Holbrook Pond Recreation Area and Campground

Featured
 
4.2 (67)
113102 0 37 0 40

User reviews

24 reviews with 4 stars
67 reviews
 
49%
 
36%
 
4%
 
6%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.8(67)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(67)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(67)
Value
 
4.4(67)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(67)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
February 3-6, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We reserved a space to tour Savannah and stayed 3 nights. Unfortunately it was quite a drive to the campground from the city (40-45 miles). But the campground was close to the base and the amenities (commissary, exchange, etc.) Rustic but enjoyable and quiet. The lake is beautiful!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept. 28, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed for three days and as we had stayed here before we were pleasantly surprised to find 10 new drive thru sites with with 30/50 Amp service, sewer and water. The restrooms were nice and clean and the overall appearance of the campground has been improved. A bit of a drive from I95 but worth the effort!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
6-8 February 2017
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
...small RV park in the woods, very quaint and nice. There is no sewer hookup but there is a dump station. Only stayed two nights. Staff was awesome! WiFi was decent. A little drive (15 miles) from the I-95. Definitely will stay again if in the neighborhood.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Dec-Feb 2014
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband and I have traveled to Holbrook Pond for the last 6 years and it has been a very enjoyable time. Cathy, office manager, is a wonderful caring woman and she has always found us a "home" here while staying 3-4 months. It is very quite, clean and for the most part, the people are very friendly. We can have pit fires and that makes it so nice around a roaring fire in the evenings. We travel from Texas and this will be our last year on the road. We will miss it here. If you are in the area it is well worth the trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 2013
(Updated: February 17, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The only issue we had was the lack of Internet access that is advertised and cell services is not good either. Golf course offers a monthly membership so you can play Fort Stewart and Hunter for one good price. Very nice and accommodating staff and host. We'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24-27 November 2012
(Updated: December 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This campsite is my mainstay when I want to make a long weekend out of Savannah, and this time I came over the Thanksgiving holiday for off-season touring. Drivers, please note: the reason *why* mile markers on the main road go up & down is because it restarts at a county line. The turn is exactly AT mile marker 13: if you overshoot it like I did, you can mosey down to the first street light where you'll find a safe turnaround on the right, even for a big rig like mine. Our smiling camp host dropped by with the wi-fi password but it simply can't reach out to the far ends of the campsite; worse, 3G cellular access is minimal. (But I don't come here just to compute!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7-10 April 2012
(Updated: April 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very secluded camp ground. Cathy was very friendly and informative about Fort Stewart and the new "4th Brigade" facilities. The bathhouse was very clean and the laundry facility was spacious and free!!! The only drawbacks were no sewage hookups and the mosquitoes could air lift you out of the campsite in a heart beat!!! Plenty of bike trails to ride and the alligators in the pond were fun to watch in the morning. 4th BDE's fitness center was AWESOME! Brand new to include a climbing wall and swimming pool. Savannah was a long drive to get to BUT well worth spending all day there. Allot to see in a relaxed atmosphere. Even though we enjoyed our stay here, we may try Fort Hunter Army Airfield the next time we visit since it is closer to Savannah.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17-19 Feb 2012
(Updated: February 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice and quiet CG. Would be a 5 if it had sewer hookup. The check in lady was very nice and the host was diligent. Would definitely go back if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11-12 July 2011
(Updated: February 18, 2016)
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I hate to give the location a "2" but that's because it's a ways to anything either on post or to Savannah.  Downtown Savannah is about a 40 minute drive.  The PX is about 7 miles. Amenities was given a "2" because of no services near the campground. Now for the good.  Very clean, well shaded, quiet campground.  If a person is looking for a quiet place to sit in the trees and relax then this is a great spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 8, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.G. left this review using the Directory software: - Have stayed here several times and it continues to be up graded. The staff are VERY helpful. Concrete sites are very level and easily entered.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 4-11, 2011
(Updated: March 10, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very spacious. Write up touts 20 miles from Savannah, however, actual mileage is almost 30 miles. Post has nice PX, commissary, and fitness center with indoor pool for lap swimming. Lots of paths for hiking. Only draw back is no sewers, however, you can drain gray water onto the ground. Price is right and no homesteaders.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 24th-June14th, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was not our only stay at Holbrook we have had about 12+ during our 3 years of being stationed here. Of course that was between deployments so you know we love to camp. We also enjoy Fort Stewarts Fam Camp. The reason we rated a 2 for one of our ratings was not due to the hospitality but the cleanliness. Our bathrooms were in disarray throughout the entire stay except for one night that the employee was camping in the campground. However, the overall rating of the campground when it has a camp host is much higher. There were rumors floating around the campground about the staff and the camp host getting into a bit of an argument leading to their dismissal. We were there over two weeks and were told that a camp host was coming to the camp soon. Hopefully they do get one. As for us we are PCS'ing and will miss you guys. We are headed to Fort Bragg and know they do not have locked 24 hour storage and we will miss that as well. There sites are not as nice unless you get one on top of the hill. Have a great summer, Randy, Nicole, and Golith
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb. 9, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first time visiting here, but it won't be the last. Although the office was closed, the hosts, Dock and Lori, were very helpful and friendly. Although a small campground, there were various activities planned. We wished we had time to stay longer, as they had a Savannah Food Tour coming up we would loved to have gone on. Since we are Internet junkies, our only complaint is the lack of any Internet services. With the many trees, our satellite Internet wouldn't work. We did get satellite TV, although we didn't expect to. Fair priced campground in a quiet setting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 22 - Sep 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
It is a great campground. Large sites with a lot of space between sites. Has a great pond. Staff very friendly and helpful. Has restrooms with showers and laundry (free). Not anything going on at the campground. Very quiet place to stay. Army post is about 2 miles away with all amenities. About 25 miles to Savannah. Big value for the cost. They accept Golden Age Passes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2-4 July 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pretty much concur with all the other comments. Without a dish that can be placed in exactly the right spot, you will get no satellite TV. Then again, we didn't really miss it. Staff was friendly and helpful but really need their new office complete. Working out of a travel trailer with no computer clearly presents some challenges. The road could use regrading to clear the potholes but I just took it slow in my motorhome and it was no problem. All in all this is a great campground in a wooded location on a lake for a good price with nice people. You really can't complain much about that. Oh and as is stated in the directions, just look for mile marker 13 and the entrance is well-marked. A Garmin GPS will try very hard to send you down a road reserved for tanks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Road needs to be repaired and host phone number should be recorded when office is closed. Other wise, a great place and great location for visiting Savannah.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
16 - 19 March 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second time staying at Holbrook Pond Rec Area. They have improved the Rec Area a lot in the last couple of years. Laundry is still free, bath house is still clean, and the camp host friendly. Word is Hunter Army Air Field is building a new campground that will open early next year. When it opens, Holbrook Pond is suppose to close to be upgraded. This information was given to us by the lady that works in the office. We had no problem getting a satellite signal, but AT&T cell phone did not work. I recommend making reservation for this campground. We where put on a waiting list, and got in when someone canceled. We will return, and look forward to the upgrades.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 30 - Jun 6, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great campground. Well laid out, and maintained neat and clean. The host, Tom, is very friendly and helpful. Some sites cannot get a satellite signal, but some do. Mine did (#7). The 30 amp electric is very weak, but adequate. Plans are in the mill to build a new campground adjacent to the present one with 50 amp and sewer, then to upgrade the present campground. I had no trouble navigating the dump station in my 38 foot Class A pulling a toad. My Verizon signal was weak and I usually went outside to make a call, but was able to get online nightly using the cell phone (no air card). We were there so we could explore Savannah, and it's 37 miles from the campground to the visitor's center. That's 74 miles roundtrip, and some days we drove more (like to the 8th AF Museum (a must see), Ft. Pulaski, and Tybee Island). I would recommend the campground on Hunter AAF, even tho now they have only water (but by next spring they should have full hookups, 50 amps, cable, even WiFi). Hunter would be much more convenient to downtown. But Ft. Stewart offers a lot of activities, and their campground is great if you just want to chill out, experience the Ft. Stewart amenities, and fish in the nice lake adjacent to the campground. I would definitely visit this campground again. $6.00 a night with Golden Age Passport is a bargain. Steve Turney -- PS - I recommend you get off I-95 at exit 90 even coming from the south, just like coming from the north.
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Nov. 26 and Dec 6, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.G. left this review using the Directory software: Very nice CG. If you are into TV, get a portable dish with lots of cable. Good clean air signal. The spots are spaced far apart. It's one of the best parts about this place. One of the quietest cg's we've been to. Of course the usual sounds of freedom become unnoticible after a short while. I would give a higher rating if they had sewer hook-ups at each site. The dump station was easy to get in and out of, though.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
October 9-11,2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Difficult to find the turn-off (sign needs to be closer to the main road). It's every bit of 18 miles from I-95. The campground office is in a building about 1/4 mile from the main road -- check in/pay there first. Then the campground is on the other side of the lake. Breathtaking view! The campground itself is secluded with lots of room between camp sites. It reminded me a lot of some of Texas' state parks. The dump site is nearly impossible to use. We could not manuever our 30 ft. 5th wheel into the spot unless we backed it in -- so we didn't use the dump site. The showers/bathrooms were huge and very, very clean. The laundry is free and is in the octagonal building that looks like an office site. The hosts in site #1 were very nice and friendly. The base is about 4 more miles down the road -- you MUST go to the museum on base, it's very interesting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
24 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2