Holbrook Pond Recreation Area and Campground

Featured
 
4.2 (67)
113102 0 37 0 40

User reviews

33 reviews with 5 stars
67 reviews
 
49%
 
36%
 
4%
 
6%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.8(67)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(67)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(67)
Value
 
4.4(67)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(67)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
July 18 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Right off range road but didn’t hear a single shot, even though I know they were active. 5-7 minutes from the PX and Commissary, pretty convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful, I arrived and departed during business hours. The spots in the loop are back in only and don’t have sewer hookups, but easy to back into, wooded and well shaded. The pull through sites have sewer hookups, but no shade, which might be a big deal in the summer. The dump station costs $5 and is in an odd spot with low tree branches on one side that could pose a problem for Class A set ups. But my truck and trailer are 55 feet bumper to bumper and I got in there no problem. Stayed 2 nights on our way to Florida, will stay another 2 nights next week on our way home. Overall a good experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June 26, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For those looking to use Holbrook outdoor recreation campgrounds at Ft Stewart, their new phone number is (912) 435-8205. Also, DO NOT use the drop box for late night check-in until further notice, MWR move operations to the outdoor equipment rental office and was informed by the attendees they don't have access to the Dropbox.. Only other issue is that their modern comfort station is accessed by combination lock on door. Meaning late night arrivals will need to use the old white bldg toilets.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
12 May 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice wooded campground with improvements and expansion ongoing for more campsites. Bathrooms were clean and neat. Will definitely return to this area and stay again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jun 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a wonderful time during our stay there. The staff was most helpful. The camp was clean and well maintained. We'll stay again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great stay. Staff thoughtfully called us on the day of arrival to ensure we didn't run into any trouble with the holiday Hayride that was going on in the area. It looks like a new shower/bathroom building and wifi have been added since the earlier reviews. I am however sure the alligators still exist but we did see a few security cars driving through during our stay.  Fire rings and charcoal grills seem to be a each site. All sites have water and electric (20/30/50). Dump station is along the exit and free for registered campers. Concrete pads easily fit my 33'MH. Closest stores are probably 20 minutes away so bring what you'll need. We enjoyed it and will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct 21 - 30 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Well we're back again after a couple of years. Stopped here for 10 days on our way to Camp Lejeune, NC. Not much has changed, trees everywhere, fishing pond, still a very quite and peaceful, and great hosts. Yes a little bit away from stores and such, which I think is great. Not interested in camping in a city. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like it or not. Well I still like this FamCamp!  Will certainly come here again. Plenty of sites to choose from. Great people, 50/30 amp electric and water hookups, gray water on the ground, black at the dump station or you can rent a tote for $ 3.00. I use Direct TV and always get a site where it works. Also use Verizon Phone & WiFi, no problems at all. Laundry worked, was clean and free. Commissary and Exchange right down the road about 3 miles. Dining out not too far to town. For you dog lovers, right up the road is a dog park, lots for your pet do do. Had a real good time here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
14 Apr 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A bit out of the way (15 miles) from the 85 exit. Had no black water hook out, gray water was OK to put on the ground! A great outta the way place. Large sites on concrete pads. We were greeted and given the 5 cent tour by the attendant. There were two gators in the pond! It was a bit buggy, but I do want to go back and hang out some! We did the PX, but not the commissary. There were excellent restaurants in Hinesville and we chose the German one! - Can't wait to go back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
7-8 Jan 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Secluded camp ground, was about 20 miles into base area before we found it. Host was friendly and informative about the area. Bathhouse was clean with plenty of hot water and the laundry facility was spacious and clean. We were in site 7, had 30/50 amp service, water, sewer, OK WIFI, picnic table, charcoal grill, and fire ring. Savannah was a pretty good distance so didn't get there but this would be a good place to stay for an extended visit. Stayed only one night on a trip from FL to NC. The facilities appeared clean and well maintained. Did not use any of the base facilities but they appear to be near by, commissary about 2.5 miles. Would like to stay here longer some time maybe in the fall. Overall a well managed and maintained Camp Ground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
May 02, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WARNING: THE GPS COORDINATES IN THE MILITARY RV CAMPING GUIDE BOOK ARE WAY WRONG! Do not use them, they are at least ten miles off and left us completely lost. The GPS coordinates on this website are different than the ones in the guide book but I cannot say if the ones on this website are correct since we didn't use them. The written directions in the guidebook and on this website are good. Another big deal: The military RV guide book says Savannah is 11 miles away. In fact, it is 39 miles from the RV park to the Savannah historic district. Fort Stewart is a massive base - 437 square miles! The RV park is a long way from anywhere, so if you are looking for a place to overnight on the way somewhere else it's probably not the place for you. If you just want a great spot to spend some quality time, it's perfect. The RV spaces are widely separated and the campground is gorgeous. Holbrook Pond is a short walk away and we were told the fishing is excellent. Check in is at the Outdoor Recreation office located at the campground, NOT the Outdoor Recreation office you first come across. When we checked in we told the manager of the incorrect guide book GPS coordinates and that we got lost as a result. She said she hears it all the time and gave us a coupon for a free night's stay on our next visit. We'll probably never get a chance to use it but it was a nice gesture.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26 Apr - 1 May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent campground host. Bathrooms were clean and a lot of space between campers. Lots of shade. Close to Ft. Stewart, just a little faraway from Savannah.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov. 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed at Holbrook Pond many times over the yrs. Each time it gets better with personnel & improvements. Kathy, in the office is the best and George the Camp Host can't be beat. Our stays have always been very pleasant. Looking forward to our next visit. Suzi B. & Chief Metroman
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16 November 2013
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed one night on a trip from VA to FL. Kind of far off Rt 95 for a one night stop but easy to get to. The facilities appeared clean and well maintained. The surrounding areas were beautiful. Did not use any of the base facilities facilities but they appear to be near by. Would consider this camp as a destination for a week stay in the early spring time to explore the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 24-31, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here a week the Camp Host was the best. He helped me a lot. This was our first trip in our motor home and if all of my trips are as good as this one I will be Camping a long time. Thanks, Louis Froelich.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2013
(Updated: April 23, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Staff and camp host do an excellent job, The internet has been expanded and and now can be used at every site. Verizon 4G cell service works and all the others too include AT & T are to far from a town or the interstate. Direct TV can be best used at sites 1 -10 and 11 -20 takes a some time to find holes in the trees. Dish is a lot harder but site 19 is using Dish at this time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
CG Hosts 2007-2012
(Updated: March 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This morning we began our next "Adventure" as full-timers by lovingly waving good-bye to our 4 year tour as Camp Hosts at Ft. Stewart, GA's Holbrook Pond Campground. Except for a 1 yr. off in 2008-2009, we have been winter Camp Hosts at Holbrook Pond since Oct. 2007. We have so enjoyed serving you, our fellow Retirees and Active Duty, and hope we made your stay at Holbrook Pond a great experience. We are leaving to do more traveling of this great country of ours (no matter what the gas prices are... ) and to just be RVers.... We are proud of the changes, no matter how small, we helped to bring about. More are to come, but as we all know, the wheels of progress move slowly....Cathy, the Facility Manager, works hard, too, to provide the best camping experience as possible. She is currently under-staffed, so please be patient when calling for info or reservations. Thank you, all, who have visited during our tenure as Camp Hosts for your comments. Good or Bad, we always strive to improve and to serve. Dock & Lori
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
1 - 15 JAN 2012
(Updated: January 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'm not a number rater, either I like a campground or I don"t. Well, I like this famcamp! Very quite and peaceful (except for the sounds of freedom). Great people, Host Doc & Lori are the best. Had water & electric hookup, gray water is allowed on ground. Shopping & dining out 7 miles away. Will certainly come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
11 FEB 2011
(Updated: February 13, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is great and getting better, there are improvements to the park ongoing so far not many at the campground itself but it is nice to see some effort going into the facilities around it. Nice, quiet and well laid out this campground is one of our favorites we just wish they had sewer hookups. Doc and Lori do a fantastic job!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct. 30-31, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.K. left this review using the Directory software: Visited this campground at the end if October, 2010. Great experience!!! We had called ahead prior to our arrival, and the check in procedure was conducted by a very friendly and courteous receptionist. Once we left the office, we were greeted by the camp hosts as we drove into the campground. We never even had to get out of the RV - the hosts met us with a very nice, detailed briefing covering our parking spot, local area, directions, facilities, etc.-all before we were parked!!! There was no problem parking our 36 ft 5th wheel in the nicely wooded camping area. That was not the last that we saw of our camp hosts, Doc and Lori Sloan. They really are a great asset to the staff at Holbrook - very knowledgeable, friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful since we had never been in this area before. They take their job very seriously, and are without a doubt, two of the finest camp hosts that we have found in our travels!! The campground is a little ways off the main interstate, but close to the main base - and it is very quiet with lots of trees. A very nice place to stay!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
NOV 2010
(Updated: November 27, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Dock and Lori made for a great experience, this was our first time using our travel trailer and the location was perfect along with the camp hosts. The campground is nice and quiet and has plenty of places to play for our two little boys, we will return soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2-5 Jan 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our stay at Holbrook was a very pleasant experiance for our first stay there. The check in personnel were very friendly and helpful as well as the camp host, Dock and Lori. The facilities were adequate and clean. Even though we did not use the laundry room, it was clean and seemed to be very adequate. We will definitely use the famcamp again if we are traveling through the area. It is great value and would be close to Savannah for any one to tour that area if wanted.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
33 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2