Belinda and Sparkle) are very friendly too but have very limited knowledge of the RV park. For example, cable TV didn't work on our site, so we plugged into the empty site next to us and that one worked. When we told the office staff what we had done, she didn't even realize that there WAS cable in the RV park. I asked when check-out time was at the RV office and the Belinda said sweetly, "Whenever you get ready to go, ma'am". Now, that's rare. Town of Albany isn't very nice at all so we stick to the base when we're here. There are no laundry facilites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 19 - April 2, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very clean, quiet campground. Still only 8 sites for full hookups. Three other rigs in at the same time and they appeared to be people that worked on the base or just there for long time. Appears there is no stay limit. Belinda in MCCS very friendly. Sign posted for rates and honor system pay stated monthly rate at $300. Small exchange, well stocked commisary about 1 mile from campground on base. Most everything you need within 1/2 hour drive from here. Definately would use this campground again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 21, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Although no pull throughs, sites 13 to 20 have been completely renovated and are excellent with full hook-ups. Our site looked like it had cable, but connection was 30 feet behind pad and we couldn't use it. Not sure if it is standard, but someone delivered morning paper to our site. Only drawback to facility is no comfort station, rumor has it that one will be built.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 30, 2007 to July 11, 2007 and still there
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
OPEN! OPEN! OPEN! They are giving the park another try. It's extremely clean and quiet. It's near family housing. The base has everything to offer - parks, swimming, tennis, shoppig (small PX), library, bowling, fishing, and hiking. We're enjoying our stay. They have cleaned up the park even more since July 1st. I hope in anticipation of more visitors. They have a total of 20 sites. I think it's a matter of usage if they open the other sites. There clean and ready to go. They do not have a host, just a drop box or you may go the MCCS office in the morning about a mile away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 23-Apr 2 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very quit and clean camp. Only 4 sites being used. All have WSE (50amp) and cable. $17.00 per nite, $90.00 per week. Rummer has it they will close in July '07. Sorry if the do. Very nice Commissary PX. (Editors note: The rumor of this military campground closing is false. The campground verified with me that they are open and taking reservations. Glad to hear it!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 results - showing 1 - 17